DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

To add on to what gooogal mentioned. Princess cut is only determine how a rock is been cut to shape. Thus a ideal princess cut will have excellent scintation and the light leakage min. http://diamonds.pricescope.com/cut.asp

The price difference for a gd cut and lousy cut diamond can vary alot (~30%-40%)

Hi smartwin, its a gd move. This will ensure that you have a third party opinion b4 committing to it.

JC

smartwin from my experience, the shipping of the stone to the appraiser is FOC provided by WF >>IF<< i buy the stone after the appraising, the appraiser fee has to be paid by you because its a thrid party appraiser, but if i decided not to buy the stone sent to the appraiser, i would have to pay the shipping of the stone back to WF and the appraiser fee. ( and if i am not wrong i have to pay WF for the fee they charge to ship to the appraiser)

If i decide to buy the stone appraised, i must pay for the shipping back to SG and the appraiser fee. (to appraiser)

FYI WF offers free appraising by their in house vendor on top of the GIA or AGS provided....so if you want outsider to appraiser not affilated to WF, make sure u are 80% sure of buying before sending it out.....

this is my experience, hopes it help

By the way there is this website by a singaporean who documented his proposal and the ring buying process online....

he brought it from Goodoldgold, in which i have originally wanted to get a 0.81 ct from, but their customer serivce abit lacking from their staff, they take very long to reply....but their boss is excellent....good, fast and honest response. In the end i choose WF.

The website http://www.proposalring dot com

Note: he use fedex, so he paid GST ...if you like me go by the third party method, most likely it will be USPS in which u can siam paying GST.

ic weevenge.... so u say their boss is excellent??... which boss? WF or GOG?? so how do i ask them to ship by USPS?? can advise?

Thanks all for your advice. I will read through and do my research. Didn't know buying diamond requires so much knowledge.

WF has replied me..saying that they use FEDEX for their shipping services. This is as their diamonds are insure with fedex. so does it mean diamond not indure thru USPS??

hi guys, so if i have decided to purchase the diamond online, should in future i wan to upgrade the diamond, is it that only can upgrade with WF? or we can actually upgrade in any jewellery shop in sg?

i dun think u can upgrade in any jewellery shop in SG just like that ..... i believe WF has some sort of exchange or upgrade policy in place...

smartwin .... USPS is only available if u ship to a third party appraiser who are using USPS to ship to customer..... for WF their vendor is fedex .....

the good response fella i am talking is GOG .... johnathan ...

weevenge, u done a PT950 for ur settings. however i heard Platinum alloy is a very brittle metal and also the diamond may get loose when time to come. can verify that with you? heard 18k white gold is a better metal... can u tell me more about this?

went to larry to take a look. got a quote for the lazare diamond listed below.

Carat : 0.55
Colour : F
Clarity : VS1
Price : ard $5800(20% already discounted)(usual $7500)(inclusive custom setting with 18k white gold ring)

I have compared my ACA diamond which I source from whiteflash to be of equal cut percentage as the lazare. but physically i have not seen the ACA diamond. Below is the quote i got from white flash inclusive of shipping.

Carat : 0.538
Colour : F
Clarity : VS1
Price : ard $4100+ on diamond with appraiser and shipping. probable another $900 on setting(PT950)which total up ard $5100+.

Can someone advise me on which is a better buy? ACA is an ideal H&amp;A Diamond(the website show the cert where it is a AGS triple 0) while I look under the idealscope of lazare diamond it only show part of H&amp;A features. (lazare diamons is not H&amp;A anyway)

hi Smartwin, obviously the ACA diamond is the better buy. The diff in specs is only in the carat weight, which is not that different anyway. But the price diff is great. Furthermore the lazare diamond isn't H&amp;A.

smartwin,
there is supposed to be tax too.
fedex is supposed to bill you.

so i guess they work out to be roughly near.
lazare diamond is bigger. =D

hmm correct me if i am wrong,
quoted from earlier posts.
Hearts on Fire, Destinee, Lazare are all brands of "ideal cut" diamonds

hi just me, what do u mean by bigger? does u mean by carat size which is bigger by 0.012 carat? or u mean when seen by naked eyes it look bigger?

as i have read earlier, u were a customer or whiteflash right? so what do u think of ur stone compared to lazare? i compare the specs and found that the ACA diamond is no way different to the lazare cutting specs. in fact it is within the ideal cut of lazare. does that mean the ACA is a comparable stone to lazare? one different is that ACA do disply the H&amp;A on the idealscope while the lazare only show a bit...

dun forget lazare ring is a 18k EG setting while the ACA i estimate a platinum setting. which setting is better?

so just me, if u were me, which will u choose?which is a better buy?

"dun forget lazare ring is a 18k EG setting while the ACA i estimate a platinum setting. which setting is better?"

18k WG setting i mean..

hi, I think 1 advantage of buying Destinee cld be the prongs. Lee Hwa has the patent rights for the design of the prongs for their Destinee diamond rings. So if its ppl who can tell, just by looking at the prongs, she can tell its Destinee ring.

Some diamonds may haf more cuts, but more cuts may blur the diamond too.

Bigger is a general term to use and imho not a gd term to describe diamond. A diamond can look bigger but a few factors, i.e carat size, cut, scintation, etc.

A point to note, Lazare are indeed ideal cut but not Hearts and Arrows. Thus if u are not looking for H&amp;A diamond, I'll say Laraze is a gd choice.

White Gold is half the price of platinum.

As for prong, u can even design ur own and bring it to be casted. Paying so much more jux for a so called "patented" prong does not sounds right to me.

JC

i was wondering, if a particular diamond has the cut proportion within the ranges of the ideal lazare, does it mean that this diamond can be considered a "lazare" diamond? the only different however, it is a H&amp;A diamond, does it mean it will sparkle more?

for example ACA diamond, if u look at its cut proportion, it is all within lazare ideal cut. can i say this ACA is also another lazare diamond? what are the factors actually decide the lazare diamond? the only factor i could think of it is cut by lazare himself. that the only different.

If u refer to this link on ideal cut, http://diamonds.pricescope.com/agsideal.asp. U'll see that ideal cut is not juz H&amp;A. As long as a certain cut falls under the triple zero range, its consider an ideal cut. It can be a princess cut, H&amp;A or even a new cut that someone came out with.

Whether a H&amp;A cut wll sparkle more or not will have to depends on its cut. If u find a H&amp;A with ideal cut, chances are it will have high/gd performance. The same will apply to a lazare cut (which is basically a round cut).

It is very difficult to compare a H&amp;A to a Lazare cut cos it depends on personal preference. I may like H&amp;A and u might like lazare cut.

In a nutshell, ideal cut is just a grading. Round cut, princess cut, oval cut, etc are ways to cut/shape a diamond. H&amp;A, Tolkowsky, lazare, etc are all round cuts. Hearts on Fire, Destinee, etc are all H&amp;A.

To learn more on H&amp;A, see this link. http://www.niceice.com/hearts_arrows.htm

See here on Lazare, http://www.lazarediamonds.com

JC

Which diamond has more fire - the H&amp;A, Hearts on Fire, Destinee, or Gabrielle?

How much would a 1.5 carat Gabrielle ring of decent colour and clarity cost?

http://diamonds.pricescope.com/brill.asp

Fire or dispersed light appears as flashes of rainbow colors. You see more fire in darker environments like restaurants that have just a few point light sources or a flickering candle.

Diamond experts have known for a long time that steep crown angles and small tables (like 'old cut' diamonds) produce more fire. But this combination also produces less light return. Less light return makes it easier to see firey flashes that might otherwise be swamped by bright white sparkles; that one reason is why old cut diamonds and some fancy cuts appear to have a lot of fire.

Gabrielle cut has alot more facets, 58 in facts. This allow it to reflect alot of lights thus creating small glittlers or even "fire". However, due to the more complicated cut, its difficult to see the pattern on the diamond. My personally opinion is that the sparkle is too fine not like those u see in a H&amp;A or lazare diamond which are thicker.

For more, check out.
http://www.gabriellediamonds.com/home/default.asp

JC

SMARTWIN : The reason i choose plat over whitegold is because i prefer something that do not fade and more valuable for the ring.

regardless of titantium, aluminium, steel etc etc or whatever material, if your wife does not take care of the ring and bang here bang there, any kind of material the prongs also cannot tahan. diamond will also come out

Nattie: patented but everyone is still copying, i myself have seen alot of brands design being copied etc. Even very brand top brand from europe being dup in SG. So there is no such thing as seeing the design u know its from leehwa, the main important thing is still the center of attraction, setting is only secondary

I got mine from Good old gold. Excellent diamond I got. White flash, good old gold, dirt cheap diamond are some of the reliable diamond seller. They are really much cheaper. I got mine and went hunting for similar one in over here. And it cost almost 1K more than what I had got from good old gold. But if I were to go for brand I will go for Whiteflash cos their logo is embeded onto the diamond. Looks cool to me. else you can get from good old gold same grade same diamond just that is not branded. But to me branded diamond and non branded are still diamond. No such thing as non branded diamond quality not good. But then there is one rule buying a diamond. To buy a diamond than clear your mind than you buy a clear diamond. Buy diamond that you feel comfortable with.

Hi JC, Jonathan, weevenge, And All Who Has Bought Online

I am looking at buying my stone online. However, I am also pressed for time for it to be ready for photo taking.

Thus can someone share with me the total time needed end to end, from purchase, appraiser by GIA/AGS, castting and finally reaching my hands.

Please kindly help ! You can also email me at [email protected]

is it safe to buy diamonds online? How do you know that the diamond that you are getting is authentic? How do you pay for it? through WIRE or Credit card?

Hi flowerbabe, you can always ask for express delivery if there's a need.

Hi Wee Wei, try reading through the previous posts. There have been many discussions and experiences shared by others.

JC

flowerbabe.... i think you should give your self 6-8 weeks for the following up and from buying till the diamond reach u , and then to set the diamond prob need another week too

hi everyone.. hmm.. wan to ask, when u go shopping for rings, how do u get out of the shop without buying? when i wana step in like feel stress to buy. will the sales pple press u to buy??

why feel stressed??? do you go into ntuc feeling stressed =)
It's consumer right mah... Don't like don't buy lor....

hi blurrblurr,

u mind to tell me what size of the diamond you got from internet? feel a little insecrure abt buying online... =)

Need comments on the following comparisons :

1. F colour VS1 0.38 H&amp;S AGS cert - $1800
2. G colour VVS2 0.38 H&amp;S GIA cert - $1730

Which will you buy?

Hi blurblobs, I've been told that AGS and GIA cert is recognised but in different parts of the world. It doesn't matter to me which part of the world it is, as long as there is some sort of international certification as opposed to in-house certification by some local jewelry shops.

My understanding is colour other than D, E and F will appear yellowish. And it is rather obvious. Already, "white" diamonds appear yellowish if they are in poor lighting conditions (most lightings in Singapore are not the pure white type cos they hurt the eyes), so if I were to buy a G diamond, I will worry that it looks yellow. If a yellowish diamond is worn with a pure white dress/gown, it will be rather obvious. My family is rather traditional, and insisted that I wear a pure white wedding gown (as opposed to ivory) to leave my house in the morning of the tea ceremony, I needed to buy a E diamond.

VS1 and VVS2 are just a step away. There are some inclusions which are not as obvious as other inclusions if you are thinking of buying a VS1. My diamond is a Vs1. The inclusion is a feather and not carbon. There is also some air pocket but I can't see it with naked eye. You can only see the feather if you stare at the diamond from the side. I find that carbon particles make the diamond less sparkly than feather.

My 2 cents' worth.

the general rule is dont buy anything that your eye can't enjoy.

i would buy the best grade of cut at the biggest carat for my budget. min. color f or g and eye-clean si1 for clarity.

yup! I agree totally with who?me? !
ultimately, pple admire the diamond from afar and they may ask the size. A diamond which sparkles and which is of a decent size for the finger within the budget is a perfect buy.

I tend to differ abit on the clarity. SI inclusions are actually visible with nake eye. Thus the min I'll go is definitely VS2. Actually, even with VS2, with a 10x scope, u'll also be able to see the defects.

Utimately, get one that u like most. As you are enjoying the diamond. But if I intend to show it to ppl, I'll aim for min for "E" and "VS1".

Juz my personal opinion.
JC

Ic. In that case, I'll say its a great buy.

Some info on SI; http://diamonds.pricescope.com/clarity.asp
"SI2 is the borderline of 'eye visible'. My definition: if an inclusion is apparent to the naked eye, in normal light, from 14-16 inches, without knowing its position, the stone is 'I' for Imperfect or the European term – 'P' for Pique (PeeKay).

1 in 100 people can see VS2 inclusions; if this worries you then buy VS1, or wait a decade till your ability to focus close up drops away"

JC

we are talking si1s right?

even among gems of the same clarity grading, some inclusions are more visible than others. you can definitely find eye-clean si1s around. i think my point is i'd trade off clarity for carat, assuming the same budget.

Hi all experts

I am at a loss what to get...which is better? I am just afraid I will be paying for something that is not worth the $.

VS1
E color
Polish Very good
Symmetry Good
Fluorescence None

VVS2
D color
Polish good
Symmetry Good
Fluorescence None

Both are same size(carat) but a price difference of $900. I would appreciate some comments. Thanks. Been reading but still don't know how to choose.

Hi bbqueen, is it a round diamond? Do u have its other info? Typically, most ppl will not spend additional $$ buy a VVS2 rock. As for D &amp; E color, E is pretty ok.

JC

It's a princess cut. JC, thanks for your advice. Everyone around me just say must get D color. So if I can source for a D color, VS1 or VS2, will that be even better or can I just stick with the VS1 E color? What other info do you need?

Thanks once again. That was helpful.

Hi. I'm making some personal info-collection on diamonds recently, as I planned to get one for my proposal.

Please enlighten me on this, if it's a good offer:

Carat: 0.69
Colour: D
Purity: VVS2
Facets: 57
Cut: Hearts &amp; Arrow
Polish: Very Good
Symmetry: Very Good
Price: $6,500

My gut feeling tells me it's a good buy. In fact a very good buy. Furthermore, the lady explaining to me is frank and open with the price list (she didn't hide the list away from me as some other sllers would).

So please enlighten if able to. Thanks!