Cooking Recipes as promised

mandy

hi mandy,

welcome!!!
hope it will taste good!!!

alic

Hi carol,

will check out at PH. Understand u r busy with wedding prep. Hope u stull pop in this forum.

hippie

hey pple, anybody hav the recipe for "mi gua xi mi lu" ?? the dessert normally served at wedding dinner??

home

Do you have receipe for stuffed chicken wing?
I dont know whether it's called stuffed chicken wing ornot. But I know is a chicken wing without bones and inside is stuffed with other ingredients.
My hubby likes to eat but i don't know how to cook it. Hope you all can help mi. Thanks!

hippie

hey angelia, these are very interesting recipes to share...

anyway, just discovered a bery easy way to make green tea ice-cream...below is the recipe (which is taken from a website):

Intro
------
The tea to use for cookies or ice cream is called "matcha", which is Japanese powdered green tea used for the tea ceremony. You should be able to find it in any Japanese grocery.

Ingredients:
------------
Matcha
1 container of premium vanilla ice cream
Fresh strawberries

Preparation:
------------
1. The easiest way to make green tea ice cream is to buy a container of premium vanilla ice cream (Haagen Daz works well). Allow it to soften slightly and mix in the green tea powder to taste.(Be careful as it can be quite
strong).
2. Put it back in the freezer and let it freeze solid again before using it. It is wonderful served with fresh strawberries. One thing you should know about matcha is that it has a high caffeine content - I can't eat green tea ice cream after 7 PM.

carol

Hi Alic,
Thanks for been so understanding.
Sure, I'll still log on to SB when ever I'm free.

Angelia,
Thanks for sharing the recipe, sound so interesting and yummy!

Cheers:
Carol
:0

shirsweetiepie

Hi Curly

Glad 2 see u in this thread.... remember me ?

Hi Shiro

Been to ur webpage. It's definitely simple and easy to read, understand & find a good decent menu from there ..

Tks 4 the effort .

I am a newbie in tis thread, can email me @ [email protected], shld U have any further receipes 2 share!

I am currenty looking for recepies for my darling 2molo, hope to attack him " by the stomach" 9 pardon me,shdl I phrase it wrongly!!!) ;(

curly

Yes, I remember you, shirsweetiepie. I love trying out new recipes (only those easy to cook ones) especially baking.

angelia

Grilled Lemon Herb Pork Chops
(Makes 6 servings)

1/4 cup lemon juice
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon pepper
6 (4 ounce) boneless pork loin chops

1. In a large resealable bag, combine lemon juice, oil, garlic, salt, oregano and pepper. Place chops in bag, seal, and refrigerate 2 hours or overnight. Turn bag frequently to distribute marinade.
2. Preheat an outdoor grill for high heat, and lightly oil grate. Remove chops, and reserve marinade for basting.
3. Grill pork chops for 5 to 7 minutes per side, basting frequently, until no longer pink. Discard any leftover marinade.

huts

Hi Carol & girls,

does any of you have any simple recipe for snow skin mooncake...heard that dun need to bake rite? was thinking of making some for fun this year...thanks in advance!

shiro

Angelia, I got one here... proportion of ingrdients, u gotta aga-aga... here it goes...

Ingredients:
Chopped garlic
Chopped big onion
eggs
Tomato ketchup
Maggie Chilli Sauce
a bit of oyster sauce
hotdog, cut into small pieces
yellow noodle, soak for 15-20 minutes.

1. Heat a little oil, and fry garlic n onion till fragrance
2. Add hotdog, eggs stir fry
3. Add noodles, stir fry
4. Add the sauces, stir fry

piglet

hi fellow cooks!

anyone knows the receipe for english trifle?

a colleague made it for us when my husband is studying in Leicester and i simply love it (ignoring the high fat content). i have this sudden craving for it now. anyone can help me??? pleeaassseeee....

kk

gals,

anyone has any nice cake/biscuit making recipe to share? Any recommendations of website? Hmm..looking for those recipes more meant for chinese. Dun really like western cakes or cookies.

carol

Hi Huts,
Hahaha... Woh really looking at mooncakes already.

Ok, I've tried making them last mooncake festival.
Maybe I could ask my mum to write down the recipe & then post it here..

Cheers:
Carol

hippie

anyone have the exact recipe for stir-fry liver ??
and other easy microwave recipes to share??

thks in adv....

whiterose

Hi, I like home make pineapple tart very much. Anyone got nice home make pineapple tart recipe. Would appreciate if you could share with me the recipe cos very much wanted to learn.
Thank you very much.

carol

Hi Huts,
Here's the recipe of Green Tea snowcake mooncake
PrimaDeli Green Tea Snowskin Mooncakes
Makes 20 mini snowskin mooncakes
Time needed: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

Premix Flour 400g*
Vegetable Shortening 50g
Water and green tea essence 155ml
Green tea essence 5ml
Green Tea Paste 466g
* PrimaDeli uses its own brand of Premix Flour for its snowskin mooncakes. The premix flour consists of a mixture of edible cooked flour and icing sugar. Cooked flour can be bought separately in supermarkets.

1) Pour all the premix flour into the baking blender or mixer. Add shortening, water and green tea essence.
2) Stir to ensure consistency of the dough.
3) Spread a little flour on a clean table. Put dough on table, and knead it thoroughly.
4) Roll the dough into a long, cylindrical shape.
5) Cut the dough up into small pieces, measuring about 3 cm long, and weighing about 30g.
6) Flatten the dough ¡V this is the snowskin of one mooncake.
7) Roll the green tea paste into a round ball, weighing about 35g. Put the paste in the middle of the snowskin.
8) Fold in the dough slowly so as to envelope the green tea paste filling.
9) Coat the traditional wooden mould with a bit of flour (to prevent sticking). Put the mooncake in one of the moulds.
10) Press the dough in firmly but gently.
11) After about a minute, knock the mould on all sides until a perfectly shaped mooncake slides out.
12) Serve the mooncake.

Store the mooncakes in the fridge for a cold, refreshing bite. Snowskin mooncakes can keep for 10 days, as compared to the traditional baked mooncakes, which can keep for up to 3 months.

Cheers:
carol

huts

thanks carol but if i dun want green tea cos i dun like the taste..can i just replace the green tea essence with pandan or sumthing?

eggy

Help! I am going to try to cook pasta tonite and just notice that the recipe says to put pasta into boiling salted water. Pardon my ignorance but how much salt to put and when to put? when the water is boiling? why do we need to put salt?

angelia

hi eggy,

I do not how pple do it. But for me, I put a big pinch of salt into the water, then boil the water. When the water boil, then put in the pasta. But I think so long you put the salt in before you put in the pasta, should be ok. If you do not put salt in, the pasta does not expand, it remains very hard or take very long to expand/cook (that is what i observe from experience). But maybe, someone else can give you a better answer.

eggy

Hi Angelia & shiro

thanks! i put 2 teaspoons of salt into the water then i boil it....luckily my pasta turn out quite well

shiro

hi eli,

according to one recipe, it said that putting salt before water boil will slow down time to boil... so advisable to add after water boils...
not sure how different it can be...

can try...

stars

Wow so long no one come to this website. How is everybody?

Wonder anyone has a recipe for butter cake? Very simple right. But I can't find leh.
Than kyou

stars

catz

I think it's because our star chef carol hasn't been around.

As for the pasta, you're supposed to wait for the pasta to boil vigourously, then chuck in the salt and then, pasta. My uni flatmate was Italian so that's how I learned to make perfect al dente pasta.

Sorry stars, I don't have the recipe for butter cake leh.

carol

Hi Stars,
Hahaha..... Really miss you gals.... I'm now on honeymoon. Enjoying ourselves in an internet cafe.

Take care!

Hi Catz,
Really miss my cooking days.
Will be back with more recipes after my honeymoon.

Cheers:
Carol

catz

Just got this recipe from my colleague's wife for quick and easy tau hway

A. Unsweetened SOBE soya bean milk 1 litre
Water 500ml

B. Cornflour 2 tablespoons
Gypsum powder 2 teaspoons
Water 100 ml

1. Get ready suspension of B in a medium sized pot
2. Boil A gently stirring often to avoid burning
3. Once boiled, pour A into B from a little height (roughly 10 inches above pot) to allow for instant mixing without need for stirring
4. Cover pot with lid and a wet cloth over lid and let stand for 1 hour
5. Serve with sugar solution (boil water in water +/- pandan leaves) or tin of honey sea coconut or longan

Tips:
Half the recipe is just right for the standard 750ml microwaveable transparent food container.

Gypsum powder is sold as 'Gysan powder' in shops selling baking needs = calcium carbonate.

Enjoy!

stars

Hi Catz

Thank you for the recipe. I will try out but muxt first find out where to buy the Gypsum powder. I like to eat twa hway very much.

stars

catz

hi stars,

me too! looking for the gypsum powder.. keep me informed if you manage to find. i had to 'borrow' from my colleague!! :p

cutedi

anyone know how to make fishball. want to try homemade one. hee.. =)

pngkueh

does anyone have a recipe for making good and delicious png kueh? please share with me.

thank you all very much!

cody

Hello

Anybody here got recipe for thick creamy red bean soup? (You know, its those that chinese restaurants serve as dessert ... the red beans are all in powdery form by the time we eat it...)

Those that has the whitish / yellowish round nut (dunno what it's called) and sometimes peanut as well ?

pngkueh

hi mushroom,

for me, i just stir fry the mushrooms with lots of garlic and butter. the taste is great too. hope it helps.

pngkueh

hi cody,

i think they just use slow cooker to cook the red beans which is why they are all so mashed up. but sorry, don't have the exact recipe.

the yellowish round nut are actually lotus seeds.

cody

oh? slow cooker eh? i must try then ...
i thot pressure cooker than chia lat ...
i hate the pressure cooker
when the steam comes popping out, macam like explosion like dat ...
maybe my pressure cooker at my parent's place is the old fashion type ....

thanks pngkueh !

pngkueh

hi cody!

no problem. pressure cooker also can since can use the pressure to mash the beans

think you have to double check the other girls. i just aga the method only. hee...hee

whiterose

Hi Cody, the dessert you've mentioned is called Red Bean Paste With Lotus Seed. I also like this dessert very much but I don't have the exact recipe. I ever heard that they actually cook it over nite until the bean become paste.

whiterose

Cody, ya, I heard that to make red bean paste has to cook it over nite so that it can cook until like paste. But don't know how ture.

carol

Hi cutedi,
Here's the recipe for making fishball, it taught by my mum's old neighbour whom used to sell fishball noodles.

Fishball
Ingredients:
300 grams mackarel
1 tsp tapioca flour
1 1/2 tsp salt

Method:
1. Clean and filet the fish. Scarpe off the flesh with a tablespoon. Knead the fish flesh on a chopping board using the flat side of a kitchen knofe until smooth.

2. Add tapioca flour and 1 tsp salt and work it in 4 tbsp water until tou get a soft sticky paste. Wet hands and shape the fish balls. Dip each ball on salty water before placing it on a plate.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Mushroom,
Here's the recipe for sauteed mushroom:

Sauteed Mushrooms

7658.jpg

Ingredients:

- 1 package dried porcini
- 1 cup cool water
- 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
- 2 tablespoons minced yellow onion
- 1 tablespoon minced garlic
- 1 lb assorted fresh mushrooms, stems removed, brushed clean and sliced
- 1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
- 1/4 cup dry Italian white wine
- Salt and freshly ground pepper

Method:
1. In a bowl, combine the porcini and water. Let stand until softened, about 20 minutes. Remove the porcini, reserving the liquid. Clean the porcini, if needed, and chop coarsely. Strain the porcini liquid through a fine-mesh sieve lined with cheesecloth (muslin) into a clean container, then discard all but 1/4 cup of the liquid.

2. In a frying pan over medium heat, warm the olive oil. When hot, add the onion and garlic and sauté until fragrant, about 30 seconds; do not allow to brown. Add the porcini and fresh mushrooms and continue to sauté over medium heat, stirring continuously to prevent burning, until slightly limp, about 3 minutes.

3. Add the 1/4 cup reserved porcini liquid and simmer for 3 minutes. Add the parsley and white wine and simmer over medium heat until there is only 1/4 cup liquid remaining, 8-10 minutes.
Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Cody,

Here's the recipe for Red soup:

Red Bean Soup

7666.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1 cup dried red beans, soaked 4 hours or overnight, drained

- 1/4 cup dried lotus seeds, soaked for 12 hours, or overnight, drained

- 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup sugar

Method:
1. Combine beans and 7 cups water in large pot. Bring to boil. Reduce heat to medium-low.

2. Cook uncovered until beans are tender and the liquid has reduced by 3 cups, about 2 hours. Add the lotus seeds and cook until almost tender, about 20 minutes longer. Divide soup among 8 soup bowls and serve.

P.S (The dried lotus seeds, with a slight nutty flavor, are added to create a dramatic contrast in color and texture.)

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

You are back to give us all the solutions and recipes. Yeh! hurray!
I have tried out some of the recipes from these recipes. Now I am trying to learn how to make pizza and durain puff and eclairs. You have any ?

stars