Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi Blueangel,

I saw your post on instant photo prints. You may like to take a look at http://livemomentssg.blogspot.com as well. My good friend started this business and they are giving a very good rate, which is currently 50% off the market rate.

They are only offering this rate for the 1st few sign ups. You may like to visit their website and make the decision for yourself. I think it's a very good deal and the photographs they've taken are good.

Lisa

hi anyone has photos to share with me regarding their wedding decorations/table chair colors/stage? i still find it a bit raw. ie no themes and yet not like four seasons with a comprehensive choice of expensive looking table cloths etc.

I was quite pissed off today after a phone with one of the coordinator Mei Fung. She sounded rude, impatient, sacarstic, and I have to repeat myself 3 times that I called to make an appointment for a site visit. When she suggest thurs, I counter offer a Saturday instead, and all she can say is she is not on duty. So I offer the next Saturday, she again tells me she is not on duty. She gave me the impression as if she is not interested in doing my wedding at all even before I even met her! I was appalled and disappointed in Goodwood Park Hotel services. It was only until further probe if nobody works on weekends then she offer to refer me to other "managers". I expect with this "manager" title, they should have a certain level of professionalism and service attitude. I am certainly thinking twice in choosing GWP as my friends upon hearing these, advices me not to choose GWP anymore as they will definitely gossip and may even sabotage my wedding. When the other manager called, and ask if im interested in which ballroom I mention I will like to know more and interested in solemnization. she gave me an impression like solemnization is something small and they cannot afford to "waste" their time on small weddings. fumming mad.

hi joanna , so far i have been liaising with mf. i have been sending her questions almost everyday and it has been answered promptly (the next day). her command of language is not that as good but she has been very prompt in answering my questions. she even replies at 8-9pm. i have no pbm with her service.

the only problem i have with GWP is the branding. coz pan pacific ocean ballroom/swissotel canning rm is going for 115 nett, all cheaper than GWP $118++. but they actually sound grander than GWP. hmm don't want to give pple impression i choose GWP coz its cheap when its actually not! GWP has priced itself ahead of its deco/service/food/brand but i have no choice coz other ballrooms are booked..

Lisa,
Thanks for the update but yr news came too late, I have signed up with Live! Studios a mth ago..I took up the whole actual day package which include the instant prints. They gave some discounts too so overall I find the price still reasonable.

Joanna,
Sorry to hear yr unhappy encounter with the GWP manager. I never liaise with MF b4 but my fiance & myself initially din have gd impression too when we first liaised with our (current) coordinator. We even doubt their professionalism like you but after our first meet up, I find my coordinator friendly & efficient..prompt in answering my queries & helpful when I request him to expedite on the official receipt (on the 20% booking deposit) so that I can produce this proof to HDB (to defer submission of the marriage cert). Maybe you could try talking to other coordinators or drop them an email to address your concerns?

Nat,
I dun tink GWP is branded lower than Pan Pac/Swissotel. My feel (& my frens/coliqs' feel too) is that GWP is on the same ranking if not higher & GWP exudes a unique class of its own given its lovely colonial architecture. It is located on the hill-top surrounded by green lushes (away from the bustling commercial feel of Orchard road yet not unaccessible). Moreover, their ballrooms are beautiful. Tudor is cozy while Windor is classically grand. Their food (by Min Jiang) is good too so we are happy to hold our wedding celebration there next year

thanks blue angel for sharing..
i am really apprehensive abt the food! although i am looking forward to the haggan dazz ice cream. PM me to tell me what perks u manage to bargained for?

Hello, mf mentioned to me that they work till 6pm only. She gave me the impression that they are not willing to make any extra effort, with this kind of impression how to
trust them with my wedding?
really disappointed

i visited her at 6pm++ on a saturday, and 7++on a wkday she's ok ..

but none of my relatives/friends have wedding in GWP b4 so abit apprehensive. but no pbm with the coordinator as yet

Hi Joanna, I initially had the same problems with the coordinator as well, thinking that she was rude when I enquired about packages and site visits. However, after meeting her, she has been pretty prompt with email replies and we confirmed the venue on our second visit.

Nat: I think the impression of GWP isn't that of one which is inferior to Pan Pac/Swissotel. HTB and I were deciding among GWP/FS/Pan Pac/Marina Mandarin and we chose GWP over the rest even though the prices were comparable. We both like its location and the food should not fail us

xiaomay: I had some problems arranging a site visit as well because we were only available on saturday and there were some saturdays which she was not on duty. We did a visit on our own before we met her some weeks after. Even though our initial AD was about 2years away, she was still very obliging and patient with us.

purple bottle: mind PM me how much u paid for per table and perks? coz i know pan pac and marina is so much cheaper. tks for assurance on food. still abit apprehensive besides the hagan dazz icecream.
still no idea why GWP is not popular for weddings..

xiaomay: i tink mf is a pr so dont expect atas english. but she's been prompt in her reply.

Nat: I dont think GWP is brand lower than swissotel, pan pac etc too. In fact i love GWP for a few reasons compared to swissotel and pan pac as GWP have lesser ballrooms than swissotel and pan pac. In this case, there will not be much of a confusion on your AD when your relatives and friends have to make sure they turn up at the right ballroom. Having lesser ballrooms also mean the quality of the food shld be relatively good. Not only that, i think having banquets in pan pac, swissotel or even marina mandarin seems like a very common place for ppl to hold their weddings nowadays. Hence having ur wedding at GWP, you can be different from your relatives and friends. i believe it will be an experience worth looking forward to for some of them.

xiaomay: i do not have much difficulty with my coordinator as well, though my coordinator is not MF but my overall impression of GWP has not changed so far. Do not have the impression that they take your event lightly, i guess we have to be understanding sometimes. I believe the coordinators have their own family committments and they cant be working OT everyday and also on weekends just to entertain us esp if most couples are just dropping by for queries, taking a look at the ballroom n not to close the deal. Maybe you can consider asking your coordinator on which weekend she will be coming back to oversee an event and u can take the opportunity to meet up with her and at the same time you can take a look at the actual set up of the ballroom on that day.

I have my share of complaints and compliments for GWP too..

Coordinators: as a 5/6 star hotel, I believe GWP will try their best to accomodate every wedding couple.. afterall, they have a reputation to hold.. no doubt some of us have bad experience with the coordinators..

For myself, I am not quite pleased with my coordinator, Anthony.. yes, he give me a feeling that he's not interested in doing my wedding as well.. I dunno whether its the way of doing things in GWP, but Anthony took quite a long time to get back to me on my enquiries.. Somtimes, I've got the urge to change my coordinator as well..

But like what cocotintin mentioned, he may have his own committments as well..

As a wedding couple, we have alot of things to trouble and of cos, when we had bad experience on the coordinators, this will bring up our stress level...

I agree that 1st impression is very impt.. as this help us to decide whether to sign on the dotted line...

but there must be some reasons why some of us here having interest to hold our wedding in GWP...

personally, I like the ballrooms.. whether its Tudor or Winsor ballroom, I have nth but compliments.. although not very grand, but the feeling of romantic, fairytale wedding is there...

another 3 mths to go for me, hopefully everything can go on smoothly...

Hi, anybody knows when is the previous wedding workshop held by GWP? Or any idea when is their next wedding workshop? As i believe we might be able to get mroe perks if we signed during that period.

Nat: The Sunday package was about 1000++/table but we're going to change/add dishes so got to top up. Is Pan Pac much cheaper? I remember it being about the same price, heehee. My memory must have failed me. Oh, another reason for us choosing GWP is that I really loved that hotel as a child so I was probably already biased when choosing the hotel. Lol!
We didn't get many perks. In fact, we didn't even get free flow beer like what some of the btbs here got! What I can remember is that we got corkage waiver and an additional 1N stay. We weren't offered he ice-cream as well! How much did you pay for yours?

If you're worried about the food, how about having a meal at Min Jiang? Also, you can indicate your feedback during food tasting

thomas: I think the previous wedding workshop was 2months back.

thomas >> Think GWP does only one-two wedding show a year. THe last one was in April, so u might have to wait to 3rd or 4th quarterof this year, if they do decide to have another one.

xiaomayi842002yahoocom >> The reason why coordintors *try* not to meet people after 6pm, because they have a backlog of emails to clear. Imagine meeting the clients the entire day, after that still have to clear emails, prepare contracts etc etc. And not to mention they have family and personal life too.

Mei Fung usually replies my emails really late at night, 8-9pm for her is not abnormal. But she is actually quite nice in person...
The managers do not work every weekend. THey are usually on rotation, so they are on duty on certain weekends. If you specifically request to meet her on a Saturday, that is of course provided she is working that weekend.

Nat Chew >> Like what others have said, I do not think GWP is below Pan Pac or Swissotel in terms of branding. Pan Pac and Swissotel are like other run of the mill convention hotel, whereas GWP is reminisent of a old colonial hotel. Like what I always tell people, it's like Raffles, but cheaper.
I did not like the fact like Swissotel has too many ballrooms and Pan Pac's ballroom is too big for me though I did shortlist the property at some point. But once we saw GWP, we knew that's what we want.

Anyway, Pan Pac is much cheaper than GWP? I saw their 2011 menu and the prices were 1168++. Only 20 bucks difference leh.

i like GWP cos it's the only hotel with 4 projectors, after all we have spent quite a bit on photography and videography so must show to others to view. But i found that the bridal suite in GWP is so so, as they have given me a junior suite in the quotation. Anybody has any comments on the bridal suite?

yup their junior bridal suite is pretty small compared to other 5 stars hotels in Orchard. They have 2 types of junior bridal suites..one has 2 toilets (a common toilet which eats into the living room area) & the other one with only 1 bedroom toilet (but bigger living room..gd if you plan to have tea ceremony for big group b4 the dinner)

I recently had my wedding dinner at Goodwood Park.

Mei Fung was a total disaster. Totally slip shot, couldn't be bothered, mistakes everywhere...

SERIOUS Mistakes:
- Spelt my name wrongly on the hotel sign board
- Spelt my wife's surname wrongly on the door gift.
- Messed up my room bookings; Reception called me up at 11pm and asked me to check out!!

This just shows you Mei Fung's couldn't-care-less attitude. Even our NAMES also can spell wrongly. She simply doesnt give a flying F.

The wedding couple already has tonnes of things to worry about. The last thing you need to worry about is whether your names are being spelt correctly!

Many other irritating nonsense from Mei Fung. I have emails to substantiate whatever I say, and I'm not afraid to say it.

AVOID MEI FUNG AT ALL COST!!!

---
On a separate note, the Banquet Manager, Kumar, was excellent. He did a fantastic job to save the day. I really must commend Kumar.

Food from Min Jiang was v good, better than food at Pan Pac.

Nat Chew,

Unfortunately the response that I got from Mei Fung was not as prompt as the response that you got.

She said that she would send me minutes of our discussion (final details), but after I chased her for more than 2 weeks and even called her on the phone, the minutes were still not delivered.

It is very difficult to meet up with Mei Fung.

Cocotintin,

Regarding what you said, "... coordinators have their own family committments and they cant be working OT everyday and also on weekends just to entertain us..."

Just my $0.02 worth - On the contrary, this is a hospitality industry, where the busiest hours are after office hours on weekdays and on weekends.

People (e.g. Mei Fung) who wish to work only during office hours should not be in the hospitality industry.

Hi Tan,

I can imagine how you feel now.... anyone in your shoes will be angry. I'm kind of worried now. My coordinator is MeiFung and so far, I had made tentative bookings only. So, is there any ways to change coordinator or maybe feedback all these to her boss?

so far mf is ok to me she really very diligent in replying my emails till late at night
.. ah tan i noticed u only have had 2 posts in the forum and only on gwp..
mind pm me when was ur wedding date and other pbms u encountered? tks

Hi all BTBs at GWP, even though my wedding is over this year i still read this forum on and off.

I can't comment on other coordinators whom i didn't work with but i have to say my wedding at GWP went very smoothly and it was a wonderful experience for us and our guests.

Firstly, the food was good & portions were more than enough such that my guests could go for seconds.

Secondly, my banquet mananger did an excellent good job exceeding our expectations and both of us didn't need to worry about anything during the dinner. He is the person who will handle the AD and that's what matters most to save the day. P.S. our names were also spelt wrong but it was resolved immediately. And that is the kind of behaviour we expect.

To add on, we didn't have any proper rehearsal prior to the wedding and all we did was to drop by to test our montage and have a look around. Now that the wedding is over, it doesn't really matter much about having a rehearsal as its different on the wedding day because we have our gowns etc so the main thing is that the GWP staff managed the AD event well.

For emails, most of the time, it was replied within 24 hours unless they were on leave or away from their desks meeting clients. I am sure we all have different expectations but i have to say my expectations on service and prompt replies is definitely no less than any of you here as my hb did comment before that i am such a complain and impatient queen.

For those who have signed with or planning to sign with GWP, i would say the best way is to meet personally or speak over the phone to let your coordinator know your concerns right from the beginning rather than complain & worry along the way. For those who decide that GWP is not the venue for your big day, then just choose the venue of your dreams and leave this forum thread.

Lala,

I would strongly suggest you change wedding coordinator. FYI, GWP has 4 wedding coordinators.

My army buddy's upcoming wedding is also at GWP, handled by Mei Fung.

I called him up the day after my wedding to pre-empt him about Mei Fung's screw ups.

His immediate answer was, "I Know."

Hi Tan,

I'm not sure if change of coordinator is allowed as I know some hotels don't allowed. So did you highlighted the problems with MF to her boss? Cos if so, maybe she will be more careful in future.

Hi fleur,

Can I know which cooridinator you dealed with? If possible, I will like to change coordinator since the feedback of MF seems negative from what i read in this forum.

Swissotel Canning Room adjacent to two other ballrooms, which is why I dun like it. Going to have to deal with people going to the wrong wedding table to register. At least at GWP, the ballrooms are pretty far apart.

My coordinator is Mei Fung and I have no issues with her so far. She replies pretty promptly to the emails and have been pretty helpful.

Lala,
Yes, I met with 3 members of their team the morning after. PM me with ur email if u wish to see my email correspondence with them.

You've got nothing to lose, really, by asking for a change of coordinator.

Nat Chew,
Anthony and Mei Fung are 2 of the coordinators. I do not know the names of the other 2.

Hi Kass, sorry for the late reply..juz back from vacation. Yup, HDB approved our request to defer our submission of marriage cert. Yup I think the hotel booking receipt is pretty sufficient but additional to the 5K hotel deposit receipt, we also wrote a appeal letter & top up with whatever supporting receipts we have, such as the bridal package.

hihi sorry to hijack the thread, not sure if anyone's interested, but i have a $250 Vocalise (live band) voucher to let go at $100. It can be used to offset any of their wedding packages. Valid till 17 Oct 2010 (i.e. need to book with them by this date, wedding can be after that no worries). Do let me know if interested! Can either PM me or email me at [email protected]. Thanks!

Hi, for those who have been to the ballrooms, can you share the height of the ballroom? I've emailed GWP and they replied saying Tudor Ballroom - 10.8 metre, Windsor Ballroom - 14.8 metre. However from the photos, it doesn't seem so tall. Can someone verify? Thanks!

Hi All, just had my wedding at GWP a few weeks ago. I must say it was really the best place for me and my hubby.

Solemnization:
We had our solemnization by the poolside terrace. It was such a romantic place. A definitely must have if u solemnize on AD as well. Its once in a lifetime thingy so don't worry about the cost! You will not regret it. (PS: I was on a tight budget too)

Ballroom:
Held at Tudor ballroom for 16 tables. As mine was below the minimum tables, they charged me extra $$ for each table.
The setup was very romantic. Even though I have never been to their wedding show before, I was not disappointed at all.

Food:
Definitely thumbs up! Everyone told us how great the food was and Portions were big! Typically food at wedding banquets were always way below standards of food tasting. However, at GWP, you can be assured of quality food even on the actual dinner. All our guests went home full and satisifed!

Bridal Suite:
When we went to view the bridal suite the first time with our coordinator, we were shown a junior suite which was really very small. Hence I was quite disappointed. However, on the actual day, they actually checked us into a much bigger quite, much to our delight. There was a living room and a dining area. Even microwave was available! The bed was very comfortable, and after a whole day of standing on your feet, you will sure to appreciate it. The front desk even allowed us late check out till 5pm the next day at no extra charges.

Coordinator:
My coordinator was Raman. At first, I was a bit apprehensive cos he hardly replies to emails. However, he is really someoone who knows his stuff well and is very friendly. He is also very accomodating and threw in lots of perks for us. I can't say in public in case he gets into trouble haha..

Banquet Manager:
Hassan. He made us feel right at ease on the actual day. With him around, you can be assured to be in safe hands as he will guide you along and tell you what to do at every step of the way. I was very nervous especially during the march in as I was afraid to trip on my gown. Hence, with someone so experience around, you can just concentrate on your walking down the aisle and leave all other matters to him.
Small gestures such as offering me a straw for my cup so that my lipstick will not smudge really touched me too.

All in all, I am very satisfied and happy that I had entrusted the most important event in my life to GWP. (Of cos with the right coordinator and banquet manager =) )

Sherrlynn: good to see that you have gd experience in GWP.. hope mine goes smoothly as well..

I actually request to change coordinator.. send an email complaint to the catering director, Esther... she assigned Mei Fung to us (previous is Anthony)..

Anthony give us a feeling that he don't really give a damn about our wedding.. whateva we asked, he just reject us straight without finding out.. and whenever we try to meet up with him, he's either on leave or mc.. its very hard to work with someone like that.. only when we request to make payment, then he will be free... =.=

now, only contact Mei Fung once or twice.. so far still ok.. but after seeing the negative comments abt her, I start to worry now... anything I shld remind her?