Cooking Recipes as promised

hi carol,

sorry, i have not gotta it. have to trouble u to email me again, pai seh...thanks
my email add : [email protected]

(note: there is an underscore between may & matsu)

16004.gif

hi carol,

tried to make almond cookies yesterday..but failed

am i supposed to cream the shortening & sugar with a mixer or a spoon will do the trick?

think i've added too much almond extract...the smell overpowered the cookies...end up, threw everything away

think will just stick to making pineapple tarts for CNY...has been quite successful with pineapple tarts so far....

piper,
Which recipe did you followed, sorry I posted too many liao, can't remember which one.

Since your pineapple tarts are successful, try making more...

Hi leafy,
the shrimp paste can be bought @ Shop & Save!

Your look @ those bottled ones. I saw it, but forgot the brand! Sori! The brand quite famous n has a lot of sauces for different uses. Often use the sauce for BBQing.

If I am not wrong, should be Lee Kum Kee brand. You go and look see look see.

Hi Carol,

Thanks for your cereal prawns recipe. Received loh but not yet tried making. Do you have recipe for making sugee cookies? I tried yesterday evening from a recipe i got from the internet but failed. instead of it becoming a dough like what the recipe says, my turns out like a cake recipe mixture. if you have a recipe to share, I would like to learn.

berries

Hi Carol,

Tried your hazelnut cookies recipe but failed lay. Mine turn out like flakes like tat lay. In the end I threw everything.
I don't know what went wrong,follow your recipe closely liao.

Hi berries,
Hummm.... did I sent it to you? Can't really remember.

Sugee Cookies Recipe

INGREDIENTS:
125 g : Ghee
95 g : Icing sugar
220 g : All-purpose flour

METHOD:
1. Pre heat the oven to 160c.
Mix the butter and icing sugar in a cake mixer bowl until soft and creamy.

2. Remove the bowl from the mixer and add the sifted flour. Work it with your fingertips until smooth.

3.Line a sheet pan with greaseproof paper or grease it lightly with butter. Take a tbsp of the mixture at a time, shape into a ball and place on the pan.

4. Bake for 10 minutes until light golden brown. Remove from theoven and cool on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container.

Hi Mary,
So sorry to hear that..

Hummm... looks like that recipe didn't worked for you leh.

Ok, Think I should post this here..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Problems can occur during the making and baking of cookies.
Here are some solutions, however, you need to remember that the recipe dictates whether you will get a puffy, crispy or chewy cookie.

Any time you start playing around with the ingredients, the recipe has a greater chance of not working.

The best solution is to try another recipe that gives you exactly what you want.

Other problems occur because of a technique not being used.</FONT>

Can you tell me more happened to the final cookies, is it too hard???

hi carol,

I tried the first almond cookies recipe that uses shortening instead of margarine. but nevermind lah...will try again after the CNY.

i've another recipe for sugee cookies, but they include sodium bicarbonate. is there a diff?

Ingredients:

Flour - 600g
Sugar - 200g
Ghee - 500g
Baking Powder - 2 teaspoons
Soda Bicarbonate - 1 teaspoon
Salt - 1 teaspoon

Method:

1. Sift flour, baking powder and Soda Bicardonate together.

2. Add salt &amp; sugar.

3. Add Ghee - a little at a time mixing the ingredients with the hand.

4. Shape into small balls, place on baking tray.

5. Apply some egg yolk on top

6. Bake at 170 degree celsius for 20mins.

Hi piper,
The difference is between the sweetening used.

The one you've posted is using normal castor sugar, which tends to be more heavy, therefore I guess Soda Bicardonate is used to lighten the cookies.

While the one is using icing sugar, lighter.

hi carol,

OIC...thanks for the enlightenment!

think might try ur recipe if got time this weekend. looks fairly easy to make.

can i add crushed almonds to make almond sugee? do i have to reduce the flour or something?

Dear Carol n Piper,

Thanks for your help! Hope you can clear my doubts.

1. Can i use buter instead of ghee? it is very difficult to wash off ghee from the utensils.

2. How long do i need to preheat the oven at 160C for?

3. I have ever tasted some sugee abit salty? do i need to add salt?

Hi berries,
Here's my answers:

1. In some recipe, butter is been used, but for this one, Ghee will taste better.
Wipe off the oil stain using kitchen towels &amp; wash, it's easiler in this way.

2. about 15 mins.

3. You can add a bit of salt (a pinch) to the above recipe.

Hi Carol,

I attempted your recipe of kueh bangkit yesterday. Earlier I have seen yr postings regarding the amount of coconut to use (which is 200ml water and 600 ml coconut milk). My intention was to bake half of the amt based on the recipe. So everything I cut into half portion (500g of tapioca flour, 2 eggs etc). I'm using the instant coconut powder, had added 450ml to the powder. Apparently the liquid is more than the tapioca flour can absorb, I've but no choice to fry another 500g of flour and add 2 more eggs (the exact amt of ingredients). Luckily a dough is able to be formed after adding the flour (think it's on the dry side but I didn't add any more water in it). Overall the kueh bangkit turned out to be ok, the taste is there, it's a bit hard but not as bad, a bit can melt in the mouth. Spent abt 2 and a half hours baking (at least 5 batches into the oven).

Would like to check with you:
1) Is the total amt required for coconut milk (with water) 800ml? (because I'm using 450ml of liquid)
2) in the recipe, the thickness is 0.5cm. If the thickness is 1 cm, can I say I've to bake for 40mins (double the required time)?
3) After 20mins, you bring the cookies out from the oven, do you test one pcs to see if it's ok? What is the tendency that you need to re-bake (after the 20 mins)?
4) Do I need to cool down the tapioca flour after frying?

Got one more question on sponge cake: what is the tips for baking soft sponge cake? Does it matter on using wooden or metal spoon when folding?

thanks in advance.

16088.gif

hello everyone,

may i join in as well?

carol, i have tried your pineapple tarts recipe but have failed.
got problem with making the jam. the jam ended being as hard as a rock after it has cooled down and the colour turns canary yellow after i put it in the fridge. can you please advise me? thank you very much!

hi blimp,

actually i didn't cook the pineapple..i bought those ready made one from Phoon Huat.

taste ok...but cannot expose the pineapple when baking, if not, it will become very hard. i shape my pineapples like those sold in bengawan solo. that way, the pineapple won't become hard.

Wow... so many postings... Ok let me look through them.

Dolphin,
here's my answer to your questions.
1. don't really understand your question.
2. You don't have to double the baking time, this will make overbake the cookies, making them hard.
Increase the temp.

3. The colour of the cookies will be slightly darker after baked, so if you want to test it, no prob too! I didn't re-bake it, as that will make the cookies turn hard.

4. Leave it to cool for a while before mixing to let some of the hot air escape.

I usually used a woodedn spoon or a spatula to fold the mixture.

Hi Blimp, Welcome to this thread....

from your describtion, I think the pineapple filings are not well cooked. It's been over-cooked, making the texture too hard. Did you try to stir the fillings continuous while cooking over low flame?
16129.gif

If you want to make again, &amp; didn't want to go through the tedious steps, can get the ready-made ones from Phoon Huat.

Thought I'll post this here..
<U><CENTER><FONT COLOR="0000ff">Step-by-Step Baking Tips</FONT></CENTER></U>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">No matter what the recipe, make sure you always:
1. Measure dry ingredients in a dry ingredients measuring cup or spoon.

2. Measure liquid ingredients in see-through measuring cups at eye level.

3. Use an oven and/or instant read thermometer for precise temperatures.

4. Follow each recipe exactly.

5. Preheat the oven.</FONT>

<U><CENTER><FONT COLOR="119911">BEFORE YOU START:</FONT></CENTER></U>

<FONT COLOR="119911">Tip #1: Read through the recipe &amp; gather the ingredients, make sure all pans and equipment are clean and dry, wash &amp; dry hands before starting.

Tip #2: Pre-measure the flour &amp; other ingredients. Use the best &amp; freshest ones you can find. Prepare any in advance, if necessary.

Tip #3: Use the appropriately sized baking pans &amp; properly prepare them.

Tip #4: Adjust oven shelves &amp; preheat the oven. Use an oven thermometer.

Tip #5: Carefully follow each mixing step in the recipe. DO NOT Over- or Under-Mix. Each step has a purpose. Use a kitchen timer to help you keep track of how long to mix, etc.

Tip #6: Don't crowd the oven &amp; avoid opening the oven door during baking. With certain recipes, rotate pans halfway through baking.

Tip #7: Pay special attention to baking times. Let your eyes, nose, as well as other indicators be your guide.

Tip #8: Cool baked goods thoroughly before serving or storing.

Tip #9: Finishing Touches

Tip #10: Store baked goods properly. </FONT>

Cheers...

16130.gif

Hi Carol,

Thanks. Will try probably on weekend.
I tried making pineapple tarts but somehow, i think the tarts pastry after baking, turns like "biscuits type", not like those which can melt in the mouth kind. Is it because my pastry when i rolled is too thin, i must make a thicker mold?

Berries

Hi berries,
Looks like you have not put in enough butter, when mixing the dough, take care not to over-mixed, this will cause the dough to be hard.

No need to roll a thicker layer, just follow the recipe thickness.

16142.gif

Hi Carol, I've tried your recipe to make Kueh Bangkit over the weekends but failed?
My dough turned too powdery after I added in the 1kg tapioca flour. Just to confirm, your 2 1/2 grated coconut is equal to how many ml of coconut milk? I've baked pineapple tarts using my own recipe and it turned out very nice. Pls see below for recipe.

Pineapple Tarts
400g top flour
2 egg yolks
1 egg white
250g butter (cold &amp; hard)

Method: Just knead the above together. Bake for 15mins at 160 degree celsius.

Hi Giggler,

Did you read my posting earlier regarding my kueh bangkit? I almost wanted to throw away after first attempt but decided to get another packet of 500g tapioca flour to try it out. How many ml did you use? I used 450ml for 1 kg of flour.

So the above recipe for pineapple tarts is meant for the tarts, right? And for the paste, you use Carol's recipe, is it?

hello everyone!

dolphin, will u be trying it out? i love pineapple tarts so that's y wanted to do my own.

piper, i saw some at phoon huat but did not know whether to buy them or not as i m afraid that they might be too sweet or sour. since u have mentioned that they tasted not bad, i might get the jam from there if my jam fails again this weekend. will make a final attempt before i 'surrender' heh...

carol, i guess so too.
i did stir continuously and cooked the jam over a very low heat. maybe it's because i don't know how to judge when is the jam cooked. usually what colour if the jam is cooked just right? mine is brownish but turned yellow when i leave it to cool. *scratch head* and i also m not too sure how sticky and think it should be.

Hi Dolphin &amp; blimp, I used pineapple paste from Phoon Huat. But I added syrup to the paste as I find them too hard &amp; sour. One trick is to bake the pastry without paste first. After 5-7 mins, then take out to put the paste and bake again. That way, the paste won't get hard lor.

As for the kueh bangkit, I used 180ml of coconut milk for 500g tapioca flour. That's why, the dough turned so powdery. In the end, I threw everything away.

carol,

just finished the kueh bangkit... hai...
1st batch was as hard as rock, like crunchy biscuits. 2nd batch better, but middle portion not very cooked.

anyways, to check w u...
step: to beat egg yolks and sugar til dissolved.
> the sugar dun seem to dissolve after beating with electric beater for like 5-10mins. it only manage to dissolve when i mix with coconut.

btw, i used 800ml for 1kg of flour. i mixed 600ml of pkt coconut milk w 200ml of water, still looks thick.

Hi Carol,

Can you kindly share with us the recipe for white nian gao ... those that are usually moulded in the form of a fish.

neece,
Are you using fine sugar(castor sugar) for the recipe?
If yes, then contiunue to beat the sugar til dissolved which is longer than 10mins.

Hi Carol,

if I'm using half of the ingredients (500g tapioca flour etc), it will mean that the coconut milk will be 400ml, right?

I used 450ml on 500g tapioca, apparently too much liquid, the flour got dissolved in the coconut milk. After the flour was dissolved in the milk, there is still excess milk. What I did was mixed in another 500g of tapioca flour. Though the dough is a bit dry, I did not add in any more water to make it soft.

Now I just wonder why the 800ml of milk seems to be too much for the 1kg flour.