Engagement Ring

brightstar

hi hapict (hapict) , yes...for lee hwa, it will give 10% discount plus the $100 voucher....so it is discounts times 2...i bought my wedding bands liao...very worth it bcos of the discounts...

brightstar

for goldheart, they have 20% discount

for soo kee, they have 20% discount for some credit card holder...not very sure...

squealer

I am preparing to propose to my gf. Just did some research on diamond selection and realise that the way to go is to buy online and have it set myself.

Now I'm thinking whether to have it set by the online vendor.

I once told my gf that I will get her a 1ct Destinee to propose but I did not dare to check out the prices. Anyone knows?

Anyway the rock I am looking at is 1.36ct F SI1. The site CEO check the diamond personally for me and told me that it is *beautiful* (I asked him to compare with another diamond). The cost online is around US$8700 and plus the ring and shipping I would expect it to sum up to around $14000+. It costs more than half my saving so I am still thinking. But if eventually I am still going to get an Engagement Ring, I don't see why not now...

Advise anyone?

rinnie

I think 1 carat Destinee is around 10k or even more..cos mine is only o.451 and it already costs 5000 plus but cos my bf's mum got the Lee Hwa card so got some discounts and it cost him around 4200 in the end.. I reali wun recommend online buying...dun tink it's reali safe and you dun get to see the actual thing...

BTW, you can upgrade your Destinee within 2 years..so it 1 carat is out of budget now..maybe u can buy a smaller one...and then upgrade later..u only need to pay the balance den..

lyons

<font color="119911">hi squealer, I agree with rinnie, it is very dangerous to buy from internet because you don't know if the diamond's for real and unless you're an expert with all the tools, you won't be able to tell real diamond from fake and for 1.38ct is only US$8700, something is wrong.

hey rinnie, the pricing for diamonds are not increased in a linear manner. It's exponential
A 0.451 ct may cost $5000 but a 1 ct is at least $20000+, this is of course, a D-colour and VS1. But even if it's F-colour, it won't vary that much.</font>

rht

im a soon to be bride groom, have not propose yet.

am in phase 1: buying engagement ring.

have visited a few shops to search for budget $1500 - $2000 and below Solitaire diamond ring for proposal soon.

I been hearing so many diff sale people at the shop on decision for selection.

may i get a poll on whether you, in the position on receiving a engagement ring,will you prefer your fiance to have chosen a solitaire based on size or cuts.

Soo Kee has got their Brilliant Rose, Gold heart has their Celestial, and Lee Wah has their (i forgot what is it call)

anyway, its the diff between a special cut and normal cut. I tot a lady will like to have big diamond, but now that i learn abt the 4C, it introduce a diff dimension.

Pls share with me, you personally, will have prefer that your hubby chooses (budget in mind).

1) Carats (size)
comproming on Cuts
or

2) cuts
compromising on size.

What a woman want? Really.

One more request:-

Pls suggest a good jeweller to go to and what is a good buy at the moment, where 's the promotion, etc...

cactus_79

I would prefer size over cut. As long as flaws cannot be seen by naked eye, I dun really care about the clarity. Colour would prefer D, E or F.

Just a guide, my fiance bought me a slightly less than 0.5 Ct normal cut, E colour, VS2 diamond for just over $1.5k. With a GIA cert. At Sookee about a year ago. We shopped for 2 Saturdays in a row. SPent about 4 hours each time. Cleaned out the shops at Suntec/CItylink area and Orchard before finally buying the ring...SPend your time shopping carefully. Note that diamonds with "older" GIA cerst tend to be cheaper. My cert was dated May 2003. My fiance bought it end 2005.

lyons

<font color="119911">hey Rht, I would also prefer size over cut. Actually...
For colour, so long as you stay within D, E, F and G, you should be ok cos the diamond won't look too yellow.

VS1 and VS2 is good enough, usually round cut is preferred and most everlasting.</font>

rht

seems like size is a more popular choice with you ladies.

Question:
small size lady ,1.65m, 48kg, wear 0.6 - will she look odd?

D's Meyson claims that their perfect cut is the lowest in price in town.

is their perfect cut same as lee wah's destinee? anyone any info?

rht

im getting an engagement solitaire ring for my to be wife, i went quite a number of shops these few days as im off. like to do a poll on what will you choose from these selections:

0.71/$2632/G/SI2(cut is good)
0.71/$2765/F/SI2(cut is good)
0.52/$2000/D/SI2(cut is perfect)
0.50/$2135/G/VS2(cut is perfect)
0.7/$3600/H/VS2(cut is perfect)
0.60/$2509/G/VS2(cut is perfect)
All with int cert.

after seeing all this, i also went to a jewellery shop in Scotts road area. the lady recommed a heart shape, which is made up of 3 diamonds hold together, with the centre one as square diamond.

she is selling at $2500. looks really hugh when 3 are placed together.

reason im considering:
1) uncommon, unlike the round or brilliant cut
2) looks hugh(like one carat when compare side by side)
3) she say cert will be issue after selected, its a in house one.

specs is

G/VVS1 / 0.52.

will this unique shape set you apart and makes you feel happier at the selection if you are the bride?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi RHT, hope I'm not too late.

As for the heart shape ring, it's so cheap because it's made up of smaller diamonds. Can't use quantity as a measure because the bigger the diamond, the tougher it is to carve and set it so therefore it's more ex.

Everlasting rings are the brilliant cut round ones. so if I had to choose, I'd choose from your list above, assuming they are round cut.

Of the list, I would choose the 0.6CT one because the colour's not too bad, G, still under the white category. And the inclusions is VS2 which is acceptable. Inclusions, though some people may say cannot see under naked eye, can be seen when compared to other diamonds. I compared one SI2 and one that's VS2 and you can see the difference.

So overall, to me, colour (D-G) and cut (IF, VVS1-VS2) are very important.

All that said, it depends on your wife also. If she likes the uncommon heart shaped ring, then of course, buy that one, makes more sense cos most importantly, she likes it

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls, need your opinion. If you have a 0.9 ct ring, round cut, F colour. Would you choose
(i) VVS2 and pay $8300+ or
(ii) VS1 and pay $7300+?</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hey everyone, any comments on the below?
0.9 carat, round cut solitaire, F colour
(i) VVS2 @ $8300+ or
(ii) VS1 @ $7300+
Which would you buy?</font>

jgal

depends on your objectives.. :p
in any case, i assume that both diamonds are well-cut cos' that the most impt determine of a diamond.

then, if you intend to sell later, the better the diamond the scale of increase is always higher and depreciate less. So shld take $8300 one.. ha haha also... if you intend to make a major damage on your fh .. 1 is the choice.

If both of you have share acct, and you are also 'paying' for it.. i think 2 will do.. .. hmm... if you are more technical, you shld also try to see where is the 'scratch', is it a spot or a feather on the diamond, top of the table or below... .. ha ha ha .. actually i dun think you can tell..btw vs1 if the spot is away from the table. You can also hide the some spot or feather by the way you cast it.

jgal

mine is a .69 so it looks like a .70 :p and it has a feather at the side near to cut line.. next to the diamond table. I set the claw next to it.. so it really hard to detect the feather even if you see over a magnifying glass.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi JGal, thanks for your comments! But that means should:
(i) pick whether spot or feather, if spot, how big. Spot preferred to feather right?
(ii) and the "defect" should be lower the better right? Not high on the table so that it's not obvious at the top?</font>

jgal

hi lyon.. i dun like spot.. cos' it a dot on the diamond.. while feather is a brush stroke.. but then.. normally how big the spot/feather would have determine if it is vvs2 or vs1.. So i guesss.. it really depends on where is the 'defect'

Yeah.. the further away frm the table the better
for mine, it near the table.. but towards the side.. so i kind of hide it with the claw..

As i mention, i dun think you can really see the defect with nake eyes... vs1 is actually quite good.

it has smaller inclusions...better clarity, thus the higher price
i wld buy tat if i can afford it. but of course the jeweller tat u'll be buying from must be a reputable one tat will gv u gd workmanship coz a gd cut is very important, a well cut diamond will shine brighter than a larger diamond with lousy cut. while i was in Holland, i've seen a 0.2carat diamond with a 121-facets cut beside a normal 58-facet cut 1 carat diamond..shines like nobody's biz :p

http://www.best-pawn.com/Dmndf4C.htm

lyons

<font color="119911">hi JGal. Oh... ic... now I get it... Ya, i told my FH that VS1 good enough cos the difference is $1000 leh. And if it's not too visible, then nevermind.

Ya, your way is good! Can hide with the claw
Yours is VS or VVS?</font>

jgal

Orh.. mine is VS2... :p me just want it to look good(by nake eyes).. not intending to sell it anyway..

lyons.. i was just reading your prev posting.. cut refer to brilliant cut etc.. clarity then is (if - vs/is).

Aniway.. make sure you get a cert for the diamond that size. Better if AGS.

cutie_gal

I'm looking for a soiltaire to wear on my wedding. Hv been to Tiffany, Larry, Lee Hwa, SK, etc. Did nt reali find something I fancy, even if I do is those reali high-end ones n way over budget.

Btw, hv u gals heard of Amore diamonds? Is said to hv 100% light return, better than ideal cut. is it true?

N shops like Lee Hwa, SK...they can offer up to 50% off on normal cut solitaire, does it mean they r nt first-hand diamonds but Trade-in by cust n they redo the polishing n the setting?

Can I say as long as the diamond comes with the cert, is a geninue one?

Hope u gals can reco me dealer.
Pls email to [email protected]
Thxs!

canaryanne

diamond (jklim4642) can u give me your contact for jeweller?

am looking for someone good, cheap &amp; reliable to design &amp; make my 4 pc gold. tnx!

kristen86

Just to add on, actually cut is the most impt factor tt determines how beautiful ur diamond is. Wif a bad cut, even a D, IF stone will look like a piece of plastic.

I actually know of a trustworthy website tt sells v well cut diamonds. Not sure whether u've tot of buying online.

http://www.whiteflash.com

I've asked them for a quote before, they will ship a loose diamond worth USD$1168 to singapore for USD$60 with insurance.

Just for ur info, tt diamond is a perfect hearts and arrows cut, 0.53 carat. If u go on pricescope.com, u'll b able to read a lot more abt it.

Setting a ring in singapore will cost u a few hundred bucks by the way.

I've done a lotta research cos tt's the way me and my bf intend to get my ring. U can PM me if u wanna discuss more. I've got a lot more to share. ;)

cactus_79

Hi cutie gal, normal cut diamonds are the 56 or 57 faceted diamonds. They are not given names like Lazare, Brilliant Rose, Destinee with higher number of cuts (ie. 88 facets).

Jewelry shops normally offer bigger discounts for normal cut diamonds. And I think up to 20% on the "special cut" (more facets) diamonds.

As long as the inscription on the girdle of the diamond corresponds to the number in the certificate, it's geniune.

I personally have not heard of Amore diamonds.. but I could be a frog in the well!

justarius

hi cutie gal,

Actually I've heard of Amore diamonds. Fairy's Inc carries them and I was shown some when I was there looking to get an engagement ring. Not too sure about the 100% light return thingy, but they are hearts and arrows cut and are from Israel. They also looks really really good.

kariya

Hi everyone, another newbie to engagement ring here

Does anyone have an idea how much a solitaire, normal cut ring of say 0.4 to 0.49, D/E, VS1 will cost at Flower Diamond?

Thx!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls, so quiet in here... anyone seen the soo kee brilliant rose solitaire setting before? I love it!</font>

safira

Hi Lyonsbride,
Am wondering if you ever got the contact from Doxie for the diamond dealer named Janice? If you did, would be so grateful if you could share it with me? [email protected]

Doxie, if you are reading this, your msg in Aug was informative and i would like to know more about this Janice lady. If you're still on this forum, do email me at [email protected]

Thanks a bundle!

anlinna

Hi wat u guys think abt Charlotte Artelier? I saw a 0.2 carat G grade VS1 ( i think) cost abt $2k without the setting. The 14k white gold setting is abt $500. I was advised by my sis and BIL that i should get a D grade and the clarity can go down to VS1. I love the Gabrielle ring as it is really brilliant. Better than destinee as it has 106 facets. And do you think 0.2 carat is too small? I thou of getting a 4 prong setting.

kristen86

Hi Anlinna,

IMO, if u like Charlotte Artelier for the brand, i'll say go ahead with it. But if u're getting it cos u feel tt more facets = more brilliance, it's actually not true.

The reason why Gabrielle looked more brilliant than the Destinee could have been:
1) the cut quality for that particular stone was better
2) the lighting in the shop was more favourable

As for the colour, i'll say that if u get an ideal cut stone, u can go as low as G, or even I if u're comfortable.

For clarity, if what u're looking for is no inclusions tt you can see with ur naked eyes, u can go for VS2. There are also some SI1 and 2s that are eye-clean, just that u have to spend a little more time looking.

To me, 0.2 carat for 2K is not v worth it. 2K is around my budget too, but i have my eyes set on smth tt's more den 0.5 carat. And what i have my eyes set on is very white and brilliant (in case u think i'm gonna b getting smth really ugly).

You can check out http://www.pricescope.com . U'll probably be much better informed after tt. U can't trust 95% of the jewellery shop pple here, especially those from the big chain stores.

Just my 2 cents worth! =P BTW, u can PM me if u wan any advice from me. I've been doing lotsa research on the buying diamonds.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi milobing, I'm interested!! We're planning to buy the guy's ring from Soo kee and the girl's band from lee hwa
How much you selling?</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi! finally got my engagement ring, so happy! It's a 0.9 carat, VVS2, F-Colour. hee hee

lyons

<font color="119911">wah how come so many people have soo kee vouchers?

Hi ben, not too sure how much my FH paid... I liked the soo kee "ENDEAR" setting a lot a lot but he wanted 0.9 and no soo kee outlet carried it. So he went to a independent jeweller (Josi Gems) to buy it. I THINK should be about $10k</font>