Cooking Recipes as promised

help needed

I plan to make teriyaki fish for dinner tonight but have absolutely NO clue whatsoever how to do the sauce.
Any recipes for teriyaki sauce? I have got mirin, sugar, soy sauce, just dun know in which proportion to add these. Help will be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks a ton in advance!

strawberi75

halo Carol,

after reading so much of yr recipes. I also want your recipes!!! Could u e-mail whatever receipes u have to me?

My e-mail is [email protected]

thanks and best regards,
strawberi75

hippie

anyone has the exact recipe for chicken wing (marinated in coke)?? cos i saw it from TV & my MIL says its taste quite nice...was wondering anyone out there hav the exact recipe..

jes

carol

i always come across this coke chicken (ke3 le4 ji1) in hong kong series, just wonder do you have the recipe? have you try it?

tomato

dunno if this is the recipe you are looking for... i've use Pepsi instead instead of coke to marinate my chicken wings. I roast them in those ugly looking turbo broiler, an oven will be the same. It's yummy... meat taste sweeter and juicier.

Just soak the chicken wings in 1 can of pepsi/coke for 1~2 hrs. Toss the wings every 15mins to make sure all wings come into contact with the pepsi.

After 1 hr drain away the coke. you'll find that the wings look more plumped-up. Then marinate the chicken with :
Condensed milk
black soya sauce
light soya sauce
five spice powder (Wu Xiang Fen)
pepper

Above is a recipe from my mom, i simply gave it a twist by soaking it in pepsi. heard about this method from my fren. can't rem the exact amt of each condiment & the chicken portion, let me check & update u again

jes

tomato

thanks...pls give me the correct proportion of the ingredients to use..i am a cooking dummy. ;p

carol

Hi Strwberi75,
Sure, I can email the recipes to you, but now really busy with my wedding preparations.

Hi Stars,
I have the recipe for mango pudding, will find some time to post it here.

Cheers:
Carol

strawberi75

hi stars,

tis is yr request.....

Mango Pudding

Ingredients:
2 pack unflavoured gelatin
175ml sugar
250ml hot water
750ml pureed fresh mangoes
750ml evaporated milk
8 ice cubes
fresh mangoes slices (for garnish)
1 lime

Method:
1. Add gelatin & sugar to hot water & mix until dissolved & smooth.

2. In a large bowl, mix mango puree, evaporated milk & ice cubes. Pour gelatin mixture into mango mixture & stir until ice cubes are melted.

3. Pour mixture into jelly mould & chill until set, at least 3hrs

4. To serve, dip jelly mould briefly in hot water then turn pudding out onto platter. Squeeze on some lime juice, garnish with mango slices if desired & serve.

stars

Hi Strawberi75

Thank you for the recipe. Like to check with you something. What does the recipe mean by 2 packs of gelatin? Where to get them? Thank you.

Can ask you all how do you all usually make curry? By buying those ready made paste to cook curry, are there good? I am new to cooking heehee so everything also blur. Next time must come here more often so ask you all for advice.

Carol,
Once you are free can email me a copy of your recipe can?

Take care

stars

dummycookalso

hi tomato,
Thanks for ur pepsi chicken wing recipe. Feel like trying tonight. But i'll be using pepsi twist. hopefully won't ruin the taste...
But may i know what's the purpose of adding condensed milk? I got the feeling that pepsi plus milk will give me stomach upset...

cheesecake

wld appreciate a receipe for Spaghetti Bolognaise. wanna try cooking it using those canned tomato puree instead of bottled pasta sauce.

carol

Hi Cheesecake,
Here's the recipe for Spaghetti Bolognaise, I'm cooking this for dinner this evening.

Spaghetti Bolognaise

5667.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 tablespoons butter
- 1/4 pound sliced bacon, cut crosswise into 1/4-inch strips
- 1 onion, chopped
- 1/2 pound ground beef or a mixture of pork, veal, and beef (meat-loaf mix)
- 1 cup canned low-sodium beef or chicken broth or homemade stock
- 1/2 cup dry white wine
- 2 tablespoons tomato paste
- 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
- 3/4 teaspoon salt
- 1/4 teaspoon fresh-ground black pepper
- 1/2 cup heavy cream
- 3/4 pound spaghetti
- 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Method:
1. In a large frying pan, heat the butter and bacon over moderately low heat. Cook until the bacon renders some of its fat, about 3 minutes. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until starting to soften, about 3 minutes longer. Stir in the ground beef and cook until the meat is no longer pink, about 2 minutes. Add the broth, wine, tomato paste, oregano, salt, and pepper. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the sauce thickens, about 25 minutes. Stir in the cream and remove from the heat.

2. In a large pot of boiling, salted water, cook the spaghetti until just done, about 12 minutes. Drain and toss with the sauce and the parsley.

Happy Cooking.

Cheers:
Carol

tomato

please note that my recipe above does not have any pepsi taste at all. But this method of will yield more delicious and juicier chicken. anyway if u r still interested, here's the detail recipe with the exact portions:

Just soak 1 packet chicken (from NTUC, about 20 wings) in 1 can of pepsi/coke for 1~2 hrs. Toss the wings every 15mins to make sure all wings come into contact with the pepsi.

After 1 hr drain away the coke, you'll find that the wings look more plumped-up. Ensure the chicken is drained as dry as possible, otherwise the marination ingredients which i'm listing below is not gonna penetrate thoroughly.

Then marinate the chicken with :
Condensed milk - 2 spoons
black soya sauce - 1 spoons
light soya sauce - 2 spoons
five spice powder (Wu Xiang Fen) - 1 teaspoon
pepper - 1 teaspoon
Oyster sauce - 2 spoons
*Spoons refer to those chinese soup porcelain/plastic spoons.

Leava aside for 2~3 hrs, tossing every 15mins in between.Then roast it!

The dark soya sauce will give the wings some colour to make it look more appetizing. I know some people find it strange to add condensed milk but u've gotta to try it to know the difference the milk makes, meat will taste more delicious and succulent. bye

angelia

found this off the net..

Aussie Porka-Cola (Serves 4)
750g pork cut into bite sized cubes cup oyster sauce
1 tablespoon ginger juice
1 teaspoon crushed garlic
1 tablespoon corn flour
1 stick of spring onion, sliced
2 cans of Coke
  1. <LI>Marinate pork with a can of Coke and put in the fridge for 3 hours. <LI>Better still, leave overnight. <LI>In a wok, heat up some oil. <LI>Add in pork, crushed garlic, ginger juice, oyster sauce and corn flour. <LI>Stir it all up. <LI>Pour in a can of Coke. <LI>Cover the wok. <LI>Let the pork and Coke simmer. <LI>Add spring onions. <LI>Stir some more. <LI>Enjoy with rice and Coke in a tall glass of ice.</LI>
oh, and turn off the flame.

hopeac

hi jes,

To make ginger juice, just need to use a grater to grate the ginger. After that, squeeze the juice from the grated ginger.

curly

Hi Carol

I wonder what's the best way to store nuts. I bought a kg of walnuts and stored them in jars. Yesterday I wanted to make some chocolate walnuts muffins but realised that they were slightly mouldy.... Is there a way to save them as still have quite a lot left? Thanks!!!

shiro

Before marriage, I never cooked a decent meal before. This thread has been a great help for beginner like me. For my own reference, I've done a "CUT &amp; PASTE" compilation of the recipes contributed in the thread and thought of sharing ...

(However, I know peanuts about webpage design... so I think this would be the simplest webpage u ever visited. Please bear with me. thanks!)

http://www.geocities.com/shiropan

shiro

One question: am I violating any copyrights rules? Please let me know if I'd.

Oh yah, forgot to deliver a BIG THANK YOU for all helpful ppl who used their precious time to post &amp; share recipes here.

carol

Hi Shiro,
I'm really happy to see another happy brides working hard in cooking....
It's something very precious!

Thanks, Shiro, I've visted your webpage and found really helpful for those whose are interested in learning cooking....

Thanks for the help....

Cheers:
Carol

stacy

Hi Carol,

Kindly advise what is the best method to remove the shell and membrane of bai-kuo (ginko). Also why home cook ginko always tastes bitter?

I always boiled them first, will shell them when cold. However, it is very difficult to remove the membrane.

Stacy

angelia

hi stacy,
The way we do the ginko nuts at home is this. We usually use something heavy, like the mortar head, (if you pound chilli, the pounder), to break open the shell, then use knife to remove the membrane. The reason, the ginko is bitter, is because of the shoot inside the ginko. You have to cut open the ginko nut, and remove the shoot. You can then boil your nuts with your barley water or whatever you want. Hope this helps.

hippie

hi shiro,
really hardworking of u to compile them all...so sweet of u!!

btw carol, for the teriyaki tofu, mus i deep fry them or just fry them like tat? cos tat time i made, the moment i put the tofu in, the base of the frying pan (shallow 1) immd. became black &amp; alot of smoke come up...cos i turned the fire too high liao...but i oso wonder is it to deep fry them??

does anyone have recipes for soups tat doesn't require stock cubes?? cos heard my mum saying using stock cubes often is not too healthy leh...

mandy

hi hippie,

for soups, dun have to always put stock cubes, all u need to do is to put in some dried scallops and dried cuttlefish... then add in some salt will do... of course, the usual pork ribs has to be in there as well.

only issue is, u have to boil at least 2 hours, simmer boil, b4 the taste is out

little_foot

Does anyone have a recipe for chicken or beef stew? Thinking of cooking for my hubby tonight. Thanks!

hippie

hi mandy,
problem is i would like something fast &amp; gd &amp; boiling it for 2 hrs is quite long leh..any other suggestions?

carol

Hi Stacy,
I think Angeline has given you a very clear describution on how to remove the shell of ginko.

Another way to taste sweet, soak them in sugar water before cooking....

Hi Hippie,
Black smoke are cause by the water of the tofu. try to dry them with pape towels before placing them into hot oil and also try not to use too high heat.

Cheers:
Carol

obride

Hi Stacy, Angeline and Carol
I love ginko nuts!!! I have another tip on preparing the ginko nuts...
after deshelling, soak the ginko's in a bowl of hot water, after the water turn luke warm, removing the membrane will be a breeze.. and i heard that the shoot is VERY cooling, so it is better to remove them b4 cooking

stacy

Hi Angeline, Carol and Obride,

Thanks for sharing tip of shelling ginko.
Will try out the method tomorrow.

Stacy

mandy

kekek.. why not try the can ginko? easy to prepare and the taste is also better than the shell kind. i always use it to cook red dates longan ginko dessert..very nice.

mandy

hippie

hi carol,
thks 4 the tip...

Btw mandy,
where to get bacon bones? and how to prepare it?
Also, hw to prepare ur red dates longan gingko dessert? Care to share??

mandy

hi hippie,

for bacon bone,

u can get them from cold storage, normally they are snap up very fast, cos they made very nice soup. they should be placed together at the pork ribs counter.

normally for soup, we add in pork ribs rite? so now instead of pork ribs, add in the bacon and let it boil fast for at least 15 min then add in the rest of the stuff for the soup. so it will be much faster...

as for the red dates longan ginko dessert, here is how it goes

use about 10- 15 red dates
dried longan ( quanity as you desire, normally, i put a small handful)
1 can of ginko soup
1 bunch of panda leaf
rock sugar
white fungus (optional)

boil about 1 pot of water, ( can be quite a big pot)when the water is boiling, add in the red dates and panda leaf, let it boil for about 15 min, then add in the dried logan and it boil for another 20 min. finally add in the ginko and rock sugar and let everything boil for 1/2 hour, small fire. if you like, can also add in the white fungus togethr with the ginko. oh... the rock sugar, pls taste to see how sweet u like it to be.

when ready, u can serve it hot or cold.

have fun!

mandy

obride

hi, anyone know how to make braised tofu? the kind where u deepfry the very very soft tofu, and then pour starchy sauce over? is there any secret for deep frying the soft tofu?

hippie

hi mandy, tks for the recipe...btw, when u add in the gingko, do u add in the soup as well? Cos from wat i understand, the can of gingko is immersed in soup rite? and where to get dried longan? me totally clueless...

does NTUC sell bacon bones? or only cold storage hav it? Paiseh ask so many qns...

mandy

hi hippe,

nono... dun add in the water from the can. wash the ginko, rather, rinse them. dried longan can get from NTUC or any other supermarket.

i dun think NTUC sell bacon bone. i only see it in cold storage.

mandy

mandy

hi hippie,

white fungus and black fungus can be get at all supermarket where the dried spices is.

mandy

alic

Hi Carol,

waitedlonglong time for the 2 recipe requests. One b4 CNY and the other about a month ago.

Have found the one for Png kueh from " make your own pasrry" and had bought the book.

But wonder where to get kueh moulds?

Also still looking for Tiger cake roll recipe (from Subway)..

Tkd/

carol

Hi Alic,
Really sorry about that, I might have forgotton about it since I'm busy preparaing for my coming wedding this month....
You can get Kueh Mound from Phoon Huat
Check outtheir varies outlet at:

www.phoonhuat.com.sg

Cheers:
Carol

mandy

I have been searching for the recipe for watercress soup, but couldn't find. I would appreciate greatly to have it. Thanks!

mandy

hi mandy,

i am also mandy here...ekkeke...

actually for watercress soup, quite easy to prepare,

u just have to boil water, put in some red dates and dried scallops, bring to boil, then add in pork ribs, and let it boil under medium heat for about 1/2 hour. then add in the watercress and let it simmerboil for another 1 hour. add in salt to taste.

that willdo!!!

have fun

mandy

mandy

Hi mandy!
hehe...such a coincidence we have the same names!! anyway, thanks a ton for your advice! will go make watercress soup now...