Engagement Ring

Haha, just kidding. Anyway, it looks a nice size on ur finger and the side stones complement the centre stone well. Wear it in gd health. =)

<font color="119911">hi emeraldbride, my diamond ring's from there! Service is really good. And the quality of the diamond is really commendable. Highly recommend josi gems!</font>

My hubby gt me a 0.64 ct, F colour, vs 2 solitare in Tiffany 6 crawls setting. Though it makes the diamond looks abit small, but i love it for the brillance and the setting. I choose the setting myself and is what i had wanted.

Hi Tiffany, the specs of that diamond you got is very similar to what my wife-to-be's aiming for...
Mind sharing with us how much you paid for it? If you're not comfortable with it please PM me instead? Thanks a lot!

hi bride..can you let me have their contact? What time do they close?i need to call for an appt rite? their diamond comes with AGS or GIA cert?

<font color="119911">hi there emeraldbride, their diamonds come with a GIA cert. What size are you looking at? You can call them at 63387423 to make an appt with them. Ya it's better to make appt cos they're located in one of the offices (i think it's 8th flr, can't remember) that is not easily seen. They'll be able to advise you as to what time they close.

hi machiavelli, my ring's 0.9 ct, F colour, VS 1 in a Soo Kee Endear setting. It's really nice and the price is about $10k. Again, pricing depends on the Cs of the diamond. What's more impt is that you find a diamond that "speaks" to you. Sometimes, a D-colour diamond may not look as brilliant as a well-cut VVS1 diamond and vice versa so most imptly, you must see the diamond from different aspects. That's what we liked about Josi Gems. He was really patient in explaining to us how each diamond has its pros and cons.

Even "scratches" or defects of a diamond, have to see where it's placed. if it's going to be hidden under the claw, then it should be ok. Things like that.</font>

Hi Machiavelli

I had went around shopping for a few weeks, looking for a at least 0.6 F colour diamond, but it seems that many shops do not have.

Finally, I got mine from josi gem, with spec 0.64, F colour, vs2 (what I was looking for). They custom made to what i had requested, tiffany setting, comfort fit, 6 crawls etc. It cost my hubby 3.2k. One of our friend who is working in one of the large jewellery shops has followed us to there to check on he diamond. In addition, I had also brought the ring to l** H** to let one of the gemologist to check. They comment that it is a very good buy and the cut and brillance of the diamond does not lose out to those from Soo Kee or Lee Hwa. But for the size of the diamond that I wanted, GIA does not have any stock, thus, the diamond was certified by IGI, with cut excellent.

Josi gem allows u to choose the diamond u want, and had it set according to the type of setting u wanted. We contacted Simon who had helped us with all the coordination.

Overall, i am pretty glad and satisfied with my ring. If i had got it from the retail shops, it would had cost me at least 4k, not gurantee that I will have the setting that i want.

hi tiffany,

i think that's a really good buy! lucky you!

would love to have a solitaire ring like yours, but due to budget (3k, can't bear my hubby spending too much on a ring), the carat size is around 0.50 carat....

now i know where to go!!! yeah!

I too went ring shopping 2 weekends ago. Went to Je Taime, Flower Diamond, Larry, Lee Hwa, Goldheart, etc etc etc... until head oso spinning..hahah
The worst shop is Flower Diamond..I thought they do custom made their engagement ring as per mentioned in some of the thread, however, the sales person juz told me tat they do not, they only do costume jewellery. When I inquired further, she just say, we don't carry those and ignore me. Find that they look at our dressing etc etc, thinking that we cannot afford. Siah..

not yet..their opening time is so short. Can only make it on Saturday but this Saturday is out cos I have a training..
Anyone of you compared Josie Gems and eClarity?

hv u made appointment with either one of them? I'm supposed to go down to eClarity on 28th April.. still hv time lar cos our solemnisation is only on 8th Dec 2007..hehe

no, i haven't... attending wedding shows this sat and 28 april (sat)so have not called...

then hubby not in town for 2 weekends may, so don't know when we can go yet...

good lah, you go on 28 april then let me know lor... any idea what specs you getting for the diamond?

i'm looking for Princess cut diamond..which is so difficult to find.
Most probably will be 0.5C and above, E / F color, VS2 to VVS2. That should fall below $3.5K..

oh... i see... is princess cut generally more ex than round brilliant?

If not, then you may get something bigger at josie gems, tiffany got a 0.64!! so nice...

no leh.. round brilliant is more expensive. U will see that those diamonds sold in Lee Hwa, Soo Kee, Larry, etc etc, are mostly round brilliant. More sought after.
I tried on a 1.01C diamond ring last weekend, looks big on my finger. My finger is quite thin, so 0.7C is the max I will go..

wah, 1 carat! heh heh... my max is also 0.70, but don't think will be getting that size cos got budget...

bb queen,

according to the info. on this thread, it's at park mall.

Hi emeraldbride,

Princess are cheaper than rounds if you consider carat weight. However, princesses r cut deeper than rounds (i.e. from side view it's thicker), so a 0.5 carat princess will look quite a bit smaller than a 0.5 round.

I wanted a princess cut at first too, but decided to get round in the end cos it's very hard to find a princess tt's well cut, and princesses tend to be less sparkly than rounds. The way tt the princess is cut causes more light to "leak".

But if you like princess cut, of cos i'll say go ahead and get it, just make sure tt the corners are well protected by the setting so you dun end up with chipped corners in the future. Also check the cert and try to avoid girdles tt are "extremely thin" on the cert.

If you don't mind considering an online diamond, Barry at www.exceldiamonds.com is an expert at princess cuts. And www.whiteflash.com has this princess cut tt has clipped-off corners (called X-factor) that looks a lot like the Tiffany Lucida. Those were the places where i went to look at when i wanted a princess cut back then.

It's quite hard to find princesses in Singapore. We went to 3 shopping malls and only saw ONE princess tt's above 0.5 carat!

I was super in love with this one at tt time and wanted to get it. But now i've decided to just go with a round. They show the actual picture at this URL:
http://www.whiteflash.com/xfactor/X-Factor-cut-diamond-10.htm

BTW, an X-factor looks bigger than a typical princess of a similar weight.

I saw one AGS princess cut diamond @ Larry. 0.44C, veri veri sparkle.. however, like wat kristen said, it looks small.. hehehe and the price is exp too.. $3.9K. I reckon I could get something bigger n much nicer if i custom made it from Josie or eClarity.
I think can only make reference to online, I still have phobia on buying stuff online, esp such expensive things.. hehe
strongyetweak, hv u made appt with Simon from Josie or Amanda from eClarity?? Better call earlier to make appt..

emeralbride,

I haven't called any of them. I just realised the wedding show is this sunday and not sat.. haha... blur... so may go this sat... they work half day on sats??

josie gems is until 2.30pm while eClarity i not sure leh..but Amanda (eClarity) will not be in until 15th April cos she is on maternity leave.
Also I tink is better to call ahead n let them know what you are looking for so that they can prepare beforehand..

If you don't mind me saying...

We got a quote from eClarity and we find it expensive, compared to whiteflash or pricescope.

That's not the most important issue...it's when I asked if the diamond is conflict free? I got no reply from them at all. Their initial respond was very quick.

I would think that they could at least tell me that it's not, instead they never bother to reply. That, to me is definately bad customer service.

Kristen, you got mail!

Since when will the jewellers themselves know whether or not the diamonds they have on hand are 'conflict-free'?

There is no way they could've determined that, hence for consumers like us it's even tougher to ensure that criteria. The certification that comes with the diamonds only indicate the specs of the diamond, not its origin.

So even if you decide to seriously seek an answer, the jeweller, is he/she wants to, can simply smoke you and tell you what you want to hear.

There's no way a gemologist can verify his/her answer anyway.

Hi Strongyetweak

Mine is really consider a very gd buy. Coz personally, i had brought it to compare with the diamonds in Lee Hwa and Soo Kee. The brillance of the diamond does not lose out to those that they sold in the shop with the same specifications. Previously, i had also tried on a 0.72 round brillant solitare and find that it looks too big on my finger that it seem fake. Thus, in the end, i decide that I cannt get anything bigger than 0.7. In addition, i dun quite like the number '7'. hee..

I have to agree with Zoe on the eClarity issue.

Their initial response was very prompt. But when i said tt i wun be getting my ring so soon, and asked if they can show me a pic of this setting tt they said they have, the reply came more den a week later, saying tt they can't show me a pic and tt i can see the ring when i go down. Seems like they're only interested in getting me to go down.

I just feel tt their service is quite lacking as compared to other online shops, considering the fact tt they DO selling their stuff online!

I feel tt their price is not tt great compared to some online places tt i trust. Their price is also inclusive of the setting, which makes me wonder abt the quality of the setting. Cos good settings will be priced quite differently, according to the different designs. But theirs is "one price fits all".

i just called Clarity.. they told me their they hv a list of diamonds in their database, which means I can't see the actual diamond itself.. N if i want to see the actual one, I have to pay a deposit of 50% upfront n they will ship it from their warehouse in Malaysia.
I tot we are supposed to see the actual diamond first?
The assistant told me ppl usually go down and see their database and then the next time is to collect their ring.. so easy one ah?? I tot will take a few trips to select sumthing that we really really like n comfy with?
Like my dear always say..its not like buying pork from the market..n it is all abt love at first sight..haha

N i just found out that they are actually affiliated to Wah Chan, Malaysia. No wonder thr is the same shop in 1Utama that is also Clarity..hehe

Emeraldbride,

Tt means tt they're as good as being an online seller, only with a physical shop.

Barry at www.exceldiamonds.com does the same thing, BUT he will get any diamond tt u like shipped to him at NO COST, take photos and brilliantscope images (this analyses light return), etc and let you see it before you choose whether you want the stone. Tt's why i trust CERTAIN online sellers. Some of them also have physical shops in the USA.

I'll say forget abt eClarity. 50% upfront is ridiculous. What if you hate the stone?

hi kristen..yeah. I also feel that 50% upfront is really alot.. what if the diamond they gave me is not what it is..
kenshare, did you pay 50% upfront?`

no i didnt pay 50%. MY FH sent the specs to them and then they will prepare the list of diamonds on their database to show you.
From there, you choose the stone but you don't see.
Then we get to see samples ; meaning rings done up by other customers but cannot try. Can only see.

When you collect the ring, you will match the specs with the cert from the stone that you have chosen. It takes usually one month.

I think till today I am still very satisfied, maybe I am not so involved with the selection of the ring, cos my fiancee does all the homework, does all the coordination.
My job was to go down to the shop and choose the "stone specs" that I want. That's it! haha

I think maybe there is a misunderstanding. What eclarity does is to select the stone first then select the setting. and not go down to chose the actual ring with the stone. They have some setting done but the stones are usually no good one. Its more like customisation. Just like when you buy online, you select the stone from the database, then you select the setting you like, then viola! you have the ring.

my n my FH trust her cos we were recommended by a forumer here who is her friend.

I bought my engagement ring from eclarity too, and I love it. The price is really competitive. So when my friend showed me this chatroom, I think I should share my view...

The gemologist from clarity just gave birth (less than 1 month) but she is already back to work every saturday!! so if some of you didnt get a quick response from her recently thats why..

You all can sms her direct (98331220 which you can find on the website) for an appointment.

hmm..then mabbe the assistant gave me the wrong info.. hehe
I have not spoken to Amanda at all cos the last time I went down, she's still on maternity leave.
I will still go down on 28th April to meet her..

Machiavelli,

Diamonds from S.A...it's hard to find it's origin. Diamonds from Australia or Russia will definately be conflict-free.

It's true, any jeweller can smoke you, thus it's best you go to someone you trust or someone that you know, that actually cares.

As for eClarity, I am happy for Kenshare that she got a good deal. But paying any amount of money upfront, without seeing the actual product is similar to online buying, like Kristen had said.

They have a Wan Chan shop at Gaint Hypermarket Plentong in Johor too. In case anyone of you want a feel of their products upfront.

wah..Johor! I have phobia in going to Johor..hehehe
anyhow, must still give eClarity the benefit of doubt.. i read from other threads, they gave good recommendation as well

Josi gems does not need you to pay any deposit for ordering of the stone or even do the setting. Money is only paid when you collect the ring. When i ordered the diamond, i did not even see the diamond. I told the guy to do the setting for me and tell him which type of setting I might like. I ask if there is a need for me to pay any deposit or if the event i find that the ring is nt the type i want, will there be any penalty? He told me dun have to pay anything. He says that I can make the payment untill i see the ring and is satisfied. Only then, i will make the payment and take the ring away.

Actually I could buy their counter diamonds (which already have lots of choices), or buy from the database (which has even MORE options). So if you all want to see the product, can make an appointment and go to clarity in Singapore, don't have to go johor. Wah Chan or clarity has many datuk datin customers... the one in Johor is their low end one so the standards are different.

When I did my ring I was very happy with it (I custom make it), and the gemologist told me how she can finetune it, I am surprise a jeweller will go to that extent... I find her really professional, and now she is like a friend of ours.. must clear all these wrong rumours for her.

It's interesting to know that those who have met her will give good recommendations.

Wow... so much information to just get an engagement ring? My SO and I are going ring shopping next weekend... Sad to say, our budget is only going to be 1.5k. I wonder if we can get anything decent....
Both of us are clueless about diamonds...

emeraldbride it's best to talk to Amanda she is a nice person. she will know best. and you can also go to their website and see the setting of the diamond ring to have a feel of how it look like

Hi Mindy, don't despair. My ring was only 1.5k. I got a 0.46ct, E or F colour, normal cut, VS1 (only flaws are a bit of feather and airpocket - no carbon so not dull at all). Got it from Soo Kee in Aug 2005. Try to go for diamonds with older GIA certs. They tend to be cheaper.

We have no way of knowing the age of diamonds. What I mean is GIA certs which are older are cheaper. When we buy GIA certified diamonds, the cost of certification is worked into the price of the diamond. For some reason, the older the date of the GIA cert, the cheaper the diamond, all things being equal. My diamond's GIA cert is dated May 2003.Husband bot it for me in Aug 2005.

Also, don't turn away from VS1 diamonds. My diamond is actually much clearer to the naked eye than some VVS2 diamonds with carbon in them. You need to know what type of inclusions there are. you can tell from the GIA cert if it is air pocket, feather or carbon. I find carbon the worst type of inclusions. Then you compare the diamonds with naked eye.

wow cactus, u really got a good deal for ur ring.. less than $2K. Compared with what others got here.. u really know whr to get ur stuff ya.. u did alot of research or??

hi emeraldbride, I didn't really do alot of research. My husband and I spent about 5 hours over 2 Saturdays checking out the shops at Suntec City and Citylink Mall. We reuqested the shops to check their computer system for diamonds close to our specifications and have them delivered to the Suntec City/Citylink Mall branches the following Saturday for our selection. We already had in mind the specifications we wanted. We learnt about the date of GIA cert affecting the price of diamonds and that carbon inclusions are the worse as we went along the way looking at a whole range of diamond rings on the first Saturday. I wanted something less than 0.5ct cos my fingers are short and slim. What I didn't know was whether I wanted a special cut diamond or normal cut. Eventually, I settled for normal cut.