Frederick Lee Bridal

lovekin

Hi there...

Those girly dresses looks soooo sweet.

An intereseting change for a gown i must say.

Quite interested in FL...wonder if he's anice person to work with. Anyone has any expereince with him?

fantasy

Hi Loveskin,

So you've been to the show as well??
Suggest that you fix apptm with fred and see if you have any chemistry with him. With me he's very friendly and helpful however my girlfriend felt otherwise when she visit him with her hubby. She end up engaging another designer.

gis

Hi Coco & fantasy,

So can i say both of you are already with FL?
Btw ladies, when are your weddings gonna be?

It's really not easy to choose a good and reasonable bridal. I'd heard of cases where after signing up, attitude of the designer or staff changed drastically. I hope i dont have to encounter that in any way since we're going to spend quite a bit in the package.

Can i know what package did you ladies signed up?
After seeing so many bridals....i somehow think that FL may be more reasonable than Kai and Kevin Seah.

c0co

Hi Lis, I think Frederick Lee doesnt overcharge too much on his packages. One thing good is that he does his own flowers. In a way, he dont need to sub it out for others to do. He can save some costs on in return, give us a cheaper package.

If you compare, his packages are really much cheaper than Tan Yoong. A little cheaper than KAI and TED WU. Having that said, i intend to go down this week to sign. Hopefully no changes of mind. I am finding myself really fickle minded. hahahaha... its pre-signing up bridal jitters!

c0co

hi Fantasy and lovekin...

yes i was at the show, mesmerized by the different gowns that were paraded. Hope we will look as good as the models up there on our wedding day! The lights really made the gowns glitter and shine. WOW!

I like Frederick Lee's slim cut gowns more..
For Kai, his style is very consistently elegant, dreamy and flowy.

For michael ong, some can be nice, some very sala. Dun mind my views ya. Thats one that looks very "interesting" The one that she held up on her hands and after that, let down the dress to find the dress short in front, long at the back? It looks like its inspired by sailormoon.. hehe.. my galfriend and i thought it look quite funny.
But i love the song that Michael Ong used... hey sarah? (WHEN I WAS JUST A LITTLE GAL< I ASKED MY MOTHER WHAT WILL I BE, WILL I BE PRETTY, WILL I BE RICH etc)Anyway, I thought some of ONG collection designs are quite nice and different. But wonder, how do potential clients sign up with him? Need to travel there to do fittings and collect? So much of a hassle... what do you gals think?

My FH found FL very daring and revealing in some designs... kept asking me to remind FL not to do something outrageous on the wedding day. haha...

and yes, Wendy jacobs is one lucky woman. Mother of four with a figure of a model. Got to ask if she has any secrets!

fantasy

Hi Lis,

Yep, I'm a FL bride. Signed my pkg with him back in May before my ROM. No worries abt change of attitude after committing a pkg with him as he's still very friendly everytime I speak to him on the phone and when I say hi to him after the show last sat. I've took up the $4588 pkg from Fred.

Hi Coco,

How did you know which gown is featured by which designer. Me kuku, abit lost along the way ;p Can only recognise that the last 7-8 pcs are from Fred as they are very him. heehee... Also the evening wear that Wendy was wearing at the end of the show, any idea who that's from??

fantasy

Hi Lis,

You are most welcome.
Hope that you will find your choice BS soon.
Good luck and feel free to come back and chat with us.

fantasy

Good Luck.... hope you will be another FL's bride... then we will have one more kaki here

gis

Seems like the designer is not keen to do sales.
Not much selection of gowns too....quite limited.

c0co

hehe... i only tried two gowns. One not very nice, another very nice slim fit with translucent lace. yummy. Its after the fashion show that i think Frederick can be good. Was frederick busy drawing when he attended to you? Thats what he did to me. Haha... after a while, he warmed up and was really nice. What are you other choices, Lis?

gis

I think i might not sign up with him....quite disappointed actually. No chemistry as well...

c0co

hi Lis, tried posting twice but was unsuccessful..
here my message goes, you should try bridal veil, Kai, Ted Wu, MArgaret brides or even tan yoong(very ex) to see which one you click with the most. Chemistry is no doubt the best component for the creation of gowns.

I think frederick and I are quite ok in chemistry wise, and my FH likes him too. But i wonder, will he mind churning out princessy soft flowy gowns when his forte is sexy daring and fashionable gowns? Fantasy what do you think?

All frederick Lee brides or ex brides, please comment.... appreciate it millions!

fantasy

Hi Lis,

In fact I'm your opposite. I couldnt 'click' with Divine Couture. Was pissed off by their attitude when I rang up for information. Didnt even bother to visit them after that. But I do hope that you are able to work well with them. Never visited them so cant comment much but heard that majority of their gowns are similar in terms of design and style.
Like Coco, my hubby and I are able to communicate well with Frederick but at the same time we too notice a "guai(4) pi(4)" of him - When he's doing something or thinking of gown designs, he will give full concentration and not give anyone who walk in, even potential customer much attention. That has inturn pissed lots of customers off but at the same time, that's also something that differentiate from from a designer and a sales.

Coco,
Think you can try talking to him. Shldnt be any problem. Like yourself, I'm not looking at bold and gowns tat are too dramatic. Think my MIL will faint... kekeke... Me too prefers flowy gown. Will speak to him and see what he can come out with. Looking forward to my first discussion session early next month.
Have you fixed your apptm with him this sat?? Btw when's your customary?

gis

Thks fantasy.

I have the same comment for Frederick.....my hubby dont really like him, so i drop the choice.

c0co

Hi lis, think you can try Divine... its sexy and flowy. You can also try Margaret Brides, stylish simplicity. Nice lady to talk to. Thats why I am so confused coz every designer really have their strong points.

Anyway, fantasy... looks like we only have each other in this Frederick Thread. WE got to update each other more
of course I hope more brides join in.. :p Me fixed appointment with Fred on Sat... hehe.. will need assurance from him..

gis

Seems like there's really the two of you who are potential brides of FL.
Anyway, most probably i will sign with Divine...this is the second time that i'll be going down.

Not much choice left actually....and it's such a tiring process.

fantasy

Hi coco,

Glad you are happy with frederick too...
So nice to have a kaki. Seems like most frederick's brides do not visit the forum. I will probably be meeting up with him next month to start discussing on gown design but prior to that, I've got some homework to be done. Cant make up my mind what style of gown I want to have yet.

josephine

I'm a FL bride too. I've signed up with him since early September. Just wanted to share my experience with everyone...

I don't have much chemistry with him, but I try my best to build rapport with Frederick. Don't get me wrong, he's not mean to me or anything...my hubby (already ROM) and I feel that he has too many things on his mind whenever we meet up with him.

He doesn't seem to be giving me his 100% concentration. When he designed the gown for me, I felt that he's not really putting in a lot of effort to doing it. It's either that or he's just so good that he can come up with a design in the wink of an eye! He's really fast!

The sad part is that he told me to do my homework...to do the research on what I like and tear up the pages to slot them into a file. I did all that and in the end when we met to discuss...he didn't even go through the file. I'm so disappointed.

Regardless of all that, I am still very patient with him. I actually gave him time and waited for him to finish all his fashion/bridal shows before meeting him to discuss about my gown. What to do...I like bold and unique gowns and I think only Frederick can do it (I went to Divine &amp; Bridal Veil too - I think BV is extremely boring - sorry...just my 2 cents).

Anyway, I visited Frederick when I was on MC and stayed for a little while to chit chat a bit...you know...build rapport...He is a little better now...like nicer by 10%...so I hope things will continue to improve between us.

I think I have very high tolerance especially when it comes to "artists, designers...". I'm happy for those FL brides who are happy with Frederick's service...but I don't seem to be enjoying the same treatment. We didn't start off on the wrong foot and I'm not an unreasonable person...so I don't know what happened...
The irony is...I have no problem with the seamstress...she seemed to like me a lot...
Oh dear!!! Does this mean that I am very "auntie"????

c0co

hi... Lis.. I took the $4580 package but i opted out the photography and make up... in the end costed around $3230 i think. Can't remember...

Jo, i have not started on designing my gown so I can't compare. Just that I admire Frederick very much. So when i talk to him I really have this twinkle in my eye naturally. Dunno why can click.. hope this go thoughout our design process... :p I think he takes pride in his work. I get what you mean when he comes out with the designs really fast... human nature to think that they are not putting enough effort. Hopefully, its due to his experience that his designs come up fast.

By the way, gals, did Frederick ask you to try gowns to take a look at your figure, to see what suits you best?

gis

Hi Coco and Jo,

I had the same sentiments exactly. That's why i felt he's not attentive to you when you speak to him. I even asked to try on a gown.

fantasy

Hi Jo,

Dont worry. I'm sure things will pick up along the way.... Just be nice to him and I'm sure he will recipocate. I'm sure you know what I mean... kekeke

Dont worry. Think it's common for designer to be fast when it comes to designing and drawing gowns. That's my girlfriends' experience with their designers as well. The moment they sit down, the designer will start to draw without much thinking... they tot that it's impressive but to some pple it can be sometimes be interpreted as not putting in enough effort. So just relax and look at the the positive side of things and you will be a happier bride
PS: I do share some views about your comment on BV... It was my first choice before I start sourching but am glad tat I later realise it's not what I want at all for my big day at all.... sorry to all BV brides, just my personal opinion.
Tell us about the gowns that he has designed for you.... are you happy with it??

Hi Coco,
Who will you be engaging as photographer?? We kinda like robin's style but only by looking at his work that were advertised on mags. Shld be visiting him within these couple of weeks before making our final decision.

c0co

hi fantasy... I am choosing Beetles At Work, Kelvin. FH and I seem to be able to click with him. From whai
i see from his works, i think i quite like it... if u want to try him, mention my name, think he will give you his best quote. Very reasonable lor. Let me know if you are keen to have another choice to compare

fantasy

Hey Coco,

Thanks. Think we'll be looking ard first before finalising who to use. Tentative choice is robin.

c0co

fantasy... if i am not wrong, you are holding your dinner in Raffles the Plaza? When is your big day?

fantasy

Ok... good, good. next thing is to start searching for AD photographer... think got to book early. Those good ones can be very hot.
Didnt hear from Jo anymore... wondering how she's doing.

c0co

hi hi fantasy... ya... I am wondering how Jo, Lis and Polly has been?

I just booked my actual day photographer and he is none other than Kelvin from Beetles at work. He is doing both studio and wedding. hee... you settled yours yet? By the way, you confirmed using alicia or Tinoq?

fantasy

Hi Coco,
That's good... another thing off your mind... so what's next??
Hee... I'm meeting up with some photographers for AD photography and should be meeting up with Robin (for studio and outdoor) hopefully by this 2 weeks. If we like his work, then we'll stop there, otherwise we will have to do more legwork and visit the rest.
Still no time to go thru bridal mags for gown designs. Let alone decide on makeup artist to use.

My initial plan is to meet up with fred in early nov to discuss design of my gown... hope I can keep to the timeline... wonder how long it will take from first discussion till final fitting?? Wat I understand is Fred's quite chop, he's first fitting is almost the complete work. Any idea??

c0co

i seriously have no idea how many fittings he need... i hope he will let us try a few designs to see which suits us better, then decide... hope he will be patient with me coz i can be quite fickle.

by the way, i just lost quite some weight. My friends and colleagues keep asking me to put back on some weight. the problem is when my face is nice with the right amount of 'flesh'. my body is already too fleshy. So to maintain the body shape that I like, my face will be sunken in... sighs... dunno what to do now. Put on weight and I won't look good in Frederick's signature silloutte mermaid cuts.

By the way, i will be meeting TG GOh next week to discuss about the session... Let him advise me lor.

Who are the actual day photographers that you are looking into?

gis

Hi Coco,

I'd just booked my bridal.....it's Blu Mesh. The one that Andre De Cruz had her two gowns made.

fantasy

Am trying to fix apptm to meet up with Robin to view his portfolio... he was engaged last weekend and the next few wkends to come
Will only be available today and friday evening this week.
Met up with Kai and Simon of Kalyedoscope last weekend for AD photography with my friend (getting married soon as well). Both couples were very happy with the pkg tat they offer and most imptly like wat we see. Will most prob be engaging them for AD

Dont worry. Think it's common for all brides to loss weight... Ultimately all wants to look slim and slender on that day. No exception for you and i
As long as you do not look sickly it should be ok to be slim.

Hi Lis,

Congrats... you have finally found your choice bridal studio. Tot you will take up pkg with Divine.

c0co

hi hi... Fantasy..
let me know whether you are taking Robin up and the packages he is offering? :p

fantasy

Hey Coco,

Managed to meet up with Robin last evening. He's quite a versatile photographer and will communicate with the wedding couple to find out on their preference of pix before the actual shots. A friendly guy who is easy to talk to.
Will be getting 15 8R and 24 3R pix in an album with 2 table tops. This comes together with Frederick $4588 pkg.
You visited Robin before?? Saw Kevin's work on the web... quite nice too. Think he's the better one from Beetles.

c0co

Didn't visit Robin as heard that he seems to be a guy who is into nature photos. As I met up with Kelvin before i settled on Frederick, and I felt that Kelvin is a very nice guy/photographer, I decided on him without going to Robin.Almost felt bad if I decide on other people except Kelvin. Hee... silly hor?

Anyway, do you know how much Robin charge on his additional photos? It is likely that you will top up. So better check.

c0co

Hi fantasy,

I am now looking out for a interior designer /contractor... you are with Darwin as i read from other threads? How is darwin? You designer is Patrick? How much did you spend on your reno? Sorry to divert. Please mail me at [email protected] please. Thanks a million!

fantasy

Hi Coco,

Impt thing is for you to feel comfortable with the photographer and I'm sure you must have like Kelvin's style that's why you did not visit any others before making your choice.

Know what?? I have fixed an apptm with Frederick this coming sat to design my gown.. really excited!

Let's talk about renovation on email... dont wanna side track too much from the thread... will be unfair to other... hee

c0co

Thats great! Did Frederick call you up to arrange? Let me know all about it :p Excited for you too...

fantasy

Hi Coco,

Nope he did not call me... we met him at Raffles The Plaza during the wedding show and he told us to fix apptm with him end last month or early this month. Me still do not know what I want... jialat
think really got to count on his expertise and creative juice this time rd.
Will keep you informed...

PS: Sorry... have slipped my mind abt emailing you... will try to do it later...