Engagement Ring

kristen86

Hi Mindy,

I'll suggest you get a diamond that is graded as "excellent cut" on the GIA cert. That way, you can actually go lower on clarity and colour and still get a v gd looking diamond.

Just to clarify, a "special" cut refers to stuff like Brilliant Rose, which is not the usual 58 facet cut diamonds. When i say "excellent cut", i refer to a "normal" cut diamond which is cut to excellent proportions. It'll make the diamond sparkle much more than one that is graded as "good cut" or "fair cut".

I personally don't believe in "special" cuts. The shops will tell you tt more facets = more brilliance, however, i feel tt it all has to do with how well-proportioned the whole thing is, which is why i strongly recommend getting an "excellent cut" diamond.

When it comes to clarity and colour, i personally will go as low as H-I colour, and SI1 clarity. However, not all SI1s are acceptable. You need to check them with your own eyes to see if the inclusions are visible or not. Good luck in ur search!

jgal

cactus_79 : those diamond with older cert are cheaper because GIA just update their grading criterias.(ard 2005-6) So earlier GIA-ed stone may not fare as well under the new criterias esp on the cut area which is the most impt criteria.

http://www.gemsociety.org/info/igem21.htm

DiamondFanatic is right on the facets.

As for clarity, do make a appointment with Amanda before judging on their services etc. I am sure you will get value-for-money and excellence service from clarity.

They have a good collection at the showroom. However, they may not have all types of diamond instore, so they need to get frm oversea, that's why the deposit. **to make sure you come back for the stone** I think this is the same as if you go to SooKee or LeeHwa, they also dun have diamonds of all types and the salesperson probably tell you "Dont have" bluntly, instead of helping you find the ideal stone. As mentioned, you can always reject the stone if you dun like later.
As for most online shop, they can give you pics and idealscope image, I am sure Amanda can that too. But to ship the physical diamond to singapore, there is def a cost involved (import taxes etc), So i guess it only right they impose a "deposit" system.

snz

We finally got a reply from eClarity. Amanda is still on leave and she explained the situation. Perhaps it's an misunderstanding.

As for the cut, I have to agree with Kristen & JGAl. Have you guys heard of the Gabrielle diamond? It has 105 facets. We chanced upon the diamond when we asked for Zoe diamond at Charlotte Atelier in Suntec. I have to say that's it really messy in cuts. IMHO, I do not think it sparkles any better. What really puts us off, is when they said we have to be owner of 3 gabi diamonds before we can purchase Zoe diamond!

We decided to cross Zoe or gabi diamond off our list.

So JGal, would they refund ya the full deposit, if you can't find any ideal stone in their shop at all? Or you found your ideal stone elsewhere? Or you mean you gotta stick with them till ya find an ideal stone?

snz

JGal,

I beg to differ. You said you have the right to reject the diamond, so does that mean every time they ship in a new diamond to Singapore for you, there's gonna be additional deposit? Definately do not make sense there.

The diamond would still be phsyically theirs, and there maybe other customers that will take the diamond they imported, if you are to reject the diamond. So, why are you bearing the cost involved? They are in diamond trade. They don't have the diamond, they bring in the diamonds, why should you be bearing that cost?

just my 2cents.

emeraldbride

now i m confuse.. snz, JGal din mention that we have to bear the cost of the diamond rite??? We have to pay deposit first..but like u ask earlier, what if we reject that stone, then what happened? Or mabbe they will ship in more than 1 stone?

jgal

Stan&Zoe : Yes, Amanda will do a full refund if the stone is not what customer is looking for. The "deposit" system is just to make sure that customer do come back for the stone they've booked. It does not incurred addition charge to the overall retail price of diamond .

I guess what Clarity trying to do here to make customer get the diamond that they "really really" want than to make-do with another diamond. Other shop will just probably show you another diamond with close spec and hope that you accept it. Clarity goes and extra mile to look for the diamond for you.

In any case, as I mentioned,there is a good collection in-house to chose frm. Importing a new diamond is for buyers that has specified preferences.

** btw, just to clear the cloud, this thread is meant for diamond discussion and not for promoting any shop/dealers. So i very much like the discussion to stop here. And for potential buyer to go to Amanda to check out themselves than to discuss on their policy and procedures here.**

jgal

S&Z : Diamonds are natural mineral. So to get a bring out prefect shines from a diamonds requires more than just mathenical calculation. (which is what most certification is based on) I guess "Charlotte Atelier " selling point is their excellence craftmanship and I guess Zoe diamond muz been really well cut for them to have such requirement.

BTW, diamonds from reputable jeweller may not neccessary be GIA cert such as the tiffany, cartier.

Take for example, you buy a gold ring from cartier and it cost 10k. But a similar ring with exactly the same spec/design , could cost half the price. However, in the resale mkt, it will always be the genuinue cartier that will fetch a good price.

BTW, with EURO rising, it is a good idea to invest on some of these branded luxury items. *wink wink*

cactus_79

I personally feel GIA cert is not so important unless you are considering resale value. What's more important is that the diamond looks good on your finger, to the naked eye.

cactus_79

Actually, it's good enough if the engagement ring is suitable for daily wear. No need to be too expensive or too big a stone.

As for the specifications, I think the most important to a lady is the size of the stone. So if the rock is of a certain size, then I think can compromise on other specifications like no need to have colour D or E, go for F. No need IF or VVS1, can settle for VVS2 or VS1. May not even need special cut. Honestly, I can't even tell the difference between a special cut or a normal cut. Maybe cos I'm very myopic... or maybe the difference is only marginal. If the difference is marginal and can only be discerned when a normal cut diamond is held next to a special cut diamond, then why spend premium on a special cut diamond?

I'm speaking from a lay person's point of view.

cactus_79

I feel if specifications matter so much, then instead of settling for second best, like VVS1, of E colour, I would probably go for a D colour, IF, special cut, diamond of a size which looks suitable on my finger.. but then again, it will cost so so much more! No point lah.

hapimint

If we intend to get from those small neighbourhood jewellery shops, there will not be certificate. Is it okay?
Or do I have to make sure that there is certificate?
We are considering getting from those old time jewellery shops... seems to be cheaper, though the design may be older....

lyons

<font color="119911">hi mindy, i also scouted around in chinatown in those old jewellery shops and somehow, they're more ex! Comparing apple with apple la. Both diamonds with certs, about the same size and specs. Dunno why josi is cheaper leh? Think you should try josi. Somemore can design the ring band any way you like. You can even copy tiffany's design

hapimint

So no certificate cannot? Cos I got a friend's uncle who is operating those old time jewellery shop... I may be popping by his place to take a look first... I think that if he can offer me a good rate, I might take it.. but then I think he dun have certificate de leh....

cactus_79

hi Mindy, I think certificate is not importnat if you don't need to know the exact specifications of the diamond. also, certificate is not importnat if you are not looking at resale value.

kristen86

Hi Mindy,

Cert is gd in the sense tt u'll b sure tt the specs tt the shop claims is accurate. An uncertified diamond can be a H, SI1, and the shop can easily claim tt it's F, VS2, and charge u the price for tt. In tt case, a certified diamond might actually turn out cheaper.

If u wanna buy an uncertified diamond, it's best if you can get hold of a certified diamond to compare with it side by side.

hapimint

Of course I am not looking at resale value... haha... this is a proposal ring mar... so I will never think of resale..
Hmm... where can I get hold of a certified diamond to compare? I mean, even if I can get hold of one, I really dun have any idea on how to see...
I am really at a total loss on this kind of thingy... Just know... Oh... diamond... okay le....

cactus_79

Hey Mindy, as you mentioned, you don't really know how to see. Poeple around you prob don't really know how to see too, like me and my peers. So if things like size and colour and inclusions don't really matter to you, the specifications, I mean, as long as it looks good to you, I think it's enough.
of course, you run the risk that the diamond is not good quality. But usually that's the way it is.. uncertified diamonds tend to be of slightly lower quality. Or, the chinese shops leave it to the buyers to get the diamonds certified - so that they don't have to bear the cost of certification, which can amount to a few hundreds.

hapimint

hmm... then I dun think I will get it certified... hahah... more likely, I will just ask him how big is it huh?
I guess the cert thing only comes up because had a friend who just got proposed to and she brought the whole cert out for us to see... haha...
well, 10 years down the road, if I really do have a certificate, I think I will lose it too.. I am such a blur queen... haha...

cactus_79

Yah, if you are buying from someone trustworthy, then it's okay to buy without a cert. Cos the cost of the diamond depends on the specifications. You may get easily cheated if you buy an ungraded diamond from someone you don't know.

kristen86

Mindy,

I think one way is to get the shop to give you a return within X number of days policy lor. U can bring ur diamond to an independent appraiser and get it appraised. If u get a verbal appraisal, it shudn't cost so much.

emeraldbride

Hi gals.. I just got my diamond from Josi on Sat..
0.57C, Ecolor, VS2 -> $3.2K
Ideal cut.. m happy wif Simon. He really taught me n FH alot on diamonds..we spend abt 2 hrs in the shop.. chatting wif him.

a2a

just want to check how do u maintain ur diamond? like as time goes by the shine might reduced?

kristen86

Hi L&amp;L,

The shine reduces cos the diamond gets dirty. Diamond is the hardest material on earth, so it doesn't get scratched up, unless u rub it against another diamond. It's corners can get chipped if u give it a hard knock though (e.g. dropping it from a height).

You should clean ur diamond with soap and a soft toothbrush at least once a week (daily if u want it really clean). U can even use those jewellery ultrasonic washers to clean it, but it's only recommended for solitaires. Those jewellery that are encrusted with tiny diamonds should not be cleaned in an ultrasonic washers.

You should also get the prongs on ur ring checked yearly to makes sure they're not loose, to prevent ur diamond from dropping out.

a2a

Hi Diamondfanatic,

Thanks for the advice. Mine drop from at least a metre height.. duno any chip or not. sigh...

so any liquid detergent will do right? it wont cause the diamond to have any change in color?

kristen86

Hi L&amp;L,

Dun worry, diamonds are very strong. Other gemstones like emerald requires special care tho. Just remember to use a lint-free cloth to dry it so u dun haf little hairs sticking to ur diamond!

If u're really worried, u can always bring it back to ur jeweller to have it checked. I'll be more worried abt ur prongs being shifted out of place than ur diamond chipping.

kristen86

Hi L&amp;L,

I suppose by LH u mean L**H**?

Sorry, can't advice u much on tt, cos i dun really study much into the jewellery shops in Singapore, especially the chain stores. I do much more research regarding online vendors cos they give better prices.

Whether the prongs are brittle or not depend on the material tt they're made in and the way in which they're made. White gold tends to be more brittle (BREAK more easily), which platinum is less brittle, but BENDS more easily.

If the prongs are too thin, they can also break more easily. So, ideally, the way to go is to get something that's thick enough to hold well but not so thick tt it distracts from ur diamond. Choose a setting tt looks substantial to your eyes.

Mayb the LH ones are less strong cos they have a certain design tt only has 3 prongs? To me, tt's NOT secure enough. I'll definitely go for AT LEAST 4 prongs. For those who want extra security, 6 prongs will be better, cos even if 1 prong breaks, the diamond still won't fall out.

With all that said, no matter what type of setting you get, it's best to do a self-check on it regularly by touching the diamond to see if it wobbles or is unevenly set. You can also get it checked by ur jeweller if u're not sure.

I am considering to buy an engagement ring from Tiffany&amp;Co, However, I am clueless as to its price. Looks very pricy though.

Does anyone know what a 4-5K budget will get me?
Also, what are your views on Tiffany&amp;Co. rings compared to those found in Soo kee or Lee Hwa. I wonder does Tiffany&amp;Co. participate in the Great Singapore Sale. = P

kristen86

Hi Matt,

I have no idea what's the prices like in T&amp;C, ur best bet is to go take a look. They carry a HUGE premium and definitely dun take part in Great Singapore Sale.

And there's nothing special abt their diamonds, u're only paying for the branding. So I wun advice u to get it unless ur gf will love wearing a T&amp;C ring even if the diamond is much smaller in size. Even then, nobody will know tt's it's T&amp;C unless she says so.

strongyetweak

hi!

i agree with diamondfanatic wholeheartedly!

the big brands/branded jewellery shops usually carry high premium, this is to cover their fierce marketing expenses...

matt,

i know nothing about T&amp;C other than they are real expensive (to me!)...

with your 4k-5k budget, you should be able to get some decent diamond at other jewellery shops, esp. during the round the corner GSS.

i went to gold heart few days ago and for a 0.57c round brilliant solitaire ring, E colour, VS1/2 clarity (can't remember now), GIA cert, it's about $3,500. not sure about other specs (fluorescence, polish, symmetry, depth etc) of the diamond though, assuming such other specs are within the acceptable range, i think it is a good buy. according to the sales guy, without GSS, a diamond with specs mentioned above will cost slightly more than double of what he quoted me ($3,500).

alternatively, you can try wholesalers for diamonds. they usually don't advertise and customers are through word of mouth.

kristen86

Actually if u pay more attention, many jewellers haf "50% off" and "special price" round the year. So i think it's all nonsense. Haha. Just get a diamond anytime tt fits u. IMO no need to wait for sale. During "sales" they basically bring the price up by a lot and den offer u a "50% discount". It's all a sales gimmick.

Just to give u an example, i can get the stone tt Yaya talked abt from online for ard SGD$2000. So if the store sells it for $3500, tt's ok with me cos they need to pay store rent etc. But if they say tt the "normal price" is $7000, tt guy is definitely trying to take advantage of ur lack of knowledge in diamond prices. I'll say take ur business elsewhere, cos i'll hate working with a dishonest person, esp on such an expensive purchase.

strongyetweak

yes, i agree that it's all about sales gimmicks, marking-up the prices sky-high, then say it's really a good buy bcos we are slashing the price by more that 50%!! haha!!

what i'm trying to tell matt is that i've just came across a diamond which i think is a good buy with those specs.

which online merchant can you get a diamond with those specs at SGD2000?? that's really cheap! i presume it's foreign? does it come with GIA cert, include setting and shipping?

kristen86

The online vendor tt i've been looking at is pretty reputable. From USA.

http://www.exceldiamonds.com

I love it tt u can find lotsa hearts &amp; arrows diamonds there. Hehe.

If u find a stone tt u like, u can even ask them to take photos for u. And they also do stuff like scans which helps to check how gd is the light return of the stone. Stores in Singapore dun do tt, and it's impt to me cos i want a really sparkly stone!

Comes with GIA or AGS cert (depending on which stone), excluding setting and shipping is USD$100. Settings r actually v cheap to get. Can get one custom-made in Singapore for ard $300 in 18k white gold.

strongyetweak

have you bought anything from them?

i'm looking at their website now... looking for a heart-shaped solitaire.. can't believe the prices!!!

kristen86

Not yet, but many on www.pricescope.com have. U can check out the forum there. Lotsa info. My engagement ring will b coming from tt vendor though (in ard a yr?).

The thing abt their heart-shaped solitaire is tt u haf no idea how gd is the light return of the diamond. U haf to see the idealscope image (which shows light return) before u'll know whether u haf an ultra-sparkly or dead diamond.

I used to really love hearts too, until i went on PriceScope. Now tt i've learnt tt hearts tend to haf the worst light return, i dun like them so much anymore. =P

strongyetweak

oh... but i've always wanted a heart-shaped solitaire.. actually wanted it as the engagement ring but couldn't find anything good in singapore.. hence dropped the idea..

it will be good to get one for anniversary.. hehe... if my husband reads this forum, he will faint... haha....

can't we request for the report or info. from the vendor like what you mentioned above?

kristen86

U definitely CAN! Can even ask him to eyeball it for u and take some idealscope images and photos for u to see.

I wun get a heart for an engagement ring, but i think it's a gd "fun" ring to buy! =)

When to Tiffany&amp;Co.yesterday to have a look around. The senior sales supervisor (Selina) attended to me and her service is pretty good. No pressure to buy and was willing to explian and show me all the different grades to compare against each ring.

Prices are definately alot more then what's mentioned in these post. Their diamons do not come with GIA certs, but since they have their own gem labs, they grade their own according to their standards, which is said to be generally higher then industry. Not too sure about this bit, but I'd say Tiffany&amp;Co. is obviously reputable and does command a premium like all other lux goods.

Here's an idea what it looks like there. (The Tiffany Setting ring)

0.32 G color VVS2 will set me back 4.6K
0.29 F color VVS1 will set me back 4K

I did find the worksmanship and the brillance of the diamond to be fanstestic though. However, I do admit that the lighting did play a part, but still, most if not all other shops have similar lightings.

These diamons at Tiffany&amp;Co really does sparkle so much it hurts my eyes looking too long into them.

And the price too.. Ouch! = P

kenshare

Matthew,
I am quite clueless on diamonds, given that I am a female. However, I do know that Tiffany diamonds have their own Tiffany cut compared to the world renowed Hearts and Arrows etc. Thus the sparkle and uniqueness.
Actually like what Kriten mention, if the diamond allows more light to penetrate and does not escpae..then the diamond will sparkle more.
The Physics come into play.

Frankly, I don't think its wise to spend that money on Tiffany Engagement ring even though its every girl's dream to own the Turqoise box.
I kinda regret buying my wedding bands from them cos I spend almost $3k but I bought mine in US and not in SG. No one could tell it was from Tiffany. For the engagement ring, I bought mine from a wholesaler. Its a 6 prong tiffany setting.
All my GFs thought that my engagement ring is from Tiffany..But i didn't say much and just smile.
At the end of the day, only the wearer knows where the ring is from. The premium you are paying goes to the salaries of the staff, the shop locations; basically all their overheads.

kenshare

By the way, all diamonds sparkle the same..its only whether it sparkles more or less only.
The whiter the light, the less sparkle.
If it is on yellow lighting, then the diamond sparkles more.

kristen86

Matt: Wow, what a scary price! Lol.

Kenshare: Actually not all diamonds sparkle the same. Diamonds with better CUT sparkles more, no matter what lighting they're in. In fact, diamonds that are not well-cut might appear to have dark "hollow" areas and look "dead".

I gave this example earlier on another thread. An ideal cut diamond with a poorer cut...

486343.jpg

BTW, the difference between lighting is tt in direct light, a well-cut diamond will look very white and sparkly (this has NOTHING to do with the colour grade of the diamond, altho a really yellow diamond like a K colour will give the diamond a yellowish cast) while in indirect light, the diamond will look like a ball of fire, reflecting lotsa rainbow-coloured lights.

kenshare

if u compare, of cos u can tell the difference.
the thing is, when you wear, you will not compare with another diamond right?

of cos, u r the diamond expert!!

kristen86

Haha, ya if u dun compare, probably wun see the difference! But i wan my diamond to shine so much tt it blinds me! =P

BTW, i'm now in love with this one... What do u think? It's a cut-corner princess.

486352.jpg

This is it's idealscope image, showing fantastic light return.
Red= Direct light reflected
Black= Indirect light reflected
White= Light leakage

486353.jpg

If anyone has looked at Lazare diamonds, you might still be confused with what it means by "ideal cut"

Here's an interesting article that might help.
http://www.gia.edu/research/1383/2280/article_detail.cfm

In my weekend search and study on this subject and in the area of the 4C's etc, I think I've read enough to make a decision.

End of the day, its really not just the diamond, or any 1 or combinations of the 4Cs that is sufficent. (*This everyone here knows Im sure.. I just happened not dun know better = P)

I've been to Larry's to check out the Lazare diamonds (*The world most beautiful diamond (R)), and they are indeed very beautiful. That's also an advertising techline that is registered btw.

However, I'm not very attracted to the design of the range of ring settings provided by Larry's. This is however, just my own preference. People considering an engagement ring should go to every store to check things out and Larry's does offer great rings and designs that backs its strong prestige and history in Singapore and HK. Lazare has been sold by them for the past 20 yrs and they are still the only ones in Singapore (*In my knowledge) that carries the Lazare diamonds.

In my search, I've found that ring setting and design to be very important to my decision of choosing a ring. Almost more then the diamond itself. A beautiful diamond badly set or on a ring design that does not show timelessness is such a let down. It will fail to show the true beauty of the stone and its something that you want the person you love to adore it for many yrs to come. Not just the stone, but in a wholelistic view, to adore the whole ring.

The Timeless design and worksmanship from Tiffany &amp; Co. (*The Tiffany Setting) is the one I choose for its simple, timeless and yet elegent design that will transcent the years to come im sure.

Stone wise, I think they are not less beautiful then a Lazare diamond. BTW, in this age and time, the concept of "ideal cut" may face new challanges since it may not be completely relavent in its entirety anymore and as people find NEW proportions and beauty from it.. everything comes back to the basics, and a question that I ended up asking myself when buying a diamond.. is

"Does it look beautiful to me?"
"Will I look at it many yrs from today and still feel its as beautiful as when I first bought it?"

I found a "yes" to these 2 questions. They happen to be the same questions (*in concept), I ask myself before I decide to propose..

"Is she the one I love?" "Yes."
"Will I look at her many yrs from today and still love her as I did today?" "Yes"

Simple.
My search is ended. I've found the one! = )

Thx everyone for all your help.

Happy hunting!