Dragon Gate Restaurant

Thanks Novel for sharing your experience.
I think this is not the 1st time a worm was found in the vege.
Emily quitted without telling us. I wonder Margaret is the new staff coz she called my hubby regarding the cards 2wks ago.
Next bride would be Purelyz. Hows your preparation?

Thx a lot, Novel for ur feedback! I'll take note of the various tables that can't see the projector and of cos request for a cordless mic! I'm goin for fd tasting next wk, so 've to coordinate wif them regard all my requests. Must ask them to write down... I scared all things will be messy cos my AD got another WD at the bigger ballroom.

Ya, i agreed with Dino, it's not the 1st time got complain abt the fd. Pray hard, mine will goes smoothly...

My preparation? Haha... dunno le... seems to be in a mess still. Cos my guest no increase from 220 to 280...still counting... Headache! Sitting arrangement, signz... Any advise from any ex-brides regrading the sitting arrangement?

Hi Levynn,

but when i told Tony that Emily promise to provide me with the seat corsage, he demanded for 'black & white' so better write the agreement down.
ya lor... didnt inform us at all,14 jun was emily last day and i was there on 13 jun, yet she didnt inform us. maybe its personal reasons but i feel that she shld at least handover properly.

haiz... headache ah the seat arrangement....me too... guest list keeps on increasing from 27 to 32.

guess have to settle that with your FH.

at least i stil have some time to go b4 my banquet. but now also haven't cfm guest list yet. will the staff call first regarding the invitation cards or the food tasting??

novel... did they give u a map of how the tables r numbered b4 u send out ur invitation cards??

The co-ordinator will call u 4mths b4 your wed.Request you to fax the invitation card form. After which, they will ask you when u coming for food tasting.
To my surprise that after u fax them the form, it takes <1wk to send u bck the artwork. And <2wks the cards r ready for collection. I dunno abt others. I am going to DG to collect the cards 2mrlo ;)
Could anyone tell when is the appropriate time to send out invitation cards?

Levynn,
DG have a map w numbered tables. But the no can be change if u wan. Eg, like no. 4,13 can be removed. I'll not recommend to write table no in the invitation cards. Diff to explain... but u'll noe the reasons aft u start working on the guest list and their sitting arrangement.

Dino,
My invitation cards also ready real quick... i'm surprise too! From the start, we plan to send out invitation 45 days before AD but still now left with 29 days i've not send out most of my cards... Headache... But luckily, most of them are close friends and have already cfm their attn. My Guo Da Li is next Fri, it's then we'll sent out to relatives, together with the cakes...

halo everyone....

have been HMing for the past 2wks...juz came back on wed n got to start work on thurs.......din rest well too....

wow...seems like some problems haf arises......my co-ordinator for my AD is Margaret.....well she's fine but den cant commented much as tat dae i was not really co-ordinating wif them....i had my jiemeis to help me actually....n oh yes they r really computer/ system dummies...the best is get it tested the dae b4 as well as the dae itself b4 the dinner starts.....i was so worried tat the system cant work but in the end it goes well...haf someone to handle the laptop.....oh Tony was there when we did the testing, he has someone who can call n check on regarding the system.....i find him quite alrite as compare to the other old man who is oso a manager....

i guess the best is to haf ur xiongdis n jiemeis to help out coz cant really rely on others......oh yes Emcees wise...i got my colleague to do it n it happened tat they are a couple n oso my helpers.......
hope tis info helps....

as for emily thingy....even she is the one co-ordinating but den she was not there for my AD as she is in the morning shift..so din really liase wif her.......

as wat purelyz said...can change the table no. the advice given by them is tat make the 2 tables bhind the pillars as reserved.....oso fm my experience can put those unimportant pple at the table 1,2,3 coz as wat is mentioned really cant c the screen if u were to play ur morning highlights......

tat's abt all at the moment...anything can ask me n i will try to help u gals......all the best

Dino,
DG choc is 2 heart shape choc pack in a white box. 1 white choc, another milk choc. They'll be placed on the tables before wedding. I did ask the manager whether i can deduct $$ if i dun wan the choc but they say no... So i've decide to get my own wedding favour then also give my guests the choc... More personalize...

I'm selling off my previous wedding favour... if u r interested...

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/194/268833.html?1112697534

dont mind people. can update me on the countdown to AD events, how the DG people will alias with you or we gotta chase after them??

so far, the big fat worm and systems problems has me and my wife a bit worried... is everything that bad???

Hi brides to be,

Think my cordinator is also Emily.
I booked my banquet since last year Dec04.

Oh no, i hope their cordination are better.

Hi Purelyz and Novel,
Thanks for the info.

Hi Spyder,
From my experience, DG call me to fax in the invitation card form. They also call me for the food tasting. I dunno abt others.

Welcome Jennifer!

hey Spyder,
oh yes, when the date draws nearer, they will remind u to send ur invitation card form to them n allow them to process for abt a few days den they will send back the artwork to u for approval before they send for printing.....printing will take abt 2-3wks depending on the no. of request.....
u haf to make arrangment for food tasting n make reservation...so tat they r prepared when u r there for food tasting.......

IF u pple haf any questions can ask me..will try to help if i ever encounter b4 n know the solution....

hi levynn,

rehearsal? i dun tink DG make sure all couples haf one...itz up to the couple....for me i did it onli the day itself before the dinner..ard 6pm coz by tat time i haf finished my make up liao juz tat i haven change into my gown......

juz a simple rehearsal of the 1st march in onli n nt the whole procedure

i was actually thinking to gauge how long the march-in is... then can plan the song also... dun wan to cut it off half-way...like very strange...

It's been a long time that i have not come into this thread.
I went to DG last Sunday. Fiona is the new P.R.E.
I have confirmed my food tasting date ... now waiting for the draft for my invitation cards.

hey levynn,
ya i onli do it bcoz i wan to keep up wif the pace of the song...but den the spotlight tat shines on u both is pre-programme...so u cant slow down to meet the pace of the song if nt u wun b in the limelight.......so if u haf the song oreadi den u can go n try out while u test out the system....

hope tis help

Woof,
Wat u mean by pre-prog? The light not cotrol by staff? The speed and brightness of the light have been pre-prog? We've to follow the light? Is it too fast for u... i scare i can't walk too fast with the bulky grown le...

actually for my march in, i din reali focus or follow their pre-prog. spotlight..as wat my friend told me...the videographer will definitely project the spotlight on us..so tat din reali worries me but AD alreadi very nervous... din reali think much..

Hi Purelyz,
the lights are 'pre-timed' by DG. u can ask them to show u once b4 ur AD. Actually my friends commented that i walked too fast ( hee with the gown) and indeed..saw the video and its abit fast..surprising maybe nervous

Does DG provide Halal food for the malay guests? Not by per table, but by per head count? If yes, does anyone know the price?

Hi dino8863,

they do provide hala food...they hired external malay cook if u need. but base on per table not per pax.

Just ... count down for the next bride to be:
purelyz --- 23 Jul
Ray ------- 17 Sep
Dino ----- 26 Sep
Angela----- 1 Oct
elaine ---- 6 Nov
Jennifer -- 26 Dec
levynn ---- 28 Dec

Dino,
I also have this prob. I can't invite my malay frens too. Not enough to have 1 table. But i got one malay frens, she is not strict muslim, so she can eat non-halal chinese food but not pork. U can try askin ur malay frens whether they mind a not lo...

I'm also counting down... 15 days from today! OMG!

hi people. thanks for your comments and advice. as regards to muslim friends, its true that DG charges per table, so unless you can consolidate or find 1 full table, else you may consider packing some muslim food for your friends. DG will help you warm up the food before being served.

to purelyz
wow ur AD cuming soon!!gong xi gong xi!!
i also sign up with DG.my AD is on 31dec2005,i booked 30 tables n i was given the smaller ballroom.i heard that DG will let outsiders sit in the ballrm while the wedding dinner is going on..is it true??

Haha... u making me nervous... Left with 12 days! I'm also using the smaller ballroom. I've 28 tables and still counting... Outsiders sit in the ballrm? I dun think so... If u r using the small ballroom, the rm will be full aft puting 30 tables. No place for outside. Wat menu u gettin? I jus went for my fd tasting last 2 wk... Gd food! Hope that AD will serve this standard too...

Hi Purelyz,

Which menu u taking? I will go for my food tasting end of this mth. I am still undecisive which menu to take.
Did you opt for the heart of flames? I am still thinking to take anot. I have to pay for it coz I have less tables and I am not sure abt the effects.

We took the $538 package, cos i love the hasma dessert. My hubby say he dun mind pay a bit more for better food. My food tasting is 1 day before my GDL... so the 2 family can discuss wat is to take note tmr. Barleyan, aft 7th mth for food tasting 've sufficent time. So it'll be free, rite?

Dino, i got the heart of flames FOC aft "bargaining" with the manager. Cos my hubby family are his usual customers for many years. So for 28 tables, he say can give us FOC. I've saw the effect on a trial video when i'm in the search for videographer. Quite ok la... Sth special lo... The couples each hold 1 candle, light from the same end then the flame will continue round the heart to form the heart of flame. I think only DG have this kind of offer.

Hi Barleyan,
if you are using the smaller ballrm then there wont be any walk in guest unless u are using the bigger one and only 30 tables.

Hi Purelyz,

congrats.Pity that i cant join Jean they all but best wishes.

Hi Novel,
Ya, i understand abt the trad custom tt we can't attend each other wedding. Maybe u can post me some AD pics so that i can't see the fun u all have on tat day...

Btw, can i check wif u: u do ur MU at DG? Or u do it at hm then go to DG? Wat time u got ur MUA to do MU? Cos i'm tryin to schedule my time now. Woof say she do it at DG before 5pm. I scare the lightening in the dressing rm not gd... Wat u think?

Hi Purelyz,

I do the makeup at DG bridal room. I've booked a room at sentosa shangri-la hotel for wedding nite but MUA said that its better to do it there and personally, i feel that the DG bridal room is big and bright. My mum and mother in-law started their makeup at 5.30pm and mine started at 6.30pm.
thats good cos we reach DG around 5pm then i can still do the very last check on the ballroom.my aunty (recept) came at 6pm and she was looking ard for bride but she couldnt find cos im still running ard in my shorts and t-shirt.haha

Tks,Purelyz for your info on the heart of flames. My hubby also intend to take the 538 as he love hasma dessert. While I intend to take another menu.

Hi Novel,
How much extra did you paid your MUA for your mum and mother-in-law? How's the feedback of the food after your AD dinner?

Hi Dino,

MUA is reccomended by my friend. Its a last min change (left with 1 week), its from creative face works. $350 for myself (include lashes), 65 for mum (each) and 35 for jiemei hairdo only.

as for the food on AD, all requests fufilled cos i requested to add 'golden mushroom' into the sharkfin, tomatoes for decor on 1st dish, clean the tableware for VIPS. Overall i can say food is nice and up to standard except for the worm thing. Enjoyed the packed food in the hotel after the whole dinner.

Novel,
Oh... u start MU at 6.30pm. Is it too late? Wat time ur guests start comin in? I tot i wan to ask my MUA to come in btw 5.30 to 6pm. Is it too kiasu?
Can we ask DG to pack 1 set of food for the bride and groom? Cos hotel provide this service... Or else like very poor thing le... nd to eat packed food aft wedding... Or ask them to cook early for us, so we can eat before MU?

Purelyz,

my intention was to interact with my guest and i told her i need to be ready ard 7.30pm &amp; true enuf at around 7.20pm, im done. I wont want to come out just b4 march in. The dinner started at 8.30pm (as predicted by DG staff)

The DG staff will pack for the couple (after the 2nd dish)so dont wori, they will do it for u. have something lght b4 MU &amp; enjoy the packed food after the whole event.they even packed the dessert for us. quite caring service

Novel,
Oh... then i'll ask my MUA to reach at 6pm, so i'll be ready ard 7pm. We also can't hide in dressing rm till march in. Cos u noe, the location la... I wan to start dinner at 8.10 to 8.15pm le... or else the early pp will have to wait for nearly 1hr... like not very gd...

That's gd.. at least can have gd food in a pack. Haha... Thx for ur info... I've a better idea how i shd plan my schedule.

Purelyz,
i also intend to start on time but as u know...there are always some people that will be late..so no choice liao. but i told them ard 85% reached liao, i will start.
i mean some bride do hide in the bridal rm til march in but i prefer to interact with them and take photo cos all of us (esp bride) are all dressed up some beautifully.

Hi Dino8863,
u r welcome. Hope i can help those bride to be.

Hi Novel,

Can i ask you regards the bridal songs, i have all the MP3 format songs, do i have to convert into CD ? Or DG can play MP3 songs ?

Further, heard from the brides that Toshiba laptop cant be used in DG, was that correct ?
Cos mine is a Toshiba laptop... so i am getting worried, do DG have any laptop to spare ?

Hi Jennifer,

I doubt DG can play MP3. Got to convert to CD. Im using normal CD. Remember to choose your own food march if not they will use techno. Saw one dinner when im there to do the rehearsal.

as for laptop, im not so sure cos im using acer. And they do not have any spare laptop. Advisable to go down to test b4 AD

all the best in ur prep...

jennifer,
my laptop is dell....i can play MP3....mayb it will be gd if u try it out daes before ur wedding

jennifer, my laptop is toshiba... and DG works with it perfectly well. Only hiccups is tat their sound system cannot connect to my projector... so we used wireless mics.
U can also choose wat type of food march-in songs u want... DG has lots of variety.

Hi Hoshi5

Thanks, I was thinking of preparing my own food march-in songs.. but mine are all MP3 format, i dun know how to convert to CD, maybe in the end have to use DG's one.

As for the laptop to display the montage.. i really hope that it will work.
So do we have to rent the projector ? or DG provide it ? I forgot abt the package.. cos was booked since last year.

U need to bring ur own projector... DG doesn't provide for it...

DG has lots of selection of songs... we even changed our 1st march-in song just before the guests arrived... haha.. coz the song we chose was the same as the one played on the montage. and DG says better to choose a different song...

During march-in, DG will play the march-in song accordingly, and the song will slowly 'dim' down as u reach the stage.... so no worries...