Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

wateraine

Bibip, u r funny. I thot only female biological clocks will start ticking, didn't noe it applies to men as well.

Oh, u can't remember the teachers, guess they do not leave a deep impression on u. So where did u go after Shuqun? I went to NP.

Thanks, i haven't decided on my customary yet, maybe abt 1-2 yr time. Am preparing for Nov Rom, only got the shoes and dress fm my BS, haven't ordered flowers yet.

Maybe u can share with me yr ROM, BS experience, senior asking advice fm junior hehe.

oraia

hi pheb,

u must be busy, hvn't heard from you...but oh dear...
why like tt? still must be tour guide on the day after ur AD???

oh no... u're gg to be super tired... can other family members help?

ur WG oso no good?
why like tt ah? ur waist part lost more weight is it? *strange*
so how? are they gg to unpick the crystals and resew the stuff? when's ur next fitting after alteration?
this calls for another coffee session hor? :p

starstar~ thanks.. i hv 2 nites hotel stay leh... so gg on 15th lor. am already extending 1 nite's stay from the pkg liao. original pkg only 3N. will have to hope for the best

pheb

oraia
...hee kopi sounds fun...but dunno got time not :p me already no time to do work...been doing the wedding stuff the whole day today!

well...let's see ah...his eldest sis is flying in the day before and back on sunday, his other sis is preggie, so left with us to entertain the old folks
the rest of the family are old folks
or below the knee :p

i jus called to tell them i wanna try again...in case WG stuns pple for wrong reasons...will be down on 12 oct...inquisitive hubby was turning up the WG at the hem to check...aiyo...my gown still dirty leh...mebbe they want to refit, alter then clean or mebbe not hor? btw...i did maintain my weight...my pix can see those dreadful creases! btw, the crystals din show up in my pix leh...mich says somehow digi cam captures it better...so i mean...depends on how you look at it lar...good and bad...good cos can't see the bad handicraft....bad cos can't see any crystals...hey when you choosing your pix?

blush

hey pheb
i was at BV yday to look at their packages after work...and saw someone trying on gowns. and the groom was taking photos of the bride....was that you?

blush

oria
yah, it's a lot of difference...that's why i'm still considering. amanda lee doesn't specialise in any particular style...she was formerly with silhouette - so i guess pretty similar....

i think the service by both BS are pretty good. (altho dunno if this will change after i sign on the dotted line) think amanda's gowns seem to sit better on me...but not sure if that's worth so much more....

zann

hi little_ger,

were you the one asking for feedback abt treasure productions on one thread previously and i posted to you that my AD is not over yet and can only let you have my comments after that, so did you sign up with them in the end or still looking around?

muppy

alamak, zann! meet you again!

hi all, i graduated in 2000. business. wah you all like do so much alraedy for wedding prep. i still dingding dongdong hehe

zann

hi melanie,

har..so qiao har...same school haha...i can't afford to dingdong liao leh...my wedding this yr...yours is next yr...still can afford to ding dong...

tealeaf

Hi zann and muppy,
wow, you 2 are also from TP. Same here but I graduated much earlier in 1995 under School of Business too

pheb

blush...hee...that's not me...was down at 3-4...so what's your verdict on BV? i can't really advice you on the BS you mentioned but i can share my experience with BV if you wanna know

girls...have a good day at work! it's thursday already!

blush

pheb
oh, too bad not you....

BV not shortlisted for me. Didn't get a good first impression from Colin....
and also partly because I saw Michelle at the other side doing a gown selection for another bride. She looked quite sulky, and bride didn't look like she was having fun....
this may be total opposite from the truth, cos i didn't talk to her, but just my impression from the look on their face.

how has your experience been with BV? sorry, the above is just my personal observation, no offense intended....

oraia

hihi girls!

busy day! phew!

pheb~ hehe, got time for kopi not? if not nebermind, u concentrate on wedding kae?
need help must shout hor! heee

oh no!!! sounds like u realli hv to be tour guide leh
can the parents do it by themselves? just pack the relatives all into a bus, tell the bus driver go zoo, bird park, dimsum, then dinner go seafood. hahahaha. old folks cannot walk too much. will be tired one!

yes yes!! i think u def hv to try ur WG again!
errm... is the hem really dirty? i think they do spot cleaning only.
btw, urs is not digi cam ah?
me ah? 19 oct. heee. after ur AD liao leh!!

blush~ mabbe if amanda's gowns are sort of similar to sil, then u can consider gg w the cheaper option and specifying how u want to do ur gown.
am sure if it's MTM for u, it'll fit just as well?
just my thots!

starmed

oh BV is bridal veil.. it's rather on the high end one right? tot it should be good... hmm... if not wrong it's one of the designer boutique right? think it's those time of the month... :p mood swings... keke...

catz

hallo everyone! hallo sakurasan!
I was in PL 1991-1994. I think a lot of my ex-teachers have retired - Mrs B Lim, Mrs SE Ng and of course Mrs Winnie Tan (she used to take us for English...eeks)...Glad to see PL girls in this forum.

bearlybutton

Hi naturally,

Thanks for the info.

----------------------------------

Hi Catz,

Welcome here! I think the school has changed tremendously. PL now has male teachers - 3 of them i think?

Cheers. =)

bibip

hey ling, sorry, wasn't able to reply you yest.. was on leave and had no access to the PC.

actually, most of hubby's frens got kids, so he also yearning for one, that's why i got preggie so early loh.. hehe..

yah lah, i kind of "hun" my way thru sec, so not many teachers leave any impression leh.. i went to NP also, but quit after 10mths and have been working ever since, wat course you took in NP?

flowers still have time lah, just order a week before can liao, try not to get too big bouquet, dun look so sweet leh.. keke.. my opinion..

experience? ermm.. for my ROM, i actually bought my dress only 1 week before, and flowers few days before.. quite rush lah, cos i always procrastinate.. hehe.. lazy lah.. as for BS, i suggest you shop at a few first before you decide, after you shortlisted the BS, try to find info fm frens or the forum on how's the BS before you commit loh... things you must know is, how flex the BS is? the gowns? the photographers? and whether all this meet your budget or not loh..

for me, i confirm on the first BS i stepped into, in the end, i got limited choices for both WG and EG.. haiz.. photos din come out too nice either... regret manz!

rokko

allo girls! been such a busy busy week for me! TGIF!!!!

blush ah, why never ask me... im with sil mah... hehee... if u nid to ask me anything jus say hor... but just to share what i made my decision based on:
1. can i click with the designer? (that's most impt cos u're gonna hafta communicate ur ideas to him/her and he/she has to be receptive to your ideas!)
2. do i like the gowns? (some BS have particular specialities - like kai mostly specialises in lace/organza, ted wu with satin/embriodery/beading... not sure abt amanda but sil's pretty versatile)
3. do i have a particular MUA in mind? (im a little more particular abt MUA and had freddie/jasmine/leonlim in mind, so i kinda shortlisted BS based on my criteria as well.. hee)
4. do i have a particular PS photog in mind? (again, easier if the BS ties up with the certain PS photog... hmm but u oredi have chrisling... so next!)
5. ok next... what are the top-ups required, if any? (gotta check wif them if more lace/longer train requires top-ups... v impt!)
6. and of cos, ur budget

hmmm i think that's abt all... sorry so long-winded... but i think u hafta base ur decision not only on the cost factor, but v imptly on the chemistry u haf wif ur designer... is he/she receptive to ur ideas? etc etc... but having said all that, i really do think there are many many many good designers around who churn out such gorgeous gowns!! *dreams* shld haf studied fashion designing or smtg, then i may just be in the happy business of churning out beautiful gowns myself now!!! hee

rokko

btw girls, this is so out of the whole discussion but can i just find out if any of u girls experience symptoms before ur period comes? this whole week i've been feeling just a-w-f-u-l.... feeling fat & bloated, moody and all... i hate to subscribe to the PMS theory becos sometimes i think it's a lame excuse for being a pain and then simply blaming it on PMS... but this week i cant help but think this PMS thingy is so real! i started feeling fat (even tho im exercising my butt off these days) and awful and moody and i was just wondering if it's got anything to do wif PMS and there go u, it is!!!

are there any supplements that can help alleviate the whole PMS symptoms thing? cos i was just thinking if my AD's just before the start of my period, it'll be just such a pain if i get all PMS-ed on my AD - feeling fat and moody! yucks!!! ;p

so any advice, anyone?

oraia

hi rokko,

long time no hear!

hehe, PMS is a very real phenomenon... cos i also used to think it's all an "excuse"... but i realised aft starting work, it's really v true. there are days when i feel like crap, and it's not just physical. my already-bad temper is worse, i'm moody, edgy... hehe...

some months i get worse physical symptoms than others... i think it's food related. heard if we cut down on salt content just ard the period (no pun intended!), it's less bloaty. sometimes i also feel nauseous! eee... bleah. heee.

starmed

yo gals
if u want to reduce the so call PMS thingy... it's good to take Primrose supplement... think can get in Watson's or Guardian... evening primrose it's proven to greatly reduce the PMS symtoms... wat's more it's also good for your skin...

One male colleague bought it for his wife n he commented that his life so much better when his wife took it... cos initially he got to tahan her PMS symtoms... get angry over nothing... very emotional n sensitive... :p to usual stuff we'll do when we get the period thing... mood swings....

pheb

hey rokko! welcome to the PMS club! my hubby very scared of me one week before the dreaded dayima arrives...cos i'll be super unreasonable, super illogical and snap at him at the slightest...also cry very easily...oh and i used to go up one or two clothes sizes think cos of water retention...but now not so bad...mebbe cos i'm eating more sensibly

my gf suggests EPO...err i haven't tried but like what oraia mentioned...my symptoms thankfully are not that regular...sometimes can pass the whole ordeal with flat tummy...sometimes feel like ginormous elephant :p

rokko

heh glad to know im not the only one! i feel like such a troll this week and poor FH is getting the brunt of it... and definitely doesnt help that i really do feel like a ginormous elephant too... eeps!!! ;p

yep thanks for the EPO recommendation... think i'll pronto go get one bottle today after work...

thanks girls for sharing... u are all such sweethearts!

keruri

hi gals!!!! long time no see!

<font color="0000ff">boringbuangkok</font>, just noticed that you've become happeningbuangkok liao with a thousand over posts to your name. hee... how's life? think it's not as boring as when you first came here, right?

<font color="aa00aa">peg76</font>, nice to hear that ur house's done up liao.
i'm good. still lurking around this forum but in different thread. hee.. u can join me soon. ;)

<font color="119911">circusbugs</font>, nice to see u here.

wateraine

Hi Bibip

No prob. Was also busy @ work yest.

I studied Accountancy in NP, wat did u study?

Wah, u so zhai, bought yr dress a wk b4. I chose J&amp;M as my BS, negotiated for more photos. Read a lot fm forum hehe. Which BS did u choose? I like champagne roses, so thinking of getting tat. Wedding sure dun come cheap, tat's wat i tink.

Thanks for the advice!

catz

Hi Bearlybutton, you're kidding... male teachers?

Hey sakurasan.. sad to hear about Mrs Ng... she taught us Physics and she was one of the prefect mistresses so I did have a soft spot for her. Heard Winnie Tan is taking care of her grandkids
She's a tough old bird but ultimately she loved the school with all her heart. Can you imagine taking English under her? Scary... but we got lots of free periods 'cos she was away on principal duty.. haha

sakurasan

Hi Catz

Oh my gosh..poor grandkids! Are they being tortured and indoctrinated with weird ideas under her care..like girls must wear plaits and cannot talk to boys?
I'm real mean but I couldn't stand her nonsense. I thot she was psychotic. Got no affection for her at all.

bearlybutton

Was unable to put a face to Mrs SE Ng until you (Catz) mentioned Physics. She used to teach me too. Sadly, have got no deep impressions of her.

I think Mrs Winnie Tan is just conservative in some ways but is otherwise pretty harmless. At least i'm glad she fought to keep the school non-coed! If i've got a daughter, i'm sure to send her back to PL. The son can go to a monastry like my FH and bro... ha.

What ECAs are you ladies from?

Cheers. =)

tee

Hello! Girls
I'm from Hai Sing Girls' High. (1983-1987)
Still remember that old HUT (Geography lesson there)...music room just behind the stage...Ah Jie used to shout "shiow! shiow! shiow! (hot)" chasing after us along corridoors...
the "durians" on the basketball court...&amp; the "underground" canteen.
I remember when I was in sec 1, the principal was Sister Maria. Then Mrs Ow. She did punish us (whole class) to stand under the flag poles when we made too much noise. (teacher on MC) School rules were very strict then ... once hair touched collar, tied it with blue, white or black rubber bands, no fancy ear rings...
Will always remeber teachers like Mr Toh, Mr Lee, Mrs Yap, Honda, etc

sowie

Hiya...

Me another from 91 batch...same class as Sakurasan...we know each other ya

In case u cannot remember, Mrs SE Ng is affectionately known as Ah SEng.....cos she talks like one too....think she's chinese ed....she's pretty nice....and 1 of her catch phrase is "Can I borrow a tissue from you".....it used to send us into peals of laughter...how can u borrow a pc of tissue from pple...u sneeze and return meh?

As for Mrs Winnie Tan, I have no affection for her as well. I remember opening my schoolbag and finding a packet a chicken wing bones in it becos I was suay enuf to leave my bag near someone's left behind bones....she has always threatened to dump things not cleared on the canteen table into nearest bag......i heard someone gana mee rebus and had to change school bag....

In the old boundary rd school days, she used to dump girls into rubbish bins for misbehaving or something like that. Oh yes, you gals remember the era of having to wear swimming caps for cutting hair too short?

naturally

Sowie,
Really?????
i'm 1 yr your junior but i have never heard abt Winnie Tan dumping chicken bones into anybody's bag... are u sure it wasn't your classmate playing pranks on u???

We call her Ah Seng as well... though can't say it's out of affection!
She's a nice lady, but notti us just love to make fun of her accent... feel quite sad that she had passed away, wonder if she ever regretted teaching a bunch of notti gals like us?

bearlybutton

Ahh... now i remember by the mention of "ah seng". Tall and thin lady, always bullied by us. Heh. Poor thing.

I have never heard of Mrs Tan doing those things either. But ya, i rem the swimming cap punishment and all the weird spot checks outside the usual fingernails, petticoat, belt and hair. You know... those impromptu checks conducted by the form teacher during class to single out those who bind their chests? Eeeks.

peg76

Hi Glj
You are my senior. I graduated in 1992.

Keruri
seldom see u around these days... been "pounding" mooncakes in my new kitchen, think the neighbours must be thinking that we are very noisy.

bibip

hey ling,

i was in nursing, that explains y i quit.. hehehe..

yah, cos i actually din plan to ROM so early, but got the keys to my flat, so chop chop ROM loh.. that's y.. hehe..

wow, you haven't fix date for customary but already chosen BS? where is J&amp;M? the bridal dun have a ROM package too? champagne roses are nice.. gd choice.. for me, i used white roses for both ROM and wedding, they are my fav!

yup, wedding not cheap... so tot of gg restaurant or hotel for your dinner?

btw, what's your ECA in school?

sakurasan

Hahaa...I remember how she locked up the public phones in the canteen and those who had to make calls had to fill in a logbook on why she had to make a phonecall...the rumour for this was that WT caught some girls calling boys using the public phones.
And she used to tell us that we must remain innocent and play with dolls...*faint*

bearlybutton

Did she?? I have no recollection of that at all... Oh, but i remember she banned us from the old Hougang Interchange (esp. Macs) after school for a period of time. We weren't supposed to be seen loitering there in our school uniform unless accompanied by our parents. Think she gave up on that idea soon after cos it didn't work out. Heh.

chelsea

hello all,

i am an exPL girl too, from 94 to 97 batch.

i remembered all the spot checks and all but i must say she managed to control the school well.. just a little bit conservative that's all. just take whatever she is talking with a pinch of salt and be happy. i like PL very much. Miss Connie Ang taught my class for a while as a relief teacher, with her best friend. heard that she got married and was told that she looks great man.

bearlybutton

Hello Chel.
Finally someone younger than me. Heh. You are one young bride!

Connie Ang was the head prefect when i was in Sec 1 i think. Can't remember much.

wateraine

Hi bibip

Oh u r fm NYP, i'm fm NP. My ex schoolmate also went to study nursing, now she's working as a nurse in US. Guess it's not easy cos i always hear her complain abt the work, bond etc. Now she's very happy working in US.

Customary is likely to be 1-2 yrs time, so we went for the package, paid deposit first and get to use their dress and trial makeup for ROM. J&amp;M is in Tanjong Pagar. Feel that the ROM package is a waste of money,so might as well use the whole bridal package. Who was yr BS?

We are considering 88 restaurant for wedding dinner. Where did u have your dinner?

I was in Eng LDDS in Shuqun, wat abt u?

catz

Hi Stussy, which class were you fr? I was from 4A.

I still remember Monday morning assemblies.. can drag for one hour and all these poor Sec 1 kiddos would be fainting left right centre.. hehe.. I would say that WT had her draconian ways but she had a heart lah. The teachers that I really couldn't stand were Angeline Loh and her good friend Miss Ng (she was HOD of Geog I think..can't remember her name now 'cos I used to call her Freddy, short for Freddy Kruger).. used to think of them as the axis of evil. :p