Depression and sucidial thought - annulment of marriage

I just came across an article on male infertility during my pedicure session just now.

Male infertility can be affected by or due to any of the following factors:
- Genetics
- Infection
- Accidents
- Drugs
- Varicose veins
- Hormonal disturbances
- Blockage of sperm transport

For the complete article, you can refer to Women's Weekly October issue. $3.90 per copy.

Fixing blame does not solve the problem.

veiled - "... hopefully come out of it all with diginity and self esteem intact" from what i gathered from your previous posts, you sound like one strong lady.

The toughest period is often when you do not know what to do. Once you have made a decision, everything will be much clearer and things will happen like clockwork. Take care.

Thanks Doll.

I think people think we are unaffected. But truth is there are many painful moments, many tears that people don't see. Just have to hang on and tell ourselves there is light at the end of the tunnel, despite whatever decisions we have made.

Missy Tan,

I am still married but we have been living separately since 2005. I am not sure things are going to work out between us, but I am just going to give it a go for 6 months and if things don't change, do the paperwork. If the feelings can't be regained, I think he deserves someone who can love him better.

"The toughest period is often when you do not know what to do. Once you have made a decision, everything will be much clearer and things will happen like clockwork."

Lyn, I agree with you that the toughest period is when we do not know what to do. Things were not exactly easy even after the decision was made for me but a decision came with goals and objectives that had to be met. This had helped me to stay focused and determined to get out of the shit.

"I think people think we are unaffected. But truth is there are many painful moments, many tears that people don't see. Just have to hang on and tell ourselves there is light at the end of the tunnel, despite whatever decisions we have made."

Veiled, yes, we appear unaffected because even though marriage is not working, other aspects of life have to go on as per normal. All the more we do not want these other aspects of our life to go down the drain as well.

Doll, yes, even after the decision has been made, things will not be exactly easy. There are so many things to take care of, finding a place to stay and moving, steeling myself towards his emotional abuses, family objections, legal procedures etc. But like you said, the decision came with goals and objectives that had to be met. As I posted in an earlier thread, this can be likened to a project I need to complete at work.

"other aspects of life have to go on as per normal. All the more we do not want these other aspects of our life to go down the drain as well." very well-said, precisely why I continued going to work and strived to do well. Stopped the excessive drinking and started eating and sleeping well. Picked up a sport. I am slowly regaining my confidence and rythmn in life. This time, without him and happier.

Cheers, babes.

"As I posted in an earlier thread, this can be likened to a project I need to complete at work."

Same here, Lyn. I treated it as a project with a few phases that I had to complete for a stipulated duration. The whole thing was easier to manage by being impersonal or business-like, which was necessary. Glad to hear that you have stopped the excessive drinking. I thinking I was addicted to shopping during that period lol. Well, I still shop nowadays but I don't buy things I don't need unlike previously haha

oh yah... the excessive shopping too... Retail theraphy doesn't really rock at the end of the day when I check out my credit card bills man... hahah

HI Angela..
im really sorry to hear that.
i feel very very hurt and also very sad becos i feel that u and i can relate to similar situations. sometime we really dont know what to do.. at times, i think i had gone crazy. sometime in front of my husband when we were quarrelling and i broke down and cry after the continuous quarrel how come he keep cant perform despite the fact he keep giving me excuse he is stress. and at the moment i really have an impulse to use a knife to slash my wrist to really really make my husband REGRET what he has done!

i want him to be guitly for his rest of his life what he has done to me. i think some time im very silly but ther are people who will scold me why am i playing with my life and is starting a family so impt that if u cant conceive i need to kill myself.

i thin i have come to stage i have lost my insanity. i realyl lose the love for my husband.

its my second time i ran away from home after a quarrel. i was knocking my head against the wall when my husband and i are quarreling and i beg him what can i do to make him feel less stress, more relax so that he can be relax and produce good counts and make IUI successful. even we cant have penetrative sex, i wanted a kid badly.

i guess i will contiune to feel hurt and pain if the same old vicious cycle repeat again and again..

missy, i'm sorry to say this but i don't think you should be having a child when you're not in the right state of mind ..

Yes, I think you should not have a kid at this stage. Maternal depression will defintely affect a child's growth and development. You have too many unresolved issues in your marriage. Please see a marriage counsellor.

For your information, my husband and I have been married for 16 years and we both have difficulty conceiving. We are still childless. Our attempt at adoption has not gone smoothly either. We have decided we will channel our energies to other causes if it's fated that we will not have a child in this lifetime. We are toying with the idea of being foster parents or volunteering our time with the disabled.

Sometimes when we read of parents who abused their kids or those who aborted their children, we ask ourselves why God is playing such a cruel joke on us. But well, I don't think we will have any answer in this lifetime. Instead of wallowing in self pity and ask, "Why me?", might as well devote our time to other more worthy causes.

after reading all the postings, i can say u ladies are all very blessed even while goin through the divorce stage. please dont get me wrong as i am definitely not trying to be sarcastic.
when i see ppl here talking abt divorce jus becoz of sexual compatibility makes me feel so ashame of myself.
everyone here is talking abt quality of life with their partner and the issue, to me only, is merely the quality of sex life. anythings that falls below ones expectatn would call for the 'divorce' word to be mentioned.
what i say is is becoz, while ladies look into the quality of their sex life, i am still counting the quantity i m getting.
i m submissive to my husband and that i thought it should be my role as a wife. i share his burden, financially and emotionally. i strive in my career having the though to improve our standard of living and hopefully in future my kids standard of living. i cook, wash & clean. i accepted as hot temper as i believe if i love him it should b the whole package. i accept almos a sexless marriage with stress as an excuse. when he starts having affairs. i accepted that temptation is inevitable and i accepted his repent.
i play a good wife giving in to him to avoid argument, not doin things against his liking, etc jus to wait for his nod to start family with me....
then wat happen... he starts an affair yet again... i m naive and over-confident. i tot my 10yrs marriage weighs mor... sadly, no. i hang on to my marriage lik i would to my life. until my health starts to fail. i slipped into depression. i lose 5kg in 1 week. my face becom pimplish. i cant concentrate on my work. i cant interact with ppl ard me. i cried the hardest in my life. after somtime i realise, my health is mor important than anythg in the world.
now, i m stronger. i looked back and realise there is no quality of life for me in my marriage. i should hv walk out earlier. wasted so muc time.
this forum has comfort and enlightment me in many ways. i hope evry ladies facing the same problem not be lik me. stay strong. life is unpredictable anywy and marriage is also a gamble.

missy tan,
to tell the truth, you're not alone in this world.
to date, I'm married for 5 years. And, to date, technically speaking, i'm still a virgin.
my husband had been insulting me, my parents etc (alot of family issues here), and refused to consummate.
i tot, fine. it's ok with me.
Then when he finally want to try, he can't even do it. what a joke.
And he pushed all blame to me. saying i'm too fierce blah blah.
his mum blamed me for everything. And i just blurt out - angered - He can't. understand? The doctor said I'm perfectly healthy and all right. Get it?
that made her so offended that till now, for 3 years, i've never step into her house.

when the time comes.. the mother instinct kicks in, i needed a baby soo much - I got myself a dog.
yes. that's my baby now - a dog.

but no, we've not tried any form of conceiving. Because he said i'm not fit to be a mother.

who is he to say that?

his 'woes' go all the way back to the customary night 5 years ago. He said i said something hurtful and he remembered till now.
Good lord. i don't even remember what i said, nor do i bear grudges to many matters.

and.. i'm facing everything alone. Nobody is with me in this. Everyone who knows, just tell me to quit.

i didn't walk out/divorce/annual marriage yet because, to me, having a marriage or not, makes no difference now. At this age, i'm tired. My stamina is too low to be a mother as well.

if i walk out, i'll probably be devoting my whole life to work, and my religion.

now, when he thinks of initiating, my only answer is "You sure you know how to do it?" what a joke.

and I'm the one now, who's tired of everything. I would be the one that push him away. "I want to sleep. I've got to work tomorrow. Don't come near me."
Why? Maybe because, I'm sick of all these. Or, i'm used to the old way of living. whatever it is, i don't really care anymore.

even if we were to go to the lawyer tomorrow, so be it.

I've reached the point where i'm completely immune to his nonsense. when he says "I could have had a dozen children by now if i weren't married to YOU."
My answer "Go ahead. As if you could. Go ahead. see if i bother."

worse than yours, mine will physically hit me.
but too bad - i'm from a violent family. So, i won't lose out as well.
And the police had come several times.

maybe it's true, when ppl say women tend to marry someone similar to their father. In my case - violence and male chavunist.

at least you know before your marriage. I knew everything only after the marriage.

that's why i said in my earlier post, think what you really want, do the way you want it to be.
but you need to be very cool headed when you make your decisino. Not on impulse.

I was once suicidal. But not anymore.

So, the mad/suicidal stage will pass. But you've got to handle them really carefully or it's going to cost you your health or even worse - life.

is there a very strong n good reason why some of u dun contemplate with divroce and regain your life and self-respect again?

hi powder,
mine is actually a selfish reason. i hang on dearly to my beyond repair marriage is becos i fear to be alone. i m ashame of my D status. i dunno how to handle ppl who knew i was married. i also refuse to believe the Face that had bn so assuring so sincere that promises heaven & earth is the very Face that betrays me. i was in denial. i hv to see them with my own eyes a few times then i can gradually com to terms with it.
i seem foolish to many. Throughout this whole episode, i had qn myself many times 'Can i accept him seeing her while having this marriage?'. Somehw its always a firm 'NO!'. So the last straw was when he lied to me to overnight with her while we r trying to reconcile.
gradually i accept the death of my marriage. i lose abit of foothold initially, but soon enough to stand up again. now vry step i make is for myself. For the 1st time, i feel good abt it

it takes time... and some pple take longer. there are some who never found courage til the day they lay on their deathbeds...

although i'm sure u've found your peace, i'm not sure if u've found your strength...

i read a book on asian folklore when i was 8, it's abt an old man, his grandson and a donkey travelling. when the old man was on the donkey riding thru town, passerbys commented 'how can he ride the donkey n let his grandson walk?'. so he got down and put the kid on the donkey... they passed by another set of pple who commented 'how can a kid ride the donkey whilst the grandfather walks?'. so he got up and sat on the donkey... on seeing this, the next set of passerbys commented how they could mistreat the donkey by both riding on it? everyone laughed as they got down, the noise scared the donkey as it broke loose and ran away.

it ingrained a very important lesson in me...
i just wanna tell u tat u can never please everyone, and it is trying to please everyone that causes the biggest displeasure to Yourself. instead, treat yourself with respect and nurture your heart. if u know your heart is good, u need not explain your intentions nor reasons. loved ones will be pleased by your heart, they dun need u to please them with your reasons.

i have led a rather happy life becos i never bothered abt wat pple think of my decisions. it was also the foundation behind my modest success in life... i dun seek approval & tend to do things pple deem as not-right, thing is - i focused on my Own happiness. and i AM happy.

i hope u can take baby steps towards tat too. proving pple wrong can be alot more therapeutic than simply believing others might be right.

dun believe in subscribed happiness, believe in Your own version of happiness. a happy divorcee lives a happier life than an unhappy wife in a 'successful' marriage tat stays.

Divorce is a Solution, it is Not a failure which most pple tend to associate it with. likewise, Marriage is Not a default success, it is merely a solution... a solution tat causes subsequent problems when it is being held on for the wrong reasons.

staying married DOES NOT make one successful... staying happy does.

Many a time, we are the prisoner of our own prison. We are the joy killer of our own joy. We can definitely set ourselves free. We can experience the joy that we have been so deprived of.

how do we wanna spend this christmas? wanna bring back the Magical "Christmassy" from when we were young? wanna experience Happiness again?

Christmas is not so far away... shall we make a little pact with that little voice inside us? shall we make a little promise to Ourselves that THIS Christmas - i wanna be happy. i wanna feel that magic again. i wanna feel that innocent, unconditional Perfect Happiness which comes from Not the pple i love, But from the Life i used to love, and the life i wanna love...

shall we?

I left my ex-hb a month before Christmas in 2006. During CNY 2007, I carried on with the tradition of visitation. When asked about ex-hb, I told everyone that I was separated to be divorced soon. I went to Court to tell the Judge that I wanted to be granted a divorce on the Eve of Valentine's Day in 2007. I told myself that by my 37th birthday in Jan 2008, the HDB flat must go so that I could have a clean break.

Why?

Because I wanted to enjoy myself during Christmas FROM 2007; I wanted to enjoy myself during CNY and Valentine's Day FROM 2008.

I made it!

To be able to be happy was the best gift I gave myself for my 37th birthday in Jan this year. No more tears, no more bitterness, no more self reproach, no more unforgiving...This was the freedom that I had wanted so badly.

To me I don't really care about christmas or new years or valentine or whatever. It is really immaterial.

This most important thing for me is to be able to lead the life I want.

There are many ways of dealing with a failed relationship. But staying miserable in a relationship is not a solution. Divorce may be one but it is just a legal process. Most importantly we must set ourselves free mentally.

im really feeling very sad and hurt that so many of us here been thru all the tough and failed relationships and some even abusive husbands.

i think some ladies here are really very strong and tough and provide so much valuable support and encourage for most of us here.

Junie and Honor, think about what best for you. i strongly believe we live once and alot of time pple tell me, dont ever regret whatever decision we made. even my mum call me and scolded me for being the wildful wife who ran away from home twice and throwing tantrum and behaving like mad woman crying, kicking and threatenig to die!

Yes, we made our decision to chose our husband but we also has the decision to break lose if we suffering.

my husband here doesnt abuse me or treat me badly rather its his coldness, his unwillinglness to make things work better... which after a while just make my heart goes chill. like i mention, what the pt if only one person is working to save the relationship while the other doesnt.

im stil learning now how to settle this relationship since we both initiated t go separattion. its has been 2 weeks since i left home...

yes i feel like some of the pple here, losing the status of from Married to Divorce, from a busy weekends to a lonely weekend, from having a constant companion to being alone..from attending a function as a couple now going to function alone where others bring their spouses along.
im really scare too cos i dont know if how i can get use to all these changes...

if any ladies here been thru that please kindly share how i should get over the changes and adjst to a new status..
im scare... and i dont even dare to tell any of my frens.

but

Missy Tan

Being married or divorced does not make you any less of a person.

Focus, not on the change in status nor the changes in lifestyle for what you should really be working on, is your happiness and your well-being. Relish the 'me' time you get, which you otherwise were not able to afford in the past.

As I 'march on' through separation to the eventual divorce, these are just some of the things that I have discovered. I am determined to not allow him to hurt me anymore. (My husband is a serial cheater and liar.)

The time will come when you are ready to face the world. I made a mistake by marrying my husband. I have come to accept that and stop blaming myself for it. Yes, you are right to say that you have the decision to break loose if you are suffering. I have made the decision to end this mistake and not let it be a life-long one.

All the best.

Sorry to hear that you have been through this.
Erectile Dysfunction (inability to sustain erection) is a very common disorder which most men face in there life at some stage for one reason or the other like high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, fatigue, stress, physical injuries, smoking and alcohol consumption. The exact reason behind your problem can only be judged by a specialist and only then one should use the medicines prescribed. You can have the information on ED and ED related drugs on http://www.levitrabliss.com .

for me, i can't be bothered.
in fact, religion is a HUGE part of my life.

i woudl have spent my whole life devoted to my work and religion is i didn't get married anyway.

To me, being married or not, doesn't bother me much.
having a husband is as much as having none now anyway.

yah. i guess you're right.
a marriage that makes no meaning to me.
maybe now, staying together is just a habit...

hello junie.
so sorry to hear that. did u try to work things out with your husband? are things really so bad and beyond help? i mean if u both have tried and things are still so bad and both of u still ended up hurting and quarrelling then maybe that is what happening to me, to take a break and time out and let each other think through whether can u guys still see each other and picture that u both together in the future.

for me, i try to picture if im continue staying with my husband and instead of feeling blissed, i felt i was ostracized. i feel that i cant bear the thought that im gg to be childless, and not even able to enjoy sexual pleasure for the rest of my life staying on with my this husband who dont bother to give a DAMN!

hope things are better for u or at least u try to make things better.

No pun intended, have you consider that your HB could be a closet gay?

You did mentioned that you chose you HB over someone else, he must have something that is non sexual you like/love about him>?

Does he has a very good/close male fren that you also know, like a very close "bro" that you can talk to, to consider getting thru to your hb. Sometimes, it's better for another guy to talk this thru over a drink?. Could be childhood fren or army buddies that they can talk/share everthing??

just my 2 cents