Dragon Gate Restaurant

Bluey,
no worry... too buz le a bit mix up. Dun over-stress. Relax. Write down all the things that u nd to do, then settle one by one.

jus started with reno, our lovenest will be ready for my AD.

Take care...

hey bluely,
ya lor...cannot avoid this issue...even those agree to come might no turn up on tat dae...so juz enjoy...

anything u nid advice?

i had almost finished with my frends liao le... onli leave with my hb's side n my parents... yippee...

so meanwhile i need to tidy up the guestlist n move on to other stuff...

btw do ur gals choose songs to play throughout the dinner or just let to DG to play watever songs??

take care

hi bluey...
i'm thinking of playing my own songs... coz i think wat most places have will b those cheesy love songs.

anyway, i'm now starting to worry that we may have booked a little too many tables. my banquet is on a weekday... dunno how many will actually turn up...

i just went for food tasting yesterday... everything seems to be still fine... except for a few dishes like fish tat need to improve on...

hi levynn,
how many tables had u book? maybe u can rsvp with ur guests early ba... especially if it is during school holidays.. coz i m encountering this issue tat a lot of pple went for holidays

hi bluey...
actually told quite a few pple thru word of mouth already, abt the banquet date. i had booked 30 tables. i think by that time, most pple would b back already... to get ready to start a new year. anyway, fh called up DG today. emily is taking over for us... n said need to write in to them formally if we wan to make any changes...

hi d_woof,
dun need to pay for the food tasting...coz i got more than 30 tables mah... i choose the 538 menu...

hi levynn,
ic... but can reduce the table?

bluey... dunno can reduce the tables or not. if not, then ask my parents to ask more friends lor... older generations may b richer n more generous??? hahahaha....

woof,
i tot they give abt 75%? u can call up DG to ask for a few more. I think they are flexible to give u a bit more.

ya purelyz,
75% given but den if most of the guests tat u invite is individual den nt enuff.....well if nt enuff den i tink i use e-card lor...haha

Woof,
I think close frens won't mind ecard la... more hightech mah... Dun forget to keep one or two for ur safekeeping. Tat wat my mum and FIL told me...

hi d_woof,
which menu r u taking?

hi purelyz,
my card oso not enough but i just tell them n they r willing to give me more cards
maybe u can check with them loh...

hi purelyz,
if worst come to worst, i wud pay to get more lor..bo bian....after discussion wif my HB, we tink tat din give card like not sincere....n afraid tat they might get offended....

hey bluey,
we took the $438 menu.....
u mean they give u more cards...but mayb u haf more than 30 tables...i onli haf 25 tables n i asked liao..roughly cost 90cents each....tml haf to call Emily to check out the price again........
btw do u haf muslim table?

Woof,
I think u can try askin for a bit more invitation cards. I think abt 10 to 20 pcs shd be ok.

Muslim food is per table, veg got per pp or table. U nd to info them on tat day where ur veg frens is seated.

purelyz,
u tink they will give us if we ask for more? i dun tink so leh....nv mind will ask them

ya...i haf 1 muslim table n den me tinking of wan to invite one of my vege friend......wan to know per person........

Exams are over! Im back here! now, i shldbe busy with wedding preparation. hope everyone dng fine!

hi novel
horray..exam over!

by the way gers,
can i check, if i booked 25 tables, tat include 2 VIP(red) tables rite?

Woof,
Ya, It's 23 guest tables, 2 VIP, 2 reserve total 27 tables. That's min req.

U try to call and ask for more invitation card, must be thick skin...like me. Haha...

i have yet to choose my songs for march in. Initially my friend helped me to do it but i gt the cd yesterday & i don reali like tat...haiz...sob sob got to look for songs again...

any suggestion or recommendation? panic liao

Novel & Bluey,

No panic la...

For my 1st march-in song, we got one cantonese song from Jacky that are meaningful to both of us and we love the song personally. Food march song jus get sth more dramatic, i got bond, victory for the food march. Then for the 2nd march-in, we got a more smooth & romantic music.

Recommend to have 2 separate cds: 1 with the 3 important songs:1st,food,2nd march-in songs. The other cd will be all love songs to be play during dinner.

U can get mp3 from web or copy from cd. DG have many cds to choose from. I think they allow us to take the cds back hm to burn into our own. But if u really 've not enough time to do so, jus ask DG to play some music that are not too cheesy....

P.S. nd to test the burned cd at the restaurant before AD, in case got prob.

Jus my 2cents worth....

thanks purelyz.

will drop by the cd shop later to search for some. no song in mind cos i hardly listen to any english song.

Hi Bluely

tats a good suggestion from purelyz.can browse thru DG 1st and select. think it will be better than they do it for us rite hee hee

FYI
bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
purelyz ------- 23 Jul
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
Angela--------- 1 Oct
elaine -------- 6 Nov
Serene -------- 14 Dec
levynn -------- 28 Dec

Novel,
Ur r welcome. Actually we want the wedding dinner to have our own style, so we have mostly chinese and cantonese pop songs. Cos we also dun listen to english songs. Choosing english songs are a difficult task for us. Relatives also dun understand what the Ang Mo are singing... Haha...

Singers like Jacky Cheung, Ebson Chan, David Tao, Lee Hom, Robbie William, Norah Jones, also Jap songs like First love and Korean song I Believe are in our list. Most of them are soft music, we dun wan too noisy.

Hope it help u to have a brief idea what to look for...

Bluey,
U must be very stress now... Ur BIG day coming soon. Hope all things are goin smoothly...

Novel,
Ya, with lyrics. All the songs are our favourites, range from chinese, cantonese, english, japanese, korean and some intrumental music. A bit Kiasu, select a lot...

can try richard clayderman, or kenny g... more dramatic will b maksim. in fact, i'll b using a maksim song for the food march-in part.

bluey,

ya totally agree wif u....too tired liao....gt to work n think of AD stuffs is nt easy..not moreover my work load is getting heavier.......

oh...
toking about SONGS....haiz haven get it done!

I just finished my PS and seen my photos. Loved them..

Right now, planning for housewarming by this month..very busy..

Food tasting next week too.

We r buz wif hm renov. Early next mth 've to work on guest list. Signz... Collecting my album next mth.
Food tasting on July.
Now not used to call my IL a different name... Keep calling her "auntie", "uncle"... So peiseh... Anyone have this kind of headache too?

hey ray,
care to show me ur PS fotos when they r ready?

hey purelyz,
for a start, itz like tat...i rem when i first called her "mother" i used to call her very softly...but den as time passes by, u will feel more confident......
dun wori, itz a matter of time

Hi Purelyz,

me too had a hard time to call IL. I remember when we ROM, his mum wanted me to call her 'mother'but i insisted to call her after customary. I told my FH that. wonder if she felt offended but reali odd haha.

there's 2 VIPS tables tables right so shld my parent and his sit together or my parent will sit at another VIPS table?

Woof, Novel,

So i'm not alone in this prob with calling "names".

But mine worst... nd to call in cantonese. Not "mother" in cantonese, it's the trad "mother-in-law" in cantonese. Very difficult! Cos my cantonese not gd, and it's odd to call this in SG. She insisted that i shd call her that, it's HK trad.

It's sound even weird to call "father-in-law" in trad cantonese way!

Help... Wanted to dig a hole to hide everytime i call the names in public...

purelyz,
oic now i noe ur problem...is she a HKie...

well start calling now..shldnt be a prob in a long run.....practice makes perfect!

hi hi...
me still busy with last minute stuff ba... a lot of them leh...

i had shortlisted some songs for my AD... would need to look up for the lyrics... initally wanted to have cantonese / chinese songs... but my hb dun wan....say cheena...

calling MIL n FIL initially is veri hard.... not used to it...

btw any one got ideas where can i get helium gas for balloons?

bluey,

'Party with us' at holland v and centrepoint got rent helium tank, i think is abt $30 to $40 dollars. But nd to fill up balloons on your own. They charge per balloon if you nd them to do for you. That's all info i got...

Hi bluely,

jia you. me too stress out with the invitation card. cos MIL seems like got something to say in everytin