Four Seasons Hotel

passion

Hi Chemson,
My photographer is Andrew Choi. Do you have the intention of placing the stage near the windows instead of the normal setup so as to have a longer march in? I am not sure will it look funny. What kind of flowers are you choosing? As mine is a weekday, I will be having tea ceremony in the evevning followed by the solemisation than dinner. What about yours?
Hi Mandy,
Wow lucky draw that is interesting!!! I think you are right about the projector...will reconsider. The reason why I want to have the projector is to show pictures of me and my dad when he march me down the aisle for the "handover", the pre-wedding shoot(juz incase some people don't get to see it...spend so much already so must show off mah!)and of course our lifestory (includes pics of FH parents also)
Hi Sep 03,
I am really satisfied with Ted Wu. He is really professional and accomdating. One advantage is that he ties up with different photographers as well as makeup artist so alot of choice. I suggest you invest in a bridal company that is reputable even though it is abit more expensive. Marriage is once in a life time sometimes it is ok to splurge a little.Some other good bridal boutiques are Silhouette, Divine couture, Tan yoong, Flamingo, Margaret brides, Frederick Lee, Kai, wedding present. Each of them has different styles, check all of them out before you sign up with any. Oh yes, go for bridal shows alot of freebies. Ted has one coming up in fullerton maybe you want to take a look.
Passiom fruit

chemson

passion fruit: Nope.. prefer the normal set up... as for march in... we will try to walk slowly lor..
As for the choice of flowers.. have not given much thought to it as yet. For me.. having the dinner only..
As for the projector.. intend to get one myself..
(perhaps show the day events and some childhood photos..:p) Have called up one of the recommended printers.. Acepro.. she seems to be very friendly and the pricing sounds reasonable... going down to see her this weekend.

Hi Sep03
I am satisfied and happy bride of Flamingo Bride.. Shirley Li the designer is accommodative, friendly and she will go great lengths for you to make us happy brides..
She is open to suggestions and will advise accordingly whether the cut of the gowns suit you or not.. and what I love about her is her personalised service.. the ease of feeling at home.. she does make-up as well and is tied up with a few good photographers..
Do check her out, okie ?

sep03

Hi passion fruit...

Since i gatecrash abt 4 weddings already...thot that I could offer my views for your stage in F ballrm...

I've seen a stage set up at the windows (around evening time) and I wld say I definitely prefer the stage at the windows due to a longer march-in (pple can stare longer at you...but it also depends how many tables you got...there were abt 25 tables that day and the couple got FS to place a set of sofa at the opposite of the windows... ;-)

Thanks for the feedback...really appreciate all views, good or bad so that I can make an informed decision and save time touring around.. ;-P

Ted Wu and Flamingo are definitely in my list!...

mandy

go for placing the stage at the window since yours commences in the late afternoon. I've seen set-ups at the window for day-time and the backdrop is simple gorgeous! But if yours is at night, the black view outside Orchard Blvd won't give a 'green-natural glow' impact, if u know what I mean

If you choose the window view, pls avoid having all the ice-carvings and what nots, else very messy looking. Since your daddy is walking you down the aisle, suggest u stick to the window.

I'd like to have that setup but I don't want to spend more on additional candlestands along the aisle. Besides, people seated at the back might not see me!

Oh yes, remember the reflection of the windows when the cameras snap pic of you cutting cake.

Choice is yours...my 2 cts' worth...

passion

HI gals,
Thanks for the advice. So will have to weigh all the pros and cons before deciding. Thanks for all pointers. Anyone tried to bargain with 4 sesons to change the ice-carvings for something else?
Passion fruit

sep03

hi passion fruit...

did mention to Danny abt it...but FS' view is that ice-cravings are "nicer" than jus having flowers on stage...so they propose ice vase with flowers, which is nicer than swans...think that if you really dun wan the ice...bargain to change to flowers instead...me oso saw one setup with flowers only.... ;-)

F

fs bride

Hello gals,
Just wandering did any of you gotto see the floral decorations pictures, like the stage deco, centre piece... Coz my wedding consultant told me they don't take any photos just to keep the privacy for the wedding couple. That's why he don't have any examples to show me. But I'm worried about the design. Anyone have any views?

cynthia

Hi delany,

Yes! I am definitely relieved that the wedding is over. Come to think of it, things did went rather smoothly that day... apart from some small matters, that is

The morning part overshot the schedule by 1 hour. So, we checked into the hotel only around close to four. Barely have time to rest, my makeup artist came. Luckily, I don't have to wash my hair, juz remove the makeup will do.

On the actual day, the makeup is much lighter than for the photoshoot. I was so worried that all my pimples are going to pop out after my wedding day. Fortunately, it did not.

I like the executive suite provided by Four Seasons. It's at one corner, so you need to make a right turn when you are in the room in order to reach the bedroom. There are 2 toilets. One for the guests (enter via the "living room") and one for the couple (enter via the bedroom). Well, the one for the couple is BIG... with the toilet at one far end. Comes with bath tub as well as a shower area.

Note: FS provides limited toiletries in the room. If you need anything, you gotta ask...

The dinner went smoothly. We started at 8.15pm (which is not too late, though we would like to start earlier) and ended at 11pm. What surprised us is that all the guests stayed till the end of the dinner. No one streamed out earlier. And the toasting ceremony was the most wonderful toasting I have ever participated. Everyone lended their voices and the hall is drowned in all those wonderful sounds.

We have a simple ceremony. No speeches, no games, no presentation. But everyone enjoyed the food. We din serve liquor to everyone... only opened to guests in 2 tables (my dad's friends). In total, my guests drank one barrel of beer (near exhaustion) and 19 bottles of wine (14 reds and 5 whites). Which is within what we expected.

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. Skipped breakfast the first morning, coz we woke up rather late... Second morning, we ordered room service, and have breakfast in bed... ;p

When it's time to leave, I left rather unwillingly coz once you are inside Four Seasons, you truly forgets about the life outside the building and just indulge in the wonderful ambience and services there.

Cynthia

sep03

Hi FS bride,

their floral and stage setup is nothing to wow abt...in fact one of the most plain I've seen, 6 floral stands with 2/3 types of flowers to choose from, pathetic ice craving and not so elaborate table centrepiece....am disappointed with them myself...so still thinking abt wat to do or forget it.... ;-(

chemson

Hi cynthia,

Wow.. you must had a ball of time on your wedding day...
Glad that you enjoyed yourself ! Guess to make our guests happy and satisfied.. the quality of service and food is very important..
Thanks for sharing your experiences with us.. and I am indeed looking forward to my own wedding..

mandy

hi sep03
there is nothing to wow abt the decor... yes, i've gatecrashed 4 weddings thru the help of the FS staff. I sneaked in from back door to peep from kitchen. From most basic to outsourced decorations, I've seen them all. The basic decor, I am afraid, is not grand at all. Yep, the candlestands along aisle is too plain. The stage, worse...the cake is plain white vanilla. The VIP flower centrepiece plain too.

sep03

Hi Mandy,

Agree with you...their decor efforts is way below std...and the price to pay....sigh....actually, after comparing with raffles and FS, to be frank, raffles' package is better (menu incl abalone, 30l beer, 1b of wine for every confirmed table, real wedding cake served in addition to dessert, fantastic decor (10 floral stands+ice-craving, elaborate table centrepiece), potpurri as favours)!

...BUT, we are more confident of FS' food...however, we are still awaiting the verdict on Raffles' food after this wkend's WD.

Choosing FS is really going with the heart rather than the head.. ;-P

F

fs bride

Hi Sep03 and Mandy,

Thanx for the info, think i'll go down one of the weekend to check out their floral deco. Btw, if you gals are not using their flowers, which florist is a good one to visit for stage and floral deco?

jellybeans

Hi Chemson,

Have you checked out the printers recommended by FS? Do they have proposals for the cover of the card? I just collected the cards this afternoon but will not print them till I come back from HK in early July. Hope to hear your comments.

Rgds, jellybeans

chemson

Hi jellybeans,

Yes I have. They have a couple of files with sample cards and inserts printed for FS. There are four printers... they are Acepro, Jasvy Marketing, Kian Hong and Generic. I rang two up.. Acepro and Jasvy. After checking the charges, I am going with Acepro as their charges are reasonable.. they are very friendly people and have done many FS cards. They also do printing for Marina Mandarin as well as Regent. I should be confirming my artwork and inserts today as it takes about 2 weeks for them to do the printing including the hotstamping as our cardfront is embrossed and require hotstamping. Look for both Pamela and veronica.. they are very nice people !

mandy

Hi Chemson
May I know what you intend to do with the blank square in the middle of the front cover? Embossing/Hotstamping? What did you design for that hole?

chemson

Hi Mandy and Sep03,

The inserts range from 10 cents to 40 cents per piece depending on the type of paper you choose. The cardfront is about 20 cents per piece (hotstamping). But the costs vary on the no. of inserts and cards you are going to print.

The cardfront is embrossed and therefore, the printers would suggest hotstamping but if you are to pick an embrossed design for the square... it will cost more... I opted for normal hotstamping.. and as for the design.. it is up to you.. you can put a picture there or even initials of your names. The printers would suggest some designs for you..

jellybeans

Hi Chemson,

Thanks for the info. Will call them when I get back from HK. BTW, Does the price include the artwork design or do we have to pay additional? Do they charge for the tying of the gold strings?

chemson

Hi jellybeans,

We have to tie the gold strings... they dun do the tying of the gold strings...
The price of art work design is not included in the costing.. but you need to pay for the hotstamping charges.

sep03

I've jus signed with FS!!...anybody can advise on how early to book an actual day photographer and JP?...THANKS!!

jellybeans

Hi Sep03,

I booked my actual day photog about a year ahead of the wedding day - Sep'02. I chose Choon Huat of Fast Soup Photography as my actual day photographer. Didn't pay him any deposit also becos' he works based on trust & if you confirm him, he'll just block the day for you. Nearer to the day itself, he'll call to discuss what type/kind of photographs you like. I think it's better to book early especially if your day is a weekend or falls on an auspicious day. For JP, not so sure becos' having church wedding. Maybe the other gals might be able to advise?

Rgds, jellybeans

cynthia

Hi Sep03, finally made up your mind on FS, huh?

Better to book the actual day photographer you want fast, if he/she is a good and popular one. Just in case they are not available on your wedding day.

As for JP, you will need to have the name ready when you efile for your marriage. I supposed you have not ROMed yet? Meaning, latest you need to confirm your JP's availability 3 weeks before the actual day.

cynthia

sep03

Hi sam,

I've recently signed with FS for my WD in Sep 03...when's yours?

Let me know if I could be of help!

sam

Tks Chemson!

Hi Sep03, what a coincidence. I am planning to have my wedding in Sept 2003 as well. But we have not fixed a date yet. Is scouting for FS becos' we are not going to have a large guestlist. Trying to keep it as personal and cosy as we can.

Have you fixed a wedding date already?

sep03

Hi Sam,

Me signed with FS for the crescent ballrm (15 tables) for one of the sat in Sep...how many tables are you looking at?

sam

we are thinking of abt 15-20 tables. Hoping to have a sunday. Right now, jus have to finalise on the date...

sep03

aeh...got to be 12-15 OR 25-32 tables...unless you up the menu and get min 20 for the bigger ballrm...

can consider raffles...coz their min for their ballrm is from 15 tables onwards..

sposa

Hi ladies, this thread has been quite dead, any updates meeting, viewing, and food tasting from Four Seasons? Anyone care to share their experiences?

passion

got any advice on the flower decor. My banquet manager suggest deep red roses with blue flowers. Actually, I like ivory flowers but he says too dull for 4 seasons. Any advice?
Passion fruit

sposa

Actually me too thinks that ivory flowers are a little too plain. Blue flowers? What type of blue flowers did he suggest? Are you using their in house florist?

passion

Yup me using their in house florists. dOn't really want to splurge on decor especially those on the table. Not sure what kind of flowers but he mention something to complement the deep red rose.
I forgo the food tasting coz don't see a point. Just confirmed my menu and collected my cards. So most of the stuff (music, cards, actual day photographer, solemnisation location) are done. Now trying to do my own ring pillow.

passion

Hi Chemson,
Read from the other thread that you went for food tasting. How was the food? Did you choose the coffee ribs? Need to get some feedback on the dish. Heard alot of bad comments but ironically it is suppose to be four seasons specialty.
Actually forgo the food tasting coz many of my frens said that the food won't turn out the same on actual day and is more for parents meeting. And also gone for a wedding recently at four seasons. Got quite alot of comments and made some changes before confirming. But yet to try the coffe ribs So I will most likely go and try out individaul dish at the restaurant soon and change the dish before the actual day.

chemson

Hi passion fruit,

Nope I did not try the coffee ribs and I did not take the deluxe menu. We kinda custom made our menu.. taking some items here and there.. but mainly my dishes are from the superior menu. The food was nice.. the service was great !
Of course my parents made some pointers on some of the dishes and the chef will make the necessary changes. I even sampled the wine I am going to have at my banquet. The food tasting is important cos I feel that we won't get to savour the food that nite.. mind as well try at the food tasting lor..

tammy

passion fruit
who is the house florist? does he have taste? i got the impression that he is doing the banquet decor for eons and so won't bother to customise for u. As such, I'm hiring my own florist to do the stage and the aisle.
I do agree that deep red will look better than white, and I'm telling my florist to do likewise. However, may I know what blue flowers he is adding for you?

sposa

Hi tammy, which florist are you using? May I know how much and what items your florist gave you? Me too looking for my own florist, would appreciate if you can share your floral package details with me : ) What did you get in return for giving up the flowers from four seasons?

passion

Hi Tammy,
I am not sure what kind of blue flowers they are giving me. Will ask and inform you again.
Passion fruit

tammy

i'm using greenhouse seasons. Mine is not a package but it's ala carte. I only need more flowers around the stage, which FS doesn't provide. But FS will still supply me with the table centrepc, aisle stands and reception flowers. In other words, it is a joint decor venture. I think a few others in this thread also doing the same thing as me.

Why joint venture? This is becoz FS very 'ngeow'! They only allowed me to swap for better fish, OR complimentary day use (3-8 pm) of room for my helpers. I chose neither. Actually, I wanted a free barrel of 60-l beer but they refused. I think catering mgr Michelle is really inflexible!

Of coz to minimise non-uniformity and inconsistency between house decor and external decor, i'm asking them to use roses throughout.

I n all, I paid an extra $900 for the additional flowers.

I think blue flowers look great as the ballroom carpet is royal blue, dun forget.

sposa

Hi Tammy,
Thanks for sharing with me your flowers info. With $900 extra flowers, i'm sure your stage and ambience of the ballroom is gonna turn out very nice! You must have added alot more candle flower stands or stage decorated with flowers?

Don't be upset about the inflexible part from your catering manager, mine is the same, upgrade fish or get a day use room or upgrade the suite. Actually I thought upgrading the fish sounds quite good coz to upgrade fish to Soon Hock is $20 ( read from the earlier thread ) so i'm still considering to opt out the flowers coz i got a quote from my florist, she'll do everything including the table centrepieces, the candlabras, stage...... for $1.5k, quite a good deal i thought.

tt

I'm also a FS bride. Just to share, for printing of cards, you can also try HiTech Hotstamping - there's a thread under 'Wedding Cards'.

They have gotten a sample of the FS wedding card & they charge very reasonable but you have to buy your own insert paper (if you don't mean theirs).
I've printed (hotstamping) 100 cards & it cost me in total $220 (price include insert paper & taxi fare to & from to collect the cards.

The quality of print is good. You can design your own & shown them your design.
Hopes this helps

chemson

Just to let you know that if your banquer manager is Danny Yok, please take note. He has resigned. His last day is tomorrow. My case has been handed to Mr Ho, his boss. I am not that upset actually cos Mr Ho has handed both my bro-in-law's wedding and my friend's.

sep03

Hi Chemson,

Ya, he called me too. Said that mine would be handed to a new manager who would be starting work 2nd week of Sep. According to him, this new manager used to work for FS before....

chemson

Hi Sep03,

Yeah.. was kinda shocked to hear the news considering my wedding is 3 weeks away.. not sure if there is a need to meet up with Mr Ho again. He will be ringing my hubby on Monday to discuss more.

mandy

hi chemson
not to worry...those new managers are also experienced staff. Like Billy Yap was from Hyatt.

sep03

jus found out that billy yap is taking over my portfolio from danny...any feedback abt is service?...may i noe whether he is a manager...coz he can't seem to make any decision... ;-(

chemson

I see... Billy Yap is taking over... my manager shd be still Mr Ho. In fact, we are meeting him later this evening to discuss more stuff.

latte

guys
hv u read the papers that URA has allowed Four Seasons site to be used for residential purposes? Ong Beng Seng is considering the option cos that piece of prime land just off restricted zone is an ideal location for building condos. Marco Polo and Boulevard are gone...

Future brides who wish to use FS might have to monitor the devt news closely.