Cooking Recipes as promised

hey carol, thks for the recipe...will try them out someday...

but just to check with u 1 more time, what is meant by the following terms??

- hulled
- pureed (i often seen this in some of the recipes)
- softened (as in softening cream cheese?)
- what is quick oats aka oatmeal? is it the same as the cereal type (Quaker's oatmeal)??

and how to get/ make orange zests?? me bery jialat, super suaku...=P

Thks in advance...

Hi Mandy,
You mean Indian Roto prata with cheese???

Hi Huts,
I learn the how to cook bird nest soup from my mum.
Soak the bird's nest overnight in fresh water. Using a fine mesh
strainer drain and rinse the nest. Place in a saucepan and add 2
cups of water and the ginger slices. Simmer for 5 minutes and
drain in the strainer, discarding the ginger. Pick out any impurities
and add rock sugar & simmer for around 3hrs.

Hi Hippie,

Here's the explanations.
- Hulled : To remove the leafy parts of soft fruits such as strawberries or blackberries.

- Pureed : To press fruits or vegetables through a sieve or food mill or blend in an electric blender or food processor until food is free of all lumps. Sauces, soups, baby foods, vegetables are often puréed.

- Softened : To melt or leave it to room temp of the ingredients

- - Oatmeal : a cereal ground from hulled oats, is available in three textures: coarse, medium, and fine. Old-fashioned rolled oats have been flattened into flakes and are preferred over quick-cooking oats for baking.

- Orange zeats is from the skin of the orange, peel off the skin & cut into bits size.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol

I am also interested in making bird nest soup? Can I ask you what is a fine mesh strainer drain? Then after that we need to place the bird nest in the saucepan AND 2 cups of water into the saucepan with bird nest and ginger slices? Am I correct? What is the meaning of simmer for 5 minutes? Could you explain the procedure after that? Sori I am slow when it conmes to cooking.

stars

Hi Stars,
What I've shared above is a simplify version of what my mum taught me. I will post the complete version here.

Fine mesh Strainer drain: a strainer which is made of fine wire mesh, can be purchase from supermarket.

Hi Hippie,
You are welcome, hope to answer more of your questions.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Jowie,
Sorry, missed your posting eariler.

I bought my heart shaped mould from Phoon Huat Pte Ltd, they have many sizes there.
You can also get it form supermarkets, but not too many sizes available.

Cheers:
Carol

Thanks Carol! But i heard somewhere that you will have to pick the "feathers" out from the bird's nest??? Puzzled about that part too

Hi Huts,
Yap, it's true... 'cos the bird nest comes withthe feathers in it, so to soak them in water & pick the feathers out.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Curly,
Yes, You can. If you using it for baking, the final color of the final product may defers from the original.

Cheers:
Carol

hi pple,
got this recipe from the internet. Looks easy, delicious enuf to make....

Crockpot stuffed Chicken Rolls
==============================

6 skinless boneless chicken breasts havlves
6 slices cooked ham
6 slices swiss cheese
¼ cup flour
¼ cup parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon sage
½ teaspoon paprika
½ teaspoon salt & pepper each
¼ cup vegetable oil
1 can (10 ounce) cream of chicken soup
½ cup chicken broth

Method:
1. Flatten chicken & put ham & cheese on each slice.
2. Roll up & secure with toothpick.
3. Combine flour, parmesan cheese, sage, paprika, salt & pepper.
4. Coat chicken, chill for 1 hour.
5. Heat oil & brown chicken rolls. Put in crockpot.
6. Mix soup & broth, pour over chicken.
7. Cover & cook on low for 4 hrs.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">hi</FONT>
juz to share on the bird nest's thingy..

not necessary to soak "overnight", prob abt 3-4 hrs so that it softens and then u can remove some residue of feathers...

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">carol</FONT>, ur mum simmer for 4 hrs? my mum only took abt 1.5 - 2 hr (slow cooker) to cook leh.. oso, i juz asked the salesperson at the medical shop last Sunday (went to stock up bird nest) and he told me double-boil method is better.

* double-boil : somehow similar to steaming; fill pot with water, place bird nest in container; put container in pot; after water in pot boils, simmer for another 1.5 hrs and the bird nest is readey to serve.

anyway, got the following off the net :

Bird's Nest Soup
<FONT COLOR="119911">Possess nutrients that benefit the major organs of the body; Some Chinese traditionally eat this to give their baby a Fair &amp; Smooth Complexion!

Caution: Those who have history of allergies, especially asthma may need to avoid this soup as it can bring about rather severe allergic reactions such as swollen eyes, swollen mucous membranes, wheezing, etc. I have witnessed this with my own daughter and my husband.</FONT>

Hi Angelia

Thank you. I have not made bird nest soup before. Always eat those can ones. What kind of container to put be in the slow cooker? Simmer means?

stars

Hi Mandy,
Yap, I have the recipe for popiah...
Will post it here for you, OK.

Hi Angelia,
Thanks for sharing!

Hi Marie,
I have the recipe for egg tarts, will post it here for you.

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol
i didn;t know u know how to cook so well..wow.
it is time for me to learn how to cook....

care to include me???

regd
joanne

care to share ur recipe with me????
email me at [email protected]

i am learning to cook.. maybe just give me some recipe that help me to prepare a good daily meal.
anyonw knows how to cook nice sweet and sour fish? my hubby loves fish... and corn soup or fishball soup? stired fried kang kong???

thanks in advance

regd
joanne

hi all brides / brides2be,
I'm not a good cook, but I do have a humble self created recipe for breakfast / snack time to share:

5 minutes Ham and cheese Bun

Ingredients (for 1 bun):
1 Gardenia butter roll
half slice of ham
one slice of cheese (halved it)
one desert spoon myonaise
small amount of chopped onion

Method:

A) Cut a small opening from the top of the butter roll,

B) Into the bun,
1. spread some myonaise into the bun,
2. stuff in ham and half a slice of cheese (roll the ham n cheese together)
3. Sprinkle some chopped onions
4. Top up with a little myonaise

C) Finally, cover the opening of the bun with the other half slice of cheese.

D) Before eating, heat it up (&amp; melt the cheese) with microwave oven(30-45 seconds) or a toaster oven (1-2 minutes).

Can prepare the bun at night (while watching TV), keep in fridge and heat up for breakfast next morning.

hi joanne,

corn soup is very easy. u just boiled water together with dried scallops and dried cuttlefish, and let it boil for say 15 min. then put in the ba kut, 3 pcs will do, and let it boil for the next 20 min, then dump the corn in and simmer for the next 30 min. add some salt and you got nice soup~!!! my hubby love that.

hi happywife, ur "invention" sounds quite gd leh, will try it out some day...

ANyway, i have this recipe to share, real easy &amp; tasty...

(btw, there's no measurements, have to agar-agar urself)

Meatballs
=========
minced meat (beef or pork)
dry breadcrumbs
garlics, crushed
egg
cumin (agar around 1/2 teaspoon or less/more)
salt &amp; pepper

Method:
1. Mix egg, meat, breadcrumbs, garlic, cumin, salt &amp; pepper.
2. Make into balls.
3. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.
4. Add meatballs &amp; brown on all side.
5. Served immediately with your fav sauce.

Hi Marie,
Here's the recipe for egg tart.

Egg tart

Ingredients:
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 5/8 cup butter
- 1 egg yolk
- 7 tbsp confectioners' sugar
- 2 tbsp evaporated milk
- 5 eggs
- 3/4 cup white sugar
- 1 1/8 cups boiling water
- 1/2 cup evaporated milk
- 2 tbsp custard powder
- 1/4 tsp distilled white vinegar

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

2. Cream butter and confectioners' sugar. Mix in egg yolk, flour, and 2 tablespoons evaporated milk. Roll dough out thinly, and cut out rounds with a fluted cutter. Place into tart molds.

3. Bake for 12 minutes.

4. Beat eggs. Mix in 1/5 cup evaporated milk, custard powder, and white vinegar. Dissolve sugar in boiling water, and pour into custard mixture. Mix well, and let stand to remove air bubbles. Pour the egg custard into the baked tart shells.

5. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool.

Happy Baking!!!

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Joanne,
Welcome, welcome!!!!

Here's the recipe for sweet &amp; sour fish, chilli kang kong

Sweet and sour fish

Ingredients:

1 pound fish fillet
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
2 cups oil for deep frying

1 green bell pepper, diced
1 onion, diced
1 (8 ounce) can pineapple chunks, juice reserved
1 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
salt to taste
3 tablespoons ketchup
1 tablespoon water
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

Method:

1 Cut fish fillet into bite-size pieces. Place in a mixing bowl and combine with soy sauce and 1 tablespoon of flour. Let stand for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, heat oil in wok.

2 Deep fry halibut pieces until golden brown. Drain on paper towels; set aside.

3 For the Sauce, saute green pepper, onion and pineapple in a medium skillet for 1 minute. Stir in reserved pineapple juice, sugar, ketchup, water, remaining 2 teaspoons of flour, sesame oil, and salt to taste. Cook until thickened, stirring occasionally.

4 Serve, by dipping fried fish fillet pieces into sauce, or pour the sauce over the fish.

Chilli kang kong

Ingredients:
- Kangkong
- dried shrimps - soak and pound briefly
- blachan(dried shrimp paste) - grilled
- sugar
- chili paste - freshly made
- garlic - chopped
- oil
(you can use bottle sambal chilli as well )

Method:

1. Fry garlic till fragrant, add chilli paste, blachan and later dried shrimps.
2. Throw in a pinch of sugar. When it's fragrant, add kangkong. Take care not to over cook..

Cheers:
Carol

hi cAROL
thanks alot. anymore?? send me more recipes can???
through email....also can.. thanks in advance again.. will try out those two... then i tell u....
ehheheheh

regd
joanne

Hi Joanne,
Yes, Of course, I have lots lots more....
Chinese cooking, local delight, western cooking, french cooking, baking etc...
Will post it here...
If you notice from the previous message, I've posted quite a number of recipes here before.

Hi Alic,
Yes, I have that recipe.... One of my Grandma's favourite.
I'll post it here for you.

Cheers:
Carol

Carol, u really made my day! Have been looking for the recipe for long time. Thanks for sharing.

2 other recipes would love to have is the LAna chocolate cake recipe. I once bought a Betty Crocker's German supre moist chocolate cale mix. It tasted really like Lana's exceptthe coating which I used Hershey's ready madechoclate spread does not taste quite the same.

Another one is the Subway's Mini Tiger roll cake. My sis and I love it. We are looking at all cake recupe book but cannot findit.sigh.

My cake flop cos' i do not know how to "foldin" properly.ALways turned hard. But will try to bake the above 2 cakes If I have the recipes.

First will try the png kueh recioe first.
thanks carol! do post more grandma recipes here. I like the traditional food. ;)

Hi Mandy,
Sorry hor. Here's the Popiah recipe.

Popiah
- popiah
- yam bean
- carrot
- firm tofu
- dried shrimps(soaked)
- cabbage
- coriander
- lettuce
- salt
- freshly ground red chillies(ginger optional)
- dark thick sweet soya sauce
- ground peanuts and sesame seeds.

Method:
1. Get ready the spring roll wrap, thaw if necessary. Place on plate readdy to serve.

2. Dry roast peanuts and sesame seed separately. Get ready the sauces, lettuce and coriader. Place on plates ready for use.

3. Cut tofu into tiny cubes, shred cabbage and yam beans. Heat pan and fry dried shrimps, cabbage and yam bean till cooked, add tofu and season with salt and msg. Transfer over to a colander and press off excess juice. Put in a bowl ready to serve.

This is a do it yourself dish.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi all, got this from some mag, just wanna share this easy recipe:

Teriyaki Tofu
=============

3 pcs Chinese tofu
100ml Kikoman soy sauce
100ml mirin (Jap cooking wine)
2 tablespoon sugar
peanut oil

Method:
1. Divide each tofu into 2 pieces by slicing horizontally. Place onto a towel to absorb excessive moisture. Leave refrigerated for at least 1 hr.
2. Bring to boil soy sauce, mirin and sugar. Simmer gently to reduce to a glazing consistently. This is the teriyaki sauce.
3. Marinate the tofu in the teriyaki sauce for at least a few hrs.
4. Heat some peanut oil &amp; fry the tofu on both sides till there is a discernable crust or skin.

Hi Carol, do you know what is golden syrup? Can it be subsitute with maple syrup? And can plain flour and baking powder be subsitute with self raising flour? Thanks!!

then i must go &amp; try liao....cos i haven't tried yet but from the description, it seem really easy &amp; yummy...;p

Hi Curly,
Maple Syrup also known as golden syrup.
Is made by boiling the sap of the maple tree, has a rich, sweet flavor and a deep caramel color. Buy maple syrup that is labeled "pure," rather than a blend.
Yes, you can...

yes, you can add baking powder into plain flour, but the amount of baking powder must be in correct propotion.

Hi Hippie,
Yes, must definite try!

Cheers:
Carol

Thanks Carol!!! Last weekend, I tried a new recipe - Walnut cookies. Everyone loves them. They said fattening but can't get enough!!

Anyone know how to cook "Gong Bao Ji Din" chicken dice with dry chilli?

I want to cook for my wife cos she love to eat. But the problem is i tried many times it still doesnt taste like or look like restaraunt type. How do they make the dark black sauce which is so thick?

Do they use oyster sauce? i know that you need to add some type of wine also.

hi, xiao xin,

i have a own dong bao ji din menu where i do not added cashew nut cos my hubby and i hate them. but here is how my recipe works which my hubby love,

pre season the chicken cubes with the following
1. pepper, a little
2. light soy sauce, not too much
3. corn flour, also not too much

for cooking,
1. heat up about 2 table spoon of cooking oil
2. add garlic and stir fry for fragant
3. add the chicken cube and fried still almost cooked
4. add dark soy sauce
5. add water and dried chilli, use small fire to simmer till boil, (not too long, about 2-3 min)
6. then add sugar ( at this point, pls taste the sauce, if not good good enough, still can add dark soy sauce or sugar)
7. then add corn flour. ( the corn flour is mixed with water, mixed about 1 tablespoon of corn flour with 2 tablespoon water)
8. then stir till the mixture get thickens.

that all.

i dun think u need wine or oyster sauce. my mum also love this menu of mine. give it a try.

mandy

Hi Xiao Xin,
To make the black sauce thick, you can add in in cornflour...
It not only make it think but the chicken smooth too..
You can add in Shao1 Xin1 wine to it...

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Xiao Xin,
Here's the recipe of Kung Po Chicken("Gong Bao Ji Din")

5534.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1 1/3 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 4), cut into 1/2-inch pieces
- 5 tablespoons soy sauce
- 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons cornstarch
- 2 teaspoons sugar
- 2 tablespoons shao xin wine
- 2 teaspoons sesame oil
- 1/3 cup water
- 2 tablespoons cooking oil
- 4 scallions, white bulbs and green tops cut separately into 1/2-inch pieces
- 1/4 teaspoon dried red chilli

Method:
1. In a medium bowl, toss the chicken with 1 tablespoon of the soy sauce and the 1 tablespoon cornstarch &amp; shao xin wine

2. In a small bowl, combine the sugar, vinegar, sesame oil, water, and the remaining 4 tablespoons of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of wine, and 2 teaspoons cornstarch.

3. In a wok or large frying pan, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil over moderately high heat. Add the peanuts and stir-fry until light brown, about 30 seconds. Remove from the pan. Heat the remaining 1 tablespoon oil. Add the white part of the scallions and the dry red chiili to the pan and cook, stirring, for 30 seconds. Add the chicken with its marinade and cook, stirring, until almost done, 1 to 2 minutes. Add the soy-sauce mixture and the scallion tops and simmer until the chicken is just done, about 1 minute longer.

Cheers:
Carol

My favourite is Gond Bao chicken or pork chop.
I used Kee's brand Gong Bao sauce, and followed the recipe on the label.

Worth giving a try.

Hi Xiao Xin,

With all the above ingredients, I'm sure that your wife will like the Gong Bao Ji Din alot.

So when are you cooking for your wife.

Best,
NiNi

Hi Ni Ni,

She likes anything I cook for her. Just that i want to make it better. Maybe i didnt marinate, that's why the colour always white white when i add more water.

i will cook for her after our rom this sat, as well as other dish.

Thanks for the recipe. I'll try it and im sure it'll taste better than the one im cooking now :o)

Xiao Xin

your wife is sooo lucky....i am sure it'll taste better with the TLC that you hv in your dishes ;p