Cooking Recipes as promised

woohhh... peg.. cool! take a pix of it ya!! best is one before u put into the oven (so that i hv a better idea) & the after Yummy result....
hehehee....

Just to share a simple fare :-

Stir Fry Spicy Shrimps
(always a hit with the elderlys)
231938.jpg

Ingredients
1.5 lbs of large fresh water shrimps
Dried chilies (10-12)
Peppercorn
Extra virgin olive oil
Green scallion
Dried sliced garlic
Sauce
2 tablespoon of soy sauce
half tablespoon of vinegar
1 tablespoon of water
half tablespoon of sugar
half teaspoon of corn starch
1 teaspoon of sesame oil
1 tablespoon of rice wine

Cooking Instructions
1. Remove shell and de-vein shrimps.
2. Add salt and let it marinate for 10 minutes.
3. Heat wok or pan and then add olive oil.
4. Stir fry green scallion, dried sliced garlic, dried chilies and peppercorn for 3-4 minutes. 5. Add shrimps and stir fry until red or 70% cooked.
6. Add all remaining sauce seasonings and stir gently until 100% cooked.
7. Serve.

keruri

hi <font color="119911">Skylar</font>,
nice pic... hee.. is green scallion the cong1 we buy from market?

hi <font color="ff6000">bit bit</font>,
the cakes in your pictures are so yummy... hee... tks for sharing...

shirleybride

2 all friendz I knew frm cooking recipes (specially those in the mooncake making class- u gals know who u r,yeah!)

Greetings!

We wanted to let you know that Shirleybride had created a Hallmark.com e-card
for you.To see your card, click the link below, or copy and paste this
link into your Web browser's address line:

http://www.hallmark.com/ECardWeb/ECardPickupView.jsp?c=EG3229001131404&amp;msgid=14791370&amp;n=%5cqr%7bun%03&amp;e=%7c%01nn%7drnyrnk%7brmnI%03jqxx7lxv7%7cp&amp;BAE=3&amp;mailID=BAE_ECARD&amp;s=wo%04%3aB9A&amp;p=%5drvn%29ox%7b%29j%29sx%03o%7eu%29lnunk%7bj%7drxw7%29%16%13%16%13%2bVj%03%29knj%7e%7dro%7eu%29vxvnw%7d%7c%29jwm%29qjyy%03%29vnvx%7brn%7c%29%7c%7e%7b%7bx%7ewm%29%03x%7e%29%01r%7dq%29sx%03%7c%29%7dqr%7c%29lq%7br%7c%7dvj%7c%2b%29%16%13Lqnn%7b%7c%29%2f%29%5c%7dj%03%29rw%29%7dx%7elq%29ju%01j%03%7c%2a%29%16%13%16%13%60r%7dq%29knj%7b%03%29q%7ep%7c5%16%13%5cqr%7bun%03%29%29%29%29D92%29%16%13%16%13&amp;f=y

If you have trouble using the link we provided, please follow these
steps:

1. Click this link to go to our homepage, http://www.hallmark.com
2. If this is not successful,copy and paste the link into your
browser's address line.
3. Click on the "Free E-cards" link.
4. Click the link on the upper left hand side of the page that says
"Pick up an e-card."
5. Enter your email address and this retrieval number:
EG3229001131404
6. Click "Display Greeting. " Your e-card will be displayed.

Pardon me for posting here,i dun hv all your emails addy. However, do mail me @ [email protected] ur contactable email if possible,okie!

Tks alot. Enjoy &amp; hv lots of fun tis season!

Bit bit... ya lor.... super yummy leh... ur pixs hehehe...

Keruri &amp; Starfruit....
Yes, Scallion is the "Cong" we buy from the mkt one lor.. but for leeks hor, i think the taste might be slighty different leh... unless of coz u just fast fast stir fry it out then it should be ok lor...

Jui Kuay very hard to make leh... to me lor... why not just go &amp; buy leh? hehehe.. just an idea...

anyone had any suggestions wat to cook for X;mas eve for family (elderly..) &amp; frds (hippy..)??

pooh_ger

Hi Hi to those who requested for my recipe sorry for the late reply as my PC is down cannot access to internet so i can't send it from that PC kindly bear with me i'll send it out to all of u once my stew pig PC is ok! Tks &amp; SORRY!

milo66

hi star fruit.

ya i got the recipes from winnie and under the ondeh ondeh recipe has this one heap tablespoon flour thus not sure wat it mean

no-time...
u making cake? hehehe... me wanna eat.... hahaha....

Something to share.... sure looks good... do know that this recipe fall under the healthy diabetic souls

Artichoke Veal Chops
234210.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
4 (6 ounce) lean veal chops (3/4 inch thick)
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
Cooking spray
1/3 cup sliced green pepper
3/4 cup sliced sweet orange, red, and yellow pepper
1/3 cup canned fat-free, reduced-sodium chicken broth
1/4 teaspoon dried whole thyme
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (14 ounce) can artichoke hearts, drained and quartered
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

DIRECTIONS:
Trim fat from veal chops. Rub cracked pepper over chops.
Coat a large ovenproof nonstick skillet with cooking spray, and place over medium-high heat until hot. Add chops, and cook 3 to 4 minutes on each side or until browned. Remove chops from skillet; set aside. Wipe drippings from skillet with a paper towel.
Place green pepper and next 4 ingredients in skillet. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Stir in artichoke hearts. Return chops to skillet, spooning artichoke mixture over veal chops. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until veal is tender.
Sprinkle with chopped parsley, and serve immediately.

peeper

skylar... yah.. of cos for making cakes ah... cannot use for whipping dog rite? kekeke... but not for this xmas mah.... now asking ard so as to hv a feel which brand is good... hv couple of shopping vouchers to use mah.. so happy.....

no-time...
wahhh... so good ah! got vouchers to use ah?? can finish using bor? if not give me lor.. hehehee... kidding lah....

whip dog?? i port u to SPCA ah! dun pray pray ah.... hehehehee

lovelydolphin

I bought a roll of ham for upcoming x'mas.

May I know shld I put it in the freezer compartment or the lower deck?

do i need to preheat it before serving?
Pls advise.

lilacz

Hello ladies, any good oven to recommend?Im trying to find one that is big enough for baking whole chicken and also for cake.TIA!

keruri

hi lovelydolphin,
put your roll of ham in the chiller will do. if u like ur ham warm, u can heat it up before serving. if not, cold cuts are fine.

pooh_ger

Hi hersheys,
Do u hav any other mail box other den hotmail? As my recipes files r toooo huge to be fitted into hotmail!Tks!

No-time....

i think that green bean u gotta steam first then blend it one leh... not too sure one that... but sure tat i wanna eat if u make lor... ehehehee.....

folic

Hi no time,

here is the recipe:

Click for larger image
Ingredients
(A):

250g glutinous rice flour - sifted

1 tbsp tapioca flour

75g steamed sweet potato - mashed

3 tbsp sugar

1-2 tbsp corn oil

(B):

150g water

1/8 tsp orange-red colouring

Banana leaves - cut into small circles and greased

Corn oil for glazing

Filling:

200g split and skinned green peas - washed and soaked overnight;drain well

150g sugar

1-2 tbsp corn oil

2 pandan leaves
Method
Mix (a) in a large bowl. Make a well in thecentre and add corn oil and (b). Mix well and knead to form a smooth but not sticky dough.

Divide dough into equal portions and roll into balls. Flatten each portion slightly, add a small ball of filling. Pinch and seal the edges. Lightly dust angkoo mould with glutinous rice flour. Press each ball of dough into the mould. Knock mould lightly against table and the angkoo will slide out. Place each angkoo on greased, cut-out banana leaves.

Steam angkoo over boiling water for four minutes, then open the lid and continue steaming for six more minutes or till cooked. This will ensure that the pattern comes out sharp and clear after cooking.

Remove angkoo from steamer and brush lightly with corn oil to prevent them from sticking to one anotherand also to get the sheen.

To make the filling: Steam green peas in a steamer for 20-30 minutes or till soft. Mash the green peas.

Heat a non-stick pan, add in all filling ingredients and stir till mixture is almost dry. Remove the pandan leaves and leave aside to cool. Roll green pea paste into small balls and set aside to be used as filling.

folic

dora

Hi Adeline

I always use the "agar-agar" method. Just mix a can of beer with self-raising flour, till the batter is of the right consistency. It shouldn't drip when you dip your fish in, but it shouldn't be lumpy too. When frying the fish, hold the battered fish at a corner and let the rest of the batter 'solidify' and float on the oil before releasing it. Don't dump the whole thing into the oil, it will sink and stick to the bottom

Hope that helps.

peeper

hi folic! many thanks. did you mean green beans and not green peas (veg.)?

dora.. wah.. use beer? makes it tasty or wat?

dora

Hi no-time

This is actually a recipe from a British friend. Apparently it is the traditional way of making it. Will make the batter more crispy. actually no beer taste after deep frying.

folic

Hi no time, it is what is written in the recipe which I copied. It should be those green beans without skin, those that you use to make tau suan.

folic

peeper

hi!

Anyone has Secondary School Home Economics book that has recipe for Rock Buns? I used to bake for my hb but now I can't find the book. so sad.

No-time!
Home Econ book!!! that is really a task man! to go find it! heheehe...... u ah... today hols... still make pple bor eng ah! hahahaa

passbyonly

Does anyone know how to make corn custard? not sure it's called corn custard. but, i tried once before it's kind of jelly. very soft

peeper

skylar... becos today later go home wan to bake sum mah... tis morning searched for my books... my editions dun have it leh ! n my sis lost her books.. so sad lor..... i have other recipe books... but i think my hb likes the one i used from the textbook lor... if dun hv .. no choice i'll use fm other books ah... sob

passby, u can buy the custard powder can at the supermkt... it has the recipe on it...

peeper

vone.. tks so much... not so much in a hurry lah. wanted to bake today but its ok, i can wait. u take care ok. cheers!

vone

hi no-time,

as requested.

Rock Buns

100g plain flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
50g butter
50g sugar
30g currants
10g raisins
10g candied peel
1/2 egg } 2 tablespoons
Milk }
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence

Method
1. Shift the flour, baking powder &amp; salt into a big bowl.
2. Rub the butter into the flour until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs.
3. Add in sugar &amp; dried fruits &amp; mix well.
4. Stir in the beaten egg, milk &amp; vanilla essence until the mixture becomes a drooping consistency.
5. Use a dessertspoon &amp; put 1 spoonful of mixture each time on a greased baking tray.
6. Bake in a moderately hot oven for 20 minutes. Do not overbake the buns &amp; burn the fruits.
7. Cool the buns on a cake rack.