Crowne Plaza Hotel, Changi Airport

cramanoif

ladies ~

this one is the Summer theme (sorry for the super poor resolution)
http://s2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/Presh82/Crowne%20Plaza%20-%20Summer%20Theme/

let's recap the Blissful theme
http://s2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/Presh82/Crowne%20Plaza%20-%20Blissful%20Theme/

final decision: blissful theme

the Summer theme abit "over sweet" for us
so we decided on Blissful theme

jovaine00

Hi Peixuan, CP only has 1 ballroom, which makes it exclusive as there will be only 1 wedding couple holding their banquet =)

Its on the 1st level, as for complimentary solemnization, I think they can offer if you ask.

krazimitzi

precious, it is indeed sweet looking! i think the "balls" on stage are really cute hahaha. congrats on deciding on a theme! we are fellow "blissfulians", oh no sounds like blissful ah lians! lols

renee, hmmm i like uniform look so i made all my bridesmaids wear the same thing... bought for them of course... here it is:

1712664.jpg

it's a convertible dress so that everyone can wear their own style, got some individuality, but still everyone looks almost the same. it was also about 30 bucks, otherwise i can't afford to buy for all! PM me if you want the contact. i also bought a blue version for my emcee haha. it was quite a good idea in the end. they all looked great! (and yes i also had a bridesman as above!)

dyur, gimme some time to find... my pictures are all over the place rite now hahah...

cramanoif

Hi Kraz: yah.. blissful-lians! lolx ~ you got a PM

does it have white / black color?

BTW, your's is lunch right?
so your bridesmaid wear that dress throughout from morning (groom fetch bride) till the lunch banquet?

coz for us, usually morning one set of dress and dinner another set of dress (i mean bridesmaid)

raneejuanjuan

Krazmitzi: Wow pretty la the dress and 30 bucks is cheap cheap

Can email me at [email protected]
you are jus like another brandon who's so helpful after wedding...
BTW anything you want to sell after ur wedding you can post..see if we need or not else you keep also never use.
Yeah tml is PH!!

brandon2010

-> renee, white gold is more practical but lesser or no value in the future. my wife also choose to get white gold so that she can wear it for special occasion like attending wedding or dinner. look out for warehouse sales from lee hwa, soo kee...etc. recently they had one. can buy bigger diamond with cheaper price.

->Kraz, so i'm a blissful-lian too? your bridesmaid dress looks good. i saw something like that online b4 but they were selling expensive. so my wife and me went looking ard far east plaza and bugis village and manage to find something nice for them at a good price of something like 20 odd.

-> precious, for us, we bought them a dress for the morning session and during banquet, they wear their own dresses. for lunch it's pretty rush, not much time for them to prepare too.

for shoe, think at far east plaza have a shoe near the escalator with lots of nice shoes. if not can try OG, they have some good one there too.

krazimitzi

wah so many requests, ok better i post here instead haha... i thot only one person haha...

here's the place i bought from - mylittlebow: http://mylittlebow.com/category/apparel/mlb-label - from this girl named valarie, she was quite nice, i bought it last min from her but she was helpful throughout. she gave a slight discount too cuz bought a few.

this is another site i was liaising with, but they're hehe a bit more expensive la huh... http://kinderbliss.multiply.com/

here's another one to check out: http://www.kindofwonderful.sg/dresses/convertible-ruched-dress

(actually i really love this above one, the colour is beautiful and the cut is so pretty... but it only works for girls sized under 10... my bridesmaids were everything from size 8 to 16! that's why i had to get the flare version, everyone can fit into it yay!)

anyways renee, i am selling stuff ah! posted my link here above, but nvm i post again for u! anything u interested just lemme noe, i will give special fellow CPian discount! lols

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/216664/1641045.html?1305298528

precious, yep since mine was a lunch they wore it from morning to lunchtime. but also cuz i did my gatecrashing in CP itself. me and some of the bridesmaids slept in the suite the night before. so traditional right, bride and groom don't get to see each other the day before hehe. hubby dun get to sleep in the nice suite hahahaha. then he and his brudders came to crash the sistas door in the morning. we used the helpers' room for makeup for the 2 mothers while the suite was busy being "crashed". then we proceeded downstairs to hopea room to do our tea ceremony. then mingle with the crowd outside, then march in. so everything quite smooth cuz all in one location. think if your jiemei have to run around, take car to different location etc might be a bit sweaty i guess? hahaha...

also depends, usually people get their jiemeis to wear uniform in the morning then they can wear whatever they want in the banquet cuz they not really involved liao. however mine are bridesmaids, not just jiemei, meaning they are part of the wedding march in down the aisle before my father gave the bride away to the groom. so its kinda... still want it to look beautiful and coordinated as they march down the aisle. if you are not having that, then don't need lor... haha

brandon, you can be a blissful ah beng lor!! =P

cramanoif

thanks kraz! will check out the link

i think brandon is summer-beng... coz his is Summer theme

i got less than 6mths to my AD
haven't start to prepare checklist for GDL
and was still waiting to see if Poh Heng will soon to have gold sales for SDJ

raneejuanjuan

Krazmitzi,

Valerie is nice, i got my customize chain from her, and she is super friendly. Ok will check it out. The dresses from the bridesmaids are all custom made? Im a Hokkien bride too
Are the birdie cages still avl? I think i might wana skip GDL stuff, just give the money and oranges can liao la, such a waste

gzer

1. Can give some comments based on experience or hearsay w their food?
2. They have 3 themes rights.. Are the flowers and decor "pre-set" or u have some say over wat u like or dislike?
3. What abt service.. Slow to serve/ refill drinks etc..

Any key points to note pls advise!

Thanks babes

krazimitzi

renee, yep i got a personalised necklace from valarie too for my friend's bdae last year. it's a convertible dress so u can tie it in many styles, so not custom made to one style. if you want it to be secure you can of course use needle and thread to sew down certain parts, but otherwise, you can always change style the next time you wear the dress. the bird cages are available but only for rental.

jo, the food is ok. i wouldn't say it's damn nice (i would say grand park city hall, hyatt, mandarin oriental, any restaurant like peony jade or tung lok have better food) but it's pleasant, none of my guests complained about it. portion is not a lot like furama riverfront. after food tasting u can give your comments and they will really try their utmost best to fulfill as much as they can.

the decor is pre-set. if you wish to change anything you have to pay additional. the flowers, perhaps can change a bit such as colour if they have available, but changing of flower types also subject to additional cost.

nothing to comment on service as i did not get any feedback. happy choosing venue!

raneejuanjuan

Krazimitzi, How much for renting the birdcage? 1 or 2? Finally Alina sent me the wedding contract. Jasmine you receive yet?
She still sent me floor plan, wedding march in songs and etc which my gf say she dint receive from her hotel until now when her wedding is Dec haha the dress looks good, other website also have the same dress, i think all from bangkok la :p

gzer

Hi all. How many times u meet the coordinator before signing the contract? When u guys asked for the perk this and that?

jovaine00

Hey Renee, I received the contract too..but havnt go thru yet..almost everything is we need she sent us.

Gzer, I signed the contract the 1st time I met the coordinator. I like the ballroom, price relatively ok, perks wise, not alot as CP is quite stingy on that. But am won over by the ballroom, so just signed up.

In fact, I nv even visit other hotel venues yet! CP is so lucky to have me as their customer

gzer

Haha. Thanks. I am asking cos I'm impressed by one coordinator from another hotel. She brought us to the ballroom, then they have a room specially to store all the table linen and seat cover, invitation, favors,guestbook etc..

As I have yet to see the wedding favours. What's ur opinion? What about the wedding cake? Yes the ballroom is nice.. If only can customize by choosing flowers. Cos this is what offered by another hotel.

nightraven

Gzer,
so far what i know, till end of the year, sat and sun, all fully book. CP so damn hot.

i only meet the coordinator 1st time and sign the contract. pretty much the same perks during the showcase. for next year AD, its abit tricky for me cause the theme and favour could change.

gzer

Cos I walked in had a short meeting (in between her appt) , requested to meet her for in depth discussion and is ok. What perks they offer during the showcase? Hoping can get at least same as showcase;)

I check out le tell u all ;)

gzer

Speaking of wedding favors. Will u even go out of the way and choose sth the hotel not offering and buy outside? The hotel wun discount for u right .

jovaine00

Gzer, CP will provide wedding favors, as in it's inclusive in the pkg. I'm not a fussy person, as long as it's not those unacceptable kind, I'm ok.
But if you want something special, then you have to source it urself.
Anyway care to share which hotel you comparing with?

gzer

comparing? hoho.. it's shangri-la. the coordinator show me their utensil set (2 types), table linen. and their invite and stuff. they allow u to choose the flowers urself (liase w the florist) - no theme! basically u choose everything urself. and a wide variety of wedding favors.. i haven seen CP one though..

im not looking for special special.. just tt i normally also dun like those i received. then agn.. maybe everyone dun care

gzer

then again.. Shang how much this one how much.. CP is quite gd le considering i like all their themes, can choose linen and seat cover too and their ballroom looks great..

jovaine00

Gzer, i think both have pros & cons. My 1st choice was Intercontinental, really love the ballroom & chandeliers to bits, all their themes are v beautiful. But, of course, its on the upscale market, I dun expect to recover losses or breakeven for wedding banquet, on the other hand, i'll rather be more practical. Save for house & honeymoon..hehe

Since CP pricing & ballroom can match what I'm looking for, then might as well choose CP. Wedding favors, free flow liquor or other perks, I'm not really into it, the most impt thing is the ballroom, food & ambience. Basically, CP has it all, for me lah.

nightraven

Jasmine,
about the favours, it almost like what Kraz mention before, i also cannot remember the rest of it. Sorry :p

Gzer,
about the wed favours, if you have ur AD next year 2012, it will subject to change for sure, even for the theme. So better to wait and see what they offer for next year. But sure thing that u still can proceed to sign the contract if u really like CP for your happy day. :D

I prefer MM , huge parking space, goodfood (goodchef) and nice ballroom, but the service is very bad (very mess) even during the roadshow (One person promise something, the other person say different thing...so sian , how to deal then??), and also min table requirement for the ballroom non-negotiable.
Since my requirement 20tbl++, MM try to hardsell the other room by saying that room can fit 20tbl. That is nuts!!! Obviously that room i saw only can fit max 16tbl. 20 Will be over-pack and very narrow space for march-in.

Orchard Hilton on the other hand , still much better to deal with for their ballroom even they have min requirement 25++table for it. still negotiable. the cons, the parking space is very very small , MRT location far away and another main ballroom located just beside it. It consider bad luck to clash with others people wedding. (need to exchange redpacket with the other couple).

krazimitzi

renee, how's $10 for rental of both small birdcages? otherwise $20 for rental of the big rectangular one.

dyur, valarie is this girl who runs the mylittlebow website, she makes personalised name necklaces. but she also does a line of clothes, of which one is the convertible dress that i bought for all my bridesmaids (see above picture). that's what some of the other btb were asking about.

gzer, sounds like it really depends on if you like the ballroom, the location, the prestige (of shang!), and probably the biggest difference of being able to FULLY customise what you want, down to utensils and flowers. it also depends on what kind of bride you are - some brides are happy to let the hotel arrange everything and just make simple decisions on themes etc, while some really want to make decisions on the details so that it's different from all the other weddings.

what i've learnt from planning weddings is that really none of the guests will notice what table setting, table linen, seat cover, flowers or decor you choose, because a wedding is all about you and your hubby, it's about the declaration of your love and all your friends and family are there to celebrate it with you.

therefore... it's really all about what YOU like / love / prefer. if you have been looking through bridal magazines or been thinking about the wedding for some time, i guess you probably would already have something in mind? or at least know what you definitely DO NOT like. then you can start looking at which hotels can fulfill what you like.

for some of the other brides and myself, what CP offered is a refreshing change from a lot of other hotels that have the grandeur and the chandelier etc, but have been done to death at a thousand weddings before us. it also has good location accessible to all via public transportation, and it's only got one ballroom so you know the whole hotel is focused on you and you alone that day/night. and we didn't have much issue with the themes because they were quite pleasant. i actually found being able to decide on the colour of table linens and seat covers and even napkins made me scared i made the wrong decision and it would look horrible afterwards!

but again, if you are someone who specifically wants e.g. tulips or lilies for their wedding, then probably you need to find a hotel that can allow you to customise, since CP's is packaged already - that being said, you can talk to Red Petals (CP's engaged florist this year - not sure if they will change florist next year if your AD is next year) and see what they can customise within the budget they are given, or top up slightly.

alternatively, CP allows you to bring in your own florist as well. maybe you can even discuss the possibility of replacing the floral decor provided by CP for something else - better menu, more wine, suite stay maybe? and then bring in your own florist to do the complete decor from scratch including stage and aisle stands and centrepieces and reception table etc. that might be another option to try, though im not sure if they are ok with it? worth a shot. at the end of the day, sit down and think about what you really really want, then this decision process will be a lot easier for you liao.

wish you all the best! =)

krazimitzi

oh gzer, just FYI i am that kind of bride that wants to personalise all the details, so i did my own invites, own guestbook, own ang pao box, own wedding cake, own stage arrangement, own favours, own programmes, own everything la. and i did it at CP, and on a budget too. anything is possible as long as you want it and determined to make it happen hehehe. ;P

nightraven

VIVA CP!!!!

Gzer, and also pls do choose your PG / VG wisely, cause this is your once in the lifetime moment. which you will capture it as momento for the rest of your life.

gzer

well at least MM and orchard more central, convenient for guest EAst and West..

actually CP has all im looking for, the only minus point is no shark fin..to top up is 200-300 worth it? cos of this.. htb wanna persuade me go restaurant.. yawn!! there u can same price/table + shark fin.. but w a theme i dun like (fixed..red.red) .. personally i dun like restaurant setting i dunno why too.

krazimitzi

gzer, is the reason why your hubby wants to have shark's fin cuz of the taste, or the prestige? for taste, the soups at CP are quite nice, comparable to shark's fin soup taste. (to be honest what i love about shark's fin soup is the soup not the shark's fin haha)

if it's about just not having the usual "shark's fin soup" on the menu, CP can actually add into the menu stating it is the couple's choice not to have shark's fin as you are going green (believe brandon did this?)

FYI CP is a fully green hotel, they recycle their water, they use solar power, they make use of natural light, they have Green Mark certification, plus the fact you can encourage your guests to come via public transport (i did that in my save the dates), all adds up to showing you are making an effort to go green in your wedding too.

IF the reason is that your hubby wants to eat the shark's fin soup - girl, tell him he won't get to eat ANYTHING at his wedding! LOL

If it's cuz of prestige... then really nothing to say lar. the fact is - if you wanna have "face" (aka show off that you have the money...) then $200-300 more should not be a problem for the couple... it's a bit like Marina Bay Sands casino lah, they also serve shark's fin but only to the high rollers! hahaha hope you get what i mean...

i think at the end of the day - YOU have to love your own wedding! =)

cramanoif

went to T-Dragon last Sat...
and i saw the boarding pass invites

YES!!! i paid deposit already ~ lolx

and we will do the artwork ourself then ask them to print

btw Kraz: i checked and they dont "drape" the backstage

but RP is charging $250 from what i see in past post

any idea where to get drape-ing service?

krazimitzi

precious, no idea on the draping. i only asked RP. as my gazebo came with draping on the fixture so i didn't pursue the draping of the backdrop.

are u getting the boarding pass invites?

cramanoif

yeap! boarding pass invites
in the end give up that customized red oriental invites, too ex
and my hubby say it doesn't serve any purpose
not matching also

so just take boarding pass, since its at airport
might as well just move along with the theme

ok, will continue to ask around on the drape
event company are charging me $1.5k

btw, valarie is charging me $40/pcs for the dress
as i've less than 10qty
might still consider as i've only got 4 bridesmaid

brandon2010

-> kraz, yes i did the no shark fin description too. but cant remember what i put it in, need to check my photos. something like "Eco-friendly hotel" if i not wrong.

-> Gzer, dont need to worry too much regarding the no shark fin soup on menu as nowadays it's more common. lots of our guests are happy with the soup and happy. a few factor to consider if you are thinking how to skip thru it or reasons to say it:
1) save the shark, do your part.
2) you wont get to enjoy it during the event
3) guests's red packet dont depend on this dish to give, as they have to give the red packet before the event.
4) with the other dishes at CP, the overall feeling wont feel cheapo, the ballroom n settings looks good and special and moreover this is a 5-stars hotel.

-> precious, cool to hear another couple choose the boarding tickets design. maybe can go printing shop to print as they charge a fixed rate instead of additional if you use more cartoon, color...etc. they also sell the map of CP there, can check with them.

brandon2010

-> kraz, what is the fengshui master that you went? was trying to look back for the post but cant find. a friend of mine is looking ard for one.

raneejuanjuan

Brandon, I think it's precious.. E master is David tong? Krazimitzi: 2 small birdcages at 10 bucks is fine
btw normal 1 or 2 enough to put Ang bao? Cos I only got friends on my side no relative at all so should I take 1 big one or 2 small one?

brandon2010

-> Kraz, opps, sorry, I'm having an old man memory liao.

-> renee, thank you.

-> Precious, oic. how much do they charge?

Thanks for the link, manage to find the post by jasmine.
for the map, it's an additional paper with picture and also transportation guide to show how to get there. better than the one recommended by Alina. :p

cramanoif

brandon: nvm lah, let them find their own way.. haha
some of my relatives and friends will know the way as they've been there before for our ROM

T-Dragon charging me $224 for 168pcs of silver/gold hot stamping for double-side

nightraven

Precious,
double side ? not seperate paper?
how much for seperate paper?

Brandon,
care to share Jasmine link that u mention about ?

kiwibean

for the printing, did you guys collect the cards 3 months prior your actual day or even earlier?

and anyone had used T&T print service in JB before?

brandon2010

think i collected mine around 3 months, if you want to collect earlier, can just let ur coordinator know. they should be able to assist.

As you need to plan and look for your printing shop if you are not using t-dragon.

cramanoif

brandon: its double side.. not seperate paper
just one piece of card

kiwi: i've started with my invites now (5mths to AD) T-Dragon can do it anytime without having to wait 3months prior to collect the cards

brandon2010

-> Dyur, i will try to find it and post tonight.

- Kiwi, should be able to let her know u going to make the collection will do. no need to let her know the confirmed numbers. as anything more, you have to buy from t-dragon.