DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

Please advise me on this diamond too. The diamond is currently already set in a earring, so the valuer (From a jeweller in Funan Centre) says that the colour and grade cannot be assessed? Not sure if true? The valuer valued at $4k

Carat - 0.4 * 2 (earrings)
Price - $3.5k
Colour and Clarity - Unknown

To be honest, its abit difficult to tell if the diamond is really a gd buy unless we know its HCA results or some pix on its arrows & Hearts. http://www.diamond-cut.com.au/holloway_cut_adviser.htm
http://www.ideal-scope.com/using_reference_chart.asp

Hi BB_queen, I'm afraid my knowledge on princess cuts are limited. Maybe this link can help u abit? http://www.pricescope.com/fancy.asp

In my personal opinion, E color and VS1 Clarity for a normal usage diamond are gd enough. Really up to individuals.

JC

Planning to propose in the next few weeks, and I am agonizing over the following diamonds:

1) 1.20 ct D VS2

2) 1.35 ct E VS1

Both are ideal cut diamonds and 1) is certified by GIA, 2) is certified by AGS. Both are none fluorescent.

The difference in price is about US$1,800.

Barring the differing carat sizes of the diamonds, what is the trade-off involving D VS2 and E VS1? Is color more important than clarity? Given that both are pretty much similar (ie:- D is not much visible (to the naked eye) than E; and VS1 is only marginally clearer than VS2).

The tons of websites on the internet don't champion color over clarity nor the other way round.

Which one should I get? Would appreciate your advice and opinions. Thanks!

Hi jonboy, u shoould look up the HCA result for both. I'm sure (2) which is AGS certified will have the cut values to cal.

Imo, D & E is not much of a diff. As for VS1 or VS2, its really up to individual.

Do note that 1.2c to 1.35c is quite a big jump.

Juz my 2 cts
JC

hi jonboy, as for e colour, D & E is stil under e same category, as for clarity, u cant tel my naked eye, unless 10 times under magnifying loupe.. if u're looking into e beauty of a diamond, cut is extremely important as tat's e oly thing tat can control by man! no point getting big diamond with a high colour an clarity whereas e cut is not as good as BRILLIANT ROSE!! Of cos i do not noe whether have u heard b4 on BRILLIANT ROSE Diamonds but it is a well-knowned international brand diamonds.. An it has proven e most beautiful diamond in e world.. BRILLIANT ROSE is a true gift of love, a desire of every women.. i believed u wanna give her e best of all rite? u will not regret as for sure..

jonboy, i'd go for the bigger gem. but go with your eyes. if it looks better to you, notwithstanding what the cert says, it probably is.

I am contemplating getting a diamond to propose (but no hurry). I set my eyes on this diamond from James Allen (same company as DCD):

1.36ct
F
SI1 (CEO of James Allen checked for me, it's eye-clean less a small white feather in the center)
AGS certified
Depth 60.6%
Table 56%
Girdle thin to med
Crown angle 34.2
Pavilion angle 40.8

Did a HCA check:
Light Return Excellent
Fire Excellent
Scintillation Excellent
Spread or diameter for weight Very Good

Total Visual Performance 1 - Excellent
within TIC range

Price is ard US$8700 inclusive of shipping.

Now I am thinking if should get this. I told my gf that I will buy her a 1ct to propose but looking at Destinee's pricing, I think this is more worth it.

Haven't thought of the setting yet. May just get James Allen to do it for me. But I want to see the loose diamond too. Dilemma...

I kn nuts abt diamonds, hope u all can help me out.
I'm thinking of buying one from the Diamond Ind but heard that their diamonds are nt tat gd, is it true?
I've been to Lee Hwa, Soo Kee and Goldheart to view their signature range but dun reali find anything special abt it. Reali lost, pls advise...

Hi squealer, personally I'll avoid any piece that have inclusion in the center as this is the location where its most easily detected.

Juz my 2 cts
JC

I know, but I checked with the CEO of the online dealer who personally checked the diamond for me. And I saw the Idealscope image of the rock. It looks wonderful!

Now the only problem is I am very very broke now!

for everyone who is blur about the selection of diam ond between 2 option .... go and get a thrid party appraiser to check the diamond for u.

You already spend a few k liao what is that 100+ USD to you ?

get them to be your eyes and hands

I want to get a diamond tennis bracelet. Is there any private jellewers you all can recommend to me? I intend to get something like the one in the picture. Read from another thread, a bride got the following at 7pointers E color and VVS clarity only at abt $3,200. But she is actually off to prepare for her wedding.

Anyone got any jewellers to recommend? I went to Larry (cos i got the flower earrings from them) and they are charging me abt $6,600 (after discount). DOUBLE the price! So hopefully someone can help me.

433951.gif

Be enlightened. Get informed.

Worth-less
About 130 million carats (26,000 kg) are mined annually, with a total value of nearly USD $9 billion. Now if you do the math - that works out to be US$69.20 per carat! The prices of diamond is artificially controlled and inflated. Mined diamonds are bought by cartels and kept in vaults to control supply and keep prices high, in truth there is nothing rare or precious about the stones.

For a detailed exposé of the De Beers cartel, read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

Have you heard of conflict diamonds?
Roughly 49% of diamonds originate from central and southern Africa - that's the majority of diamonds in retail. But this is the same region where conflict diamonds get worked into the system.

A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts - http://www.amnestyusa.org/diamonds/index.do

In some cases, the United Nations has prohibited the export of conflict diamonds, arguing that their trade finances armies in fighting against legitimate governments and perpetrating human rights abuses, and prolongs devastating wars. It points to the UNITA rebels in Angola and to the Revolutionary United Front rebels in Sierra Leone (who it states were financed by the government of Liberia, also through diamond sales) as purveyors of conflict diamonds.

The UN is attempting to implement certification procedures to decrease the number of illicit diamonds on the world market. On July 19, 2000, the World Diamond Council adopted at Antwerp a resolution to strengthen the diamond industry's ability to block sales of conflict diamonds.

In 2002, the UN approved the Kimberley Process scheme aimed at preventing conflict diamonds entering the market.
See - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kimberley_Process

Still there is no guarantee the Kimberly Process can enforce 100% that no conflict diamonds make it to the market - see National Geogrpahic interview with reporter Dominic Cunningham - http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/02/0212_030212_diamonds.html

Natural mined diamonds have been coming under a lot of heat recently. Award-winning journalist Cecil Adams sums it up the best in a recent article: “diamonds are a scam, pure and simple.†Most people in the new millennium understand that between the DeBeers diamond cartel, the issue of child labor in Third World diamond processing operations, and “blood diamonds†used to finance oppression and genocide in Third World African countries, not to mention your snooty and pretentious local jeweler, diamonds are just not worth the hassle, guilt, and let’s not forget thousands and thousands of questionably spent dollars.

7 Reasons Why You Should NEVER Buy a Diamond:

1. The price of diamonds has been artificially inflated since the 1880's via the De Beers diamond cartel. Read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

2. Current public perception of diamonds is the direct result of a masterfully executed marketing campaign by De Beers that began in 1938, not inherent scarcity or value. If you've read the article by Edward Epstein (you really should), you know all of the gory details. Isn't it amazing (and scary) how brainwashed people are about the "value" of diamonds, even though they're not actually worth that much?

3. A diamond is an illiquid asset, not an "investment". Try to sell a second-hand diamond ring on eBay or at a pawn shop. Do you really think you'll get anything close to what you paid for it? Do you really think the price of any diamond you purchase today is going to go up significantly over time? A diamond ring isn't even a good "insurance policy" to fall back on during hard times - it's an illiquid asset that you'll have a hard time selling for a price anywhere close to what you paid for it.

4. The diamond industry funds warfare, genocide, and terrorism. A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts. Profits from conflict diamonds are used to finance warlords in Angola, Sierra Leone, and Liberia, who use their weapons to kill and maim innocent people. You won't be able to tell if your diamond is a conflict diamond or not?
Read BBC reports
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/correspondent/1604165.stm
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/3581799.stm

5. A diamond is - by nature - just a pretty rock. Think of the oft-quoted "rule" of diamond ring buying: the ring should cost a minimum of two month's salary (pre-tax), and you should spend as much on a ring as you can afford. Let's put this rule in its proper context: according to the people who sell pretty rocks, you're supposed to trade a full two months of your time and effort for one of their pretty rocks. Does that seem wise?

6. People notice the setting more than the diamond itself. To the naked human eye, most decent quality diamonds look the same. Unless the stone is yellow, has major inclusions, or has a distinctly lopsided cut, no one will be able to distinguish an ideal cut, E color, VS-1 stone from a lesser-quality diamond just by looking at it. What people do notice is the setting - how the stone is featured or placed, side stones, and the craftsmanship and artistry of the band. Knowing this - does it make more sense to focus your attention and dollars on a better stone, or on a better setting?

7. The opportunity cost of buying a diamond is huge. Opportunity cost is what you give up by spending your scarce resources on a single option. In other words, if you drop ten grand on a diamond ring, you have $10,000 less to spend on other things, like a fantastic honeymoon, a car, furniture, a down payment on a house, investing for the future, or further education. Are all of these options worth giving up for a little piece of colorless carbon?

More readings...

Not Forever
The death of South African diamond magnate Harry Oppenheimer last month might mark the end of global domination for one of the world's most infamous cartels.
By Susan Emerling
http://www.salon.com/business/feature/2000/09/27/diamonds/index.html

Nice ice
Lab-made diamonds are as dazzling as those mined by third-world labor. This bling may be easier on your conscience -- and your wallet.
By Corrie Pikul
http://www.salon.com/mwt/the_big_idea/2004/12/24/diamonds/index.html

What you can do?
http://www.globalwitness.org/pages/en/what_you_can_do.html

Hello anyone can advise whether it's ok to purchase a 1 carat solitaire with only in-house cert from T*ka. Any experience or comments? Thanks in advance

hi!!

anyone has any idea how much does a lazare diamond solitaire ring at larry jewelery costs? spec around colour E/F/G, clarity VVSI/VVS2/VS1/VS2, cut Excellent/Ideal/V. Good/Good and carat 0.49/0.59

mine is a lazare diamond from Larry.

E/VS2/Excellent/0.50 - cost 7200. But i bought during their year end promo so dicounted 20%

Hi HL,

7200 is after discount? Which outlet did you go? Is there a larry outlet at raffles city?

Budget is 3000, trying to see how far I can stretch the 3000 with the best possible combination mentioned in my post above...

looks like i may have to give larry a miss...

7200 is before discount.

You can go for a smaller carat. The salesman told me before anything size above 0.5, the price jumps higher. You can get around 0.45? I think can't really tell the difference. That time I saw a similar one about this size(can't remember exact size but about 0.45), it's 1K cheaper

Larry only has 2 outlets. Paragon and Ngee Ann city. You can also go for color F. Color G that time he showed to me, I can tell the difference cos the light reflected on a pure white paper appears more yellowish than my E.

Sometimes you want the specs, they may not have the stock to fit exactly into each C's of the diamond you specified. So better go down and see.

Anyone knows?

How much do you guys think a trilogy Gabrielle diamond ring will cost at least? Middle rock at the smallest it can go without looking silly.

Need some advice from all the experts here... my bf and I are currently looking around for a proposal ring, and he seems to be interested in this:

SK 0.4 H&A, colour: D, clarity: IF, cut: excellent

Price: $3300

Please feedback on whether the ring is worth it, as well as any feedback on hearts & diamonds.

Hi Pinky,

The price looks alright considering the specs, but actually you can probably go lower in specs (mayb F or G colour and VS1 or VS2 clarity) and get a bigger diamond for the same price, or a similar size for a lower price. You can't really tell much difference from a D, IF. However, if you r like certain pple who want to go for smth tt's considered perfect, den by all means.

BTW, if ur bf is willing to consider buying off the net, there are even better deals available. I just got a 0.59ct, F, SI2, ideal princess for under SGD$1900 inclusive of shipment and GST. I'm extremely satisfied. I got it set in singapore for just slightly over $200.

For ur SGD$3300, you can easily get this online inclusive of shipping and GST. There's even a 40x picture there for you to evaluate whether you can see the inclusions.

It's AGS, Ideal Cut, H&A, 0.568 carat, G, VS2
http://www.whiteflash.com/hearts_arrows/A-Cut-Above-H-A-cut-diamond-292590.htm

Here's another one tt's slightly smaller but with better colour: AGS, Ideal cut, 0.535 carat, D, VS2
http://www.whiteflash.com/round_ideal_cut/Round-Ideal-Cut-cut-diamond-18721.htm

I think this one has the best balance:
http://www.whiteflash.com/round_ideal_cut/Round-Ideal-Cut-cut-diamond-18976.htm
AGS, Ideal Cut, 0.556 carat, F, VS1

hi all, jus wan to share a wholesaler i visited on sat. she's RENNA fr felice jewellery. went to c the wedding band collection. she has many beautiful wedding band designs at v low prices, compared to those L**H**, s**k** etc outside. and her designs i nvr saw outside thou i hv been to those big names. if u r interested, can pay her a visit. her shop is located at blk 15, braddell tech #07-10, toa apyoh lor 8. pl call for appt 1st HP: 9112 4488

I think it's best if you just go to the shop to check out what they have. I know a Larry's Lazare is a branded ideal cut, but a 1 carat diamond that have differing colour and clarity will have very different prices.

tks. hmmm...pardon my ignorance,they would come in all weights right? eg.0.9, 0.95carat?
and am i right to say the price rises steeply from these to a 1 carat?
if anyone has a budget of $10K, what ring would be ideal?

Theoretically, diamonds are available in all weights. But you really have to see what they have in their store/inventory.

Yes, there will be a steep price difference even between a 0.95 and a 1 carat. The size difference won't be apparently though, so it'll be a great way to save some money by buying just below 1 carat, unless you're very obsessed with the "magic number".

Erm, being a supporter of buying online, I'll suggest you go online instead for cheaper and better stones. I can help you pick out some nice ones if you want. There's no such thing as an ideal ring for your budget. It all depends on what you/ur gf really want to haf.

IMO a custom setting will be a nice touch, rather than just getting the very common 6 or 4 prong thin solitaire tt almost everyone has. FI and I got a custom setting with a cut-corner square brillant, cos when I look around me, everyone has a round stone on a thin solitaire. I got too bored of tt. However, in terms of brilliance, nothing can beat an ideal cut H&A round.

Hi DiamondFanatic,

Thanks for the advice. Have looked around and some of the diamonds on the websites really looked good!

Currently I have a customised setting in mind, so am looking to buy a loose diamond, and maybe some smaller loose pink diamonds/ sapphires as side stones. Can you recommend me some websites which sell loose diamonds to be shipped internationally? Am trying to compare and contrast. Thanks in advance for your help.

So far, I know of : www.diamondsonweb.com

Hi Pinki,

I personally don't like Diamonds On Web cos they are a dropshipper. Meaning they don't help you look at the stone before shipping it to you. In fact, the stone won't even pass thru their hands. Bluenile also does the same thing.

I will personally recommend you these 3 places:
http://www.whiteflash.com
http://www.exceldiamonds.com
http://www.jamesallen.com

All these 3 vendors will help you eyeball the stone and take good pictures and idealscopes for you before you decide whether to buy the stone. I personally went with WhiteFlash and had a very good experience. If you decide on WhiteFlash, do let me know, cos I can help you obtain a further discount than the listed price.

For custom jeweler, I'll recommend Yuen Tung Gems at Lower Delta Road. They're located in the Industrial Park and have their own workshop. I had a very bad experience with another jeweler and after I fought and got my money back, I went to Yuen Tung. I saw their workmanship and was very impressed. My ring will be ready in less than 2 weeks from now! They quoted me $450-500 for an extremely thick setting in 18k white gold or $800 for platinum. I chose white gold. I think if you get something thinner, it should cost less.

Here's their info:
Yuen Tung Gems
Block 1093 Lower Delta Road
#07-09
Tel: 62702278
Contact person: Whye Hoe

BTW, I know tt Yuen Tung Gems can help you obtain matched side stones. The prices are reasonable. Pink diamonds are very expensive though. They always are. So if you have a limited budget, mayb white diamonds or pink sapphires will be a better idea. IMO sapphires are better as sides cos they don't sparkle as much as diamonds. If you have pink diamond sides, it might overwhelm ur white diamond centre stone.

You may want to check on this jeweller, he has his own website and has been around for quite a while. Not a typical sales person as you can see from his website, cause he's only doing this because of interest. Hence he's very selective in his customers, my friend got rejected by him cause he feel that she's not sincere.

I got all my diamonds from him, including my set-jewellery for my customary wedding. His service is excellent and very generous in sharing information. You can visit his website at www.idealgems.com.sg or e-mail him at [email protected]

Yes his name is Vern and good luck.

To me, any ideal cut H&A diamonds will look just as gd, if not better than the gabrielle. The only reason why the comparison display in the shop looks so gd was cos they used a crappy 57 facets diamond that was not ideal cut, possibly a poor cut. I went to see it for myself and it was nothing special at all.

Hmmm? So the 100 over facets made no difference? I was quoted $12K (excl GST) for a three-stone ring, G colour, VS2, 0.5 carat for centre stone, 0.25 for sides.

Is that reasonable?

I asked the other stores. They only gave me their best D/ E colour, VVS1-2 clarity - at $15K leh!

Any other places to recommend to get really ideal cutting?

It's NOT reasonable IMO, unless you're willing to pay for the branding. You can almost get a full 1 carat of the same specs wif ideal cut, hearts and arrows for the same price in Singapore. If you get a very good cut instead of ideal cut, you can definitely make a 1 carat. If you source from overseas, it's even cheaper.

By the way, 0.5+0.25+0.25 = 1, but the price should be much lower than a single 1 carat diamond.