Crowne Plaza Hotel, Changi Airport

laobo

Wat boarding pass??? One of the choices from the invitation card ma?
[Precious] Yup! Signed also... Kekeke....

cramanoif

nicole: one load off... slowly wait for food tasting..
can start looking for gowns liao...

i like one of their theme... dunnoe what "wind"
mystic wind or what... nice lei..
but too bad its for this yr, wonder next yr got what nice theme for us..

but their cake not very nicely designed...

laobo

yaloh.. food tasting is like wat huh? 3mths b4 wedding huh? when is ur bridal shoot? i will choose gowns oni nx yr mar.
the black theme izit? yes i luv it too! bt VIP table i tink cannot black. will see hw.. Ms A said the theme will be for better. I guess table cloth, napkins all these color shld b ok.. is the flower standings all these wl change. i ok w tt. as long as i gt my black theme. heex.....
ya... cake so-so oni.. i prefer the centre one but my husband like the extreme left one. jz behind the mystic theme.

tsharon18

>> hi Nicole... i am thinking of using boarding pass as invitation cards. But seem that the cost is higher and i wanted to knw how much diff before i decided to use it...

galaxy84

I planning to do it also.. I haven't calculate the price.. What cost is include.. The CP will give the card in rectangle or square for us to print ourselves.. Any recommend print shop..

laobo

Hi Blissful gal... I did not notice there is a boarding pass as invitation card leh. Hahaha... did you check with the vendor how much more expensive?
I saw One Eye Click's album and one of the couple did the "travelling" theme and got all the jiemei to wear SIA uniform.. Very interesting. And the angpow box is a small metal luggage box.

tsharon18

>> Wendy/Nicole
Maybe we can actually get the same mould so the cost will be cheaper? if we do the print in bulk we might get a cheaper price but dun tink T- dragon can charge cheaper if we go one by one

cramanoif

nicole... u got any BS in mind?

food tasting i also think is 3-mth or 4mth before..
Miss A will call us one lah.. hehe

nothing much to plan for banquet, as its still FAR away... so ur march in you choose the long one i guess?

but that day see the ballroom... though its all open up... like narrow small leh...

laobo

I already signed up with French Bridal le. You haven't signed up with any bridal shop? So what did you do for your ROM?
Yes yes, Ms A says will call us, we don't have to worry. Yaloh, still far away. But I was thinking of finding my AD photographer le. I prefer the long march in. Can walk longer ma. Hahaha... The layout that day we saw, the ballroom looks super small loh.

cramanoif

no.. haven't sign BS
my ROM that time all ala carte...

ok lah.. 1yr later den we discuss menu here.. haha

for me i wan PG and VG together, not many can provide package for both, good ones only do PG..

good luck in hunting !

now im worrying for beer.. confirm not enuf..

laobo

ya, seldom gt PG & VG together. You can try Unique colors. They do it. Thanks! gd luck to you too!
don't worry. if nt u inform hotel start serving beer oni after dinner starts instead of during cocktail reception. anyway pple who drink wine, seldom drink beer oso. don't worry. =)

tsharon18

i got a VG. He show me his work. for me with the pricing and quality i tink is consider not bad.. if u all wish to chk with him, then let me knw lor

tsharon18

i sign with this guy from iben studio. His package is $888 for the whole day. no time limitation unless u start b4 7am then there is surcharge... but he will be the one who do the videography and the express hightlight montage

krazimitzi

nicole>> my date is 22 Jan 2011, doing a lunch thing. ya the lucky draw was quite pathetic, the best sounding prize was actually a buffet dinner, can you imagine... i also chose this place simply cuz i love the black, which some other more traditional hotels cannot handle. but you're right about the cakes, all CMI! i think i shall have to go with a real cake instead - anyway i do think it is super lame to cut a fake cake... -_-

wendy>> the miserable perks being the 1 free table and 150 canapes, plus 1 extra nite stay or 12 more bottles of wine lor...

laobo

Thanks blissful gal!
krazimitzi: yaloh.. alot of their prizes was their own hotel night stay, nothing attractive to me. i think my VIP tables will still be something other than black. Dont want any nagging! kekeke... the real cake oni a small one for ur own enjoyment rite? u mean u will buy a real 3-tier cake? i agree qte silly to action action cut the cake but it's like a norm leh. hahaha..

krazimitzi

haha then well the original tradition was to break the bread over the bride's head to signify her virginal state and also the groom's dominance over her! and then it evolved to become the bride cutting herself - with the objective of distributing the cake slices to all the guests to partake in (erm cant do this if its fake!) - and later because there were too many guests and she couldn't do it alone, the husband came to help. this later became known as "the first task" that they do together as husband and wife, sort of like both being committed to doing it together. awwwww so sweet. But it kinda doesnt explain anything... why does the bride need help to cut a fake cake?? when the slice is already cut for her?? aha! loophole... hahaha

yes i will probably get a real tiered cake. even if i have to spend $500 on it i think it is more worth it that everyone gets to share in it than cutting a fake cake!

sorry guys, im a non traditionalist, thats why i chose CP. ;P

laobo

wow krazimitzi u are so cool! i din noe abt the break bread over the head thingy. i oni heard abt oni virgin brides has the suckling pig or something. wow... a real tier cake is probably going to cost you some money. den the hotel staff will cut the rest of the cake for u ya? nv imagine and come across real cake.. so nice! when do u plan to serve the cake den? tgt w dessert? mmmppp.. cannot be.. too late, the cake would have melted.

krazimitzi

haha i didnt know cake melts? i will probably do sponge cake with fondant covering so i dont think it will melt? anyway i havent decided on the exact programme flow because my programme is chock packed so full until i dunno how to arrange hahaha.

yes i also heard about the suckling pig virgin thing! so strange! then for those of us who do not receive a suckling pig from the groom's side, does it mean we are not?? hahahaha *shy*

krazimitzi

hi ladies, i'm not taking the hotel's invites because i wish to do my own wedding stationery suite, however do you think it is more worth it to exchange all the invites for 5 additional bottles of wine, or to just take it from the hotel and sell it off to other BTBs who need wedding invites?

laobo

[krazimitzi] hahaha... i noe some cakes wl melt. bcz of the creme all these. nv reali study abt it thou. anyway i tink a real cake would be realli cool. when is ur AD? perhaps you can share ur pictures. Kekeke... mmmppp... initially i tot of not taking the invites bcz my bro did a gd job for my ROM invites. so i tot of asking him to design for me agn. bt hubby was saying troublesome so when i signed up, i oso 4gt to ask if i dun wan invites, wat can i exchange for. so krazimitzi, is 5 bottles of wine?
[Precious] mmmpp.. nt sure leh.. may source for cheaper one. theirs is like $100 for 1st 100 pcs izit?

krazimitzi

>>nicole: yep cream cakes usually will melt but fondant is like a flattened marshmellow kinda, so it can last for a few hours, almost half a day i think is fine too. i have to rethink my real cake now, because A just told me there is a $1.50++ platting charge per pax! She didn't inform me of this before I signed, how's that.

my AD is 22 Jan 2011, like almost a whole year before the rest of you! i didnt realise choosing venue was so difficult, so i got started planning very late. sure will share my pictures next year! u guys really start planning very early leh!

yea for me she said ok to switch invites + guest book for additional 5 bottles of wine. but i have enough wine already so i dun think its a good deal leh. anyway im not very particular on wine, especially mine is a lunch.

i wud love to keep it simple and keep the invites, especially since you can swop for any other kind in the same price range available at T-Dragon, that opens up your choices much more than just the boarding pass or their erm not so nice oriental kind. But I'm having a green wedding - that's another reason why I chose CP, it's one of 5 hotels in singapore with green mark - so i want strictly 100% recycled paper. Those usually come more expensive so I don't expect it will be part of T-Dragon's "price range", but I told A i will still go down to take a look before I decide whether I want the invites or not. I made sure she put it down in the contract that should I choose not to take the invites I can exchange them for the wine just in case. But, as I was asking, I might still get them anyways hahaha. Other friends might be solemnising and they might not be having it in places where invites are provided, so they might come in handy then!

Anyway I vaguely remembered the cost to be something like $160 for first 100 invites, and then $0.40 per piece after? Or I might be wrong, I wasn't really paying attention to her since I had not much intention of printing with them. Eeps, sorry.

laobo

[krazimitzi] Wa, $1.50++ ah!? Tell her you will buy your styrofoam plates! whhaha! crazy leh! so expensive! Then ask her back what is she going to compensate you in exchange for the dummy cake. Mmmmpp... cannot cannot, she will tell u that is complimentary de etc etc... But i personally fel that $1.50++ is ridiculous.
Wow! Left about half a year to go only! Are you going for your pre-wedding shoot soon? So excited right! Yeah, waiting for you to share photos! =) Oh CP has green mark ma? I tot they serve sharkfins so they are out. LOL... I remembered their printing not cheap de. Who knows i might just get the card & see if i can print outside.
[kimchi] i tink new theme will be out either end of this year or early next year.

krazimitzi

>>laobo: Ya at first I was shocked, felt a bit cheated in fact. Today she called me to explain it is actually the skill that I am paying for - to get a chef to cut the cake into exactly the number of guests I have, and each slice is about the same size. -_- Seriously, need meh? So actually it isn't the PLATES I am paying for but the PERSON who cuts it? So I told her I will get my own skilled person to cut! Or better still I will leave it to the guests to cut on their own. That solves all the problem! The greedy ones can cut big slices for themselves and the ones on diet can cut small slices! Yay everyone happy. Happiest is me because I don't have to pay $1.50++ per pax! hehehe

Yes! You are right! She loves to say everything is complimentary and out of goodwill from the hotel management. -_-

Pre-wed shoot probably in July? I'm only going for my first BS consultation next week and that is more to look at albums still to confirm whether I wanna do my AD PG with them too or not. I will probably take leave another day to go try on gowns all day and all night hahahaha. I think it will be hard to find something to fit my size...

Yea apparently CP is one of those green mark hotels. It's why their normal menu does not have shark's fin also. Apparently they print in most of their menus on each table a small liner at the bottom stating they are a green hotel and therefore do not serve shark's fin. Mostly it is only the couple's request to have shark's fin, the hotel itself does not encourage. So it seems la.

>>To all: Anyways has any of you found out on all the licensing issues recently for wedding? Very scary to think we have to pay so much money just for the permit to play music or rights to use music in video montage. I'm getting worried.

krazimitzi

>>kimchi: The hotel changes themes on a yearly basis, so until December would be the same themes as per 2010 (the ones you see now being the wintery one, the spring one, and the red roses one). Come to my wedding next Jan will be a totally new 2011 theme that I do not know about and am pretty worried about! :S

laobo

[krazimitzi] that is crap man! ya! get ur own family or somebody to cut the cake! crazy! same size sia.. got same weight or not? hahaha... tt is crazy. anyway Ms A noes hw to sell her hotel, so everything is "exclusively for our couples". hahaha.. i mean, she is doing her job la.
oh tts gd. muz choose carefully. i didnt do alot of research on bridal shop & kinda regretted signing up mine. seems like many other bridal shops has nicer gowns and indoor studio. =( v fun to choose & try gowns de. muz enjoy eh.. =)
i oso heard frm a fren wrt this music license. alamak for those few songs muz pay like 100+? crazy rite? reminds me of gg to k-box & the person wl tell me $1.50++ for license per pax.. all sorts of ways to earn $! dun worry krazimitzi, i believe new themes wl b nice. i am stil v into my black theme so i reali hope they would have it next yr!
[Sheryl] max 26 or 28. depends on the layout u choose for the dinner.

krazimitzi

>>laobo: I'm very into the black theme too! I loved what they did at the showcase, with the black napkins tucked into the wine glasses, like very nonchalant but yet quite classy. chey bah. but anyways in the end I will have to ask them to do folded napkins cuz I wanna slip a personalised menu cum programme cum place card into each napkin on the plate.

which BS did you sign up with? actually me too leh! i did research, technically the BS i signed with is quite ok in terms of word of mouth and hearsay, quite good reviews on sgbrides and also on facebook etc, the package they gave me was also to-die-for, so no choice. i decided long time ago that poor BTB gotta go with whatever they can afford! but yea after that flipping through mags I realised there are alot of nice gowns i like... and im not sure my BS has such... anyway will update after i see them next Fri.

laobo

Yes i find it super nice & trendy loh. But I guess my VIP table will still be red ba.. I think in law side might not be able to "take it". kekeke....
i signed with french bridal. actuali i regretted la so i was tinking of getting someone else to do pre-wedding shoot agn. bt den, abit waste of $ bcz nd to find MUA, gown etc. So might just 4gt it. actuali dun sign with BS oso gd de. i heard there are online websites (china) which sells those wedding gowns at super doper cheap price. maybe 100 you can get a wedding gown, with can-can tat kind. den u engage pple to shoot, maybe $1800? average price.. den album additional page like oni $10? unlike BS charges each non-digital page at $75. omg-ly expensive loh. hai... regret! some freelance photographer reali has nice portfolios of pre wedding shoot.

krazimitzi

>>laobo: I love french! I think their designs are really lovely. Don't they even have that $1800 pre-wed pkg to perth? I thought that was a really good deal, you didn't take that one? Why you regret?? I thot that mr. he or whatever his name is, supposed to have very good photography skills? You mean you took ur pre-wed already and didn't like it?

Hmmm yea I also considered the ala carte route before signing with a BS, but I realised I won't have the time to coordinate so many things, and it's still cheaper to go with BS, after all you get more choice of gowns and they will do alteration etc for you. I wouldn't trust those you see on China websites... and psst do you know there is actually a bridal studio in Singapore whose gowns are all from China one? Because I realised at the roadshow when I look at their bridal gown collection album, I've seen all those photos on the Internet before. Anyway those China ones, the quality isn't good and it never comes the way that it looks on the screen, plus you have to go to a tailor to alter it to fit you. Marfan and waste money if you don't like it and have to buy another one from local.

Average for freelance photographer you should be able to find $1200, best if you can get the edited pictures, then you can go and print a photobook on your own at about $100-$200, saves money. MUA should be easy to find, those Ponnie Hsu, Dily Wang etc, wah very famous ones. At most... I would suggest going with Bobbi Brown, they actually have Bridal packages where they do a trial makeup for you until you happy, then another session for your photoshoot, and another for your actual day - morning and night if you require. I think few hundred only. Plus you get to learn the tips of doing up your own face to look like that EVERYDAY! ;P

So actually if you really want to, you still can consider. Hehehe.

laobo

[krazimitzi] i hvnt rake my pre-wedding photo. nt tt i dun like la. bcz i tink their indoor studio v boring. especially if u choose kua, they sure bring u to the room where the wallpaper are all those chinese scripts. aiyo boring loh, see oni pple wl "orh! french!" hahaha.... they shld have. when i signed up (dec 2008), i cannot decide if i wana go TW for the shoot bcz v nice, im tempted. so they open the choice for me. same loh, $1800. bt to tink of it, i doubt i will take. hahaha... i foresee my wedding album wl b in the storeroom in future. hahhah!!!!! my PG is Ken. he not bad ba. my frenz & the sales oso ask me to take him.
yes for u, maybe nt much time le. oni left w like 8 mths. must faster settle on 1 le orh. =) Di'gio oso gt very nice gowns. ya maybe the quality nt so gd + nd pple to alter. some tink tt the PG more impt, gown no nd wear so many. i oso lazy to source for all these la. hahaha... bt i am STIL tempted to take 1 more prewedding shoot. might ask my bro to do for me. den maybe mtm a short gown (like ROM gown) can le. krazimitzi u hvnt ROM rite? else can share photo & see. kekeke... ya MUA i oso gt a few gt gd comments. easy... ard $250 have liao. i din noe bobbi brown gt such package leh.. qte cool huh... i go their website see gt any details or nt. kekeke...

krazimitzi

>>laobo: I went with The Aisle Wedding. Cuz out of all the BS they speak the most English - and my hubby doesn't understand Mandarin, so imagine if it's like chicken and duck talking - and in wedding planning and coordinating communication is the most important!

I already told them that I do not want indoors, I already opted out of doing traditional. So my package has mostly outdoor shoots and only 1 change of gown to be within the studio itself, which I'm thinking whether to do "vampire" theme, I think that would be really cool. "Twilight" all that very "in" now mah, and my hubby and I love "Interview with the Vampire" and all that... But gotta see if they have the gowns to go with that theme. There is no way I'm doing boring studio shoot in front of different coloured backgrounds! So boring!

Heh heh heh I already ROM-ed! Back in 22 Jan 2006! That's why we planned our wedding on 22 Jan 2011 which is exactly also our 5th anniversary
But don't show pics la, that was sooooooooooooooooooo long ago.

laobo

[krazimitzi] oh tts gd! glad u made a choice. so hw much are they charging u? only 1 change of gown huh? wat abt AD? hw many gowns are they going to provide? Hahaha... u guys luv vampires ya.. The black theme (CP) will really suit u! yes i oso tink the bakcgrounds v boring. tinkin of it makes me so sian!
oh u ROM so long ago ah? I ROM on 09-09-09; my 2nd yr anniversary w my hubby. but customary we went to let pple see so no more 09-09 la. hahaha... was given 20-11-2011. wanted tt date but too ex.. so push fwd 1 day. still auspicious. kekeke.... okies if u dun fel like sharing ur soooooo long ago pics. if 1day u decided to share, i stil wan to see! kekeke!!! =)

krazimitzi

>>Laobo: I signed for a cheap package under $3k. The gowns will have about 4 or 5 during the full shoot, but I'm only opting to have one indoors, the rest will all be outdoors. Will be more marfan but will have to find a way to do it then. AD itself I only want 1 gown because I find second march-in lame and marfan. I want the time to EAT at my own wedding! So I scrapped a lot of the bo liao traditions and am choosing to enjoy myself and actually BE AT my wedding hahahaha. My BS package includes AD photography also, so I thought it was quite reasonable. Don't want to spend so much money...

laobo

[krazimitzi] oh qte reasonable price ya. mmmmpp... wun be ma fan. jz tt u gotta change in the car. will the MUA tag along with you? if no, den all the gown oni 1 hairdo? all the gowns can be worn outdoor? french cannot leh. i heard only selected can wear for outdoor. probably scare the lace all these gt dirty. =(
wa u v unique hor? oni wana wear 1 gown. hahaha... hw abt tea dress? hahaha... so u gt live band etc? bcz u were saying u wan to njoy ur wedding ma. if i wan to engage BS's photographer for AD, it would be like $350 i tink. on top of my package which is 3888 or 3388. cnt rem oso. bt those are freelance de. i was tinking maybe engaged tt as no 2, den i will gt a no 1 PG. den morning 1 can go to groom side, 1 can go to bride side. Yeah! kekeke... =)

tsharon18

Ladies...
something to share.. my fren went to attend the crowne plaza wedding last sat. She say that the food not nice and the waitress service very lousy and also ballroom not cold.. now i was abit worry

krazimitzi

Oh no that is very very worrying indeed! one of the main reasons why I chose this place is also because it is Imperial Treasure, i thot it would hold some quality?? Can you feedback to Miss A about it??

>>laobo: yea having live band, also got frens performing for us. definitely want to enjoy my wedding. we wont be doing go round each table and take photos either, all photos to be taken before the makan starts man... yea PG is impt, I will definitely have more than 1. I don't have morning stuff either so no tea dress or what. We're not traditional, both our families not very Chinese, none of our family members even speak Mandarin hahaha!

tsharon18

>>Krazimitzi: I will feedback to A when drawing near but most likely u gals will be even more ahead than me. So in case u all meet up with her, can sound it to her. tis is based on so far one of my fren comment. so be take note. True tat Imperial Treasure suppose to be gd quality de...

laobo

My sis was also so excited when I told her I wana take CP. She was like "Imperial's food is nice!".. OMG.....
[Krazimitzi] ya urs is like a D&D kind event ya? Hahaha... sounds v entertaining and I believe u are going to have a lot of fun! b4 makan starts.... Will all the guests arrive on time? No offences but you know singaporeans..... Heex.... u can ignore all the traditions! so gd! i still gotta go & ask for date & time when to an chuang, when hubby to come pick me up etc. so troublesome!

krazimitzi

>>Blissful Gal: Yea Imperial Treasure even has a steady over 8 rating on Hungry Go Where which usually people give rather crap ratings even for Tung Lok which gets an average 6-7 rating only. I'm really shocked to hear such a comment and I can only hope it will be fine for ours!! Yea I will definitely feedback to A first since I am up next!

>>LaoBo: Haha no lah not D&D lah... If I wanted D&D I would have hired The Muttons to be my emcees! Haha. Yes I will make everyone arrive on time! Because I am a sucker for punctuality, never late for any appointment and all my friends know I get MAD when they are late. Hahahaha. I have been training them all these years already. Let's see if they dare to be late for my big day!!

I think it will also help that I will put 12:00 Noon SHARP, no breakdown of cocktail reception and lunch time. Most invites do that. But during my cocktail reception there will still be alot of things to do, I am having a full exhibition of our photos and other things, so it will be like visiting an art gallery hopefully! With canapes served too k!

Yea because neither of our families are traditional it makes it a lot easier. But I will adhere to some traditions like tea ceremony, not so much for luck or blessings or whatever the origin, but more of respect to our elders, as my hubby & I are both very close to our grandparents.

One of my friends who is rather traditional said, if you come from traditional families, it's better to go through every single tradition and custom. Not only to please everyone, but it's one of those, better be safe than sorry things! So silly but anyway I guess if you believe it then better do! Hahaha.