Dragon Gate Restaurant

regarding the mach-in song...according to my friend...maybe have to select a portion (eg chorus) then play from there....once u reach the stage...the audio in-charge will slowly lower the vol...i think most worried is to remember the part which u all need to start ...the right beat... hope tis will help...im also worried abt tus but gt this advice from my friend.

hi hoshi, my email: [email protected]

FH says will ask frens. We'll go to DG at abt 5 pm for setup and rehearsal, and my makeup

Hi Levynn,

I wil play my March in song from the beginning then wait for the chorus part then walk in..

Since I'm taking the smaller ballroom, the march in also very short..so let the guests wait for a while..listen to the song I chose then walk in.

hoshi,

thanks for the photos
you look really pretty and your blue dress is great on you.

Think I still prefer the decor before reno, ie the decor at your wedding. Did you do the netting on stage yourselves or already there? Love the photo table: gorgeous setup. Maybe will think abt using candles as well.

Hi claire,
thx for ur compliments. ya, a lot of guest complimented on the my gown. It was an exclusive gown from my BS. even guests from the next ballroom was peering into our ballroom.... coz it's adjourning mah...

the ballroom deco is all done by DG... we didn't touch up anything. My sisters did up the recept table with lots of rose petals and candles to create the 'romantic' look ...and they bought most of the stuff from ikea... cheap and nice...

hi ray, me oso using smaller room..ya i tink itz a gd idea as the smaller ballroom has extremely short march in

hi d woof...
dun worry... stil have some time for u to choose a song?? u shortlisted any??

hello ray...
how many tables r u having?? n which song r u using?? i already know which song i wan to use as the 1st dish... but not the march-in yet...

anyway, i'm juz worried that the song will like end in the middle of nowhere, then a bit funny. esp if the person manning the controls cannot gauge properly...

hi alll....
how abt asking ur FH to sing as both of u march in.... so far i have attended 2 dinner with this special thing...
one of them ..e bridegroom will sing n march in first... then in e middle of e hall e bride will join him from another door... quite fun...
then e other one is church weeding so my friend's H sing on e stage then e bride march in with e father.
so I am thinking of asking my FH to sing from e stage n slower walk to e door n bring me in...

elaine,
erm my H n i cant sing well..anyway i tink my H dun like the idea of him singing...he will tink tat it will make a fool out of himself....unless ur H has a good voice den itz a gd idea

hi woof..
well my FH used to sing alot b4 he knows me... but cos i hate singing so he nv go Karaoke for very long but he got nice voice so i will try to encourage him to practise few month b4 e AD.
but really dont know wat song is suitable..

we are both toying with the idea of singing I Fianlly Found Someone for second march in. First march in will have dunno what song yet

Hi d woof, can add in mine's as well? 3rd Apr @ DG! I've been worried abt the March in song (also using the Bigger Hall).. Ha, I know I should be panicking by now.
Tot of visiting someone's wedding if I can get their permission to see they are doing it.

updated on 6/2/05

claire_liu ---- 6 Mar
PHL------------ 3 Apr
bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
elaine -------- 6 Nov
levynn -------- 28 Dec

so claire, how's ur prep? u left wif mth liao leh......nid help juz let me noe....try to help if possible

juz a guide for the events at my wedding.
1st, after the emcee greeted the guests, the ballroom was dimmed completely to screen our montage. after the montage, the emcee announced the arrival of the newly-weds. Our march-in song was "Everyday I love u"-Boyzone. when we reach the stage, the song was slowly dimmed down, and we 'cut' the cake and lit the 'candles of love' and then proceeded to our table. after 2nd dish, went to change to EG and march-in was from the back. Played the song 'Because I love u'-Celine Dion.
Don't worry abt the march-in songs coz the 'banquet-coordinator' is experienced in playing the songs.
Only prob I had was during 1st march-in from the centre of the ballroom. We were told to follow the spotlights, and march-in... but very hard to follow coz the spotlights were shining into our eyes... and if u never follow, the lights will not be shining on the couple and photo-taking will not be nice....

Hi d woof,

The songs I chose are very country style. But the words are really nice.
From Here to Eternity
Me and You.

Hi d_woof,
Sorry ... it's been quite some time that i din come in ...
i was busy with my ROM ... now i m Mrs. for a week.

Btw, i am taking the $488 menu (Sat) and my AD is 1st October 2005.
Pls update the list. Thank you.

updated as on 7/2/05...

claire_liu ---- 6 Mar
PHL------------ 3 Apr
bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
Angela--------- 1 Oct
elaine -------- 6 Nov
levynn -------- 28 Dec

hi Ray...thanx for sharing........
MMmmm hoshi.....indeed a great help to give us idea....thanx a million...

d woof here wud like to wish everyone happy new yr....

Hi Hi.. Can I check for those who are using the larger hall & showing montage? How are U solving the problems of the big pillars? I'll wondering if guests would be offended for plcing them with blocked views..

Isn't champagne supposed to be bubbly already? No idea, maybe it's like bubble tea, champagne with stuff inside??

Sent out invitations to my own friends and family, hubby's side will send out next week and will collate the RSVPs next wk and wk after.

Now just trying depserately to keep the flat clean til then. Deciding on what duties to assign to jie mei, getting the little boys for open car door, deciding whether to get little girl to throw rose petals, what songs to use, settled the table decor for dinner, but reception still not OK. Will prob get smaller flower arrangements at the 2 or 4 corners of the table. Have to make the guest book, and buy pens for use that night. And I'm sure there'll be other stuff that pops up. Next most pressing thing will be seating arrangement, after getting in all RSVPs

Actually the little stuff takes more time than stuff like gown, etc. Thank goodness BS bao ga liao! Make life a bit easier

Hi Claire,

doing well!!
..keep it up...do remember to take care of yourself too.... so that u will be in tip-top condition on your big day.

hi claire,
sounds like u r very organized....btw can share wif me wat r the little stuffs....oso where r u getting the pens n ang bao box? i oso in the situation where i tink a lot of little stuffs which nid more time to source for.....

hello ladies...

happy v-day... n back to work again...

claire... may i noe where r u getting the flower arrangements?? n how r u making ur guest book? i saw a very pretty one at kalm's n it cost $88. so ex...

d woof... maybe u can make ur own ang bao box?? spotlight have those big box n then u can buy some nice wrappers, little flowers, n juz stick them onto the box. i'll most probably b making my own ang bao box

hi novel, thanx for recommendation...btw did u get anything fm spotlight...lookin for seashell shape box to make into my ang bao box......

as levynn mentioned.....guest book leh...any special thing can be done..wow...88 is too ex.....tink nt worth to spend on tis kind of stuff

hi d_woof,

I have yet to go dwn to spotlight.will do so soon. I've got the ang bao boxes from my FH's uncle. He got them from his supplier. it looks like those lucky draw boxes. i will buy some nice wrappers to decorate it.

levynn, me too...88 is too ex... ..did you check with ur BS?? check whether they will provide any

We just bought red A3 and pink A4 papers. Will paste the pink on red, and got mounting board for cover. Will decorate the cover, paste our photo in front with calligraphy and then send to printing shop to bind nice nice
Papers and mounting board about $10, then binding shd be a few dollars.
I'll probably get the pens from bras basah...so many shops there

I havent found a nice ang pow box yet. Maybe just get a bag for convenience.

I rem Dragongate gives us a guest book right??
Cos I will not be getting any guest books. Dragongate gives one, my BS gives one..

I just bought a lot of tea lights from Ikea.. They are selling those pink/red ones...

Hi Claire,

Take care of yourself in the midst of your preparations.. very fast.. another 2 more weeks..

i bought two boxes from ikea to be my ang pao box... goin to wrap in gold color with pearls n organza..

hi pnl,
i would be using the big ballroom.. but have not thought of any ideas to solve the issue of pillars blocking pple... guess it is unavoidable ba.. would try to get a floor plan from the restaurant first den c how..

I would be using the big ballroom (max 60 tables) ...
but i think i have to use more than 60 tables ... estimate 70 tables ...
do u think if i assign my friends to sit inside the VIP room ... they will not be happy??
Quite worried!!

hi Angela...
no choice lor... usually friends r ard our age so they shld be more understanding n dont mind to sit inside e VIP rooms.... unlike relatives...
just remember to go in talk to them a while then apologise will do
dont worry...

hi angela...

i agree with elaine just apologise to them n let them know abt the situation.. the kind of things really not choice one...

ok gals,
seems like everyone will be wrapping the box with wrapping paper to turn in to an ang bao box....will go spotlight some day n c i found anything special....do update me if u gals went to spotlight n SPOT something special......

claire, can u show me the foto of ur guestbook after ur wedding....

Yar, maybe can also spot each other

d woof,
Will remind my photog to take a pic of it during reception. Things are at a standstill now coz my parents are out of town so staying at their place to accompany my sis. Nothing done this few days, so I think this wkend is going to be really hectic...

Hi elaine & bluey,
Thank you for ur advice ... that shld be the only way ...
Really quite worried. Can't imagine how the situation like.

My BS provides me the guest signature book ...
maybe u guys can check with ur BS ...
whether can they provide the guest signature book as well.

I'm also having my Jul WD at Dragongate. Noe abt this forum fr Woof, cos we'r havin the same bridal shop. Hope can learn more from u all...

I'll help to updated the list (as on 17/2/05)

claire_liu ---- 6 Mar
PHL------------ 3 Apr
bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
purelyz ------- 23 Jul
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
Angela--------- 1 Oct
elaine -------- 6 Nov
levynn -------- 28 Dec

Hi Claire,
I also wan to use balloons and fresh rose petals for deco. Ur FH did the balloon arches for his D&D before? It is possible i can ask ur FH or frens to help me with mine? Please quote me a price... Please help...
I'm so headache with the deco. My FH dun wan me to spend too much on it, cos nd save money for flat reno.
U mention u got balloons from concourse: 100 for $10. If heart-shaped ones, 100 for $12. Where is the shop? Any contact?

DG's bubble champagne is coloured champagne... i think is pink. A bit strange... Their march-in lights changing colours if u wan.

halo purelyz,
nice to c u here..hehe....as u can c..i hav been cracking my head to do up the deco too.....

did asked kessler abt the guestbook fr DG. she said they dun provide guestbook... but those traditional chinese kind of pink scroll... one long piece that runs across the recep table, i think.

purelyz,
FH ask you to come and have a look at ours, then see if you like

No contact, unfortunately. The shops are all on the 3rd floor. Can take a walk through all of them, see if there's anything you like. There were 2 or 3 of them selling the balloons. As far as I could tell, no difference in price, but better check to be sure.

The DG one is just one piece of paper, about A3 size. We did ask them and Emily said better if we get ourselves. It's really not very nice...