Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

sakurasan

Naturally,

All these teachers if they dare to do the same thing now, the students will report them to principal or MOE - or worse, write to the forum!
In those days, we were so meek and submissive.

Maybe one of these days I shld go take a walk in PL.

Catz

I think the Jack's Place is long gone. It become BK after a while. Now, I think that structure has been removed for the MRT.

oraia

starstar~the resort i confirmed is called the bale.
am quite excited about it!
ya ya!!! massages!!!! drool.............. heee! i'm addicted to spas! :p

blush~ hehe, shopping's cheap ah? i shall do some research before i go. it's still 2 mths away!

which line are u in btw?
yeah, u can consider blumesh for ur cheongsam
they're not bad!

pitterpatter~ oh dear. u feeling better? drink lots of fluids kae?

pheb!!!!!! dun stress.... enjoy ur wedding day kae?
it'll be all over before u know it!

naturally

sakurasan and catz,
that structure is still there.
And it is still BK. My parents' place is just a few blks from PL, i still frequent old Hougang interchange. U know i was rather upset when heard that the interchange was to be closed down? It's like taking away part of my schooldays memories...

Yeah, if any teacher dare to treat my future kids like dat, i'll sure write in to complain! We were too meek then!

Eh, so does anyone still want their kids to go PL? I might want my future kid to go PL pri, provided i have a daughter lah. Though i think it is a lot less fun now without dear Mrs Poulier. She is the best! Anybody has news on her?

peg76

Keruri
pounding mooncakes before the moon cake festival, after no more, leftover paste still in the fridge. Hubby has been asking me what i want to do with them, well i said, wait till i got mood then I will make moon cakes.

Cooked for my hubby's relatives two weeks ago, invited them over for dinner and see see the house. After that the kitchen was in a mess, thank god, my mum's maid came over too, or else, dun know what time i can finish cleaning up. Other than this, not much chance to cook and no time too.

hi circusbugs
long time no see...

more or else ok, waiting to collect the inserts and invite cards. Printer is tdragon, their service not bad lah, but the lady who served me, did not advise me properly on the chinese wordings. My AD and dinner on two different days, and these must be stated in the invite but the lady did not even said anything even though i told her. Other than that, everything is ok, they are pretty helpful and prompt, i get them to do up quite a no of drafts before giving the final approval on Monday.

My PS done two mths ago liao.

How abt your preparation?

boringbuangkok
how have u been??

peg76

my htl printer also t dragon. so either this week or next week we will make a trip down.

i jus confirmed my eg and td and my ps is next fri.

hse more or less done up. jus need to really clear up the place 1st.

u got pics to share share?

peg76

circusbugs
Enjoy yourself at your PS. We enjoyed so much that we dun mind going for another one.

Spent a bomb on additional pics. Got a lot of pics to share but have not scan them yet. Wait till i scan them, then let u see...

bearlybutton

Thought Nancy Tan and the unmarried Ms-something (she's so fierce no one actually remembers her name... lol) taught cooking and the family thingy while Ms Teo taught sewing? I remember Ms Teo as a very soft and gentle lady leh.

Talking about sewing... my classmate ever had her thumb under the needle. OUCH!!

naturally:
Can't put a name to some of the faces right now... shall dig up the school books when i'm back for hols. Heh.

I'll definitely send my daughter (if i have one) back to PL!

sakurasan

Naturally

I wasn't from PL Pri
I'm really not sure if I want my daughter to go to PL next time. I would prefer a mixed primary school..as for secondary school, it would be her personal choice then.

Now that we're talking abt Jack's Place, I suddenly hv a craving to go there

peg76

u top up alot? cos me and hubby will try not to exceed lor *keeping our fingers crossed* cos we realise the life span of the wedding album is real real short. after 6 mths nobody wanna flip the album liao...

where did you go for ur outdr shots?

peg76

circusbugs
that is what we did so, in the end, we went beyond that so much. My hubby did not even blink an eye when we were told that we have to top up that amt of money for the additional pics, me very heartpain. Thank god, hubby kept telling me that this is one in a lifetime thing and he dun mind spending that money.

we went to an abandoned factory in penjuru and tuas for the outdoor shoots, very fun. At the end of it, my outdoor gown also became wet bec we went to "play" in the water.

pls bring along insect repellent, if you dun want mosquitoes "kissing" you. me very stubborn, refused to spray the repellent for the sake of make-up, refused to stick the sticker type for the fear that it may show on the pic, so in the end, kena one kiss and i cannot pose already bec very itchy.

catz

Hehe.... yeah, there's nowhere else in the world that has the checkered table cloths and ketchup for steak like Jack's.

There *was* a rather nice newly-married home ec teacher, quite pretty but she took looooooong leave when she got pregnant. Apparently she breastfed her kid until he was like 2+. *faint* Nancy Tan has her mood swings lah but the terror was that Ms Something (Chan???) that everybody was scared of!

True lah, nowadays teachers cannot anyhow vent their anger.. but I never really had any nutcase PMS teachers in PL.. Had more bad experience in my former primary sch - Marymount.

Sakurasan, I'm staying Upper Thomson, near Peirce Reservoirs and the prata row
So Thomson Plaza is my second home.

I think I would want my daughter to attend PL Primary if possible. I wasn't from PL Pri and it sounded so fun! Too bad lah, my firstborn is a boy... dunno how.

blush

pheb!!
i feel excited for you! have fun ok, don't stress...and try to enjoy being tour guide... :p

pitterpatter
oh dear, u also flu...seems like so many ppl are sick....drink lots and lots of hot water!!
but seriously, don't talk too much. i really lost my voice a couple of times cos i talked too much even when i had sore throat. no voice is very depressing. can't even talk to friends on the phone.....

oraia
yeah!! you got your resort liao...
i also like spas...but have decided to give up spa, facial and manicure to save money. wedding cost so much....so haven't done spa in the longest time...sigh...if i go bali, sure do massage every day!!!
do you know how's the blumesh WG and EG? i want to try to get everything from one place, so that it's more convenient.
i'm in audit....and need to travel at least 50% of the time.....

sakurasan

Hi Catz

So you stay around the Casuarina area or Springleaf area? I spent my childhood days in Thomson Ridge!

I loved to go to the Taiwan Porridge Place at Springleaf when I was a kid. Hung around the Ampang Yong Tai Hoo shop down Sembawang Rd too. My grandpa used to bring me to Thomson Plaza every alternate day when I was a little..glued myself to the books at Times. Had fond memories of Yaohan..*sigh* which is no more now.
Oh yes, another haunt is the old Lakeview market and the big A&W! Do you eat the Nam Kee chix rice along the stretch of shops opp Sin Ming?

peg76

txs for ur advice... anything else to look out for?

same here.... husb say if our pics really turn out nice then he wont mind topping up. i am the one who rather spend the $$ on our hm or hse lor.

my gf frd jus had her wedding. she say it's better and more worthwhile to spend the $$ on AD photography rather than bs photography like what she did

catz

Hi Sakurasan, I'm close to the Casuarina area.. very serene and quiet area still. Yah IK really miss the old Lakeview mkt.. the new Shunfu just ain't the same. Not to mention that A&W was me and my sis' fave. Nam Kee is the chicken rice which is aircon issit? I don't really like their food as much as the chicken rice at the row of shops with UOB and Dino bakery.. the old guy's chicken was mo dak deng!!! One of a kind chicken rice. Now that it's some other chicken stall, I go to Boon Tong Kee at Balestier for my CR fix.
Oh yah, I also like the teochew porridge that used to be at Lakeview, they've now moved to Sin Ming. Ultra cheap and super good.

pitterpatter

hi blush & oraia

thanks for your concern...m feeling much beter now...
guess its too much chocs & spicy stuff for me...together with all the viruses flying around in the office...no way to 'siam'.
hahaha!

Ya...Pheb! Me feeling excited for u as well...just like Blush.
Just rem to keep cool, have plenty of rest and stay preety!
Looking forward to your updates after ur big day...& of coz, the pics too...hehehe!

peg76

circusbugs
yah quite true...

where do u intend to go for your HM? we are going to evason Hua hin and probably next yr somewhere further if got money..

oraia

hi blush,

i've got more gd news! my special fare flights got confirmed, now no need to top up almost $400 for the better flight in the morning! yay yay yay!!!!!!!!

hmmm.. blumesh's WG and EG is not bad, quite alot of varieties. As for WG... i'm not sure what ur expectations are, so hard for me to comment. Cos i'm fussy about the fabric etc etc. but overall, they are not bad. Best to go down and see for urself ya?
wah....... 50% of the time! such an exciting job! i oso want.... hehe!

hey pitterpatter,

must take care hor... drink more warm honey. really helps!

sakurasan

Hi Catz

Yup, Name Kee is the aircon one. I love Nam Kee and hv been gng there since I was kid - brings back very good memories whenever I eat there. I've tried the UOB chix rice before - not bad too. Din know that this stall is no longer there.

If I ever can afford a private ppty, wld love to go back and stay at Thomson area
Hmmm..Boon Tong Kee is good too.. but terribly oily! I like this deep-fried toufu dish that they hv - with peanut sauce or something.

Heee...me and my frens went to check out Fann Wong's home once after prata at Casurina. Recognized the house from the Mercedes SUV!
But never see her leh. Talking abt prata, it's time to go and eat my banana prata soon!

alacrity

I am PL girl from 1990 - 1993 too... memories came back as I read all ur posting.
haha ran into this post by accident.. ex-PLMGSS.. hehe did anyone attend the class reunion few yrs ago?

keruri

hi gals!! wow.. surprised to see so many postings... hee...

<font color="119911">circusbugs</font>, yup.. i've been busy lately. so many frens getting married during this period so helping them out with their preps.

<font color="aa00aa">Peg76</font>,
had a nice time cooking? btw, did u get any recipes from winnie? she's got a collection. u can refer to them the next time for inspiration. hee.. i haven't been cooking for a long time liao. hee..

<font color="119911">circusbugs</font> &amp; <font color="aa00aa">Peg76</font>,
what a coincidence! my wedding cards printer last time is also tdragon. hee.. not surprising hor, Peg76? cos we r having the same hotel. just curious, who's ur coordinator?

<font color="ff6000">boringbuangkok</font>, hmm... there must be something that interests u.
btw, r u married already? me married on the most popular day last year. hee...

peg76

we booked for swit/italy but still waiting for 15pp to cfm.

cos next yr hubby super busy with training and ndp planning so he will be outstation almost every 2 mths. so if we dun go this time then have to wait till end of next yr or so

keruri

when was ur big day? u helping ur frds to coordiate their weddings? nice nice...

boringbunangkok

saw u quite active in some threads... must hv made some good frds rite?

keruri

<font color="119911">circusbugs</font>,
my big day was sept 6, 2003.
i went switzerland for honeymoon too, briefly dropped by italy as well. switzerland + italy would be really nice!! things in italy are cheaper compared to switzerland so u can do more shopping in italy. did u take up a package with our local tour operators?

not exactly, coordinate lah. i help them with the sourcing for their bridal accessories... wrist corsage, flower baskets, ang pow box, etc. whatever i cannot find, i gotta do lor. haha... i also help them search for songs, it's an easier task. hee..

catz

Keke.. sakurasan, I've been feeling old ever since I graduated. I remember I went Zouk Mambo after I came back from England.. wah lau, felt like an auntie :p Now that I just turned 26, I feel lagi old man..

Hmm.. not so hot about Nam Kee as the owner's daughter used to take the same school bus as me and man, she was a real @#$%^&amp;. Yah if got money, Thomson is the place to stay

blush

oh ya....pheb...photos!! must remember to show us your photos ok?

pitterpatter
yah, i think a lot of virus going around at the moment. i know quite a few ppl who are sick. i'm personally on the brink of a flu...taking lots of vit C everyday to keep it away!

oraia
192028.gif
yay!!
so your resort and cheap tickets all booked...you're all set for a fantastic holiday! must be really looking forward to it!! the $400 you saved can now pay for shopping and spa!! :p

ok, will go and see blumesh when i get back. (dunno where to squeeze out the time...) me not fussy YET, but that's only because i havent decided what i want. a couple of us have concluded that due to RGS's teaching, RGS girls are very demanding. we must get exactly what we want, and most of the time, we want the best...

50% travel - not as exciting as it sounds. may get lonely cos no friends and family with me. sometimes miss friends' weddings even, cos i'm not in singapore....

keruri

i still yet to call up Tradewinds to cheeck if got more pp sign up for the package or not...

wow... u sounded pro leh... so i can ask for ur help if i need?

is keruri junior in ur intinery liao?

sakurasan

Hi Catz

Argggh...I'm turning 29! 26 seems so young and not so long ago to me.
Feel like an old hag...which my husband constantly reminds me of! Hehee..

Hey, remember I was asking you about SF some weeks back? I just came back 2 weeks ago...drove to Gilroy
Wow, I think 1 day also can't finish shopping leh. Which part of California are you staying in?

peg76

Keruri
I am currently diying the wrist corsages for my jie meis for that extra personal touch. Told my hubby that i may want to try my hand at doing the ang bao box. Co-ordinator from hotel is Grace, meeting her on monday to finalise some details.

Yah, think will ask winnie for her collection, but hor nowadays no time to cook. when got mood to cook, just think of the cleaning up later really put me off...grrrrr

circusbugs
your hubby in the army?? uniformed one? My hubby in mindef, non-uniform one. their marriage leave only three days. Mine will be at least 5 days but i had already submitted my leave for 2 weeks... minus the time for the wedding and HM, i still got a few lonely days....

peg76

my hubby working at gombak. his camp is down the slope of Mindef. so qiao hor... and yes he is uniformed staff.

he managed to get a break of 10 days after our AD for mh. so must really used up the 10 days lor...

pheb

hello everyone!

it's less than 24 hrs away! and i broke my toe nail

hee...thanks everyone for your advice and concern...feel v loved! sure will share all i can when i'm back...which is real soon cos no HM

photos ah...i bit shy one leh...can show you if we meet up...hee too lazy to scan in

oh...been running ard quite a bit so din really drink enuf water...mebbe that's why i got breakout
now trying to drink more more today

okie...catch up w u girls after monday...enjoy your weekend!

rokko

hallo girls.. talking about being ill - i've also been ill with the usual flu, sore throat and all

pheb: hey girl less than 24 hrs away?????? i'd prob wont be able to sit still if i were u!!! hehee... congrats and have an absolutely fabulous time tomorrow!!!! just concentrate on being the gorgeous bride... and indulge in all the attention and admiring glances at the mei mei bride!!!! *phweet weet* (whistles)... hehee

blush: hey girl i emailed u but it bounced back leh... did u get my email by any chance? i proposed 1st wk dec if it's ok wif u... i got exams coming up 1st wk of nov leh... v stressed now actually...

oraia: i've heard of the bale and i think it's a beeeyouutifool place leh!!!! when u going? and can take more pixs and show us and tell us all abt the place when u get back k???

catz

Hey sakurasan, Yah I was going to ask you about SF but kept forgetting.. it's these dang pregnancy hormones
I'm at Monterey, just an hour from Gilroy
So how? Shiok huh?

Alac, yah, it's impt to be young at heart but when you see the numbers creeping up... wah lau... can't imagine turning 30 :p

sakurasan

Hi Catz

Monterey is nice..esp the coastline! Is there a university in Monterey?

We took a damn expensive day trip
from SF to go to Carmel and Monterey. Husband refused to let me drive after sitting thru one day of my driving in SF and to Gilroy.
I did the 49-mile drive (which was fun...) but totally freaked him out the entire day coz I hardly drive in Singapore and this is the left-hand drive..then I decided to take off on the 101 to go to Gilroy on impulse (coz if I dun do it, he won't let me drive there another day
)Didn't know exactly where the factory outlets were in Gilroy so had to keep stopping to ask pple (which maddened him further)..realized that it's juz at the exit from 101 into Leavenly Rd which I had missed. Didn't spend much time there coz it was gng into the evening and that man was worried abt me driving on the highway when it turns dark. Managed to get a decent Coach handbag
I could have stayed in Gilroy for 2 days and not finish shopping.

Carmel is really sweet...didn't get to spend much time there - only had time for lunch and a short walk around (real irritating of tours). Do you go to Carmel often?

oraia

hi blush,

hehe, thanks! ur icons so cute!

ya, i agree with u about the "demanding" part hahaha..... not sure if it's RGS teaching. heeee. take ur time to decide w BS lah, i think u've got alot of time, as long as u give them 8-9 mths notice to start wk shd be ok.

hey pheb!!!

not sure if you'll still be reading this with the final preps today... and ur nicely manicured nails!
but CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! am sure you'll be a beeeeaaauuutiful bride!

hey rokko,

uhoh.. u ill also ah?
also must take more warm honey ah!!
heee, i'm gg to bali for HM in dec.
will def update ev one abt the place!!! i can't wait!!! 2 more mths!!!!

caratsoup

Hi Alac,

You are in the same cohort as me
which class are you from? I did not attend the reunion dinner but yeah, did receive the letter though.

alacrity

I was going overseas then thus I didn't managed to attend it though a few of exPL called me up. I wonder how's everyone else now. We've met when we were young, but now we are walking different paths... hehehe

alacrity

4F... hum... hahah I know you guys made that chinese teacher cry that year rite! Cos I think she was not being very nice...

caratsoup

I don't really already. Can't even remember who my Chinese teacher was? Only remember Judy Wong was the history teacher, Vivian Loo for Science, Yap for English I think, Chan for Lit, Ms Wong for A Math, the skinny Mrs Lim (i think) for E math and Geog.

Which J.C. or poly did you go to eventually?

catz

Alac and Caratsoup, was Miss Chan the short, chubby lady? She was really funky.

Sakurasan, Yup Monterey is beautiful.. there is a uni but not very good one lah... I love Carmel, pop in every once in a while. There's actually a Coach outlet there as well
You are pretty brave for driving the 49 mile!! I don't mind driving but if hubby's going to do it, then that's the best! Anyway, now that I'm preggers, he drives most of the time.

sakurasan

CaratSoup

I like Ms Yap! She was my Lit teacher in Sec 3 and taught us Animal Farm. She used to sing in class and it was very entertaining
Heard that she subsequently left to do some professional singing course or something. Judy Wong was my Geog each in Upp Sec. Her classes were dreadfully boring! She would drone on and on and on...

Hi Catz

Yup, went to the Coach outlet in Carmel - got a nice wallet for hubby there
Sigh..I wish hubby could drive then there wld be no conflict. He complained that the day trip to Napa Valley was not satisfying. Kept telling him that if we were to drive there and stay overnight it would be more fun...well, no point arguing with him
Loved the Palace of Fine Arts.

Ooh...my fave place in SF is Williams-Sonoma. Lovely stuff
Tried the cheesecake place in Macys too.

wateraine

Hi bibip

Wasn't able to access net. Just found a new job and now settling down. Very tired, nowadays do ot until late. Not in accounts, cos accounts not my cup of tea. ONly studied acc, tat's all hehe. I'm in customer service, hehe.

Yes, i tink it's also stressful if i dun work, cos no money, dun even think of anywhere to shop.

M Hotel so ex leh, even more exp than the other hotels in orchard leh. So how many tables did u book?