, don't miss it, okie? Thank you.

Luckybird

carol

Hi Luckybird,
Here's my answer to your questions.

1. yes
2. Tube pans are pans with a hole in the center, for making tube style cakes and such.
3. You can try national, or phillips.

Here's one example of how a tube pan looks like.

11455.jpg

freesia

Hi Carol

You're genius!
Thank you very much for your warm welcome!

Like to clarify my doubts...I'm confused on the 3rd point in your reciple....Which is the correct way to mix the dry ingredicts with the liquid mixture? The Periplus Mini cookbook says put the dry ingredients after sifting into a bowl and mixed in the liquids. But I've also heard of the similiar way of wat you've given in the recipe...Actually what is the difference between these 2 ways?

Also, I realise I did over-bake the muffins...b'coz I saw the color the muffin surface not quite rite as the recipe picture....so I added 5 more mins on top of 20-25mins .... =P Would I need to concern whether the temperature of my oven is standard? B'coz tot that different brands might vary....Or is it negligible?

val

Heyo ladies,

Anyone here can teach me how to cook mee sua egg? Thinking of cooking for my hubby's b'day this weekend.....quite dumb hor...this one also dunno how to cook...

seasons

Hi Carol

Noted from the earlier thread that you have compiled some "Romantic Dinner for two" receipes ? Will you be able to email a copy to me cos' its my hubby's birthday on this coming sunday, and i'm thinking of surprising him with a home cooked meal? Thanks very much and my email address is [email protected]

val

Hey seasons,

My hubby's b'day also on this sunday? hehe wat a coincidence...Me also intend to prepare the romantic dinner...hehe

seasons

Hi Val

Hee.. i have so far only cooked instant noodles for him. If I succeed this time, I will try to do something for my father in law whose b'day coming up in two weeks' time, hope to whip up a chinese cuisine meal for him....hee..

dolphin

Hi Carol,
May I know where can I get the 'Shortening'? Which brand? I can't find them in supermarkets.

I've a recipe for Christmas Log from one of the website, looks quite easy. Would like to give it a try. I've a few questions

1) Can I get double cream & rum from NTUC?
2) what is the height of a standard swiss roll tin? Currently I have something which is described in the recipe but not very sure if that is called a swiss roll tin. thanks.

Christmas Log
175g Butter
175g Plain Chocolate melted
150ml Double Cream
100g Caster Sugar
90g Plain Flour
75g Icing Sugar
4 Eggs
4 tbsp Rum
1 tbsp Cocoa Powder
1 tbsp Coffee Essence
Icing Sugar

Methods
1. Pre-heat oven to 200°C
2. Grease and line a 33 x 22 cm (13 x 9 inch) Swiss roll tin.
3. Cream the eggs and sugar in a large bowl.
4. Fold in sieved flour and cocoa powder.
5. Transfer to tin.
6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until risen and golden.
7. Allow to cool slightly.
8. Sprinkle caster sugar on a sheet of greaseproof paper (placed on a dampened cloth).
9. Turn out the cake, trim edges and roll up.
10. Cool.
11. Whisk together the cream, rum and coffee until stiff.
12. Gently unroll the cake and spread with the filling.
13. Re-roll.
14. Cream the butter, icing sugar and chocolate together.
15. Coat cake with the chocolate mixture.
16. Sprinkle with icing sugar.
17. Chill for an hour before serving.

dolphin

Hi Luckybird,
Is it possible to post yr recipe here? I don't have the time to search for the book. thanks.

By the way, how do u insert the picture into the forum? I tried to copy and paste but the jpg file cannot be inserted.

pandan

Hi Carol,
paiseh can i check with you some things regarding making cakes??

just tried making a pandan cake following an online recipe. it turned out quite ok except that the inside was still a bit not well cooked while the outside was going to be burnt. is it becoz the oven was too hot? i did set it at the temperature stated..

also how do you fold in beaten egg whites into rest of the cake mixture? it's a crucial step to success of cake?

thanks so much!

val

Hi Seasons,

Same here. I know nuts about cooking...he'll have to bear with me for the time being....Next time when we get married den I will try to whipped up some simple dishes...Wah I admire your courage...I dun think I'll dare to cook for my in-laws...scare they laff...hehe

luckybird

Hi Dolphin,

You can refer to formatting for how to insert images.

I can't paste recipe here as the size is bigger than 50k(i scanned from my book), can i have your email address so that i can forward to you?

carol

Hi Fressia,
Tks for your support!!!

Here's my explaintion on the different method.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">To Mix With the Muffin Method:</FONT> is used to mix most muffin batters. Only two bowls are needed to make the batter. One bowl is used to mix all the dry ingredients together. The second bowl contains all the wet ingredients. For best results, the wet ingredients are usually poured into the dry ones and mixed with a large spoon until just combined.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">To Mix With the Cake Method:</FONT> The wet and dry ingredients are added alternately. This is prepared using the same method as mixing a butter cake batter where the butter and sugar are creamed together. The higher sugar and fat content in this type of muffin act as tenderizers by minimizing gluten, thereby producing a richer cake-like muffin with a softer crumb.

Always follow the time stated in the recipes closely, pictures in recipes are usually with "touch-up".

Hope you have a clearer picture now.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Val,
1st, hard boil the eggs, then remove the shells &amp; placed side.

Boil water in pot, when water boils, add in mee sua, when it turn soft, add in eggs, salt &amp; pepper to taste.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Seasons,
The "romantic recipes for two" has many parts, I've sent you the most recent ones which I've shared with some ladies here.

They are western cuisine. I've lots of chinese recipes for Roamntic dinner for two, unfortunely, I don't have the soft copy, so can't email to you.

I'll try to scan some &amp; email to you...

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Dolphin,
You can get shortening from Phhon Huat (baking suppilers store) I bought their in-house brand, quite good to use.

Sorry, don't know if NTUC hs double cream &amp; rum, they usually don't have lots of baking ingredients,
Phoon huat has that.

Ok, here's how a non-stick swiss roll tin looks like:

11517.jpg

carol

Hi pandan,
Looks like the failure of the cake is due to over beating of the eggs, which results in not enough ir incorported in the mixture, thus making it heavy and sink in the centre.

You are right that folding in of egg whites is reallt essntial in the sucees of a good cake.

A Sponge cake is mixed by beating eggs and folding them with the batter, and when ready for the pan, it should be a delicate, fluffy mass. However...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Not beating enough or not folding the egg whites completely into the batter can cause coarse, low-volume cakes.

Beating or folding too much will break down the egg white foam, and you'll end up with a compact cake.</FONT>

Cheers.....

val

Hi Carol,

Thanks...wah yuan lai the mee swa so easy to prepare ah

Oh ya the one you'll be sending to seasons is the one with prawns, capuccino desert issit?

huts

anybody has the recipe to make those multi-layer agar agar? those that are sold in confectionery with different colours for each layer.

oh and i also need the recipe to make konyaku jelly too.

pls help. thanks.

hong

Hi carol,
would like to have the "romantic recipes for 2" (both eng and chinese one). Have been asking you for quite some time

Hope you can really send them to me!

angelia

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Fricassee of Smoked and Roasted Lobster with Correze Chestnut</FONT>
<FONT SIZE="-1">World Gourmet Summit 2002 Masterclass Recipe By Chef Philippe Legendre </FONT>

600g lobster
60g carrots sticks
50g celery sticks
some chestnuts
20g cepe mushrooms, diced
Sauce
30g olive oil or butter salt &amp; pepper, to taste

Peel, wash and cut the vegetables in regular sticks.
Dice the cepe mushrooms (not too small).

Cook the chestnuts for between 5 – 7 minutes, and shell them. Reserve stock for sauce.

Saut&eacute; the lobster in its shells (reserve some shells for stock) and add the carrots and celery sticks and chestnuts.

Saut&eacute; the cepe mushrooms and arrange on plate.

<FONT COLOR="119911">Sauce</FONT>
Heat lobster broth and some chestnuts cooking liquid. Blend with butter and adjust seasoning.

11582.jpg

dap

so interesting to see so many cooks here...

I got a problem with baking cakes. I've tried 2 times to bake Pandan cake using ready mix and once to make banana cake. All turn out compact. I dun have an electric mixer so did the mixing manually. Can someone advise why?

freesia

Hi Carol

Thank you very much for your clarification. I would try again this weekend.
Today I just finally bought a electric mixer, so would try up other things liao....

carol

Hi val,
Yes, it's that one...

By the way, just to share cookies recipe here, great for a nice dessert after a romantics meal.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Chocolate Heart</FONT>

11599.jpg

INGREDTENTS: (Makes about 16 large cookies)

3 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter
2 1/2 cups sifted confectioners' sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

METHOD:

1. In a large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, salt, and cinnamon. Set mixture aside.

2. Use an electric mixer to cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla.

3. Add flour mixture; mix on low speed until thoroughly combined. Divide dough in half; wrap in plastic. Chill at least 1 hour.

4. Heat oven to 350&deg;. On a floured surface, roll dough to 1/8 inch thick. Cut into desired shapes. Transfer to ungreased baking sheets; refrigerate until firm, 15 minutes. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until crisp but not darkened. Cool on wire racks; decorate as desired.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Huts,
Here's the recipe for Konnyaku Jelly (from PhoonHuat)

KONNYAKU JELLY

Ingredients: (this portion of ingredients makes 24 jellies)

RED MAN Konnyaku Powder 10 grams
RED MAN Caster Sugar 210 grams
Water
950 ml
RED MAN Citric Acid or Malic Acid
(of your own choice) 1/8 teaspoon
RED MAN Konnyaku Flavours
(of your own choice) 1/4 teaspoon
RED MAN Konnyaku Colour
(of your own choice) 1 drop
Canned Fruit

Method:

1. Mix the Konnyaku Powder and Caster Sugar together. Mix well.

2. Pour the Konnyaku Powder and Caster Sugar mixture into water gradually and stir till boiling.

3. Turn off the flame and keep stirring for about 5 minutes, till the bubble dissipates and the Konnyaku Jelly solution becomes clear.

4. Add Citric Acid or Malic Acid, Liquid Colouring and Flavour into the solution.
5. Put the pieces of fruits in the moulds, then pour the Konnyaku solution into the moulds for 3 times, every time pour 1/3 of the mould.

6. Chill to set the moulded Jelly solution in the refrigerator for 3 hours before serve.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">For purchase of 250 gm packaging, the correct measurement is:
1 Tablespoon + 1/2 Teaspoon + 1/8 Teaspoon = 10 gm</FONT>

Cheers:
Carol

interested

Hi Carol,

very interested in the Chocolate Hearts. but I don't have an electric mixer. Is it a must to use an electric mixer for this cookie? Any other alternative?

dolphin

Hi Carol,

recently I came across a recipe for basic sponge cake. one of the ingredient used is butter. I wonder why butter is used. The classic sponge cake recipe you posted doesn't require butter.

val

Hi Carol,

Cool! I'll try that the next time maybe cos I think I will kalang kabok on the other stuff already no more time to do cookies.. hehe

seasons

Thanks so much Carol!

I have received the receipes for Romantic Dinner for Two. I'm going to try these out this weekend. Mmm.. they look pretty difficult but will give them a try .... btw, do you have the receipes for chinese soup such as apple soup?

lcukybird

Hi seasons,
Here is the recipe for apple soup Monica has posted, hope it helps...

Apple Soup for 2-4 pax

5 red Apples
2 packets of pork ribs (From NTUC)
OR Chicken bones depends on what you like

Chinese almond (Optional)
You can put afew pieces of northern and southern chinese almond if you are having a cough. it's suppose to sooth cough. But not to many. Just maybe 10-20 pieces max.

1. Clean the apple. Remove the core.
2. Clean the pork ribs by boiling them in a pot of boiling water for about 5 mins.
3. Put apples and porkribs and almonds into a pot and cook on low heat for 3 hours. (The longer the better)
4. Add salt to taste.
5. Serve boiling hot!!

goalcherry

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">hi LcukyBird/Carol</FONT>

May I know for the apple soup, can I replace the pork ribs with pork loin or pork fillet(from NTUC)?

Tks.

clari

Does anyone know what is parchment paper. I have a recipe that say "Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper". Not too sure what does it mean?

Can someone help me pls? thanks.

carol

Hi interested,
If you don't have an electric mixer, you can use a spatula or a wooden spoon, but make sure you always stir in the same direction ONLY

carol

Hi Dolphin,
Huh... I think that is the American Sponge cake, as it has no or little melted butter and more eggs than other sponge cake types. The yolks and whites are beaten separately, providing air as the cake's leavening.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Seasons,
The recipes are not really very difficult, just remember to read through the recipe carefully and follow all the steps.

Here are some healthy soup recipes that I've posted sometime back...

Spareribs Soup with mussels &amp; carrots
Ingredients:
75g dried mussels
450g carrots
450g spareribs
2 slices of ginger
12 cups water
salt

Method:
1. Wash dried mussels &amp; soak in water for a while.
2. Peel carrots &amp; cut into section.
3. Parboil &amp; rinse spareribs.
4. Bring water to boil in large pot, add ginger slices &amp; other ingredients. Cook for 10mins. then turn to low heat &amp; cook for 2 hrs. Add salt to taste.

(An easy soup but it's real healthy)

White ground soup with dried shrimp

Ingredients:
250g white ground("Dong gua")(cut into pieces)
250ml chicken stock
1/2 cooking oil
3/4tsp salt
dried shrimps

Method:
1. In a large pot, add in cooking oil, add in chicken stick &amp; bring to boil.
2. Add in white pieces of white ground, dried shrimps. Simmer till white ground turns soft, then add in salt &amp; serve.

HAPPY COOKING!!!!!

carol

Hi Goalcherry,
Yes you can, or you can get softbones meat. That's a good choice, the meat is so tender after cooking.

carol

Hi Clari,
Parchment paper is a silicone coated paper. It feels kind of like heavy tissue paper. It can withstand heat and food products put on it will NOT stick!

You can use it when baking almost anything. Use it in a roasting pan, a bread pan, or a casserole. You can use it to line your souffl&eacute; dish or when you are pouring out fudge. You'll be amazed and how simple clean-up becomes.

The follow pic ahow how to line the baking sheet with parchment paper.

11713.gif

carol

Hi Lavendar,
Here's the recipe for Fried carrot cake.

Fried Carrot Cake

INGREDIENTS:
- 1.2kg white radish, remove the skin and cut into rough strips of about 6cm long
- 75g dried shrimp
- 40g starch/wheat flour
- 150g riceflour
- 200ml cooking oil
- 1.2litres water (divided into 2 potions)
- 30g sugar
- 15g salt

METHOD:
1. mix all the flours together with 600ml of water.

2. Heat oil in a pan, fry the dried shrimps until fragrant.

3. Add remaining 600ml of water to the pan, followed by the white radish strips. Bring to a boil.

4. Add to the flour mixture and mix well.

5. Transfer mixture into a square casserole pan. &amp; steam for 1 1/2hrs.

6. To serve, cut into square and either steam to reheat or pan-fry till slightly brown on both sides.