Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi Dolphin,
Hummmm.. sems like their some difficulties in getting the kueh Bangkit baked well.

Alirght then, I've found an recipe from Arts central. I have not try out myself, but hope will be useful.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Kueh Bangkit</FONT>

- 455g Tapioca Flour
- 5 Eggs
- 395g Sugar
- 300ml Santan
- 2 tablespoon Red Food Colouring

Directions:

Dry fry the tapioca flour with pandan leaves.

Then let it cool and sift the flour.

Beat the eggs, then add sugar, continue beating till sugar dissolves.

Then add santan into mixture, don't beat it, stir.

Add the egg mixture to the tapioca flour, bit by bit.

Knead it till it becomes a nice dough that doesn't stick to your hand.

Take a handful of dough, flatten with a rolling pin till it's about 1cm thick.

Use the kueh bangkit cookie cutter to make the shapes.

Pinch kuehs with baking tweezers.

Dot the "chicken-shaped" kueh bangkit using a toothpick, with the red colouring.

Place the kueh onto a baking tray.

Pre-heat oven to 160 degrees Celsius and put in the kueh bangkit for 10 minutes or till surface is slightly brown.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">P.S. the santan here refers to a brand of cocout milk.</FONT>

Thanks, Carol.

Will try out this recipe one of these days (not the next few weeks).

Have you finish baking the CNY goodies?

Earlier I saw Bengawan Solo selling mini chocolate chips cookies, intend to bake some for the CNY this weekend.

Dolphin,
I thot is recipe would be clearer for beginners on Kueh Bankit.
Hope you'll succeed this time.

Yap, I've finished baking all the CNY goodies, already distributed most of them liao.

hello all,

dolphin, ok, hope yours will turn out to be successful.

giggler, thanks for the tip! will try and see.

carol, must not too dry right? then do i have to make sure the jam is thoroughly cooled before putting it into the fridge? need to check with you too, the recipe says 1kg of pineapple. the weight is taken before we chop up the pineapple and squeeze the juice correct? sorry for asking such a silly question.
hope you can help...

blimp,
Yap, try not to cook too try or browned as during baking the juice will be dried up a bit.

I kg of pineapple is including the chopped-up pinapple &amp; juice.

Cheers...
16236.gif

Hi Carol, u're really efficient leh. I didn't manage to finish my baking so got to rush home to continue my tasks tonite. Did u manage to bake what u intend to ?

Hi piper,
I also thinking of using Phoon Huat pineapple paste, how many tarts can 1 packet make ? Can u share the pastry recipe ?

Hi Giggler,
I am efficient cos I have helpers that day.

I did managed to finish what I intended to bake, but later found that it's not really enough, as hubby &amp; myself brought more to the office. Then I give some to the brides here as well. I'm still thinking if I've time, Im going to bake MORE!!!

Hi Carol, I'm suffer the same fate as u leh. I've baking for 4 days already. But it's never seemed enough to distribute to people lor. To give some to the brides here? Can I have some? I'd like to try your kueh bangkit leh. And also your pineapple tarts. Maybe we can exchange hor. I've been baking pineapple tarts and peanut cookies. I brought some to office and my col keep praising my cookies. So happy hearing that. I very ba hor? ;)

Giggler,
At least you have succeed in your baking, that's really great!

Yap, I gave some to the brides here, &amp; will be giving more.
I don't mind to let you try mine provided we are able to meet up before CNY.

HI minniecat,

1 pkt pineapple can yield abt 150 tarts...but that depends on the size of your tarts &amp; how much filling ur putting...my pineapple tarts are abt bengawan solo's size..

the crust recipe is as follows:-

500 g plain flour
1/2 tsp of salt
250 g chilled unsalted butter
1 tbsp corn oil
1 egg yolk
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 thsps cold water

method:-
1) sift flour into a mixing bowl &amp; add a pinch of salt

2) cut chilled butter into cubes and add into the mixing bowl

3) rub butter into flour with fingertips till crumbly

4) add corn oil &amp; knead lightly

5) add egg yolk and vanilla essence

6) sprinkle with cold water &amp; knead to a soft pliable dough

7) cover and chill for 1 hour

Happy Baking!

Hi gals, it seems like there's a few different recipe on pineapple tarts leh. But I think mine is the simplest of all. hahahah.........

Hi Carol, do u have enough to distribute? Quite pai seh leh. It's ok if you don't have enough. We can do it some other time then.

Giggler, Yap, that are hundreds of recipe on Pineapple tarts, so just stick to the one which you most familar with &amp; most important, succeed!

I still have some, but intend to make more loh, if really so many "supporters" asking for them.

If you really want to try mine, I can meet up with you &amp; pass you some.

For those who likes blended drinks...

Chocolate Mocha Thickshake

1) 100ml espresso coffee, chilled
2) 125g plain dark cooking chocolate OR 2 tablespoons chocolate syrup
3) 3 – 4 scoops vanilla ice cream
4) 100ml chilled milk, or to taste
5) Sugar, to taste

To serve:
Whipped cream
Chocolate curls

Method:
Place the coffee and chocolate together in a blender and whizz. Add the ice cream and whizz again. Add just enough milk to produce the desired consistency, whizz, taste and add sugar as needed.
Serve topped with a swirl of whipped cream and a sprinkle of chocolate curls.

Serves 1 – 2

Hi piper,
Thanks for the recipe. I had bought the jam and will be trying out this Sunday. How long did u bake har?

hi carol,
thanks for the advice! will let u know how my tarts turn out on monday. think the other gals have told u countless time, but i will say it again. ur lao gong is very fortunate to have a wife like u!

hi minniecat,

i baked for abt 1/2 hr...but that will depends on ur oven for the baking time...diff oven, diff baking time.

Hi Carol &amp; all,

Has anyone tried baking Kueh Lapis for the CNY? Any recipe, experience and comments to share? Am thinking of baking b4 the CNY but have not done so, so don know is it easy.

Hi ger,

My recipe is Indonesian Layer Cake. Tried baking, not very successful. The lines in between are not obvious. Last week went Taka, saw one of the stall selling Indonesian Kueh Lapis. Noticed that the lines in between are not obvious too. Actually I wanted something like Bengawan solo or polar type of Kueh Lapis.

Hi Carol,

I'm referring to your Yam Cake (Wu Tow Ko) recipe. In the recipe, it asks for alkaline water.
What is it referring to?

Do you know what is porridge oats? I saw this in one of the cookies book recipe.

By the way, do you have any recipe for oats biscuits?

Dolphin,
Alkaline water is actually lye water...basically mixture of water, salt &amp; other minerals.

porridge oats also known as rolled oats.
They are made by steaming and rolling whole oats to make them quicker and easier to cook.
Rolled oats are used to make porridge, muesli, flapjacks and a variety of biscuits and cakes. Oats can be stirred in crumble toppings to add extra texture and flavour.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Oats cookies</FONT>

Ingredients
160 g oats
140 g white bread flour
200 g soft brown sugar
5 ml salt
2 ml bicarbonate of soda
125 g butter, grated
125 ml milk
1 extra-large egg, beaten
100 g walnuts, chopped

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 180 &ordm;C (350 &ordm;F). Spray two large baking trays with non-stick spray.

2. Combine the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Add the butter and rub in until well blended.

3. Whisk the milk and egg together and add to the flour mixture. Mix lightly.

4. Add the nuts and mix. Drop tablespoons of the mixture onto a baking tray and flatten the cookies slightly with a fork. Bake for 15 minutes or until the cookies are done and slightly browned.

Store in an airtight container.

<FONT COLOR="119911">This recipe makes 40 cookies</FONT>

I have a recipe to share too.

Special Almond and Cashew Nut Cookies

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 pound plain flour
11 ounces icing sugar
16 ounces butter
3 egg yolks
1 egg yolk for glazing
6 ounces almonds + 2 ounces cashew nuts (blended together)
Cashew nuts for toppings

Procedure:
1. Preheat oven to 180 deg C. Spray baking trays with non-stick spray.
2. Sift flour, icing sugar and baking powder.
3. Rub in butter until mixture looks like breadcrumbs.
4. Pour in 3 egg yolks and mix.
5. Add blended almonds and cashews.
6. Glaze cookies with egg yolk and top up with half cashew nut on each cookie.
7. Bake about 20 mins

Hi Carol,

Where can I buy the lye water? Or can I just use water and salt?

For the rolled oats, can I buy those instant oats? Cant remember the brand... know that my mother used to cook this.

carol,
i tried ur curst recipe for pineapple tart, was beri nice! powdery texture, i like it v much. cos i had a recipe which was using creaming method instead of rubbing-in method, thus my pastry used to be firmer.
btw, do you use the pineapple core to cook the pineapple jam? i find it abit chunky to chew. or maybe i shld shred it using smaller shredder.

Need some suggestions from ladies here...

Which brand of baking chocolate is nicer? Saw a few types in phoon huat/super mkt.

Any tips to share?

Hi Carol,

Thanks for your earlier explanation... just back from Cruise, seems like no time for baking this year liao...

Hi leafy,

I'm using Hershey brand.

Hi Carol,

Not very convenient for me to go Phoon Huat. If I just use salt and water, is it ok?

jen,

Here you go. This was posted by Carol sometime ago.

Pineapple Tarts

Ingredients for filling
4 sweet fresh pineapples (about 1 kg total weight) or crushed canned pineapple
600 g granulated sugar
4 cloves
1 star anise

Ingredients for pastry

600 g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
400 g butter, well-chilled
2 tbsp castor sugar
2 large egg yolks
2 drops vanilla essence
2 drops yellow food colouring
Pinch of salt
80 ml boiling water (about 9 tbsp)

Method

Filling

1. Skin and score pineapple, removing all eyes by scoring in diagonal lines and gouging them out with a sharp knife. Grate pineapples and squeeze out juice using a muslin cloth.

2. Chop or blend pineapple meat until fine. Combine with sugar, star anise and cloves in a heavy-bottomed pot and cook over low heat until almost dry. Stir constantly until mixture is gluey and thick, the consistency of thick jam. This can take up to an hour if you are using fresh pineapple. Ready crushed pineapple saves about 20 minutes of preparation time but the cooking time remains the same. Cool and store in refrigerator.

Pastry

1. Sift flour and baking powder into a large bowl.

2. Rub butter lightly into flour mixture until mixture is bread-crumbly. Beat castor sugar, egg yolks, vanilla and salt lightly. Pour into flour mixture and add boiling water. Mix well to make a pliable dough. Chill for an hour.

3. Knead pastry on a well-floured board or non-stick worktop (marble is excellent for kneading) until smooth. Roll out until about 1/2 cm thick. Using a cookie cutter, (between 5 cm and 8 cm diameter depending on how you want your tarts) stamp out pieces of pastry.

4. Fill each with a heaped tsp of pineapple and shape edges gently to contain the filling like a fruit tartlet. If desired, roll out thin strips of pastry and make a trellis pattern over filling. Use a pastry friller to pinch edges for pretty effect.

5. Place tarts on greased trays, with enough space between for expansion. Glaze each with a little beaten egg and bake in pre-heated oven at 200 degrees C or gas mark 5 for 8 minutes. Reduce heat to 150 degrees C and continue baking for 15 minutes until golden brown.

Anyone has any Kaya recipe?

Hi faith,

I'm looking for desserts for valentine's day also. Probably will go to borrow some books from the library for reference.

Hi forgetmenot,

Beef stew recipe

INGREDIENTS:
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 1/2 pounds beef chuck, cut into 1-inch cubes

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 green bell pepper, cored, seeded, and cut into thin strips

1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded, and cut into thin strips

1 carrot, peeled and cut into thin strips

1 medium onion, sliced

Eight 1-inch-thick rounds of frozen corn on the cob, or 1 cup corn kernels

1 cup quartered string beans

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 cups beef or chicken broth or a combination of the two

4 new potatoes, cut in half

3/4 cup rice

Chopped fresh parsley or cilantro as a garnish

METHOD:
1. In a large casserole over medium heat, heat the oil. Add the beef and brown on all sides. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Stir in the bell peppers, carrot, and onion and cook for 5 minutes.

2. Add the corn, string beans, salt, and broth. Cover the pot and simmer for 30 minutes. Add the potatoes and rice. Cover the pot and continue to simmer for another 30 minutes, or until the meat is tender.

3. Place the solid ingredients in a soup plate and spoon on some of the broth. Garnish with the chopped parsley or cilantro.

Just a nice poem to share with all of you here...

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="0000ff">Sometimes in life,

You find a special friend,

Someone who changes your life

Just by being a part of it

Someone who makes you laugh

Until you can't stop

Someone who makes you believe

That there relly is good in the world

Someone who convinces you that

There really is an unlocked door

Just waiting for you to open.

This is a Forever Friendship.

When you're down,

And the world seems dark and empty,

Your forever friends lifts you up in spirit

And makes that dark and empty world

Suddenly seem bright and full

Your forever friend gets you through

The hard times, the sad times, the confusing times

If you turn and walk away

Your forever friends follows

If you lose yourr way,

Your forever friends guides you

And cheers you on.

Your forever friends holds your hand

And tells you that everything

Is going to be okay

And if you find such a friend,

You feel happy and complete,

Because you need not worry

You have a FOREVER FRIEND for life

And forever has no end.</FONT>
</CENTER>

<CENTER>
16673.gif
</CENTER>

Cheers...

Carol,

check with you, for homemade cookies (the CNY cookies that you made &amp; gave to friends), how long can we keep? Currently I store them in air-tight tupperware (not those cheap storage container but that tupperware brand). My kueh bangkit is abt 2 weeks old and chocolate chips &amp; almond cookies are abt 1 week old. This afternoon I ate a few, they still taste ok.

Dolphin,
Just found that poem very meaningful so thot of sharing with all of you here.

If you keep them when they are totally cool in air-tight containers, they should last throughout the CNY... Don't worry about that!

16686.gif

Hi Carol,

okie, got it.

Read through your kaya recipe, thanks so much for the detailed explanation. Actually I tried once but not successful. Threw away my recipe liao. Will let you know if I attempt it.

Do you make kaya recipe or do you buy from supermarket? I usually have either kaya or butter on my bread for breakfast, thus am keen to try it out. Do you know how much it yield using yr recipe?

Hi forgetmenot, I don't have any recipe on deep fried shimp paste chicken.

Simply marinate the chicken with shrimp paste, leave it in the fridge for a couple of hours(overnight would be even better) and then deep fry in very hot oil.

Hi Carol,

thanks lot...

i saw tt li jin ji has a shrimp paste..so i tot if i can marinate chicken wings in those then deep fried...

i shd go n buy n try...hehehe