Goodwood Park Hotel

wei_zhi

Oh so happy to see this thread alive again!! been trying to search for information or reviews about GWP but can't seem to find!! My AD is May 7 in the Tudor Ballroom... Yeah Altiora I agree that i fell in love with it immediately after viewing it!! It's very cosy with nice reception area!! Anthony was my coordinator and i must say he is quite good.. he even brought my and my SO to crash a real wedding before it started on the day we went to sign the contract.. The bridal suite is not too bad as i thought as i read that alot of ppl complaint it being too small... Overall I love GWP!! Haha... Oh but i was away when they are having the open house... can anyone email me their pictures?? I heard it was fantastic!! Although i thought the one that i crashed was already very good!!! [email protected] Thanks!!!

altiora

hello wei_zhi!

heh my AD is on 22 Oct 2011, we are looking at a small and cosy wedding, so the tudor ballroom fits our requirement totally! =D

Too bad we didnt bring any camera to take any photos though, we just went and decided to book after loving everything we saw. =)

Anyone knows how the both sides of the "corridor" will be covered on the AD? cos when we saw the ballroom on Sunday both sides of the ballrooms were opened. As in the little walking area at the left and right side of the ballroom. Initially we thought the mirrored sides are doors but there are actually no doors.

hi altiora & wei_zhi. I have some pics to the bridal suite, not very nicely taken but still ok. I do not have it here with me now but I will try to upload it here tonight. stay tune ya?

I love the tudor ballroom too, esp the reception. very cozy. Though i will be taking the windsor ballroom but I'm sure if I have a smaller group I will definetely choose tudor ballroom. i heard that both sides of the doors will be close during the wedding as it is for service staff.

wei_zhi

Hi Altiora,
When i went to crash the actual wedding, the inside door will be close with mirror foldable doors.. the outer side was quite nicely decorated as well!! pity that i was caught too off guard that i didn't prepare any camera to take pics!! But i told Anthony that we would like to have the similar decoration... Hee ya i agree Tudor was warm and cosy... the feeling that i am looking for!! Thanks Cocotintin... Will stay tune!!

flyinghoof

wah.. every words you guys described of tudor gives me more headache to decide! haha..

coco, looking forward for your bridal suite photos!

altiora

red,
how many tables are you looking at?
On paper, Tudor can accomodate 18 - 23 tables but actually it would be better if only up to 22 tables, as 23 tables will be a bit uncomfy - esp the distance between the chairs of neighbouring tables.

wei_zhi

Hi red,

Ya like what altiora said, tudor is more for the cozy feeling if that is what you are looking for... as for windsor i feel that no doubt it is very pretty too but feels more like any other ballroom that any other hotel is offering... no offense though... just how i feel...

hey girls, i have difficulty uploading the bridal suite photos here but i manage to upload on my fb. you can view the pics i took from the wedding show here.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=3903851&l=3d4e62514f&id=703706587

strikingreality

cocotintin >> I can only see the wedding cake photo... did u make the photos public? Or we have to add u to see the photos?

Thanks for sharing, btw. I didn't go down on Sunday, as I already signed my contract, so HTB didnt see the need to go down.

purplebottle

cocotintin: thanks for sharing the photos! I didn't attend the showcase as well since I've already signed up with them. Looks like they've changed the themes

wei_zhi

Hi Kass,
My AD is May 7 2011...

Cocotintin...
Thanks for the pictures!!!! Wow you really took alot of pics!!! The gowns are pretty!!! But I heard divine couture is expensive...
The designs are very pretty too!!! But is towards the contempory feel... The one I crashed was much warmer and more of what I'm looking for...
The dessert buffet look really fantastic!!! If not becos of the elders I would have gotten it!!!!

the_teracotta

Hi has anyone held their ROM in either Tudor Ballroom or Rose Marie Suite? Please give me some advice as I'm deciding between these 2 venues for my ROM. Thank you!

mict

hi guys..
i have already signed with GWP tudor ballroom during dec 2009. very kiasu i know.=p my AD is on 20 feb 2011.
very excited!
dreamweaver cards are not included in our package? means we have to pay 1.5 per card print? it will be complementary if we get GWP standard cards, m i right?

strikingreality

Jace (wei_zhi)>> Mei Fung is my coordinator. On AD itself, can help to redirect if some of your guests come to my ballroom and vice versa...

Btw, I think 7 May is a hot date. U are the 4th couple I know getting married on this date, myself included.
Have u ROM-ed yet?

Michelle Lau (mict)>> Printing is not included in the package, even if u get the standard GWP cards. Printing is not 1.50 per card. That is actually v ex. If u go to the standard printers like T-Dragon etc, can get quite cheap, like $100+ for 200 cards or somthing like that. Dun quite know the exact rate. :p

wei_zhi

Kass: Ya you're right!! I also know 3 other couples who is on May 7!! Wa so lucky that we manage to book the Tudor ballroom. My rom will be the same day as my AD... You??

Michelle: GWP gives complimentary cards but printing is not provided... I think it is in the contract... But if you dun like the design of the cards they provide then you can source for alternatives like dreamweavers... Which is more expensive... For me I feel invitation card is just to inform guests abt the time, date and venue so no need to spend additional to make it luxurious... Spend more on the deco is much more worth it I feel... Leaves deeper impression...

actually i took more pics than what i uploaded. haha.. the bridal suite is really small right?

so happy to see more people joining this thread. Shall we come up with a list on whose wedding is on when etc? how can we do it? I cant seem to copy a table in this thread like what other btbs in other threads are doing. Anyone can help?

blueangel81

Yeah, bridal suite is small, esp the living room area. Anthony told me they have another junior suite (total same size as the one we viewed) but bigger living room (but no extra toilet) which is gd for those who wanna have tea ceremony in the room.

Yup we shd do a table unfortunately I have no idea on how to do it too :p

Guys, here is something fyi if u r engaging a live band on yr wedding
http://www.compass.org.sg/cIndex140.aspx

Btw, have anyone hired a photographer & videographer for yr AD already? The "Live Studio" at the wedding show has some interesting ideas like instant photocards for the guests & guestbook and live projection of the photos which are appealing me =P but I wonder if they are too pricey. Anyone did any comparisons on photography packages? Can share?

blueangel: have u gone for ur WG shopping? I have not but i think i might go shopping soon so I know which photographer tie up with which BS and may get a better deal out of it. I also have shortlisted some photographers that I am interested in. Still cant find a videographer that I like and substance films (which i like) is on the higher side. So still looking around.

Anyway I dont think I will have alot of people in the bridal suite so size doesnt matter. Smaller better so I can have excuse not to have so many ppl in my room dressing up and messing up the room. My mil maybe wanna engage her own mua to do her make up. sigh.

strikingreality

Jace >> Are u ROM-ing at GWP? or elsewhere? Have u booked yet?

blueangel >> I am sourcing for my PG now... Actually most likely confirmed already. VG may not get in the end. We rather spend more $$ on our PG.

cocotintin >> Which BSs are you shortlisting? or PGs?

altiora

did you girls manage to negotiate for a free day use (helper) room? When I went down on Sunday and asked abt the helper room, they only said it is "available at a special rate"

i'm planning to go down to silhouette and the wedding present. Maybe Amanda lee too. Photographers looking at coffee & tea, 36 frames, avenue 8 etc. what abt u?

hey girls, do fill up your AD dates like the template above so everyone can know each other better.

strikingreality

altiora >> Most of us has tried for helper's room, but didn't manage to get.

cocotintin >> I have signed up with Jawn Happy.Ever.After. YOu may also wanna look at Bridal Veil by Michelle Huimin? I know she works with Avenue 8.

For my PS and AD PG, I have not confirmed with the PGs themselves, but more or less decided liao. RedCo for PS and Edmund Leong for AD.

Let me do up a proper template tonight on Google docs, then everyone can fill up there.

celinepuah

Wow, so happy to have so many GWP btb here.. =)

Hey Blueangel, live studio’s concept is really good but they are pretty ex..
A friend of mine recommended another photographer that provide the same service as them.. and it’s much cheaper..
Too My bridal package oredi include actual day photographer… so couldn’t take up this promo..

Anyway, the cost as below..
1) 4 hours photography @ $388
2) 10 hours photographer @ 688
3) Instant print (unlimited) @ $688
Do let me know if you need the contacts and details.. I have a pdf copy of their flyer =)

Coco: thank you so much for those photos!! They are really pretty.. the pink tiered cake looks so beautiful and desserts..so yummy… ohya, I asked the vendor providing the décor for the wedding show.. he mentioned that the actual package do not include so many flowers, and the décor on the stairs to Windsor will only be flower petals.. ^O^â€

sw: yes thats right. If we want what we see during the wedding show, we will need to top it up.

Live photography is really cool and its a good to have. Worth considering. I know they print out immediately and u can give it to your guest.

kass: great, looking forward to your google doc. I heard very scary comments about michelle huimin and I dont quite like her designs so might give it a miss.
Actually divine couture this seasons's WG is quite pretty. those we see during the wedding show is not bad.. not sure if they are showing their best pieces.

flyinghoof

altiora: i'm guess i wont hit 23 tables. perhaps just 18-20 tables. so there will be more space for the set up of dessert buffet.
i think the foyer and reception area will be quite pack with 180+ guest hanging around during the pre cocktail event too.

Jace: yeap i agree...tudor more for cosy kind of feel. i only wished they have higher ceiling hehehe..

Coco: Thanks! So much details shown on the photos...

the_teracotta: My friend suggest to do the solemnization just before the dinner before the guests arrive. But i find it kinda weird?
So i'm deciding to do it in the noon, perhaps in the bridal suite. Den after that can have the tea ceremony as well. But the bridal suite seems to be pretty small?
Yeah the Rose Marie Suite looks pretty Huge.. Good for 'fetching', solemnization, tea ceremony, etc... I wonder how much per day.. I suppose the amount must be Huge too. -.-'''

Can the AD list add on with the co-ordinator name as well?
The co-ordinator that i was assigned to, pretty bo chap us.
We waited for very long during the show to talk to her but was in vain. Perhaps, she already got 2 potential couples. sigh.

SW: Can share the contacts and details of the photography you are talking about?

By the way, Live Studios offers 15% off their packages till April 25th. Just let them know you went for the GWP Wedding showcase.

blueangel81

coco: I oredi brought a BS package from Yvonne Creative along Tanjong Pagar early last yr..the first thing done before the house & hotel haa. But till now, we have not gone for the PS..duno y buy so early haa...on 2nd thot, gd to get early too (since the package can hold up to 5yrs) to lock in the price. The prices are gg up everywhere. I chose YC mainly cos' I found their gowns v nice...the owner is a designer herself & she designs most of the gowns in her shop & I manage to bargain for more photos at the same package price compared to other BS along the same street.

sw: can u share the contacts & details of the photographer recommended by yr fren? can we view his/her works online? tks!

huh no candles on the stairway?
I wanna decorate the stairway with both petals & candles...maybe cheaper to buy outside ourselves dan to top up for dat.

blueangle: yeah i think IKEA sell those candles. u bought your love nest where? new or resale?

(red): who is the coordinator that attend to u? have u book your banquet yet? if not think still can change but give them the benefit of the doubt that the coordinators were really busy that day.

blueangel81

red: who is yr coordinator? I totally agreed with u. I love tudor's cozyness & seriously will take it if not for the ceiling cos' my fiance din like the low ceiling & he likes the hexagon shape of Windsor ballroom haa...So we ended up taking the Windsor esp with the buffet table & live band in mind too.

Cool! u r taking up the dessert buffet too!
Do you noe the buffet line will be set at the foyer for Tudor ballroom? My coordinator said I could choose any of 5 items (except the cupcakes) from what we had at the wedding show..juz salivate at the thot of them haha...I have oredi decided which to pick...have u?

I'm doing my solemnisation at 6pm (b4 the dinner) at the Mayfair Pool. The rose marie suite is sure huge & grand but come with a price of $5K++ per nite! http://www.goodwoodparkhotel.com/acc-rosemarie.htm

Oh ya talking abt suite, anyone manages to upgrade their bridal suite? Tried requesting for the Poolside suite but got turned down.

flyinghoof

coco: Not good to put her name in here? hehe.. Nope not yet. As i have a few questions to check with her still before booking.. She promised to get back and so we waited.. I understand they are busy that day. Thus, i see if she reply me via email or a call.. Since the perks end this april. :D

blueangel81

coco: my love nest is located at Teban Gardens (Jurong East) cos' v near in-laws' place..resales cos' we din wanna wait so long for those new flats to be completed.

Ya they were really bz dat day..I oso managed to tok to Anthony on the contract at the end of the show but its ok we got the full attention till 5pm haha...

the_teracotta

The reason I'm asking is because Goodwood Park just gave me HUGE PROBLEM yesterday.
I've booked the Poolside terrace in Spet last yeat for my ROM in end Sept this year. And then yesterday afternoon Raman, my coordinator, called me and said now the terrace is CLOSED during that period cos they'll be holding their 110th Anniversary gala dinner there! I mean, HELLO?!! Shouldn't such a major event be like planned way way ahead?? Now with only 5 months to my ROM you come and tell me I cannot use the Pool?!

There's a reason why people choose to hold their ROM by a pool. And I wanted one with shelter and fans so my guest will not be baking under the hot afternoon sun. I am utterly pissed and disappointed with them. So now I have 3 choices:

1) back out and look for other hotels with this kind of sheltered facilities by the pool. (Mayfair pool is out cos there's no shelter, and my ROM is in the afternoon). How to find another place within such a short time? And they might not be available on the day of my ROM.

2)Take up Tudor ballroom instead, or

3)use the Rose Marie Suite for ROM

I have not decided what to do yet, hence I'm asking for advice from pple who have used the places for ROM. But nothing can appease my anger and disappointment with GWP.

flyinghoof

blue: yes the Windsor is sweet with high ceiling and you can wear much more glamourous ballgown or gown with long train for your march in. hehe.. As the path of the march in is longer too! Too bad, we did not meet their requirement of 25 tables thus can only go for Tudor.
erm. sorry i do not know where the buffet line will be set at since i did not get a chance to talk to the co-ordinator in charge. But my guess is inside the ballroom since the foyer n reception area are pretty small to hold >180 guests?
Oh for your solemnization, do you need to top up any extra for the usage of Mayfair Pool..?

wei_zhi

Kass: I will be having my ROM just before my dinner... Yes i have book already!!

Red: Alot of ppl is doing that!! I'll be doing it too... think it will be less tiring for the couple... no need to rush two locaton ma... haha

altiora

jace,

ROM before dinner will it be too rushed? I am still thinking of whether to hold my ROM on AD, my main concern is that it may be too rushed that day and end up no time to do the solemnisation. Or what is a good time to do the solemnisation. However I would prefer to do all on the same day instead of on different days.

blueangel: the set up at mayfair pool is very nice. I saw a set up last Sun during the wedding show. I look down frm the entrance of the toilet and it was so lovely, so sweet. The set up at the bigger pool is nice too. But i think mayfair gives a very private feel. You are doing your solemnisation on your AD itself? do u need to top up to use mayfair pool?

(red): oh.. y dont u make an appointment with ur coordinator and discuss it face to face so u can clear your doubts immediately rather than to wait and sending emails to n fro. I think blueangel had a better discussion with anthony face to face and resolve alot of her doubts as compared to sending emails and waiting.

So far, Anthony has been very helpful with the queries i asked and when he couldnt give me an answer right away he promise me that he will check immediately and get back to me within that day. He has been able to deliver quite promptly but maybe slightly slower over emails.

strikingreality

Jace (wei_zhi)>> Reason why I asked because I am also doing my ROM before dinner! Which location did u book? I have not booked yet, cuz I was concerned that if I buy a resale now, I will need to do my ROM early, then would have wasted the booking.

Maybe we should organise it such that we will not clash with each other. LOL.

the_teracotta >> Are they offering you the Rose Marie Suite for the same price? If they are, then I will say take it. It has a nice circular hall which I think is beautiful. Since the Rose Marie Suite is their equivalent of their Presidential Suite, I think it is quite worth it if they are just charging u the ROM package.

celinepuah

So there’s a 25% discount from Live Studio for all package?

If so… think Live Studio’s Silver Package might be a little cheaper compare to Attitude Studio..

After discount, Live Studio’s Silver Package only cost $966

the_teracotta

Well I just called him again and he says the Rose Marie suite is now out of bounds for private events as the last couple who used it damaged many of their stuff. So the suite is strictly for sleeping in.
I really don't like their lack of commnication between departments.

Any way... has anyone ROMed in Tudor ballroom before (Just ROM, no dinner). Mind sending me some photos? My email is [email protected]

Thanks a lot!

wei_zhi

Kass: I book the tudor also!! there is no extra charge for it though... so my rom will be from 630-730pm then follow by the dinner....
The wedding that i crash also did the same... and it was very nicely decorated with the rom table setting... i think you can discuss with your coordinator??

Altiora: I dun think it will be rush if you plan it properly with the coordinator... moreover soleminization isn't very long!! at most is 30-40 mins...

blueangel81

Guys, when yr said ROM on AD, r yr doing it inside the ballroom with All yr guests witnessing the ceremony b4 proceeding to dinner OR a different venue? I think I asked GWP & some other hotels on this before. Generally no additional charge if you doing in the ballroom no earlier that the stipulated usage time. If you wanna start earlier (say 5pm), you may nid to pay some rental fee. I have a few friends who had their solemnisation in the ballroom around 8pm, then dinner will follow in no more than half an hr later.
Pros:
- save u the cost of booking another venue & hassle of rushing around (if yr ROM venue is not within the hotel premise)
- save u the cost of doing the ROM on another day (MUA, photographer, gown, reception, food etc..)
- dinner may start more promptly (latecomers may miss the ceremony but in time for the dinner commencement)
Cons:
- Latecomers 'gatecrashing' the ceremony. Very importantly, make sure the hotel staff guard the closed doors from the start till the end of the ceremony. You dun want any doors suddenly flunged open when you are abt to say "I do".
- Dinner may end later if you like to have 80% attendance b4 commencing the ceremony & u may not be able to wait too if the JP is rushing off elsewhere to host another solemnisation.
- Couple may be v nervous saying the vows under so many pairs of watchful eyes haa..

So weighing the pros & cons, I decided to do my ROM on same day as my AD but not in front of all the guests. When I first viewed the Mayfair (back in 2009), the coordinator (Jasmine back then) sugg they could arrange a simple solemnisation there just b4 the dinner at Windsor Ballroom. I thot dat was a great idea...a simple but cozy affair witnessed by only close family members & frenz. I was told that the rental of the Mayfair pool with simple setup (table & max 30 chairs) is ~$800. The floral stands will be 'borrowed' from the ballroom & moved up immediately after the ceremony. You can top up or engage yr own florist if you like to decorate the place with separate sets of fresh flowers but no point for me since I will be gg up the bridal suite once the solemnisation ceremony ends (& some photo-taking of cos ;)) to take a quick rest & touch up on the makeup to get ready to receive the rest of the guests from 7pm.

blueangel81

Btw, Kass, you dun have to worry too much abt producing the marriage cert earlier for the resales cos' HDB allows u to produce the cert later as long u can show proof of yr marriage such as the official invoice/receipt of the banquet deposit. Of cos' this appeal will be on a case-to-case basis but chances are high cos' Govt wanna see more pple getting married & thus the increase in population! haa. The property mkt is still very hot & I doubt its gg to cool down soon given the shortage of land in SG. Even a ulu 5rm BTO at Punggol now costs ~$400K! So better dun delay on getting the house (which is top priority in my opinion)

sw: pls send to [email protected] thanks!