DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

Hi sousa, hehe. It needs lots of finetuning by a proper jewellery designer... for eg. my side view inaccurate cos then, from top view the marquise will be obsured by the centre stone. Just doodling for fun... maybe I'd leave lots of these doodles lying around where my HB can see. Hahaha!

LOL! MTMTM, good idea. See if your hubby gets the hint. If it's mine, he'd probably think I'm doodling for fun and throw away the paper, or use it to wrap the cats' poo poo.

you all are moving so fasT!

sousa, that's a nice ring!! how many carats is that? i agree with canny that it looks big! hehehe... yeah i get what you mean about shorts and t-shirt and diamonds. but you know one good thing about t-shirt and shorts and lots of diamonds?? you can walk into posh shops and just need to flash the salespersons your fingers and they'll be all over you
heheheh...

i wonder how much a tiff 2 carat is? man... i can just look at it the whole day and i'll be happy.

by the way, i am 23 this year. hahaha... are you sure? lots of my mother's friends think i'm pregnant when we announced that i'm getting married. but they can't say anything now cos up till now my tummy is still flat.

MT, mel right?? i'm hunny from FBO. hey, your dream ring is lovely. i like the way the marquise stones are arranged, make the ring looks like a flower. so so so... persuade your hubby for an upgrade lah. or... aske for it as a present for you when the baby is born. hehehe... just like SJP who got a charm bracelet from her husband on the birth of their son.

canny, do you think asscher will ever come to singapore?? if yes, i'll start saving from now. hehehe.... i find asscher is more regular than the usual emerald. i love regularity!

Hi Teatree,

I'm super bored today coz nothing to do in office. That's why keep dropping messages here. :P

That round brilliant is a 1.03 flanked by 0.32 marquis (as in 0.16 each). Clarity is only VS2 and color is a G, I think. Just a dress ring.

A Tiff 2 carat is USD24K. That's what my friend got it for. Not the Lucida cut, just the normal.

Ay, you're so young! Is your wedding this year? Congrats!

Sousa,

I spoke to some jewllers here. They said that VS is actually good enuf cause u cannot c if ur naked eye. How do u feel abt tt? I think color and cut is more impt. Yeap. 2 carat Tiff is around that px range. WOW!.... so ex hor.

Do u know the specs?

Canny,

That's what I heard too. That VS2 is good enough because you can only see the inclusion under 100X loupe. So I don't mind buying VS stones if it's only for dress ring purposes. True, I would rather pay more for color and cut. I am most fussy about cut because it affects the brilliance of the stone. As someone once said, I'd rather a smaller stone with a lots of brilliance, than a dull big stone.

Do you mean specs of the Tiff stones or the round one posted here? The round stone here is an ideal cut. Cant' remember but I think depth is 60% and table 56%, girdle, culet, symmetry also all according to ideal cut.

hi canny and sousa,

you girls are more expert than me when it come to diamonds. i just love to look at them
i don't know that girdle, culet, symmetry things. hehehe...

USD24K, that translate to about S$48K. i just found out that tiff in singapore just double the USD price tag. so mean hor!

1.03 is big! my biggest one is the emerald necklace my parents gave me for my wedding and it's only 1.47 carats. your e-ring must be bigger than that
!

sousa, i am also very bored! today everyone is busy with meetings so i'm alone and got nothing to do. i am doing my attachment.

oh yaa, my wedding was last december. what about you??

canny, i'll check the website when i'm at home, right now in office, very scared that boss will just walk past while i'm drooling.

for me, clarity and color is very important leh... don't know why. when searching for that emerald necklace, i insisted that the color must be at least e and clarity vvs1. maybe i should have settle for an f or g and vs and get a bigger stone *wink*.

Sousa,

Yeah... Cause u can't really see inclusions with naked eyes. Even for e-ring... I think clarity does not matter. Would save the $$$ for color and cut or maybe carats!

I meant the specs of the Tiff stones.

Teatree,

Ya lor... Well... color still insist for colorless range D-F... cause that is visible to naked eyes. but can go to VS for clarity cause cannot c inclusions with naked eyes. Get a bigger rock with that $$$.

canny,

actually hor, color, you can only see if it's really white or not so white when the stone is loose, on a piece of paper and in the presence of another stone. that time, in jakarta, when buying the emerald, the shopkeeper set the stone loose and put it together on a piece of white paper with one round brilliant with lower color quality. and i could really see that the round stone is yellower! naked eyes, i don't think i can tell.

Teatree,

Really, hmmm but i can see the diff leh. hehehe...maybe me more paranoid with the color thing.
U bout the emerald in jarkarta. Any lobang?

I personally find lower clarity, lower colour fine. Cos as teatree pointed out, easier to tell when loose, on white paper. Unless my skin is paper white hehe, and my eyesight suddenly gets very discerning... otherwise I dun mind G, VS2. Oh wow... teatree, are u going to show ur emerald, we rarely see that here! :D

Oh there's one thing abt emerald cuts though, if they do have any colour, inclusions, they'd be more obvious than brilliant rounds. But even VS2 is clean enough.

Hi Teatree,

Is your emerald necklace a solitaire? That is HUGE you know!! Super BLING! It's not fair that Tiff just doubles the exchange rate. Especially since USD now dropping. Oh, you're a new bride! Congrats! My wedding was one and a half years ago. Yes, Teatree, can you show us your emerald. I'd love to see it.

Hi Canny,
Oops! I thought you meant my stone. I think the Tiff and co. ones are usually ideal cut or very close to ideal cuts.

saw this thread suddenly came alive after oraia and canny huh? heheh..

ok, anyone heard of eightstar diamonds? they dun have shop in sg, but from the description of their workmanship, sounds really ideal cut under their 'fire-scope'. they claim even a tiffany looks imperfect under their 'fire-scope'.

oh well.. u gals talking abt ideal design.. my dream is a solitaire marquis.. heheh. simple hor?

Yah sousa, if I recall correctly, emerald cuts are bigger surface area than round brilliants for same carat weight. I think. Dun shoot me if wrong... hahaha.

My gosh, sousa ur DRESS ring is so big... me still waiting for just a 1ct, hahaha :P

Hi MTMTMT,

Girls are girls. We always want to aim bigger and bigger. There's never "big enough".
Poor hubbies of ours.

Im still a bit confused as u all mentioned that my previous description for e diamond is ideal but i went to two shops to double confirm my value of e diamond but they said unless e diamond is issued under AGS cert. It will be called an ideal cut.

Kindly advise. Thanks.

hi sousa and MT,

hahaha... i'm very reluctant to post here. i'm so scared of people's remarks, especially the rude ones, always take them to heart. maybe we can meet and i show you gals the real thing?
hehehe... what do you gals think?

yup, going on to the third month of marriage. already hinting for e-ring upgrade. poor hubby

sousa, yah lor! that's what they do, take the easy way out. you can go to tiff's website, they put the price in the website and can compare it with the price here.

Hi teatree,
u going to wear to take the bus? :D Ok, I'm going out to walk my doggy haha, maybe I'd bump into ur emerald cut, I mean, u, :D
Hehehe. Me yawning... later both me and doggy are going to be dragged out for a walk by my HB!

hello hello girls,

wow wow! hv just been reading all the posts... and i'm lost already!!!

all of u are such experts!! hehe... for me i just concentrate on ogling ;p

hehe teatree, yeah... ur suggestion of seeing the real thing is good! then we can all REALLY ogle!! then canny how???? we take digital photos and email to you ok, canny?

leeds, are u thinking of getting the eternity band for ur wedding band? i tried it on w my e-ring, cos i intend to wear my band and e-ring after my wedding, very nice! but i'm abit scared lah... like abit too shiny like tt!!! anyhow, we've already ordered our bands that are plain, so am thinking of getting the eternity to just wear for fun if budget permits!

Hey Oraia,

Yeah... u gals need to take digital pics of the ring and e-mail it to me.

Talking abt too shiny. I showed my mom the setting that I am interested in and she asked me to get half of the band with diamonds rather than the full band... cause itz too SHINY. Oh well, I changed it to half band with diamonds. Hehhee... but am really excited about the new setting.

Angeline,
I know that according to the specs u provided us... the cut is ideal with u compare it aganst the chart I posted here. Well, at the end of the day, does the diamond that u choose makes ur heart dance? If it does, take it! Numbers can only go this far... but u need to look at the diamonds and be able to luv it.
Thatz my 2 cents. Can anyone else help Angeline?

Teatree,
Is ur e-ring the emerald? Hehhee... I am eagar to c now.

hi canny,

hehe... besides the full band being too shiny, i think it's also more practical to have a half band cos the underneath side near the palms will get scratched more easily, don't u think?
for me, i think my heart will ache, cos i'm v clumsy hehe..

angeline... yeah yeah... trust ur instincts... if u fall in love with it at first sight, chances are that everytime u gaze at ur ring, you'll still love it

Hey Oraia,

Come to think about it....yeah... I think it is better to have 1/2 the band with diamonds as it will not get scratched that easily.
Hehhee... Yup... I have no complains... but wish that my setting can come ASAP! Me veri inpatient hor?

How was ur week-end? Did u do anything fun?

Hi Canny, I think half-band is great too, cos if all round, has friction between the fingers, some people find that uncomfortable.

I think teatree's emerald cut is wedding pressie from her parents. Been trying to squint at her fingers in her online album, but never succeeded on a clear view of her e-ring, darn! :P She just doesn't flash it straight at the camera in ALL the pics!

Come to think of it, teatree didn't wear any rings, I think, in all the pics hmmm. Would love to see... hehe... :D

Hi Canny, yah, kaypoh mah hehe. Squint anymore I'd hallucinate :P I did manage to spot her earrings at her engagement... but even full-size photo I can only tell it's drop earrings. What cut (round or?) can't tell

hi canny,

heee... it's natural lah..
i felt the same way when i had to wait one month for my e-ring to be set cos i got a loose stone. i even called the shop a couple of days earlier to ask if it's ready cos i thought they would be efficient ;p then my fiance told me not to rush them and let them do a good job haha...

attended a wedding dinner on sat. so beautiful
went for a trial makeup before the wedding dinner with a freelance makeup artist tt a friend reccomended. but i'll wait till i go for my BS trial before i decide.
how 'bout u? had a good weekend?

hi MTMTMT,

u are so funny heee... can imagine you looking thru' all the pics and examining them in great detail just to find the "spark" in the photo. haha..

i oso wan to see teatree's photo!!

teatree, can show me pls?

Whao! One weekend away and so many postings. It's great to have this thread alive again.
Oraia and Canny, great job!

Angeline, ideal cut mainly refers to the proportions the stone is cut in. It gives no info about the clarity or color of the stone. Ideal cut just means that the table is 53-57%, and depth is 60.2 - 62.7%, girdle is thin to medium, no culet etc. (look at the "education" portion of www.dirtcheapdiamonds.com) The term "ideal cut" is used too loosely by many jewellers but strictly speaking, like in AGS and GIA standards, a stone is not "ideal cut" unless it conforms to those specs. The AGS cert has one of the strictest selection criteria of ideal cut. It's not easy for shops to tell is your stone is ideal cut. What you can do is, if you have a cert, look at the cert and see if the specs are as described for the ideal cut. Or, if you get a hold of the "Lazare diamond" brochure, you can get an "ideal cut" specs there too. All Lazare diamonds are the strict "ideal cut". All these aside, I totally agree with Canny. It's ideal if it really captures your heart. Numbers are just numbers after all. A bit like finding a guy. You can write an entire checklist but at the end of the day, you find that chemistry is still the most important. :P

Hey teatree, I think it's a great idea to meet. Can all meet for coffee, sit around and gossip about diamonds. Then can ogle at diamonds too.

Canny, when's your new setting ready? Can't wait to see!

Teatree, where can I see you online album pls? I'd love to see it!

MT, no need to squint your eyes. IT's useless cos i forgot to wear my e-ring to the reception. if you read the captions in my photos, you'll know that i forgot a lot of important things on that day. forgot to take pictures during make-up (indon photographers don't follow us to the mu artist salon), forgot to take pictures of the bridal car, the souvenirs, the guest book. the ring pillow, almost forgot my vow when saying it cos too nervous, etc etc.... you might see the emerald necklace when my wedding photos are up though
and that's like,a thousand years from now, looking at how lazy my hubby is. hehehe... but will let you know once they are up.

canny, e-ring is just a round brilliant. the other emerald cut is my first diamond. hehehe.... very small, think only 0.3 carat. my mother bought that for me. ooh yaa, you can try the palace, in kelapa gading mall, jakarta, that's where i got my emerald necklace from.

anyway, half-band?? good! as long as the visible part of the band is still lined with diamonds. hehe...

sousa, can leave me your email address??

oraia, sent you the link

Hi teatree... yah n u didnt wear ur ring(s) to PS (n I've forgotten to mention I recognise the malt candy lady hehe... I like that sequence)! *pouts* Cos 1st few pics u were folding ur hands demurely, I thought hmm... concealed ah, then later still can't find them either hahaha.
Anyway I did manage to spot the nice drop earrings hahaha :D

hi tea tree,

thanks! i didn't receive the link leh..

just to check -- it wasn't a zip file right? cos i had a "bulk" mail which looked suspicious with a whole chain of nos. as the email addy and i deleted it cos i was afraid it would be a virus!

Hey Oraia,

Ya lor. Me super inpatient... kept asking the jeweller... "Can you make it faster?" And he is like.. "Not within my control" Hehheeeee..

Me.. went out shopping with a couple of galfriends.... hehehee.. bout stuff (shoes) tt I should refrain from doing. Your week-end sounds productive.
I have not done any wedding planning stuff in weeks.

MT,

hahaha... that makes me a very forgetful bride!

oraia,

hehe... i wrote first then i sent. but now sent liao!

Hey Gals,

The jeweller estimated end of March for my new setting to arrive from NY. Hmmm... should be able to set it by 1st week of April lor. In the meantime, sit tight. Me veri eager too...

Angeline,
U have to tell us which diamond u decide on eventually. I wan 2 c!

This thread is moving so fast! I'm completely lost now. I'm gonna stick to an eternity ring for wedding band. Will have to start hinting to FH now...
I think half-circle is nicer too cos not too bulky.

Canny,

April is still a long time away, no wonder you are so impatient... I can't wait to see it too! Remember to take a pic & post it here ya. In the meantime, which ring do you wear everyday? Hehe... me very kpo.

Teatree,

I want to see the pics too! [email protected] Thanks

hehee.. canny, well, in the meantime, i think you can research or look around for ur wedding band, so that you'll be less distracted?

don't worry, i'm sure the final product will be worth all the wait!! me can't wait to see!!!!

i haven't done any wedding stuff in weeks as well! it's just tt i had a dinner to attend, so i thought i'd schedule a trial makeup/ hair session on tt day so at least it doesn't get "wasted" haha.

oh btw, canny, have u started designing ur invites? cos we're doing our own invites as well.

hi sousa, heee, i think it's teatree's photos you wanted to see right, not mine?
i haven't got any photos to show u yet. hee!

hi leeds, *wow* so lovely!! eternity bands for wedding bands are really nice!
why don't u wait for the GSS in jul cos they hv pretty good sales then? is it in time for ur wedding?

Hi Oraia,

Yah my wedding is in Jan 05 still far away. Me not gonna get the rings yet, just like to see and ogle… hehe… Good idea, will wait for GSS. So, how's your e-ring & wedding bands like?

hi leeds,

heee..still far away....
actually oso not so far lah, just one mth after me only hehehe...
so u can wait for either the GSS or the dec x'mas sales to get ur band. i tink GSS better tho, dec abit rushed liao.

my e-ring ah? eh... it's a round bril solitaire.. cosmopolitan setting fr lee hwa. simple lah, nothing fancy.
wedding bands fr tiffany. plain bands.

how r ur preps now? have u started doing anything?

Oraia,

I don’t think I can wait till Dec Xmas sale!! Me very impatient want to get a new ring... The sooner the better
But most likely will have to wait till GSS, hopefully can get a lot of discounts then.

Your wedding is in Dec & you got everything sorted already? Me just booked hotel and BS. That’s about it… Nothing much to do for the wedding now, so dreaming abt diamonds lor... hehe...

leeds, sousa, angelinetan, you got mail!

MT, wow! i really must compliment you on your very very sharp eye sight. hehehe.... yup, you're right, the earrings are drop earrings. ooh and they were round brilliant.

leeds,

yah lor, muast really wait for sale. lee hwa had a sale that ended last sunday and they were selling their eternity bands at really cheap price! you can even get some for less than 1K! decent ones of course. ooh don't think need to wait until GSS, i notice lee hwa, goldheart, sookee etc... always have some kind of sale going on the whole year round!

hi leeds,

heee! you very cute. hahaha... even if u get ur eternity band now u oso cannot wear until ur wedding day mah. are u ROM-ed? if so, then can wear liao

yes yes, i agree with teatree.. during sales, quite worth it. there was one day i went into lee hwa to clean my ring, and looked ard... liked on eternity band which was 1.4K after discount. had to hurriedly get myself out of the shop before i do something impulsive!!! ;p

eh... not really sorted much lah. i booked my venue, bs, ad photographer, church.
are u getting an ad photographer? u can start lookg ard, cos the good and popular ones get booked really early sometimes...

Hi teatree,

True true... These shops seem to be having sale quite regularly. Goldheart is having sale now too and their eternity rings are quite reasonably priced after discounts.

Oraia,

Good on you that you can walk away. Sometimes so difficult hor... hehe... I haven't ROM-ed yet, will be in July. So I guess better buy the ring sometime in June during GSS. Otherwise, me would be tempted to wear it everyday...
I'm gonna have AD photographer, but now a bit lazy to do any wedding prep cos fiance not in SG, so will wait for him to come back here lor...

Gee, I'm almost lost alreay also.

Teatree, thanks for your photos. I just had a little glimpse. Will go in and look at the whole later. You look like a princess in your photos, girl!
Was your gown made in Jakarta? It's lovely.

Hi Canny, be patient. It'll be worth the wait! Can't wait to see it either. It's a vintage setting right?

By the way, can you girls all put down your wedding dates? I'm very lost and curious now. Dunno who is getting married when and who married already etc. Blur!

By the way, girls, those who haven't bought their rings, go have a look at Cartier also. I like their classic settings.

Canny, are there Harry Winstons where you live? Are they really really ex or about the same as Tiff?