Four Seasons Hotel

Hi junie, was wondering when do you tell them that u want to have the menu changed before or after the food tasting?

hi Junie

can you share some pics on the ballroom and the reception area.
my email address is [email protected]
i am making a tough decision between conrad and four seasons. but the date available for both is different so it depends on which day i choose also.
maybe someone can give idea of how is the attendence for dinner on wed. last wed of the year?

Hi Junie (and everyone out here)!

We'll be throwing our wedding banquet in less than 20 days and I'm still undecided on the colour theme, etc I want. Will appreciate if you can share your pics with me. My addy is [email protected]. Oh btw, is your stage in the middle of the ballroom or against the window? As I need a longer aisle, Georgette is suggesting having the stage in front of the arch windows. Wonder if it'll look weird. Thanks in advance!

Thanks Junie and sgwestie, thinking of changing the type of fish and dessert in the deluxe menu ..
By the way, Does FS allows us to use the grand piano for free?

hi dey,

if i didn't remember wrongly, eugene told me tt the grand piano is part of the ballroom asset. thus it can be left there for use. if you've someone who is able to play a song, why not? check with the coordinator and they'll be able to tell you.

Hi dey,
as jimmygo mention, the piano is part of the ballroom asset. u can choose to place it in the reception area or in the ballroom. If u have friends who can play the piano, y not get them play your march-in song?....tats y i am planning to do for my dinner... muz make full use of wats available..hehehe.

Hi watashi,
I am also thinking of getting my niece to play a march in song for me...any suggestions what march in songs to play? me cracking my head now

dey...i'm leaving it to my friend to come up with the song list for the entire nite. maybe u can choose your fav song, or one tats special to you & your FH.
For my ROM, i played a chinese song(instrumental) which to us is 'our' song. Though my friends feel its not the most appropiate song for a wedding march-in, but to us its of special significance & memories.

Hello jgirffy, my wedding at FS was held on a wed too! wanted a weekend initially but no dates available cos mi too late to chope liao! I had 25 tables & the turnout on my big day was relatively good. So no worries there, just do ur RSVP early k.. Also do a guestlist now, FS has a cosy yet smaller ballroom. That's one point to note. And of course most importantly, the dates available! u can check out ur email, I've sent the pics across liao..Hope these info helps u make a decision yah..:o)

Hi Pursestrings, congrats on ur forthcoming wedding in FS! I can understand ur dilemma when u haven;t decided on a theme..Did Georgette offer u suggestions? Or are u just confused by the choices available? I guess for mi, I already knew what I wanted for e banquet setup (colour + choice of flowers) so it was pretty easy to decide.. I chose the middle of e ballroom as my walk-in as I wasn't comfortable with walking e L-shape lah..Also I like having e arch windows at e sides so that my guests can view them..But really it's up to individual's preference! SInce u wanted a longer aisle, u can opt for e stage in front of arch windows & personally I dun find it weird! Should be equally mesmerising too..:op And yes, do check ur email, have sent e pics over!

sgwestie-gal, the music I used for e dinner was mostly from FS. They provided instrumental, piped music & some jazz pieces as well.. U can opt to bring in ur own too if u have! FS have quite limited choices I must say..so do some homework & compile ur fav music for e dinner! :oþ

josl & dey, I changed the menu only after e food tasting session! There is a feedback form given & we're suppose to give comments on each dish served. At the end of e session, the chef will pop by & u can feedback to him abt the food & presentation. I must compliment that food served during food-tasting was as much & equally great on my wedding day! So dun have to worry abt that part of it.. And Dey, the grand piano's definitely free for usage so quick, get someone to play it on ur big day! :o)

Hi JunieAA,

Thanks for your help.
Really reassuring to hear from another wed bride cos many pp i ask were giving negative feedback on a wed nite. so actually tt is one of the reason i am still thinking.....

I have finally went to FS y'day with my future husband to meet up with Mr Ho. For me, it was an unforgetable experience and the Cresent Ballrooom is sooo nice. High ceiling, bright and elegant. Just what I was look for. I am looking for a international buffet lunch for a guestlist of about 120 to 150 guests.

I like the fact is that FS is very professional when serving their guests. Also, I like the fact is that it has less human traffic flow. So it's more cosy and quiet.

FS is the only hotel so far which allows me to book for my Mar 06 wedding. Mr Ho told me he already has booking for a Jan 06 and May 06 wedding. So for those who are keen at FS, pls start doing your research now.

I have appointments with Regent and Carlton Hotel this Sun. Will see both first, confirm my guestlist, confirm with both sides' parents before confirming.

Btw, I heard that FS is a leader in the wedding banquets. Is it true that once FS change its banquet price, every hotel will start to follow?

Hello Charlene,

I was reading past posts when I saw your post. Mr Ho also told me that he will hold the date for me for only 10days. He did told me that if I were to book now, he can fixed the 05 price for me, even though my wedding is 06. (But he can't fixed the GST and service charge rate) So that kinda means that I don't have to worry about the price increase because for other hotels, their 06 price is not out yet.

Mr Ho told me that he has been in this industry for 17 years! So I guess he has the upper hand when it comes to bargaing.Hahhaha. No free project for me (but I know I will be able to borrow one from my vendor). No seat covers too (but I have seen the chairs, red seat and gold frame, nice!) Only 20% of my guests lists for the parking coupons, but I will bargain for more.

It's a bit brain-wacking planning my own wedding, but Mr Ho sounds pretty pro. He said just leave the banquet to FS and I only have to worry about my wedding gown studio and photo-taking =)

Seen like everyone is busy lately so no new messages except those from me.

Over the weekend, my guest list seen to have ballom up from 120 to 200+. It was pretty stressful because my small and simple wedding is gone. But thank goodness, I can still consider the main ballroom if we have 200 guest (min).

I have yet to confirm anything with Mr Ho because I have been stressed up by the guest list and not forgetting my full-time work. I don't dare to make any rash decision as the deposit is $4000 for the main ballroom.

Can I ask all of you? What is the procedure when you sign up the contract or discuss the contract details with FS? Do you pay the deposit to book the venue and the date first? When do you discuss the contract details?

Like u all said, it seen like FS is pretty inflexible when it comes to freebies. I don't hope for the seat covers, but more parking coupons or even a waffle station (as mentioned by someone in the previous message) will be good! =) I just want to ensure everything will gone on fine and that my guests will be well looked after.

I guess I am just too stressed up. hehehehe

hi ahcapp,

firstly, u'll meet up with the FS folks to discuss on the package generally. when u're ready to commit, then both parties will go into details on the contract and package. after paying deposit and signing contract, further details (e.g. food and seating) will be discussed closer to date.

u may wish to consider 'enhancing' your wedding contract with FS to bargain for seat covers...

Hi sgwestie,

Thank you for the advice.

I called up Mr Ho yesterday and will be meeting up with him this Sat again with my future husband. This is because the first time I was there, we only see the ballroom and talk about things in general. So now will be the time go into details on the contract and package.

I have love the chairs which FS have. So I think I will not bargain for the seat covers but I will like to have more parkin coupons for my guests =)

As mine is a wedding lunch, I am not sure if I will have the bridal suite or just an ordinary suite. He did mention about an upgrade but subject to availiability.

Can anyone tell me that if i dun wanna use Four Season invitation cards, can i change to other things or get any discounts?? As i wish to design my own personalised invitation cards. Thanks.

I just had my wedding at FS. Really pleased & impressed with their service. We just need to relax & enjoy ourselves. Ho is rite to say...just leave the banquet to FS. They are quite flexible in terms of changing of dishes, table deco, etc. tho not in terms of giving more freebies.

Mine is a weekday dinner. Attendance is abt 98%...very good. No prob. Guess it depends on who u invite.

Hi Shirley,

U can check with your coordinator. Should be able to change to other things. Initially we dun want the wedding favour so they suggested replacing with western dessert, projector, etc. FYI, FS has quite nice invites. The one I chose is the leaf design. All my frens commented that the invite is unique.

Hi cheerygal,

Glad to know that you have a wonderful wedding. We are thinking of signing up with FS. I guess like everyone said, FS is not good with freebies. Can I double-check how many tables do you have? Did they increase your parking coupons or other extras u managed to get from them?

I have seen the leaf design wedding invitations. They are beautiful! =) I heard they have a room which showcase all the wedding decorations and ideas. Mr Ho didn't show it to me the past 2 times I met up with him. Did you get to go to the room and see all the wedding related ideas showcased there?

Hi AhCapp,

I have 32 tables...the max. FS allows. I booked mine during their bridal show so got 3 freebies - seat covers, one 30l barrel of beer & one bottle of wine per table. A good bargain. We didnt bother to ask for more since these freebies r oledi worth >$2500.

I hv no idea if they have a showcase room. Maybe u can check with Ho. I saw the decos, tble setting, wedding favour & invites during the bridal show.

I understand tat they are giving 5% disct off the table price during bridal show. Maybe u can check if there is any show coming along b4 confirming your booking.

hi cherrygal,

congrats on your FS wedding! hope you have a blissful marriage ahead.

some Qs on your wedding. did u leave the music playing entirely to FS or compiled your own? for the march-in, did u guys came in on separate doors (i.e. 2 main doors for the ballroom) and met up inside to walk down the path?

Tks!

We engaged a live band so the band played the music throughout the entire dinner.

Yup, we came in from 2 separate main doors and met before the aisle.

Hi cheerygal,

Thanks for your reply =)

If I didn't remember wrongly, Mr Ho said there isn't any upcoming wedding show yet. *sigh*

Your deal is really good. When did u book your wedding dinner? Sorry but I can't remember when was the last FS wedding show. I am looking into 06 wedding. Sounds like pretty early, but I just found out that 2006 is a good year for wedding because it has double Springs in the chinese calender.

If I m not wrong, FS used to hv bridal show in Apr & Oct. Maybe they hv changed it. I booked my wedding dinner in Oct 03...15mths in advance. Yours is in Mar 06 so it is not really too early to book now.

Hi Cheerygal,

Congratulation on your FS wedding. Ya, did check with Eugene already. He said can change to projector... Anyway, Thanks.

Hi cheerygal & gladys,

I think I might be the only one on this thread who spoke to Ho from Four Seasons. He was the only to show me everything, from the ballroom to discussing the package.

Apr wedding show? Aiya, maybe too late to book my Mar06 wedding =( But I only have 18 to 20 tables, so guess it's ok lah. That could be the reason why they didn't give anything like free beer or anything since I only have so few tables.

Been shelving my planning aside for past 2 weeks. Think it's time to dig out my guest list and start planning again =P

halo...

Dun worry, Ho is good. He was my fren's coordinator a few yrs back.

yup, maybe a bit late to book. The no. of tbles & type of menu chosen do play a part in negotiation. So, u will be taking the Four Seasons Ballroom rite?

Have u decided on your BS?

Hi does anyone know when FS will be holding its wedding show this year? Any kind souls who have information? Tried calling up but they could not give me a definite date.

Been considering dates in third quarter of 2006, around Sept or Oct. Was wondering whether it would be too late to book in April this year, especially since that will be the 8th lunar month?

Any idea if FS has raised its prices?

Hi count,

I heard tat FS will only hold bridal show if they hv empty lots to fill up. So, it can be quite impromptu. Think should be ok to book in Apr cos normally pple will wait for the tong shu to be out b4 they can choose the date. For dates in 06, tong shu will only be out in Jul 05 so u still hv time to wait for a while.

FS just raised their prices in Oct 03 so dun think they will raise it so fast. Before 03, the last time they raised the price is 5 yrs ago.

Hi cheerygal,

Thank you for your reply again =) I am just worried that since Mr Ho is soooooo experienced in this field, I might lose out a bit when it comes to negotiation.. hahahaha..

Yupe, I will be looking at the Four Seasons Ballroom as my 20 tables is just nice to meet the min no. of a lunch buffet. Mr Ho said if I can only have 18 tables, I will need to upgrade my menu. I guess it's ok since I really love Four Seaons Ballroom. Actually, I felt in love with the Crescent Ballroom but my guest list suddenly can't fit into the small ballroom. So no choice lah =P

Will take your advice n won't wait too late till I book the place =)

Have not decided on my bridal shop yet ah. I was hoping to confirm the wedding venu by end Feb. Then I will go scout around for bridal shop. Because my best friend (married in 03) told me that I should still have enough time. Any suggestions on bridal shops? Which one did you go to?

Hi count,
I also heard the same thing like cheerygal about the FS only holding bridal shows if they have empty lots to fill up. I think u should still have ample time to look around before booking your 3rd quarter 06 wedding. But do go scout around and look at the ballrooms you like first. =) Tell them the date your are interested in and they will slot u in. If other couples are interested, as least FS will call u first mah. That's what Mr Ho told me.

Hi Ahcapp,

If u r asking for liquour stuff, I think it is not so diff to ask for other things like more complimentary parking, etc. Just try to negotiate. No harm.

Yup, u still hv sometime to scout around. A gentle reminder...if u found a BS of your choice, dun wait too long to confirm cos BS normally will increase their prices too.

Wat is your budget for BS? My BS is Silverlining Bridal Couture. Actually, I didnt scout around at all.

Hi cheerygal,

Oh yea, I wanted to ask you. U know the suite which comes with the package? FS said there is no bridal suite. Every suite in the hotel is good enough to be a bridal suite. But I read in the website that there are still various grades of suites for the guests. Can I ask you which suite did u get?

I have some queries about the wedding menu. Will confirm my guest list one last time and I think I will confirm everything with Mr Ho. Just that I have been pretty lazy lately =P

Frankly speaking, I also don't know what is my budget for the wedding package. $5K? I also don't know if $5K is narrow budget or not. I actually quite lost because I have not even stepped into a bridal shop yet.. hahahaha.. =P I am pretty scared of those 1 to 2 hrs sales talk, so I will most likely just narrow down to a few BS that's all.

Hi AhCapp,

FS does not have a fixed suite just for bridal. The one they r offering in the package is the Executive Suite. But, I got an upgrade. If I m not wrong, the one I got is a one-bedroom suite which is 2 grades higher than Executive suite.

Wat queries u hv abt the wedding menu?

I guess $5K is ok if you are not going for top notch BS. Me too...I hate those pushy type.

Hi cheerygal,

I did asked about the FS again about the suite which I am going to get again. They said FS only have deluxe room and the executive suite. I understand that there are various grades of the executive suites. But they didn't offer to upgrade me saying that subject to availability etc. =( Maybe it's because you have more tables and u booked during the wedding fair, so they are willing to give u goodies =)

Oh, the wedding menu is more about how to serve my vegetarian guests, which will make up about 10% of my total no. But they are working out a way to solve the problem, so that should be ok. I just want to ensure all my guests are well treated and will not felt left out =)

I don't think I will be going to those very famous BS. eg people said Bridal Veil (very famouts) is very good. I have seen their gowns but it's not the style I am looking for. (no offence to those are are with Bridal Veil) As long as the BS is not pushy and don't haunt me with their expensive price per photo, I am ok =P I am just looking for a BS to give me a gown which is elegant. Like those I seen in Martha Stewart Weddings and In Style Weddings =)

Btw, can I ask u. Do u get to choose the table settings, the flowers and the overall decorations? Do they have lots to choose from? Quite excited though =P

hi cherrygal,

u raised a good point. will ask my coordinator on the suite thingy. i'm also trying to bargain for some red wine by upgrading other stuff in my contract.

Hi Ahcapp,

They wont promise to upgrade you. It is still subj to availability. This is wat they told me too. But, we got the upgrade!

I see. Guess shouldnt be a prob cos u just need to group all the vegetarian guests into a few tbles.

Same as me...dun really like BV's style too. Think most BS will haunt u with the photo top-up unless u r really discipline & determined enuf not to be swayed by them.

Yes, u can get to choose. Not sure if there are lots to choose fr. We opt for the grand & elegant look. So, we chose ivory colour for e tble linen & white for e napkin & seat covers to match e gold & white cultery, etc. As for flowers, u can choose either american roses or orchids. We used american red roses. Really nice & match the look of the ballroom. The red big american roses are so pretty that my guests took all the flowers home.
I will show u some pixs when ready.

Hi sgwestie,

No harm asking but just remember tat they cant guaranteed the upgrade unless u replace some stuff in your contract for the room upgrade.

Hi cheerygal,

A happy chinese new year to you first =)

Thankyou again for your reply. I will take note about the upgrade. I have asked again about the contract and deposit. I have already told them about my needs and what I need is just to put the deposit to secure the date and venue. Have to do that after the CNY because Mr Ho is on leave.

Does the VIP table has special table setting? I didn't really ask about it. It seen like every day I will have new question to ask FS and u. I must be driving myself crazy! hahahahah But it's good to be able to take to u ^_^

Do they only have roses or orchids? I guess if I want other flowers, I will need to top up right? But then again, I am not particular about flowers, so roses are ok for me =) If they are so nice, I am sure my mother will bring them home too! hahahahah

I will love to take a look at your pictures when they are ready. Thank you for offering =) Do I give u my email add? I really have not seen the ballroom when it's all set up, except the one on the website.

Hi ahcapp,

Happy Lunar New Year to u too!

Yes, the VIP table's setting is slightly diff fr the rest. The table cloth for VIP table is in red with floral prints (it is definitely not old fashion looking) & the candle for e centrepiece is bigger. We didnt go into such details at the time of booking :p

Think they hv another flower but i cant remember which one. Yes, u need to top up if u want other more ex flowers. Dun worry abt the entire table setting & the flowers arrangement. FS will take care of it really well.
Just tell them your requirements & preferences.

Pls give me your email address first. Once I hv the photos, will email them to u.

If u wanna take a look at the ballroom set-up, u can let Ho knows. He can arrange for u to view the ballroom set-up when there is a wedding dinner. My coordinator did showed us the "half completed" set-up when we were there to sign the contract. It happened tat there was a wedding dinner at tat time :p

Hi cheerygal,

My email is [email protected] =) Thank you for your photos in advance!

I heard that people always say that they need to amend the contract about the discussion details before they sign. I was wondering do I need to ensure all the stuff that FS promised me are written in the contract before I sign the contract?

Did u have a tea cermony at home or at the hotel itself? When I go check out Regent Hotel, they said they can set it up for me before or after the wedding.

Pardon me for asking so many questions. Until now, I still have new questions about the wedding whenever I think about it. hahahahha...

Hi ex-FS brides,

I have some questions. I will be having my wedding in June. I wish to know:
1) When do we collect the wedding cards?
2) How much does it cost to get FS to set up the projector for us. Also, does it come with a player? Do we get to test the player in advance to see if it is capable of playing the DVD that we are presenting?
3) Also, do we initiate the meetings (eg. collect cards, set-up of ballroom)? Or will the FS co-ordinator call us?
248693.gif

Hi apcapp,

Yes, u need to ensure tat all the stuff/freebies given are stated in the contract before u sign it. They can amend the contract on the spot.

My tea ceremony was held at home. If u need to do it at FS, can check with Ho. Not sure if they do charge for it.

Hi pisduck,

Congrats on your coming wedding!

Here r the answers to your qns.

A1) 1.5 to 2mths before your wedding
A2) U mean renting the projector fr FS or u hv your own projector but need FS to set it up for u? If u rent from FS, think they charge $350+++ for it (if I remembered correctly). If u hv your own projector, FS can set it up for u free of charge. Whether it comes with a player, think u better check with your coordinator. Testing can be done before your wedding.
A3) FS coordinator will contact u to arrange for meet up. FS will call u to arrange for food tasting first, follow by invites collection then finally the confirmation of ballroom set-up.

hi cheerygal,
thanks for the replies.
1) isn't 1.5 to 2 months a bit rush? err... i am not sure, u see... how long does it take to print the invites?
2) wow... $350 is a bit expensive... thot the market rate is abt $250. but, maybe it comes with the player... okie, will check it out.

Hi pisduck,

It's ok for us cos we oledi informed all our fren & relatives of our wedding date. So, it's ok to give e invites a bit late. Also, we neednt send out the invites so save the posting time too. If u need the invites earlier, can just tell your coordinator. Printing takes abt 3-4 working days.

It's always cheaper to get the projector outside. Hotel is more ex cos of all the taxes too.

Hi Cheerygal,

Thank u for your reply. I will be meeting up again with FS end of Feb to confirm the details and pay the deposit. I want to get this banquet thingie over so that I can start the search for my bridal shop fast. No time, only 13 more months to my big day. Didn't realise that time can goes by so quickly. =P

Btw, since someone ask you about wedding invitation, I heard that the 60% of the confirmed guest list they provided for the invitation cards is more than enough. I forgot to ask them about much does each extra card costs. Any idea?

Since u have just held your wedding at FS, any advices or tips for all of us here for our wedding banquet? =)