Cooking Recipes as promised

clari

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Carol</FONT>

Thanks for the explanation. The picture definitely helps me to know better. Gues Phoon Huat will sell this right? Shall go down to get it later.

Wish me luck. =)

Everyone,

Have a nice weekend!

amelia

This thread really helped me alot.Thanks girls.

carol

Hi Clari,
You are welcome...
Yes, phoon huat sell that, can also purchase from NTUC / Cold storage.

Smiles....

Hi Amelia,
This is a wonderful place to share cooking tips, recipes. Hope to see U here more often...

Carol

dolphin

Hi Carol,

I've a question on the Parchment paper. When grilling chicken, can I place the paper in the dripping pan while the chicken is on the rack? Or can I use greaseproof paper?

I find it tedious to clean the dripping pan after the grill.

freesia

Hi Carol

I tried to bake biscuits yesterday....however without success....I wonder y the biscuits turn out to be very soft in the end....something is terribly wrong...

Actually, when we say mix the butter &amp; sugar until light and fluffy...how does it look like?
B'coz when I later fold in the dry ingredients and then make into small balls, they seem to "melt".....

BTW, if I'm using a non-stick pan, I wouldn't need to grease the pan anymore, rite?

Thanks a million!

piper

Hi Carol,

think this thread is.....do you have a recipe for a simple cheesecake, texture like the one sold in cold storage?

I've tried the philadelphia recipe but the cheesecake turn out to be white &amp; doesn't taste like "cake".

clari

Hi Carol,

This is the cookie recipe that i have follow for my cookie:

Dark Chocolate cookies with sour cheeries

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups unsweetened Dutch process cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups (2 1/2sticks) unsalted butter, rm temp
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
2 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
12 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 1/2 cups dried sour cherries, firmly packed (9ounces)

1. Preheat over to 350degree F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt;set aside

2. In the bowl of an electric mixed fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla extract; beat until well combined.
Add the flour mixture and beat on low speed, until just combined. Do not overbeat.
With a wooden spoon, fold in chocolate and cherries.

3. Form balls of dough, each abt 1/4cup; place balls on baking sheet abt 3 inches apart. Bake until puffed and cracked, 9 to 11 mins.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container, at room temperature up to 3 days.

I do think that my cookies turn out too sweet. Not too sure if i have too little butter. I actually dont understand how much is 1 1/4cup of butter so i use abt 125g butter.

Also, my cookies were not flattend out after the bake. Its still pretty fat. unlike the picture which shows a flat and big cookie.

Do you know what went wrong?

dolphin

Hi Carol,

Do I need to grease the greaseproof paper a bit so that it stick to the dripping pan and don't get 'fly over' while grilling the chicken?

thanks so much

carol

Hi Fressia,
Hummm.... Looks like the failure could be due to over-beating of the butter, causing it to be too soft &amp; melt.

Here's some solutions:

Bake cookies a few minutes longer than suggested and immediately remove them to wire racks to cool.
Make with all butter.

Replace the egg called for in the recipe with milk for a crispier cookie.

Use more white sugar than brown to give more crispiness.

A less acidic batter spreads more and cookies will be crispier. Substitute 1/2 teaspoon baking soda per cup of flour for the baking powder called for in the recipe. The cookies will also brown better.

Use a little bit more liquid in the batter; that will help cookies to spread more, and thus be thinner and crispier.

Substitute 1 tablespoon of corn syrup for 1 tablespoon of the sugar called for in the recipe; it will make the cookies crispier and browner.

Use bread flour for drier, crispier cookies (they will be darker, too). Bread flour absorbs more liquid from the recipe than any other type of flour. All-purpose flour can also make a crispy cookie, which will be more tender than a cookie made entirely with bread flour.

Secondly, looks like your butter is too soft when it's placed in for mixing.

TESTS: To see if your butter is at ROOM TEMPERATURE, choose one or two of these tests:

1) Hold the wrapped butter in your hand and press it gently with your fingertips. If it leaves an indentation, it is at room temperature. The butter should be still firm;

2) You can bend a stick of butter with your hands, but it should still feel firm;

3) The butter should have a shiny surface but not appear greasy.

Cheers:
Carol

dolphin

Hi Freesia,

not sure if I'm right. I baked cookies last weekend. The recipe time stated 15-20 mins, but when I use a metal stick to poke it, the cookies are still soft. So I let it bake longer.

As for the non-stick pan, even if it's non-stick, I still grease it when the recipe say so. by the way, the pan is not really non-stick. Food will still stick on it.

carol

Hi Clari,
From the recipe, it's started 2 tsp of baking soda, that's bit too much... Reduce to 1/4 or 1 tsp instead. So the cookies will not be too "expanded"

The % of flour to butter is not even... Too much butter used.

Ok, here's the unit conversion for Butter or Margarine

U.S. Cups To Grams
1/8 cup ...... 30 grams
1/4 cup ...... 55 grams
1/3 cup ...... 75 grams
3/8 cup ...... 85 grams
1/2 cup ...... 115 grams
5/8 cup ...... 140 grams
2/3 cup ...... 150 grams
3/4 cup ...... 170 grams
7/8 cup ...... 200 grams
1 cup ...... 225 grams

Hope this helps...

Maybe you shall try another recipe...

Cheers:
Carol

okeanosmao

just happen to c this forum. wow, here really tok abt baking n cooking. so nice..yum! yum!
i've tried to bake chocolate cookies twice and it either becomes dark at the bottom or jus a little bit over brown.taste wise is okie except tat the cookies are too hard ard the edge.
i'm using 18L of tefal oven and i followed the recipe from the book, use to make 35 cookies. i think my oven is small for the quantity, wonder how can i bake cookies just rite for the oven w/o having to divide into 4 times to bake.if i leave the flour open on the table for ard 15 mins( while waiting for the first batch of cookies to turn golden brown), will the taste n colour changed as the time pass? i always drop teaspoons onto the baking tray however the cookies always turn into big round shapes.
can advise me on all these? me newcomer to baking, hope to learn more.
really helps me alot in this forum.

strawberry

me new here, i'm very interested in cooking, both western and chinese, baking cakes also interested, but not so good at it..

besides sharing recipes here, i would like to suggest maybe one day we shall all gather at each others house to cook or bake something???

luckybird

Hi <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Dolphin,</FONT>

So happy that you succeeded in baking cookies, agree with you, baking cookies is simple and taste good... last night i tried 2nd time with the same recipe, i lowered down 30c of temperature and reduce the amount of sugar, it's much better in color and taste!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Clari,</FONT>
How about trying the recipe i emailed to you? i have tried 2 times and it's really simple and yummy...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Carol,</FONT>
Thank you so much for the tips of baking cookies, it's so useful to me!!!
I would like to try different kinds of cookies, as i can just bring it to office for tea-break or enjoy it anytime at home! as for cakes, i'm afraid of its complication and it's not easy to finish!(esp if not 100% successful)

hong

Hi Maro / strawberry,

Pls forward me a copy of the romantic dinner for 2 if Carol happen to email you. My email is [email protected]

i have been asking her a few times, but yet to hear from her yet leh....

Pls let me know. Thanks!

clari

Hi Carol

Thank you so much for your comment and advise.

Hi Luckybird

Wanted to try that yesterday cos was on leave. But realise i donno what is "Su you" that's why lor! Maybe you can advise what is "Su You"? Is it shortening?

dolphin

Hi Carol,

I'm referring to the egg tart recipe that you've posted in 28/5/02.

Can I check with you, at step 2, the recipe says to place the cut dough in the tart mould. Does that mean I need to 're-shape' the dough according to the tart mould when I place into it? And do I need to grease the mould or should I use cake cup? If use cake cup, does the egg tart sticks to the cup like muffin?

Egg tart

Ingredients:
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 5/8 cup butter
- 1 egg yolk
- 7 tbsp confectioners' sugar
- 2 tbsp evaporated milk
- 5 eggs
- 3/4 cup white sugar
- 1 1/8 cups boiling water
- 1/2 cup evaporated milk
- 2 tbsp custard powder
- 1/4 tsp distilled white vinegar

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

2. Cream butter and confectioners' sugar. Mix in egg yolk, flour, and 2 tablespoons evaporated milk. Roll dough out thinly, and cut out rounds with a fluted cutter. Place into tart molds.

3. Bake for 12 minutes.

4. Beat eggs. Mix in 1/5 cup evaporated milk, custard powder, and white vinegar. Dissolve sugar in boiling water, and pour into custard mixture. Mix well, and let stand to remove air bubbles. Pour the egg custard into the baked tart shells.

5. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool.

luckybird

Hi Clari,
ya, "su you" means "shortening"...

Please lower down 30<SUP>o</SUP>C(means using 160<SUP>o</SUP>C instead of 190<SUP>o</SUP>C) if you are using non-stick pan as me, and bake around 12-14 mins.

i reduced the amount of sugar and brown sugar ("hong tang") from 50g to 40g each, and change chocolate chips to coco chips as i prefer not so sweet cookies...

Please use a spoon to roughly measure batter used so as to equal the size of the cookies...

clari

Hi Luckybird

Thanks for the tips.
so its shortening. If thats the case, must make trip down to Phoon Whatt to get some. Has not been able to find it in NTUC.

Will see if i have time to try out this weekend.

sl

Hi berries, I've a recipe for Pineapple Tarts. I've tried it for the Chinese New Year and turned out to be quite gd.

PINEAPPLE TARTS

INGREDIENTS: 125g butter
1 tablespoon icing sugar
1 tablespoon milk powder
1 tablespoon custard powder
2 egg yolks or 1 egg
&frac12; teaspoon vanilla essence
180g plain flour / Top flour

FILLINGS: 2 pineapple
200g sugar
Pandan leaf
Mix the above and cook till thick

METHOD:

1. Stir butter, icing sugar, egg yolks and vanilla essence only until well mixed
2. Add sieved flour and milk powder
3. Knead lightly until firm
4. Roll out on lightly floured board
5. Cut circles to fit fluted patty tins
6. Fill pastry case with pineapple jam
7. Brush top with egg white only. Bake at higher temperature until golden brown. Bake at 170oC for 20 – 25 minutes.

SL

luckybird

Hi Carol,

Do you know where i can buy mirin? What does it look like? Thanks.

dolphin

Hi okeanosmao,

Initially I thought it coule be due to the oven temperature... actually I'm not very sure also cos' I'm also a beginner.

Probably Carol is able to help you.

beginner

I'm a beginner in baking.
I need to buy all the baking utensils.
Where can I purchase the utensils that is cheap?
What should I buy first?

tyr

Hi Carol!

I would like to make christmas cookies for my friends and family. Do u have any receipe for festive nut cookies? Other cookies also can.

carol

Hi okeanosmao,
The reson why the cookies turn out dark at bottom is due to Cookie sheets not prepared according to the recipe.
Cookies are still hot from the oven

The solution is to use parchment paper to line pans. Or, lightly grease pan before using. (Note: cookies spread more on greased sheets so parchment paper is preferred.)
Let the cookies cool on the pans for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks.

carol

Hi berries,
Here's the recipe for fruitcake.

Brazil Nut Fruitcake

INGREDIENTS: (Makes 3 - 8x4 inch loaf pans)

4 eggs
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup white sugar
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 pound red candied cherries
1 pound green candied cherries
1 pound Brazil nuts
1 pound walnut halves
1 pound pecan halves
2 pounds pitted dates

METHOD:
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 3 - 8x4 inch loaf pans and line them with parchment or waxed paper.

2 Beat eggs, salt and vanilla together until very light and lemon colored. Stir in sugar, 1 cup flour and baking powder.

3 Place cherries, nuts, and dates into a large bowl. Dust with the remaining 1/2 cup flour. Then stir in sugar mixture. There is very little batter which makes this a very stiff mixture. Mix with hands.

4 Press batter into prepared loaf pans. Bake for 1 hour.

Cheers...

carol

Hi Dolphin,
The dough need to to shaped when it's been placed in the mould, so that the final piece will look nice and neat.

If you're using cake cup, it's best to grease it, to prevent sticking to the side.

Carol

carol

Hi Luckybird,
Mirin is a low-alcohol, sweet, golden wine made from glutinous rice. Essential to the Japanese cook, mirin adds sweetness and flavor to a variety of dishes, sauces and glazes. It's available in all Japanese markets and the gourmet section of some supermarkets. Mirin is also referred to simply as RICE WINE.

carol

Hi tyr,
Some Christmas cookies recipes to share:

Lime Meltaways

11902.jpg

INGREDIENTS: (Makes about 10 dozen)

12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup confectioners' sugar
Grated zest of 2 limes
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt

METHOD:
1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, cream butter and 1/3 cup sugar until fluffy. Add lime zest, juice, and vanilla; beat until fluffy.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornstarch, and salt. Add to butter mixture, and beat on low speed until combined.

3. Between two 8-by-12-inch pieces of parchment paper, roll dough into two 1 1/4-inch-diameter logs. Chill at least 1 hour.

4. Heat oven to 350&deg;. Line two baking sheets with parchment. Place remaining 2/3 cup sugar in a resealable plastic bag. Remove parchment from logs; slice dough into 1/8-inch-thick rounds. Place rounds on baking sheets, spaced 1 inch apart.

5. Bake cookies until barely golden, about 15 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool slightly, 8 to 10 minutes. While still warm, place cookies in the sugar-filled bag; toss to coat. Bake or freeze remaining dough. Store baked cookies in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Holiday Tree Cookies

11903.jpg

For Cookies:Makes 36 to 48 cookies

1/3 cup vegetable shortening

1/3 cup butter or margarine, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 tablespoon milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

For Icing:

1 cup sifted powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon milk

Few drops food coloring (optional)

FOR COOKIES: In a large mixing bowl beat the shortening and butter or margarine with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the sugar, baking powder, and salt; beat till combined. Beat in the egg, milk, and vanilla. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with a mixer. Stir in any remaining flour with a wooden spoon. Divide dough in half. Cover and chill for 3 hours, or till dough is easy to handle.

Shape dough into 8-inch-tree shape on prepared baking sheets.

On a lightly floured surface, roll each half of the dough to a 1/8-inch thickness. Using 2- or 2 1/2-inch cutters, cut dough into desired holiday shapes, such as hearts, shamrocks, eggs, rabbits, flags, turkeys, pumpkins, or trees. Place 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake in a preheated 375 degrees F oven for 7 to 8 minutes, or till edges are firm and bottoms are lightly browned. Remove cookies and cool on a rack.

Decorate as desired.

Cheers...

okeanosmao

hi dolphin,
thanks anyway.

hi carol,
i did lightly grease the tray but turn out colour darker. n i can only put 9 cookies one at a time but i follow the recipes which can make 35 cookies.in this way, it will take a longer time to bake.then will the flour changed its taste n colour?
where to buy parchment paper? available at poon huat?

hi beginner,
i normally buy some of my baking utensils at phoon huat. this is the website: www.phoonhuat.com
u can try here.

freesia

Hi Carol

Alike to what okeanosmao has said, is it advisable to use n prepare only half portion of ingredients as stated the receipe so as not to waste the materials and avoid baking many rounds....

p/s....Are you a cook or instructor in cooking? It may sound funny, but do u think there's any chance if you can have a real demo bakery class? I find it very hard to learn bakery as I can't visualise the outputs in each step would turn out....

beginner

Hi okeanosmao

I'm really excited on starting my baking adventure.

luckybird

Hi Carol,
Thank you so much for your explanation of mirin...

Clari,
Thanks too...

luckybird

Hi Freesia,

Phoon huat holds cooking demo everyday, $5 per session for members, and can get $5 voucher to buy anything at their outlets... I have attended once, it's quite good...

All,
There is a Taiwan program "Zuo(4)dian(3)xin(1),guo(4)sheng(1)huo(2)" at TVBS asia everyday, it's wonderful, I have learnt a lot ... also good for beginners...

sl

Hi Luckybird, is the class at Phoon Huat hands-on? Do we have a chance to bake on the spot too? $5 is really cheap leh. I came across a class on papers and it cost $80 for 4 types of cookies. I'm still considering as it looks expensive.

SL

clari

Hi SL

Think the $5 class is not a hands on class. They do have hands on but will cost abt $30 or $35 for 2 recipe.

Hi Carol

Thanks for the Xmas recipe. Wld love to try the Lime meltaways as the instruction looks simple. However, wld you mind explaining to me the following:

1) Is there a difference bet confectioners' sugar and the normal caster sugar?

2) how much is 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter?

3) is cornstarch what we get when we melt some corn flour in water?

4) Can use plain flour if we dont have all purpose flour?

Sorry for asking so many qns. Me just started baking thus very ignorant abt all this ingredient and measurement stuff.

luckybird

Hi SL,

The class at Phoon Huat is a demonstration not hands-on,we can only watch and ask questions, it's good for beginners... they'll change recipe everyweek, some people also join when their favorite recipes come... as it has a makan session, if u like the taste, than go home and try loh...

as we can rec $5 voucher, so it considers foc if got anything to buy at phoon huat...

I think the baking courses at CCs will be cheaper, but don't know how good it is...

dolphin

Anyone tried grilled chicken before? Need advise from you gals.

I'm using Ariston conventional oven. For grilled chicken, I used the fan-assisted mode whereby the heat will circulate around the oven (which is recommended in the oven user guide manual). I placed the whole chicken on the rack, grill for an hour. The chicken skin is crispy on the top but not crispy at the bottom. why is this so? Do I need to turn the chicken over? I thought under the fan-assisted mode, the heat is supposed to be evenly spread around the oven, so the bottom should be crispy also. Anyone has any idea?