Curtains

vaingirl

anyone here installed curtains using "thai silk" or likewise material. i want to change the curtains in my mstr bedroon & hv been to Window Image at Causeway Point to make enquiries. please recommend. tks!!

raindew

Hi vaingirl,

I am not installing thai silk but timber blinds. I just want to tell you to go to other place to check the price for curtains. Cos' I went to Window Image at Causeway and the lady quote me $1780 (after discount) and she tells me this is the cheapest she can give. Reason for this cheap price is because their office is near the supplier hence they get a special rate. She tells me if we do not believe her, we can check elsewhere and theirs is the cheapest. She seems very sincere.

But, I get a good rate of $1500 at Sembawang Shopping Center and the best is $1350 at Textile Marketing, Lucas (think this is the shop name, at Tanjong Katong). Hence, we ordered our timber blinds with Lucas

Note: The comparison are all for the same materials and it is for the whole house.

vaingirl

thank you raindew!!
i went to the a curtain shop at clementi central & they quote me roughly the same price. my mstr bedroom's curtain were done by window image & their workmanship is quite good. i will try Textile Marketing & see what they say. tks for the advice!

kengeline

Sorry to intrude.

I know a guy who does curtain (free-lance). He is able to quote very much cheaper than shops and has the latest sample from fabric and blinds supplier and sewing people.

(Means you get direct prices from supplier, no overhead costs charged to the price as he dun own a shop)- That what he told my fren.

I only have his contacts. But haven't call him to quote my 4-rm roller blinds. Hb say wait another 1 or 2 months cause we spent a lot on reno. Sigh.... Anyway, can look for Ken. His no: 9459 1132.

If he ask, just say recommended by Nick from Toa Payoh.

Regards.

vaingirl

just to let all of u know that i went to Window Image and Lance Court at IMM for a quotation on my curtains. Window Image charges me $100 more than Lance Court. the material i wanted was $7 per metre more over there.
it pays to shop around & make comparisons first.

steff

I can recommend that you try this company for your curtains/blinds. They have lovely fabrics and are priced reasonably. On top of it, they have nice people to talk to.

www.miragebf.com.

Hope this helps in any way

balicraze

juz to share with everyone, if u can get a curtain sewer, a track installer, u can save lots of $$ by buying your own fabrics from those fabric shops. I juz calculated my est. cost and is about $500/- or less for a living with day+night, all 3 rms with full length night using good and thick fabrics.

gummi

Hi Raindew

I am considering Timber blinds for my new place. What kind of width are you installing? Understand that they are quite heavy. Have you had yours installed? How much did you have to pay p.s.f? I was quoted $15 for 1.5" width. Appreciate if you could advise on anything I should look out for.

littlebit

i know this lady that does curtains and blinds, she did more on HDB and condo, quite reasonable and nice,she also provides colour consultation and free quote....can try calling @91190470...did saw some of her project at bishanloft,garden at bishan,The Eden,Fernvale,punggol and sengkang.... not too bad.

raindew

Hi Jammie

Just saw your message. My blinds have been installed and I must say the living room ones are heavy. Living room consist of 6 window panels and I installed 2 set of blinds there. For my rooms (3 window panel each), I installed 2 set of blinds for each room too.

1) Perhaps it is better to install 3 sets of blinds instead of 2 for the living room as it is really heavy when you want to pull the blinds up.

2) No problem at all for the bedrooms. The weight is alright.

3) I don't have the details of my blinds but the blind I chose, I think the name is black gold .

4) Psf for mine is around $8 or $9++. Forget how much, I paid a total of $1350 (exclude GST)

5) The pulley, choose gold colour as it will oxidise and then the color will be much nicer

Basically, get those blinds from Vietnam instead of those from Malaysia. And after installation, check all the blinds, you can arrange for replacement if there is any defects / chipped. That's what I did for mine.

My window vendor is Jimmy Textiles and they are very accommodating. When they came measure, install the blinds, to take back some of the blinds for replacement etc, the pesonnel are very punctual. Most importantly, they are very accommodating

zaras

Hi Libby,

May I know what's the name of the lady whom you recommended? Did she do the curtains for your house? Any idea what's her quotation? Thks!

xiao_mei

Hi xyz123,

I did go to Spotlight however their ready made curtains varieties are less than Ikea. They are more meant for custom made curtains, you can see that their cloth materials are nicer than their ready made ones.

I am thinking of those shops at neighbourhood wondering anyone can recommend me a shop which has more varieties and cheap?

bungy_jumper

I am looking at curtains too. Normally do we get a quotation before confirmation ? And upon confirmation, how long they usually take to install? Lastly, is installation dusty ?

blue_genie

jumped: yes, u need to get a quotation frm them. best is to arrange a site measurement so that u know how much u'll be paying for the curtains. upon cfm, they will usually take 1-2 wks to come and install for u. with regards to the installation, u need to chk what type of drill they are using..mine using a vacuum drill, therefore not dirty and dun need much cleaning after that.

ice_kacang

Hi Jumped

How's yr curtain search getting along? You can go to the shop first to get the estimated quotations. More accurate of how much would be when they come to your house to take the measurement. Also depends on what material you choose.

I just went to Toa Payoh last weekend for quotes. There are 2 shops there and they quote around 1500 for curtain with day curtain - living room, roman bind for master bedroom, 2 roller binds for bedroom 2 & 3.

vinfang

Just went to Jimmy Textile at Tanjong Katong Complex two weeks ago, was quoted $1300 for

a. Day/nite curtain (living rm)
b. Roman blinds (Dining, Bedrm 1, 2 & masterrm)

Personally, i feel it's quite reasonable. Also, we get to choose frm their wide range of fabric & design (we spent abt 2 hrs to select e design). Now waiting for them to take onsite measurement before making e actual curtains. Hope e outcome is ok, will update all when my curtains is hooked up.

For those interested, can look for this guy (Lucas), not pushy type and nice to talk to.

bungy_jumper

hi ice,
heh, not really doing thorough research yet, but I should be dropping by TP, Whampoa and Sultan Plaza to look see look see this week.
think i will be doing something like yours, day+night for living n MBR, roller blinds for 2 bedrooms. Still thinking whether curtains neccessary for kitchen onnot.

btw, is roman blind or roller blind more ex ?

hi vin,
looks like your deal is not bad.

ice_kacang

Hi Jumped
According to the man in Toa Payoh, roman blind costs twice the cost of roller blinds.

Hi Vin,
What kind of fabric did you select? Any idea what's the price range?

vinfang

Hi ice,

Day curtain: White translucent w some vertical sewing on the curtain.
Nite curtain: Slightly shiny texture & greyish color.

Dining: Thick dark beige color material w some fine line pattern.

Bedrm 1: Light greenish color w circular pattern. Bedrm 2: Light blueish color w circular pattern.
Masterrm: Dark cream color w horizontal line pattern.

Price will depends on wat fabric u choose. He will give you some advise.
Day+nite ~ $550 onwards
Roman blind ~ $170 onwards

ice_kacang

hi jumped,
The 2 shops are at Toa Payoh Central, you know lah, the 2 rows of shop houses.

One is called Hong Ming Store, Blk 178 #01-226
The other is called Kah Soon Textile & Dept Store, Blk 183 #01-292.

Hi Vin, can your roman bind block out light? I have seen some rooms whose roman blind doesn't block out lights when the lights inside the room are switched on. Thus people from the opp block can see shadowy figures moving abt... I don't like that so when asking for quotes, I stressed to them that the material must not let people the shadowy figure from opp block.

steff

I can recommend that you try this company for your curtains/blinds. They have lovely fabrics and are priced reasonably. On top of it, they have nice people to talk to.

www.miragebf.com.

Hope this helps in any way

xiao_mei

I managed to get ready made curtains from Ang Mo Kio central shophouses. Can go there and see if you are looking for ready made curtains

dragon_gal

anyone done Roller Blinds for their bedrooms b4? I was thinking of doing that for my 3 bedrooms but worried about maintenance etc? Will it orevent wing from coming thru?
Any kind souls out there to advise. Thanks a million!

steff

Hi Dragon_gal,

I installed roman blinds in my house but my friend did roller blinds for her rooms. Seems fine.

She & I did with this company www.miragebf.com.

If you are interested, check out the website & I will recommend the person to call shd you want to do with them.

blessed

Hi Joe Tan and all,

u mentioned earlier that if u can get a curtain sewer, a track installer, u can save lots of $$ by buying your own fabrics from those fabric shops. Who can help me install the curtain track (or is it call sewer?). Do u mean if someone can help to install the track/sewer will save $$, does anyone do that w/o buying the fabric from them? sorry, i m totally new in this, dont know head n tail. is it the fabric itself that is the majority of the costs and not the track?

jus_me

I'm looking around to get curtains as well. I went to J&S in Plaza Singapura recently, the samples look pretty but it's v v expensive!!

Anyone can recommend reliable and cheap curtain makers?

steff

Hi jus_me,

Try the company I recommended above. Trust me, quality is good plus fabrics are really lovely. Prices are reasonable.

jennytansc

i just renovate my hse & moved in recently. My curtain was cheap & of good quality & good service from the shop. We done a blackout curtain for 1 bedroom that we converted into theatre room sort. The curtain + wood&hook for 2 rooms cost me oni $350 lor. cheap hor....
If anyone is interested pls write me a mail instead of posting here as i seldom log in.

zulu

Gd day to all...can I know if the prices you all mentioned includes track...???
Anyone know roughly how much it will cost to make curtain and day curtain(organza) for master rm, organza for living & roller blinds for 2 bed rms...?

von

hi he,
i did organza material full lenght curtain for my hall, 1 london blind, 1 roman blind & 1 full full length nite curtain for the bedrms @ abt $900+

zulu

Gd day New...can i know where did you have your curtains made...? Does the price include tracks...??? Tks..

von

hi he...

yes,the price include tracks. & for my hall i used bendable track (more ex kind) due to the curve @ my window. But i must tell u tt this curtain maker dun really have very fancy fabric.. i will say it gd enough for basic needs.

The company is call Fabric resource

hi sharon... will pm u

sue88

My curtains also cost 900+ but exclude tracks.

I have
3 pairs of full length curtains using sheer material (not sure organza material or not) for entrance, living and dining
2 pairs of half length curtains for 2 rooms
1 pair of half length curtains for bay window at MBR
1 pair of pvc blackout for bay window at MBR

The curtain men will install for me next week (install as in hang up + drill hooks for tiebacks). Hopefully result is good.

a_k

Mine is 1.1k which include curve tracks.
2 full length day & nite with curve tracks for living & 1 bedroom
1 full length day & nite for 1 bedroom
4 roman blinds
material - all using silk type.

steff

My fren did her place with the company I recommended. She only paid abt $800. It included

2 full length nite curtains with tracks
4 full length panels of roman blinds (organza kind)
1 half length curtain for dining window.

Another one is doing her 5-room flat for about $500. It includes her master bedroom/children's room/living room. All full length curtains.

Call or check it out at www.miragebf.com.

tulip94

Hi All, please advise the budget for

full length day and nite for living.
roller blinds for 3 bedrooms.

Staff, I am interested with miragebf. Do you roughly know the quotes?

BTW, do i need to bring the salepersons to my home (to do some measurements so that he/she can quote me) before confirming the purchase?

yamiyogurt

hi tulip,

i jus did my curtains with Jimmy textile n i realli like it. the workmanship/service is v good too. there is a qide selection of material there too. here's the contact:

Jimmy Textiles
Address: 845 Geylang Road
#01-03
TANJONG KATONG COMPLEX
Singapore 400845
Phone: 6745-6423
Fax: 6747-3374

you can ask Lucas for a estimated qoute over the phone. he's a nice guy.
u can just bring along ur floor plan when u visit the store for a accurate quote. tat's what i did n after that the person came to measure and i got my curtains in abt 1.5 weeks.

roooller

hi gal,

i've bn using roller blind for 2 yrs.
it's maint free! hehe
the most u can just use a cloth to wipe off the dust and roll down the whole piece to let it air dry.

if any interested, u can contact sandy @ 90011537.

roooller

tulip,

all curtain sales do site measurement.
better to bring them b4 u start ur renov.

as u need track allowance for different furnishing, be it curtain, roller or roman track.

also, they will b able to advise on ur house theme.

they will be able to advise accordingly.

hope this info helps.

tulip94

Hi roooller and yami

Thanks so much for your advices. I will be getting my key next week, have also engaged an ID already. So should I go to the curtain maker soon so that they can do site measurement before my reno starts or I can actually wait for my reno to be 50-70 percent completed then ask them to do site measurement? Or a floorplan is suffice for measurement? Ihave not compared around so dont wish to confirm a curtain shop so soon..

yami, i am interested in Jimmy Textiles. Could you share with me your quote from them? Do you have any pictures of your lovely home to share with me too? As mentioned earlier, i am looking at:

full length day and nite for living.
roller blinds for 3 bedrooms.

Is my budget of 1K okay? How much did you ladies spend? Just want to know the average/market rate so that i wont be "chop" by them..

Oh yeah, could u gals advise what is the difference between roller and roman blinds? i have seen some nice blinds on magazines but i dont know whether they are roman or roller blinds..

rooller, what is track allowance for? Who did you engage to do your curtain?

yamiyogurt

tulip,

i did full length for living room, half length (actually it's 3/4 length) for the 3 rooms n dining room. all one layer. total cost is $700. (inclusive of installation n the wooden rods i chosen)

i do not have pics of my curtains now...but it is tab top style. (like cafe curtains) . for jimmy textile, the floor plan is sufficient to let him give u an accurate quote.

as for when to go to the curtain maker...maybe when ur reno half completed lor. cos jimmy textile quite fast...they did mine in abt 1.5 weeks. the time required defers....so u muz check with the curtain-makers. n when given quotes, ask for the type/variety of materials u can choose from. the best is to go to the shop n see for urself the range available