DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

hi canny,

yup, my dinner will be at hyatt.
so far we're not doing much at the moment, cos we've kinda booked all the necc stuff.
we're do bits of research here and there on honeymoon... and we're also lkg into designing our church and dinner invites cos we decided to do our own in exchange for something else at the hotel....

nope, we haven't got our rings yet. i hope they don't increase their prices again, on top of the increase in GST!! we were thinking of getting them in jul.. but on 2nd thoughts, we'd better check whr tiffany's gg to adjust their prices soon...

how 'bout u? u've got almost ev thg done right? besides the table arrangments and guest list etc.

Hi Canny,

I am a fan of Tiffany designs but it is very expensive to set a ring at Tiffany. So I am looking for alternative places.

Hi Chenoa,

I have sent you a mail. Hope you have received it. Thanks.

Hey Oraia,

Hehee.... better get the rings b4 any sort of px increase lor. **grin**

I think I have got most of the stuff planned out already. I am left mainly with the table arrangements, guest list and room accomodations for my overseas guests.

Me just relaxing a bit now.
So are u getting a new house or staying with your fiance's family?

Dewdrops: Try going to theknot.com or weddingchannel.com to get some ideas from their engagement rings section. They have a preety good selection to view from.

hi hi canny,

hehe, yeah... we're gg to take a look at tiffany today!
but still think it's abit early to get the rings... if we get them, we'll keep taking them out to look at them. heeee!

wow, great! ur wedding's really well planned considering u are not based here
how about the invites? are u using those provided for by the hotel? do u have a theme for ur wedding? or theme colours?

we've gotten an EC, but it'll only be ready in 2006. so in the meantime, i'll be staying w my fiance's family after the wedding.

Hey Oraia,

I designed my own invitations.
Thus, will most prob. do it from here. I dun have a particular theme for my wedding. Hopefully it will be as romantic as it can be. However, my theme colors will be pink in light cream. I luv PINK! My bridesmaid will be in pink too.
My fiance is warning me not to go overboard with pink... hehheheee... Wht abt urself? Do u have a theme?

Ohohoho.. so u have plenty of time to decide on the renovation ur house. Btw... what is an EC?!

hi canny,

guess what? tiffany is indeed increasing their prices in 2 weeks by about 5-10%!!! think we'll pop by and get the bands nx week.
it's a little early tho'... but i suppose it's better than letting an extra of almost $350 go into tiffany's profits! ;p

wow! pink!!
really pretty col! how many bridesmaids are u having? mine theme cols are prob lilac and cream with dashes of red.
think my 2 bridesmaids will also be in pink.... hvn't decided.

an ec is an 'exec condo' - a full 'condo' that is dev by pte developers, but subjected to govt rules for the 1st 5 yrs i think. aft tt it is completely privatised. prices are also cheaper than a normal pte condo.

Heyhey Oraia,

Itz a good thing that u went to check the pxes at Tiffany.
It may sound a little too early to buy the rings but itz worth it when u can save tt extra $$$.

I will be having 3 bridesmaids all of them flying to SG with me from SF. Where r u buying ur bridesmaids' dresses? I

Wow... sounds that an EC is preety good leh. I envy pple in SG the govt is always trying to help itz citizens in housing issues. Property pxes in SF is CRAZYLY high

hi hi canny,

yup... luckily we went down in time to chk the prices.
think we'll buy the rings early... then it'll be another item on the 'to-do list' down.

i'm hving 2 bridesmaids... one of them is based in uk, so she's flying home in mar and again in dec. i'll prob tailor a dress each for them... think it's alot easier than prowling the malls for a suitable one.

are u planning to stay in SF for a long time after u get married?

Hey Oraia,

Ttz so nice of ur bridesmaid to fly back in Dec again for ur wedding.

Yeap.... I like SF ALOT! Sort of decided to stay here unless my finace has better prospects in NYC... then we may consider moving to the East Coast. Also, I have to say that the weather here is much better than SG.... not humid AT ALL!

So... is ur mom helping u alot with ur wedding preps?

hey canny,

yup, she's my best friend.
so she promised she'll be back for at least 2 weeks in dec. yay!

yup, SF sounds really nice... is NYC nice? i've heard so much about it i would love to go one day. is it advisable to go during dec? my fiance suggested NYC for honeymoon but i think it's probably freezing ya?

eh... not at the moment, cos we went rd to see the photographers etc. by ourselves. she'll prob get involved in the later months... hehe.
ur mom must be busy coordinating ur preps here since u are so far away?

Hey Oraia,

NYC is fun. However, personally I do not think it is advisable to go to go NYC in dec. Snow storms are prevalent during dec. Moreover, itz a honeymoon.... not sure if u would wan to go to a metropolitian city which is as stressful or even more than SG?

Hehehe.. my mom is taking it easy. She is preety laid back thus, I think she will be more involved during Nov. In addition, my parents live in LA therefore I do not think they can offer much help.

hi canny,

thanks! ya... think i just read not too long ago about snow storms clogging up the airport and roads in nyc, now that u mention it...
hmm... my fiance and i are both 'city kids', so we can't really take too much of not doing anything!

WOW! your family's really cosmopolitan!! so cool!! so everyone's gotta fly back here for the wedding?

Hey Oraia,

Yeah... my entire family is in the States. My parents commute between LA and SG every other month. Both my brothers live in SF too.
Thus, itz really kool, I am not alone in SF.

Back to the diamond topic... have u heard of tacori. Tacori recently is making a big come back in the States. Their design is very very traditional.... hmmm... gothic... I like some but some are too much. Check it out @ www.tacori.com
Let me know ur thoughts leh.

hi hi canny,

wow! cool.... since ur parents commute back here so often, the new SQ non-stop flight to LA must be a real blessing!

i've just taken a look at the website, their full eternity bands are really lovely! i agree that some of the designs are a little too much... i like the "love sonnet" design under the Bridal collection, the one on the right...

u are looking at designs for ur wedding band right? cos alot of their designs hv got solitaires/ triology in the middle. are u looking at that kind of designs?

Heyhey Oraia,

Yeap. The non stop flights are good if time is precious to one. However, my parents are semi-retired, thus, they would normally take the SQ flight that stops over at either HK or Japan and rest for a few days b4 going back to SG. What a life hor?!
I kept telling my parents tt I want to lead a life like theirs when I reach their age. hehehee...
I guess u have to pay ur dues lor.

Yeah... me searching for some wedding band designs. Hehehe... their designs are awesome but ultra EX... like their eternity ring is USD $4k. I like the eternity bands that have diamonds are all 3 sides of the band.

Any other suggestions on eternity rings?

hi hi canny,

oh... i c... wow! i'm envious!! can only hope i can have such a nice semi-retired life nx time when i'm 50!!!
*shiok* hehe.

wow!!! you're right, USD4K is very ex!! is it for the full eternity ring?

i haven't done much research on eternity bands, always thought they all look almost the same!
i know there are these types where the diamond is embedded in the ring, w/o the prongs. i suppose u are not looking at those?

tiffany has really nice ones.
but i think i'll go w a simple band w/o diamonds, cos i'll be wearing my engagement ring as well after the wedding, so too many diamonds is abit dangerous hehe.

Hey Oraia,

Totally understand about too many diamonds on your hand. BTW... I had a meeting with my COO today and saw her engagement ring... WOW... tt "puppy" must be at least 5 carats. Hehehe... I wonder if she feels dangerous travelling around with it.

U got ur wedding band already? Congrats! I guess i am just going to stick with my original eternity band design that is prong style. Hmmm... since I am always driving, hopefully tt my engagement ring + wedding ring will not draw too much attention.

Oraia,

Forgot to answer ur question on the px of the eternity band. Yeap it is for full circle. How much does eternity cost in SG? Have u been to Fairy Inc. ? Heard tt it custom make preety good wedding bands leh.

hi canny,

geeeee!!!! trying to imagine how a 5-carat diamond will look on someone's finger... won't it over the whole width of your finger??!! hahaha... i think you can even use it to reflect light from the sun to light a matchstick!!! ;p

i haven't got my wedding band yet, we're getting it this sat.
but we're more or less set on the milgrain... unless i change my mind when i'm in tiffany's!! hehe.
i think since u are always driving, it shd be ok... just have to be careful
i know some colleagues who also wear eternity bands and a huge engagement ring... so i suppose it's relatively ok.

am not sure how much a full eternity band costs. i'll recee the price when i go and get my band on sat.
actually, i reckon it should be also about at least 5 -6K if it's a full circle of diamonds...
oh ya, we've been to flower to take a look... i think to customise the exact design i like fr tiffany is almost the same price... but somehow when i tried their "sample" on display, it feels less solid and a little different fr the "real" thing. so we thought we'll stick to the milgrain. i think for diamond bands, the price diff will be alot more significant if u custom make it at flower...

oops, sorry canny,

i just realised u were referring to "fairy's inc" and not "flower" -- both of which do custom-made bands.
i did go to fairy's inc, but it was really crowded, so i didn't manage to really ask about the prices etc. but the ladies at fairy's inc are really nice and sweet!

Hey Oraia,

HUHAHUAHUAA....... my COO is sure KOOL. Plus, she is preety petite. Can u imagine how tt ROCK looks on her slender fingers?

Hey... show me the pic of ur wedding band when u get it leh. I wan to see! Wait a min... isn't this Sat ... V's Day?! Hehehee.... any plans?

Ttz wat I heard about Fairy Inc. Supposedly they have great customer service. Oh! There is another place called Flower? Where is tt place? I need to chck them out the next time when I am in SG for leisure shopping

hi hi canny,

hehehe.. geeee!!!! wow, i tink when she waves her hand to order some sandwiches at the cafeteria, she probably unintentionally "blind" some ppl hahhaha...

hehe, okie okie... will send u some pics.
will let u know how the "tiffany experience" goes! *excited* yup, this sat IS v-day indeedy!
eh, no plans yet... we just know we're gg to get the bands. yay!
everywhere's just gg to be so crowded and expensive this sat.. mabbe we'll just buy some groceries and cook.
or just have a simple dinner somewhere.
how about u? any plans?

yup... the girls at fairy's inc are really nice. they were so busy, but kept apologising cos they cldn't serve us.
flower is in takashimaya, beside the tag hauer shop, i think.
i've been in, i think they do alot of customisation of jewellery, so the jewellery on display is not fantastic -- tts just my personal opinion.

Hey Oraia,

Thatz very true. Whenever I have lunch with her in the cafeteria, the brillance from her rock makes me feel so GIDDY!.

I am crossing my fingers that you will have a SUPERB experience at Tiffany. Hahahaa... maybe like Reese Witherspoon in "Sweet Home Alabama"
My fiance just sent me 2 dozen of red roses to my workplace today. They are beautiful and I am feasting my eyes on it as I write. Tonight we are off to Morton's for dinner and tomorrow (V Day) we are going to be "Mei-po" & "Mei-gong". We are trying to hook 2 single friends up. So good that ur fiance is cooking. My fiance cannot cook so he always have to take me out for dinner.

BTW... I am thinking about resetting my e-ring leh. It is now set in the classic Tiffany style. However, I think it is a little too plain. My fiance feels that I should bring it back to Tiffany for a reset since the diamond originates from there but they are very ex so I am thinking otherwise. Any suggestions?

hi canny,

happy valentine's day!!!
wow! ur fiance sure is romantic!!
i'm sure ur roses are really lovely and u must be the envy of all ur female colleagues in the office!!! hee! hope u had a great dinner at mortons!! heard the steak there is excellent, i haven't had a chance to try it yet.

i got a huge bouquet of lilies last week out of the blue.
everyone in the office was thanking me for the free "air freshener" effect fr the lilies. haha!

we may not be cooking tonite after all.. *lazy* hehe. no plans yet, we'll see how.
haha, good luck in trying to "la hong sian" between ur 2 single friends... hope u and ur fiance succeed!!!

will let u know how my tiffany experience went! *excited* how much does resetting at tiffany cost? did u do a comparison of how much it wld cost at an outside jeweller? if the diff is not very very significant, i would bring it back to tiffany for a "peace of mind" that they won't swop it with a lower grade diamond.
what do u think? what style are u thinking of resetting it to?

Hey Oraia,

Jus came bac for dinner. It was DELICOUS! YUMMY... have not been to Morton's for close to 1 yr already. Their Devil Cake is to "DIE FOR"
Hahhaaa... hopefully, my fiance will still be this romantic after 2 yrs into our marriage.

Sounds like ur fiance is preety romantic too ma. Lillies are lovely. I like them alot.

Ttz so TRUE about the swooping. However, jewlers in the US will ask u to watch them as they set ur diamond into the new setting. Hmmm... as for the setting, I am still debating. Maybe something with a little bit of paved diamonds half way around the band.
I have not asked a px from Tiffany but my guess is around USD$3 - 4K. VERY EX HOR? My budget is at most $1.5K My family jeweler in LA said that he may be able to get a Tacori in that design for 1.4 - 1.6. Mann... so confused.

Will shre u the details of the hook up 2morrow.

hihi canny,

sounds like u had a great dinner!
don't worry, i'm sure ur fiance will still be as romantic! hehe. ya... i like champagne roses and lilies... but it's hard to find nice champagne roses.

oh really? u get to watch ur diamond being reset? cool! i think over here it's a bit risky, cos they will just take ur ring, and ask u to come back in a month or something... for mine, when we bot the loose stone, they tk 1 mth to set it. but cos mine is a loose stone, it has some serial no. which they showed us under a magnifying glass after the ring was set to show that they didn't swop it.

is ur e-ring a solitaire? if u have abit of paved diamonds, it means u have to top up $$ to add some more little diamonds? wow... 3-4K is steep!! u can buy another decent sized ring with that $$!! if u can get another tacori for ur budget, i think it's more worth it...
a solitaire is classic, so it won't go out of fashion.

went to tiff's yest. my fiance's ring size is out of stock, so we can only collect our rings next week. t'was fun!!! their diamonds are sooooo lovely..
saw a nice eternity band (half), altog 0.56K, G col VS, it's 6.3K... very ex!!!

Hey Oraia,

Yup yup.... u get to watch ur diamond being reset in the States.... I do agree tt this is so KOOL! Hmmm... not sure if my diamond has a serial number. Hahahhaa... maybe will try to find out if I reset my diamond. My e-ring is a solitaire. Ya lor.... resetting in Tiffany too ex.
I think I might juz do Tacori.

Ohohoh... so u will be collecting ur rings next week. Have to show me lor.
I think Tiffany's diamonds are the same as those sold outside... seriously, I cannot tell leh when I compare my diamond with those sold outside. Ya lor, Tiffany's eternity band is veri ex.

So, howz ur week-end? Other than ring shopping, did u do anything interesting?

hihi canny,

hehe... yup,can ask tiffany if they engraved a serial no. inside. u can also check ur diamond's cert. if there is, it will be reflected i think.

yeah... i tink u shd consider keeping ur solitare... it's a classic tiffany!

okie! hopefully we'll collect them this wed or thu.
then i'll take a pic and email it to u. hehe. i don't know, i suppose they are the same diamonds, but for tiff, i think it's the setting that sets it apart. but somehow when i look at their diamonds, they look so much whiter, clearer and shiner. mabbe it's the lighting in the shop?! mabbe i'll go and enquire how much a custom made eternity band would cost elsewhere...

we went to sentosa for an impromptu picnic with some food that we bought fr cold storage on v-day evening cos it was so crowded ev where! *yum* t'was fun! we even had sashimi and strawberries. hehe.

how was ur 'mei-po and mei-gong' experience? any sparks? hehe.

Hey Oraia,

Yeap yeap.... I will go ask Tiffany if they engraved a serial no. on the diaomond.

Me so excited for you leh.
When is ur ROM again? Hahhaa...my guess is tt the lighting in Tiffany makes diamonds look better. Actually, I saw a new shape last week at a local jeweler. Have u heard / seen of the asscher's cut? Its a hybrid of emerald and radiant cut. Very very elegant.
U thinking abt custom making an eternity band? Hehhehe.... let me know wat u find out.. okie?

Oh! My "hook-up" experience went preety well. I think both parties are sort of attracted to one another. Unfortunately, the guy is graduating from Law school this May and will be moving to NYC to work for a law firm. The gal may be attending B-school in LA. Hmm.... so i dun know the future if it leh. However, I have 2 more single guys whom I am thinking of intro. to my galfriend.

hi canny,

whew!!! it's been a really long day!

am gg to collect our bands tmr!!!! so excited hehe.. tiffany's quite efficient! oh, did i tell u i popped by cartier on sat to see their bands, and was so pissed off with their service?

i'm not rom-ing... cos we're getting married in church, so we're signing the register then. hv u registered?

u think it's the lighting at tiffany tts making their diamonds look so nice too? hmm... hehe. then they are really really overpriced! hvn't heard of the asscher's cut. it's new? shall do a search on it on the internet
cool....

okie.. when i hv a chance to ask about custom making eternity band, i'll let u know! i kinda like the it, mabbe not as a wedding band, but more as a band to wear on my other hand
so pretty!

aiyah... so wasted. hehe. well, if it's "fated" then i'm sure somehow things will still work out!
so exciting! hv never been a mei po before... mabbe i shd find a "gal fren" for one of my v good guy frens haha.

Hey Oraia,

Jus came from a Biz trip in Florida.
Sorrie for the late posting.

Have u gotten ur Tiffany's bands? Yeap... Tiffany is super efficient. They are known for great customer service which is why my fiance decided to purchase from it. BTW... my fiance is a big fan of customer service.

I think lighting in TIffany is one of the factors... although I have received many comments on my e-ring when I was on my 5hr plane ride to Florida. A lady who was sitting beside me kept telling me how much my e-ring sparkles and etc w/o knowing that it was from Tiffany. Do u know how embarssed I was?! ... - MY BOSS WAS SITTING NEXT TO ME AT THAT TIME... * GRIN GRIN *

Yeah...Asccher is really NICE! I think it got famed since Carrie from the "Sex and the City" wore it.

So how is eternity band scouting?! Have to let me know the progress lor.

I am having my civil ceremony on July 4th. Hehehe... easier for us to rem lor.

Did I tell you that I found my ideal setting?! Hehehee.... YEAPPIE! Finally, I decided on a Scott Kay setting with 0.6 carat of paved diamond around the three sides of the ring. I fell in love with it when I saw it at a jeweler. The jeweler is apparently quite famous in SF and it has been in SF for over 70 years. I think I should not have to worry about them not being able to handle the rock.

Hi Canny,

I love Oval stones and am considering getting an oval stone solitaire with two small emerald cuts on both sides. Can i ask how much your stone from Tiff cost and the specifications of your stone pls? Just want to gauge Tiff prices for that cut. Also, are oval stone more or less pricey than round brilliant? Thanks!

Hey Sousa,
I am more than happy to share my e-ring's info with you!

My Oval stone specs are
Wt: 1.3 carats
Length To Width Ratio: 1.43
Depth: 61.8% and Table: 60%
Color: E
Clarity: VVS2
Girdle: Thin to Slightly Thick

I think my fianc¨¦ paid appx. USD 13K excluding tax. This is an estimate based on the Tiffany's pxes I have seen cause I was not around when my fianc¨¦ bought the diamond. Hmmm... I think at Tiffany round brilliant cost the same as fancy cuts.

Seriously, if my fianc¨¦ had asked for my opinion I would have PREVENTED him to buy from Tiffany. The reasons are
1) I do not like classic Tiffany setting... cause they look too plain tome (I am more for antique style e-ring)
2) If one is to do more research u can find the same thing from somewhere else for 20% less than what Tiffany charges (My fianc¨¦ is not very diligent when doing his diamond research thus, he went to Tiffany as he knows that the cut + quality will be ensured. However, he paid like 20% more for his "laziness".)

I think the whole diamond e-ring thing is psychology. Many gals dreamt of getting a Tiffany diamond e-ring... but rem. most of the time u pay a premium for the name and quality assurance. If one is to do their homework, I am sure one can do jus as well getting a diamond e-ring from a jeweler other than Tiffany.

hi canny,

oh.. hehe.. no wonder.... i figured you must be busy with work or hv gone somewhere
do u hv to travel inter-state for work often?

hehe, u won't believe it.. we went down to tiffany to collect our bands, and i tried mine on again and the lady advised me that they were actually half a size too tight! cos the 1st time i tried them, my hands were cold tts why they seemed to fit. well, they've run out of my size so they're ordering in fr the states. so i'll only be able to collect them in a mth or so! hehehe. ah well.. it's ok.. i'm not in a hurry anyway...
but yes, tiffany's service is great. i am a huge fan of customer svc as well! i'd refuse to pay for something if i get poor svc even if i like it v v much!

did a brief search on ascher cuts and i saw tt it looks like a squarish type of cut? is that what u are referring to? quite nice! and yes, v elegant!

tiffany's eternity band's really ex. lee hwa was selling it at about 2K or thereabouts for the same no. of carats.. abt 0.56carat! very pretty!
shall go and see elsewhere if it's cheaper if i do customisation. hehe.

wow!!! ur e-ring must be really beautiful... if the lady saw ur boss's ring, her jaws will drop!! haha!

oh ya, 4 jul is cool
independence day! haha.

oh!!! great!! so u are gg to add little diamonds to ur tiffany? wow.... i'm sure ur jeweller is reputable and will set ur stone really nicely for u. besides u get to watch it being set right?

Hi Canny,

Thanks! Your stone sounds BEAUTIFUL. I normally stay away from buying diamonds from Tiff because I feel that it is overpriced. But I am not familiar with choosing fancy cuts and therefore thot I should buy from Tiff. A bit like your fiance, I guess.Pay the premium but at least you know it's a really good cut.

I will go check out Tiff this weekend. Thanks again for your reply.

By the way, I heard of this place called Shenoa and Co. in the diamond district of NYC that sells very nice Asscher settings. You might want to look it up.

any ladies here heard of diamonds with no certificate but specs are all inscripted in the diamond itself? just curious..heard from a fren...

hi happy,

hehe, really? so cool! hvn't heard of that before. i've only heard of the serial no. inscripted in the diamond. but not the entire specs! do u mean it's available in singapore?

Oraia,

Me go biz travel maybe once or twice per month. Most of them is for conferences or seminars.

Yeah... Tiffany has GREAT service as far as I heard from my fiance. He kept bragging to his friends that his e-ring buying experience was as smooth as silk.

Hehhe.... chck out the eternity ring pxes and let me know. If they are much cheaper in SG I might jus buy it when I am back in Dec. I dun really care about the clarity on an eternity ring as long as the color is a F or a G...

Asscher cuts are sort of "in" now. I know many gals like it cause itz like emerald but less "stern". Cause the squarish shape and cut corners make Asscher fancier than Emerald

Hehehee... thanks. I am crossing my fingers on the new setting. I will let u know once itz done. As the ring is custom made, it takes the designer a month to deliver it.... MANNN>>>> 1 more month of waiting... oh well...

Hey Sousa,

If u would like more info on the cut for fancy shapes. Chck out this web-site:http://www.gemappraisers.com/chrt2.htm

It is the standard for Accredited Gem Appraisers in the United States when they appraise fancy cut. I think this is the only research my fiance did while looking for my e-ring.

Let me know ur thoughts.

hi canny,

oic... okie... not so bad...
gg on biz trip once or twice a mth can be quite relaxing -- takes the mind off work in the office!

i think in gen the prices of eternity bands are not really that steep.
u can consider getting it here if there's enuff time. will do more "research" and let u know hehe.

i haven't seen asscher cuts in singapore... i think it's not caught up yet. hehe...hopefully slowly it will be brought in, then i'll go take a look!

heee... hv u just sent ur ring for re-setting?
it's like tt... 1 mth is the norm i think, cos setting my loose stone also took 1 mth! but it's worth it i'm sure!!!
must show me a pic ok? so exciting!

oh, btw, i read on the four seasons website u made cheongsams in shanghai? how much are they and do u hv the contact?

Oraia,

Yeap. Once or twice a mth of biz trip is not so bad at all.
I used to travel every week when I was in consulting - Tt was BAD!

hehhee.... me waiting for ur "research" on eternity bands then.

Nope. I am waiting for the new ring setting to arrive. Once itz here I will bring it over to jeweler and watch him set lor. Will def. show u a pic of it when itz ready or u can bug me a month from now for the pic. Hahahaaa.

Ohohoh... The tailor I went to in Shanghai is preety good. The store is “Long Feng”. I think it is one of the oldest cheongsam store in Shanghai. The store is on Nanjing West Rd, on the same side as Isetan. I paid appx. USD$80 for labor per cheongsam. Their workmanship is pretty good cause I brought designs that I tore from a magazine to the tailor and the final pdt look exactly the same

Hi Canny,

Thanks for the site. That was great help. Is there any reason why you wanted an oval stone? Not many people go for fancy cuts but I love them now.

Hi Happy, just something I heard that might be interesting. Some people do not like inscriptions in the stone, especially if it's a clarity F because inscriptions do affect clarity. If inscribing the whole specs of the stone, that might be worse. If you stone has very high clarity, it may not be advisable to do so.

Hey Sousa,

Yeah... try using the specs on the chart to compare the cut u see lor. Maybe u can get a good deal outside of Tiffany. I luv it because itz something my fiance bout me.
I think he got Oval cause my mom has given me a round brilliant already.
Is this ur second diamond?

I luv Asscher too.. hehehee.. cannot buy anything now. I need to save save save for home decorating.

hihi canny,

wow!!! every week! that's real tiring!
i wouldn't mind travelling out once or twice a mth for conferences, but not ev week hehe.

yeah.. hvn't had time to properly go down to town. usually i'm too tired after work hehe.

do u mean when after u watch ur jeweller set the stone, u can immediately bring it home after that?? if so, it's really cool! haha. so *suaku* ;p

how long does the shop take to make a cheongsam? USD$80 is pretty reasonable!! but u mentioned it's for the labour, so if u count the cost of the material etc. it comes up to about USD$300 or thereabouts?

Anyone can advise whether this diamond is worth buying at price of S$3100? The details is as below :

Wt: 0.48 carats
Depth: 60.7% and Table: 58%
Color: F
Clarity: VVS2
Sym: Very good
Polish: Excellant

Hi Oraia & Canny,

Written to you both in other thread before....

I like diamonds too
mind if I join this thread?

Like an advise from you diamond-lovers,
my fiance got me a diamong ring for our engagement in 2002, solitaire 0.5 carat. thought it's quite big at tat time, but now reading what you gals discuss abt tiffany's etc... hmmmmmm....

My wedding is only in Jan 2005. Should I be expecting another wedding ring, on top of the usual wedding band??
Cos I don't want him to choose by himself, I don't really trust his taste in diamonds. hehehe.....

Angeline,

Did u chck out the AGA web-site I posted? http://www.gemappraisers.com They have the criteria for ideal cuts and etc... for all shapes of diamonds. I looked at it real quick and the diamond u descb. is in the ideal range. Hmmm... as for px I can't comment.

Ladies: Any ideas on the px?