Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi okeanosmao,
Well, as U remove the baked cookies from the baking sheet & put on unbake immediately, the "extra heat " from the baking sheet will cause the cookies to turn dark.

You can try to place those extra dough in the refigertor before baking to prevent the dough from changing colour/butter to melt.

Cheers...

Hi okeanosmao,
Forgot to add, remember to cover the dough with plstic wrap to prevent drying up, this will cause the cookies to break.

Hi Freesia,
I'm not a cook or instructor. Baking & cooking are my favourite. My skills and tips are pick up from my mum & books.

Will intend to start on cooking/baking class in the future.

BTW, are U the fressia from HIPV thread?

Hi tyr,
You are most welcome!!!

Hi Clari,
MY pleasure....
Ok... here's my answer to your questions.

1) Is there a difference bet confectioners' sugar and the normal caster sugar?
ANS: Confectioner sugar is it is finely crushed white sugar ground to a smooth powder also call icing sugar.Confectioners' sugar dissolves rapidly in liquids and fats at any temperature, it ideal for sweetening; do not substitute it with regular granulated sugar. It is used in icings, confections and whipping cream. It is also used to thicken because it usually contains making about 3% cornstarch to prevent caking. Its powdery texture also works beautifully to dust on desserts. For more of a "restaurant-style" presentation, sift confectioners' sugar over the entire plate and garnish with drizzles of raspberry or caramel sauce.

Castor sugar is a very fine crystals make this sugar excellent for sprinkling and including in recipes. Use for sprinkling over fresh fruit or cereals or including in creamed mixtures, meringues and baking.

2) how much is 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter?
ANS: 1 stick of butter is = 134grams

3) is cornstarch what we get when we melt some corn flour in water?
ANS:cornstarch is corn flour.

4) Can use plain flour if we dont have all purpose flour?
ANS: Yes plain is also known as all purpose flour.

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol
me back ... hehhehe
back to learn from u . ya.. was wondering whether do u have the recipe for cooking yong tao fu.. the dry way...
i dun want to cook soup... remember i ever eaten i dish b4 which is yong dao fu cooked in another form... some gravy was added to cook with it..

u have any idea???

regd
joanne

sorry for not calling u yet... cos... very busy with work now... boss out of town...

dun know whether have time to prepare for my marriage or not...

Hi LuckyBird, thanks for the reminder abt the demo class by Phoon Huat. Have checked out their website. Unfortunately, there'll be no classes for these few weeks.....

Hi Carol, yes, I'm the same Freesia in HIPV thread.

Really appreciate your guidance and advice....I'm very happy to tell u that I've finally able to make some cookies last nite!
really excited..... though not really up to perfection....guess I still have to learn how to master the mixing well..... :P

Just to check with you on some doubts...
1) Is it advisable to bake a few trays of biscuits at the same time?

2) Is it okay to prepare and bake only half amount of portion as stated in the recipe?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Carol,

For the egg tarts, can I go without the distilled white vinegar? Can find in NTUC? Is the bottle known as distilled white vinegar?

By the way, have you grilled a whole chicken before? I've problem making the skin crispy at the bottom of the chicken.

Hi Joanne,
Woh, you disppeared for so long.... Where have you been? Guess you must be very busy with wedding preparations.

Actually repare the gravy is very easy, just add a bit of cooking oil the frying pan, add in a soy sauce, chilli sauce, sugar, pepper, tomato sauce and stir fry till hot, then add in cornstrch(mixed with water) till thicken.

12068.gif

Carol

Hi Freesia,
Here's my answer to your questions.

1) Is it advisable to bake a few trays of biscuits at the same time?
ANS: Yes. It not only save a lot of time, the quality of the cookies would be more uniform.

2) Is it okay to prepare and bake only half amount of portion as stated in the recipe?
ANS: Why not? Just divide the ingredients amount by half.

Cheers;
Carol

Hi Dolphin,
If you have problem finding distilled white vinegar, can just use normal white vinegar.

Oh, I might have missed your question eariler on, let me read throught it first and tell you some suggestions...

Hi Dolphine,

I have not grill any chicken before. But according to hubby, the chicken get its crispy skin from the direction of the grill element. The fan does not help in making it crispy. It's like bbqing the chicken over fire...the wind might help to distribute the heat, but the part that got crispy or burnt is the part that faced the fire.

Hi Carol,

today I went to ntuc, found the distilled white vinegar that I wanted.

sure, no problem. Take yr time, hope you can help me bcos I've planned to grill chicken on Christmas Day for my family.

Anyone organising any Christmas dinner on eve or actual day? Wanna share some Christmas recipe?
I plan to grill 2 chickens, one baked ham, salad, maybe mashed potato. Hmm... only manage to think of these few dishes...

Hi Sunny3,
what you've said sounds logical, the grill element is on top of the oven, hence the top part of the chicken is crispy.
However according to the oven recommendation, the fan-assisted mode is supposed to be used in grilling and the heat will circulate throughout the oven.

Hi SL,

for the pineapple tarts filling, do I need to cut the pineapple into smaller pieces before I cook? Do I need to use oil?

Hi Dolphin,

I have also invited my friends to my place on xmas eve. Think grill chicken will be nice. But for me, i wont be grilling any chicken cos they have tried that before.
Will probably try to learn how to cook chicken/pork chops for them.

My friend has taught me one dish call Rosemary Chicken. Here is the recipe. Hope you can understand cos its from my memory.

1 Whole chicken
1 Bay leave
Some Tyme leaves
some Rosemary leaves
Celery
Carrots
1 big onion

1. Prepare and marinate the chicken. I uses ginger, sesame oil and soy saurce. Leave it overnight.

2. Cut celery, carrots and onion into cube form. Stir fry them together til just cook with salt, pepper and soy sauce.

3. Heat up the oven at 200deg C

4. Stuff the chicken with the celery, carrots and onion. But remember to leave some celery, carrots and onion to be placed on the tray. Use one or two bay leaves to cover the hole.

5. Placed the chicken on the tray, on top of the celery, carrots and onion. Pour some olive oil on to the tray.

6. Sprinkle some Thyme and Rosemary leaves over the chicken.

7. Cover the tray and chiken with aluminion foil to prevent it from been burnt.

8. Adj the oven to 250deg C and cook for abt 20mins. (timing may be diffrent depend on your chicken size)

9. Remove the foil & cook for another 10 mins or so.

10. Turn the chicken around and cook for another 10 mins or so.

Hi Dolphin,

My hubby ever tell me that the fan in the oven will helps to distribute the heat more evenly around the whole oven.But I don't think it helps in getting the chicken crispy. My hubby is a user of oven...being ang moh.

Regards.

Hi Sunny3,
So when it comes to grill chicken, does yr hubby turn the chicken from one side to the other side?

Recently I understand from my colleague that there is something like a vertical stand that we can pop the chicken in the stand so that the whole chicken is crispy. She has no idea where to get it, if you happen to know, pls let me know.

Hi Dolphin,

Hubby said on the grill element of both side. If you have one side only, I guess you have to turn the chicken.

I have not grill and chicken yet, so I don't know.

Regards.

I have a qns to ask.. I would like to try to cook steak,so which part of the cow will taste nicer and what type of marination will be good?

was thinkg of getting those marinated ones at cold storage but dunno will it taste nice or not.

hi carol
thanks alot... will try it this weekend...
heheh
anymore easy to cook dishes??? i am sick of eating the same dishes everytime.
i used to cook dou miao, bean sprout, and all thsoe instant maggice seasoning kind of food.

by the wat how to cook sweet and sour fish?> and what kind of fish to get for this dish??

thanks again
regd
joanne

i'm thinking of baking fish. the recipe i have says to use 'fennel' as 1 of d herbs. didn't say if its fresh fennel leaves or seeds. i have fennel seeds - do u think i can use fennel seeds?? will it be too overpowering?

anyone know where to get fresh fennel??

Hi Dolphin, you need to cut the pineapple into smaller pieces and don't need to add oil.

SL

Hi Dolphin,
Humm.. I agree with what sunny3 has said, the crisp of the chicken is affected by the direct heat element.
My oven comes with a rotating stand, so the whole chicken is slide through the stand, & rotated throuhout the grilling process, this make the chicken crisy throughout.

You can try to turn the chicken.

Ok, here's are suggested recipes for Christmas Feast.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Perfect Potato Salad, Cole Slaw, Spicy Baked Beans,Roasted New Potatoes, Holiday Roast Turkey with Stuffing,Holiday Roast Turkey with Stuffing, Grilled Lemon Chicken,taditional Roast Chicken with Apple, Sage and Onion Stuffing, Cranberry and Sage Sauce and Chicken-giblet Gravy.</FONT>

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Forgetmeknow,

The first thing you want to do to create a great steak is to carefully choose the proper cut of meat. Everybody knows that the most expensive and tender of cuts is the filet however the filet may not be the cut with the most flavor. The filet can come in several different cuts such as a filet strip and tenderloin steak or as it is more commonly known, filet mignon. There are several other cuts that can be very tender and are apt to be more flavorful than the filet. The first lesson is that meat is muscle, and the relative condition of the muscle determines the taste and tenderness of the meat. A protected, little-used muscle such as the tenderloin will be tender and finely grained with a relatively mild flavor, while a stronger, well-exercised muscle will be tougher and more flavorful.

Several steak masters agree that cuts such as the Porterhouse, Flank, Rib and Sirloin generally offer better flavor and these cuts usually contain better marbleizing of fat content which lends both flavor and moisture to the steak. Steaks that contain largely fatty areas should be avoided and when purchasing steaks always request a premium cut of beef as opposed to select cuts. If possible attempt to purchase premium cuts that have been aged a minimum of twenty days and a maximum of twenty eight days. Cuts that have been dry aged will provide the best flavor and will almost always be very tender. Talk to the butcher or owner of your favorite beef provider to determine what will work best for you depending on what size, level of tenderness and cost you are looking for.

MARINATING STEAK
Flank / Round (Inside, Outside) /
Eye of Round / Sirloin Tip
1. Pierce steak numerous times with a fork.
2. Marinate in 1 cup (250ml) acidic liquid (citrus juice, wine, etc.) plus seasonings for 12-24 hours in refrigerator or 20-30 minutes, if using instant marinades.

The marination of the steak also depends on how you want to steak to be cooked.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Joanne,
Here's some simple home-cooked dishes recipes:

Drop Soup
4 cups Chicken Stock
1 slice Gingeroot
1 Clove Garlic
1 Egg (beaten)
1 tsp soy sauce

GARNISH:
2 Green Onions (chopped)

Bring the chicken stock to boil with gingerroot and garlic.
Slowly pour in Egg, stirring gently.
Add Soy Sauce. Stir.
Remove to serving bowls.
Garnish with Green Onions
Serve with extra Soy Sauce.

Tofu and Lettuce Soup
Soft tofu - 1 block (350g cubed)
Carrot - 1 (peeled and cubed)
Green onions - 2 (diced)
Garlic - 2 cloves (minced)
Vegetable stock - 2 to 3 cups
Canola oil - 2 tbsp
Salt - 1 teaspoon
Light soy sauce - 1 tbsp
Sugar - 1 teaspoon

In a pot, heat the oil to medium-high. Add in the carrots and garlic. Stir fry for 2 to 3 minutes. Add salt, soy sauce, and sugar.
Add in the soup stock, and bring to a boil. When boiling, add in the tofu. Let this cook for 1 minute.
Add in romaine lettuce, and green onions. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Then serve.

spiced Fish Fillet
Skinless fish fillets - 8 (about 1.5 pounds)
Flour - 1/2 cup
5 spices powder - 1/2 teaspoon
Egg - 2 - 3(beat)
Green onions - 4 (diced)
Tomatoes - 2 (diced)
Fine bread crumbs - 1 cup
Light soy sauce - 2 tablespoons
Salt and black pepper
Oil for frying

Mix flour, 5 spice powder, salt, and pepper. Coat the fish with the flour, then dip in the beat eggs. Cover with bread crumbs.
Heat oil in a frying pan to medium-high, then put in the fish to fry for 2 - 4 minutes each side. Pat dry with paper towel when done.
Cook the tomato and green onions in 1 tablespoon of oil for a minutes then add in soy sauce. Stir. Spread on top of the fish and serve.

Pork and Vegetables Stir-fry
Lean pork - 150 to 200g (thinly slice)
Red peppers - 1/2 (thinly slice)
Green peas - 1/2 cup
White onion - 1/2 (thinly slice)
Pineapple chunks - 1/4 cup (no juice)
Ginger - 4 to 6 slices
Red chilies - 2 (optional) diced
Corn starch - 2 teaspoons
Chinese cooking wine - 2 tbsp
Salt - 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoo
Satay sauce - 1/2 tbsp
Oil - 3 tbsp

Mix the pork with starch and cooking wine. Massage with hands to tenderize.
Heat oil to high in a wok. Add in ginger, red chilies, pork, salt, and satay sauce. Stir fry until the meat is no longer pink.
Add in red peppers, green peas, white onions, and pineapple chunks. Stir well together, and cook for 2 to 4 minutes until everything is cooked. Serve.

Chicken Stir-fry Dried Fungus
Chicken thighs - 3 to 4 (200 to 250g) (sliced)
Dried fungus - a handful
Celery - 2 stalks (cut into thin slices)
Diced garlic - 1 tbsp
Red chilies - 3 (diced)
Salt and pepper - add to taste
Canola oil - 3 to 4 tbsps

Soak the dry fungus in hot water for about 10 minutes, until they're all soft. Then rinse through with water, removing any hard stubs. Then drain the water.
Mix the chicken slices with 2 teaspoons of corn starch and 1.5 tablespoons of cooking wine. Mix well.
Heat the oil to smoking point in a wok (or pan). Add in the red chilies, and diced garlic. Right away add in the chicken, and stir until it's no longer pink.
Add in the salt and pepper, celery, and dried fungus. Stir for 2 to 3 minutes until the celery and fungus are cooked.

Stir-fry Chinese Broccoli
Chinese Broccoli - 350 to 400g
Garlic 4 to 6 cloves - Diced
Salt - 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoon
Oil - 3 to 4 tbsps

Carefully wash the Chinese broccoli, and cut into 2 to 3 inch sections.
Boil some water, and blanche the vegetables.
Heat oil to high. Add in garlic and Chinese broccoli. Stir for 1 to 2 minutes until cooked. Serve.

b{Spicy Chow Mein}
Pre cooked chow mein noodles - 350 to 400g
Baby bok choy - 2 to 3 cups (chopped)
Celery - 2 stalk (sliced)
White onions - 1/2 (sliced)
Garlic - 2 cloves (minced)
Chicken or vegetable stock - 1 cup
Roasted peanuts - 2 tbsp ( chopped)
Hot sauce - 1 tbsp
Light soy sauce - 2 tbsp
White vinegar - 1 tbsp
Sesame oil - 2tps
Brown sugar - 1tsp
Cornstarch - 1 tbsp
Vegetable oil - 1 tbsp

Heat oil in wok or deep skillet to medium heat. Add onion, celery, bok choy, garlic and cook, stirring often for 3 to 5 minutes.
Add stock, soy sauce, hot sauce, vinegar, sesame oil and brown sugar. Bring to a boil.
Stir cornstarch into 1 tbsp of cold water. Mix this in to the wok. Stir until the sauce is thickened. Then turn off the heat.
Meanwhile, loosen noodles with your fingers; immerse in boiling salted water for 1 minute or until tender. Drain well and toss with some sesame oil. Place noodles on a plate and spread vegetables over top. Sprinkle evenly with peanuts.

Ok, will try to post recipes again....

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol,

i'm interested in your recipe too!
can email to me at [email protected]
me getting married in 2 months' time so need to really learn how to cook. hehehe
thank you in advance

hi carol
thanks a great deal again....
will try and tell u how it goes...
can go u while i am cooking ??

ehehhehe... do post more home cook food recipe. thanks again...

regd
joanne

Hi Luckybird

hee heee i've tried the cookie recipe that you hve sent me. It's definitely much better than the dark chocolate chip cookies. However, its still not cripy. The centre portion taste like muffin you know.
Does your dough feel very soft and soggy? Mine is.I used a large egg and im wondering is it due to this. Any idea why?

Hey, i just got this recipe from my aunt (who's phiippino). every year she will make this for Christmas and i've been wondering what was the secret-- COKE!!

Steak in Coke Marinate

Steak
Lea &amp; Perins Worchester Sauce
Black Pepper
Brandy
Coke

Using a mullet, gently pound steak
Place steak in dish
Coat, gently rub in Worchester Sauce &amp; black pepper into steak
Pour 2 tbsp brandy
Pour coke to cover

Leave in fridge overnight.
Remove &amp; BBQ or grill

Hi bubble,

Here's a recipe of Cod fish with tomato &amp; ginger sauce

12221.jpg

Ingredients(serve 4)
- 1 tbsp cooking oil
- 1 onion, chopped
- 1 1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger
- 1 3/4 cups canned crushed tomatoes in thick puree
- 3/4 tsp salt
- 2 pounds cod fillets, cut to make 4 pieces
- 1/4 tsp fresh-ground black pepper
- 1/4 cup chopped parsley

Method:
1. In a large deep frying pan, heat the oil over moderately low heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until starting to soften, about 3 minutes. Stir in the ginger; cook, stirring, 2 minutes longer. Add the tomatoes and salt and bring to a simmer. Reduce the heat to low and cook, covered, for 10 minutes.
2. Add the fillets and black pepper to the pan and cook, covered, until just done, 10 to 12 minutes longer for 1-inch thick fillets. Stir the cilantro into the sauce. Serve the fish topped with the sauce.

Hi Clari,

It's true that this cookie is not as crispy as biscuits, it tastes like those butter cookies sold in containers...but should not taste like muffin...

Is it because of the size? as the first time i baked, the size was not even, so when the smaller one turned a bit dark, the bigger one still soft... so i used tbsp to measure the dough, it was much better...
btw, i'm using the normal eggs bought at NTUC...

Hi Curly,

ICING:

2 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 to 3 drops food coloring
Beat eggs. Add butter, sugar, milk and mix. Mix soda in a little water (enough to stir) and add to mixture. Sift flour and baking powder together and blend gradually into cookie mixture. Grease and flour cookie sheets. Roll dough into 1/4 inch thickness and cut with Christmas cookie cutters and place on cookie sheet. Bake at 375F for 10 to 12 minutes.
For icing, sift powdered sugar and stir in milk until mixture reaches icing consistency. Add vanilla extract for flavor and stir. Divide icing into containers and add food coloring to each container to obtain desired colors. Ice cookies after they have cooled. Allow icing to dry before moving cookies.

Hi Carol,

May i check with you, which kind of tray shall i use for grilling? as yesterday, i used my non-stick baking tray to grill BBQ chicken wings, i noticed the tray was going to change shape after only several mins, very scared... but after i took it out for a while, seemed alright leh...

Hi Clari, Luckybird, Carol (pls advise also)

I've made chocolate chips cookies twice. The baking duration stated in the recipe is 15 - 20 mins. I realised that the cookies are still soft when I tested them by using a stick to touch it. I let it bake longer, on and off I will test it. I think I baked them for another 10 mins before I took them out of oven. The cookies I have is not soft but hard.

I do wonder if I took out based on the timing stated in the recipe, will the cookies become hardened (just nice, not too hard or soft) when come in contact with air. Any idea?

Hi Dolphin,
When the cookies are just done, they re usually still soft, but after cooling on the cooling rack, it will turn harder.

So don't worry about them been soft and over-baked them.

Cheers:
Carol