Engagement Ring

~mimosa~

hi...do u all tink it matters if its juz a normal diamond or if its a special cut, ideal cut, perfect cut etc??
the price difference is really quite alot...went to goldheart, lee hwa, meyson, tianpo, chip lee.....all haf their own ideal cut, perfect cut, etc
which one will u all choose?
or juz a normal diamond with no special cut but same carat, clarity n colour?

kitty_li

hi tingting,
think it all depends on what YOU prefer. Some pple feels that the cut is of utmost importance. It is impt for the light to come through, then the diamond will sparkle.

On the other hand, some pple value the carat size more than the cut and clarity - coz generally, most pple can't tell how "sparkling" or clear a diamond is from another diamond...but a big carat one, anybody can tell straight away whether the diamond is big or small...

tiki

Fairy's Inc is a good place to customise yr engagement rings.

My FH bought me a GIA stone and we brought it to Fairy's..turned out beautiful.

I love the options available...you can have rose/black/white/champagne gold, my stone is set in a white gold 5-prong resting on a rose gold band..very pretty & unique I think!

donaldaisy

My HTB got a stone from Larry also a six-prong. It's a more secure setting in case one of the prongs give way. *fingers crossed* This is especially if your stone is not a small one. But of course no matter what the size is, it carries its meaning and holds precious to you. Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder...

For the older generation, clarity and color are the most impt factors. But somehow, the cut does play an impt role in contributing for the brilliance and most imptly the fire. For normal cut diamonds, you see the brilliance but not the fire especially under the sun. That's the difference. Recently, GIA has a new batch of diamonds that grades the cut and this is shown in the certificate. AGS diamond gives the closest fire and brilliance when compared with the Lazarre.

Hope this info might help for those who are shopping for diamonds.

bakerqbal

Hi All... Im a newbie here. Need soem info for proposal RINGS.. Does any of this LH or SK shop custom made ring? I thought of custom made one replica Tiff ring. Izit going to be expensive?

What price am i looking at from Larry if im getting a 0.45C, F grade, WS2 ring?

Any reply are welcome. Thanks in advance.

jgal

harlow .. you can try this shop www.eclarity.com.sg ;)

they do customized tiff design rings. Price reasonable. Boss is my friend. She got her certification frm GIA in New York before coming back to singapore to set up her shop at shaw centre.

alya

i received a 0.5 carat ring from FH yesterday.
the band is made of platinum.
I was wondering how do you ladies handle your rings when you go to the gym?
Do you take it out>?

jgal

yeah ... my advise too.. just leave it on.. i wear mine even when i swim.. still abit worry that it will slip out :p

alya

thanks babe
think i will just wear it...ehhhee
too risky to leave it ard. most likely i will forgethehe

untitled

need some advice btw 2 diamonds, both of which H&A, AGS grading.

One is 0.47 D VS1 which is about $3000
Another one is 0.51 E VS2 which is about $3500.

Which one would be a better buy/preferred? Thanks

mi_tang

hi untitled

get the 0.51 ring lah... for $500 more, u get at least 0.5 size and VS2... think E and D not much diff lah...

so have u decided yet?

jgal

but .. 0.47 will look slightly smaller.

Actually, i was told to get those 0.x9 ones... so that it looks like 0.(x+1) ha ha ha

As these 2 stones, i will go for the bigger one
cos'E vs D , vs1 vs vs2 , no one can tell except machines :p.. size matters when you show off :p

untitled

Sry, to reply so late, busy with work. Thanks for ya advice~

Yea i tink i will go ahead with the 0.51.

Do u all know where is a good place to set?

wlchoong

Hi untitled,

for a GIA with certificate diamond from South Africa 0.51 D grade VS1 with white gold setting, you can get it at around $2900 at one of the wholesale diamond shop.

jgal

Mircar

her's H&A - symmetric hearts and arrow, AGS - triple Zeros , The price is okay. I dun think $2900 will get your similiar diamond.

The most price determining factor in a diamond is the cut.

jklim4642

well... i just got a 0.53 ctt recently from a private jeweller, E colour, VVS clarity, perfect cut, white gold & tiffany setting... it cost $2.5k. also got a tennis bracelet from him, each small diamond is 7 pointer, total 3.53 ctt, tiffany design, E colour, VVS clarity. he charged 3.2k for that.

just ordered a pair of white gold wedding bands from him. a 1/2 eternity band for me & a plain one for my FH. that will cost $600...

very good prices isnt it?

kashdoggie

hello diamond,

does ur private jeweller do settings only? ie, i have a few diamonds and wish to make them into a pendant etc....

if yes, can u pls provide the contacts of your jeweller?

email is [email protected]

jgal

perfect cut ? only heard of ideal cut where the 8 hearts and arrows are identical. hmm.. A&G - triple zeros ? hmm.. Do note that only AGS certify ideal cutting.. Even GIA does not. hmm.. If you have GIA cert, you need to look for 3 excellence also. I am very doubtful that you get 0.53 ideal at 2.5k. Maybe it just a GIA certified. good only.

wlchoong

Hello ilovesashami,

you can contact this person Rena at 9112 4488. She goes by apppointment basis.

Hello Diamond,

Can i also have your contact number of the private Jeweller. [email protected]

Thank you!!!

nelle

to me, diamonds like other precious stones, have this "predestined" feel to it. Once you spot the ONE (hahaha....:p), that stone is for you, regardless of size, color, etc. experience it sometimes, where specific stones practically 'call' out to me.

violetcrystal

MiCar,
what a coincidence~ i also know Renna~ hee... the name was familiar, so i went to check, and yep, the phone number tallies too.

wlchoong

Hi violetcrystal,

What a coincidence!! you know her too? have you gotten any diamonds from her? How do you find her cos i just got to know her recently thru another friend.

violetcrystal

Hi MiCar,

She's really friendly and helpful~ ^_^

I didn't get my engagement ring from her, but i recently just got my SDJ and jia zhuang from her. ^_^

kitty_li

hi violetcrystal, micar,

where's Rena's shop/office located at? Understand that she goes by appointments only, but want to have some idea in mind as to her location, so can think abt it...

btw, what's the advantages of going to private jewellers vs those shops like Poh Heng, SK...

violetcrystal

CSI_Fan,

Her shop is at toa payoh there... one of the block besides nissan showroom...

As for the advantage? well... cheaper i guess... coz u skip the middleman cost... since she help to make and supply goods to those established shops... and whatever price she gives them... they have to markup to earn a profit rite?

wlchoong

Hello CSI FAN,

You can save on the middlemen cost. When you vist the outlets outside, you are paying for the rental, the salaries of the staff, the advertisement fees and so forth. Her diamonds are all from South Africa. And she can give good discount as well.

Her address is Blk 15 Braddell Tech #07-09 Toa Payoh Lor 8 Singapore 319262

Her handphone no is 91124488, you have to call her for appointment.

Hello violetcrystal,

I got my engagement ring there. it is really is a good deal and i am really happy about my ring. the ring really sparkle as it is D and VS2 and the price is really really reasonable compared to outside as you save on the middlemen cost. Will consider on getting my wedding band there.

brightstar

hi, im new here...heard from colleagues that there maybe wedding band discount in road shows in sept 06..can use discount card. wondering if u know how much cheaper comapred to getting straight from supplier?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi micar, if you're still here, can you tell me more aboutt his Renna person? Does she do setting of the rings too?</font>

angel_gal

Does anyone know the difference between the 5-claw and 4-claw ring setting (other than the number of claws, lah)...

The sales guy told me that the 5-claw will lessen the reflective-ness of the diamond. Is it true? But it somehow makes the ring look bigger leh. Although a little messy lah.

Then the 4-claw got different setting, got square one and diamond one... so confusing leh.

Any comments and suggestions?

cactus_79

5-claw is better for a bigger sized diamond (ie. 0.7 Ct and above). It makes the diamond more stable. 1 ct and above should have a 6-claw.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi confused, I have a 0.8 carat with 6 claws. Cactus is right. bigger diamond better to have more claws, more stable. 4-claws tend to make a round diamond look squarish and 5-claws make it look hexagonal. Whichever it is, go for your favourite, because we all have different tastes. I personally prefer more claws.</font>

javert

The more claws you have the more stable the diamond is set. Logically less claws will be "better" to show off the diamond. Got to work out the pro and cons.

doxie

This is a reply to CSI Fan and Brighstar. I just got my engagement ring and am very happy with it!
It's a 3-stone ring (One 1.1carat solitaire in the middle and two 0.5carat stones at e side)

My fiance and I shopped around almost ALL the jewellery stores (Tiffany, Larry, Carat Club even chains like Lee Hwa, Goldheart, D'Meyson, Poh Heng etc) and after MUCH research we found that you are paying a HUGE premium for a sizeable diamond ring from a store.

So what we did was we looked direct for a DIAMOND DEALER. They deal in the loose diamonds.

I highly recommend this dealer we bought from. Her name is JANICE. (Just email me if U want her contact)

Within just 10 mins of talking to her on the phone, I learnt MORE about choosing diamonds / prices etc. than from ALL the stores we went to. (I have have to say that the service at the Ngee Ann City Tiffany's was TERRIBLE. They have hardly any advice and weren't helpful at all in helping us select a ring. When your fiance is about to spend a 5-figure sum on a ring, you'd think the sales staff could be more helpful!)

I was very impressed by Janice's service and knowledge. When we met her, she spent 2 hours just showing us and explaining to us the qualities of different colours, clarity and cuts of diamonds. There was also NO PRESSURE to buy. She was very genuine about sharing her knowledge on diamonds.

Just to give u guys an idea of price difference. The same ring (for same colour and grade of diamonds etc) that I eventually got from Janice was priced at $10,000 MORE at Larry Jewellers, and $20,000 more at Tiffany.

So tht's the premium you're paying when buying a brand name.
Something to think about.

All my stones from Janice are also GIA certified (some other stores told us we had to pay more for certified stones. I thought that was rubbish.)

angel_gal

Hi Doxie,

Can email me your diamond dealer's contact? Am currently looking around for a good deal for a solitaire too... was really impressed with the Gabrielle diamond (Suntec)... But i think the $$ quite steep.
Checked out Larry, Tiffany, Goldheart, Soo Kee, Aspial, SK, Citygems, Lee Hwa... Wah, so tired liao but still never find anything (good $$ pricing and diamond quality) that really impress me.

My email: [email protected]

Lotsa thanks! :D

brightstar

yesterday i went hunting for my engagement ring...the staff at Lee Hwa menioned that there is a $100 voucher inside Style Wedding. And in addition to that is offering another 10% discount...that is my interpretation.

Goldheart is offering 20% discount

Soo Kee is offering 20% discount for DBS ladies card holder...

hope this info is helpful to anyone here. I will be going to Lee Hwa to buy the rings later/ :p Veyr excited.

brightstar

For those buying wedding bands. Everytime before we left each shop, they will take down the rings’ code number and the discounted price.

The salesperson will also give us his or her name cards. Only last 2 shops bother to sketch the designs to aid us just in case we couldn’t remember the designs when we left the shops. for the rest of the post,go here. one advice, is just dont look at too many rings in one day..space them out..it can be very overwhelming...

hi hapict,

for Lee Hwa, normally vouchers r not valid for promo items..look at the T&amp;Cs on the reverse side of the voucher.