Cooking Recipes as promised

pinkbottle

Hi Carol!
i haven't got the yam cake recipe that you said you'd mail me.. could you mail it to me?
thanks! ([email protected])
or if you prefer to post it here, it's fine too!

dolphin

Hi Carol,

I've tried using your classic sponge cake over the weekend. Overall it's much better than the one I've made so far. But there's still another problem. After the cake cools down, it became hard, not soft. The texture taste very much like 'Ji dan dao' (like small muffin-shaped alike). Could it be the beating of egg white is too long?

Hi Stars,
have you tried Carol's recipe already?

luckybird

Hi Carol,

I'm interested in baking cakes and cookies. do you know where i can get all the tools needed? Thank you.

Luckybird

carol

Hi Dolphin,
Sorry for the late reply....
Sounds like the problem is over heating & over beting of egg white.

carol

Hi Luckybird,
Most supermarkets will have some basic tools, If you need a more complete set, you can visit Phoon Huat Pte Ltd. It's baking supply store.
They have several outlets islandwide.

Check out their web site:

www.phoonhuat.com

Cheers:
Carol

sl

Hi Carol, have you attended any lesson organized by Phoon Huat before? Their lessons are so cheap, it's only $5 per session. Do you think they provide hands-on since it's so cheap?

Also, what do you mean by "Gently cut through batter with metal spatula or knife to get air bubbles out and to spread evenly" for your sponge cake's recipe? I don't understand leh. How long do I need to beat the egg white to prevent the texture from harden?

Thanks for answering my qns.

SL

luckybird

Hi Carol,

Thanks for your reply, will take a look at their branch during this weekend...

Luckybird

dolphin

Hi SL, did you try Carol's sponge cake recipe as well?

Hi Carol,
what do u mean by overheating the egg white? I also dunno what "Gently cut through batter with metal spatula or knife to get air bubbles out and to spread evenly" means.

By the way, I've made chocolate muffins last weekend. I know that the batter has to be lumpy but mine is not, it's smooth. If I don't mix it long enough, the mixture is not even. Any tips?

gerline

Hi Carol,

I'm referring to one of yr message in May,11 2002 on Angel Fruit Cake.

Here's the extract:
Angle Fruit Cake is a sponge cake, which is categorized as Foam Cakes. It is leavened with stiffly beaten egg whites, but no yolks or other fats which. The beaten egg whites expand in the hot oven and cause the cake to rise tall, giving it a light texture.

Just wonder why egg yolk is not used. Does it apply to all sponge cake? (I notice yr recipe for classic sponge cake contains egg yolk)

Lastly, what is the different between chiffon and sponge cake?

carol

Hi SL,
I've not attended any lesson from Phoon Huat...
So I'm not to sure about their lessons, you could give them a call to find out more.

Ok... to answer your question,that means you should use your spatula to fold the mixture to that it's not only well-mix, but the air bubbles would be released throughout the mixture.

Hope that makes a clearer understanding of the recipe.

Cheers:
Carol

sl

Hi Dolphin, I didn't try Carol's sponge cake recipe yet. Thinking of trying out this weekend. Wish me luck cos I've not really bake cake before.

SL

carol

Hi Dolphin,
You can refer to the above for the question answered... One more thing, to spread evenly, when the mixture is been fully mixed, before pouring them into the baking tin. So that when the cake is done. It well be balanced.

As for the chocolate muffins, are you using the recipe that I've giving you???

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi gerline,
Cakes fall into two major groups, foam cakes (little or no fat) and shortened (butter) cakes.

Cakes that do not contain fat, such as sponge, angel food and chiffon cakes, are often referred to as foam cakes. These have a larger proportion of egg than butter cakes.

Butter cakes, also called creamed cakes, contain butter, margarine or vegetable shortening, which contribute to a finely textured, tender and moist cake.

FOAM CAKES: Strictly speaking, a foam cake contains no leavening or fat other than provided by the eggs; baking powder and baking soda are not necessary in these recipes. As a result, it is important to preheat the oven and have the baking pans ready in advance. These cakes need to be baked as soon as they are ready or the egg whites will deflate; they will do so after about 5 minutes of sitting on the countertop ! Because Foam Cakes are so light and airy, they should be cut with a serrated knife in a sawing motion to cut. An electric knife is helpful, too.

There are some similarities and differences within Foam Cakes:

Sponge cakes are a light cake whose leavening comes only from beaten egg whites (no baking powder or soda), and has little or no butter and thus have very little fat content. As a result, a Sponge cake takes well to being imbibed with flavored syrups and such. These cakes rely upon eggs and/or yolks for their leavening. The maximum amount of air can be beaten into them when at room temperature

Chiffon cakes are light like sponge cakes, but are easier to make because there are no egg whites to beat and fold in. Plus, there’s more fat in it (oil) so it’s more tender and moist than sponge cake.

Cheers...
Carol

dolphin

Hi Carol,

I did not go according to your muffin recipe. I read from a Muffin Book that the batter needs to be lumpy. I did go through yr recipe, very similar to mine.

By the way, I've saw yr recipe on pizza posting. Do I really need to own a thermometer to measure the temperature of the water?

thank you so much.

carol

Hi Dolphin,
If you don't cook or bake very often, don't waste your $$ on the thermometer.
You can just base on your own judgement...

carol

Hi Minnie,
Here's an easy cheesecake recipe.

Cheesecake

Serving Size : 8

Amount Measure Ingredient -- Preparation Method
-------- ------------ --------------------------------
16 ounces Cream cheese -- softened *
1/2 cup Sugar
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
2 Eggs
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
Graham cracker crust
METHOD:
1. Beat cream cheese, sugar
and vanilla at medium speed until well blended. Blend in 2 eggs.

2. Stir in chocolate chips then pour batter into graham cracker
pie crust. (you may sprinkle 1/4 c mini semi-sweet chocolate
chips on top if you desire) Bake at 350F for 40 min, or until
center is almost set. Cool. For best results refrigerate for
3 hours.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Curly
Flour varies according to the the gluten content of a flour that affects the strength of a dough.

Strong flour is also known as bread flour had a high gluten content.

Cheers:
Carol

dolphin

Hi Carol,
A marble cake recipe to share with you... I baked it this afternoon... quite satisfied with the end-product because it taste very alike to what I get outside. But very fattening...

Last Friday, I did a sponge cake using yr recipe again... no good, still need some improvement. *sign*

Marble Cake

Ingredients

1 tsp baking powder
300g plain flour
140g icing sugar
6 eggs
300g butter
140g sugar
1 tsp coffee essence

Baking Tin:
4 14cm floral shaped tins

Method
1. Sift baking powder and plain flour, then sift icing sugar.

2. Separate egg yolks and egg whites for later use.

3. Beat egg whites and sugar till stiff peaks form. Add egg yolk and beat for about 2 minutes. Remove.

4. Add butter mixture and mix well by hand. Pour in plain flour and baking powder to mix well. Add coffee essence. Lightly swirl mixture till coloured patterns appear.

5.Bake at 180 degree celsius for about 25 minutes. Remove and cool.

Source: Joy of Cooking: Cakes & Pastries (Bilingual Edition)

luckybird

Hi carol,

I went to phoonhuat during the weekend, wow, it provides all kinds of cooking necessities, i was a happy shopper and became a member of them...
thank you for your great help...

I'll try baking the first cake in my life this weekend, could you pls advise which one is the easiest for me to start from?

Luckybird

dolphin

Hi Luckyird,

I'm also new to baking. If I'm not wrong, I started one month ago. I started off with sponge cake but still needs improvement. (see the past thread questions that I post to Carol).

Yesterday I tried marble cake for the first time, it taste good and the instructions are simple to follow.

luckybird

Hi Dolphin,

I did read your posting, but you didn't sound like a beginner leh, maybe because i'm fresher than you...

Thank you for the recipe, so this menu can make 4 14cm cakes, isn't? and i'm a bit hestitate about the 300g butter...

Luckybird

carol

Hi Luckybird,
You are most welcome....

Just for personally opinion, you can try to bake some cookies & biscults as a beginning. Cakes need more skills and patience.

Cheers:
Carol

freesia

Hello Everyone!

First time visiting this thread....It's amazing this thread is sooo long!...

I just starting DIY learning on baking! I started with the supposed to be simplest recipe on muffins (which the bakery book said so)...However, after trying for a few times, the muffins still doesnt taste rite...It's like when I eat it, it leaves a "biting" feeling on my tongue....I hope u understand what I meant? I really clueless about the cause of it...
Can anyone of u advise me on this? Thanks a million!

minnie

Hi Carol,

Thank so much for the cheesecake recipe. Will try and let you know this weekend! If I wanna add Mango in it, how shall I go about it?

dolphin

Hi Luckybird,

I didn't use 4 14cm baking tin for the marble cake. I managed to pour the batter using 2 tins (think the diameter is more than 14cm).

Ya, the 300g looks alot to me. I don't think I will bake those cakes with so much butter that often.

dolphin

Hi Carol,

Next, I would like to try out chocolate cookies.
In one of the recipe, I saw the ingredient 'Shortening'. Can you tell me what is that.

Hi Freesia,
I've tried making muffins before. Don't really understand what you mean by 'biting feeling in yr tongue'. You mean rough rough feeling??

coco

Hi Carol,

I've something to check with you. What is the difference between sugar and caster sugar? are they the same?

By the way, do you have any recipe for Chocolate roll?

clari

Hi Carol

Can i ask you something pertaining to your cheesecake recipe? What do you mean by blend in the 2 eggs? Using the mixer as well?

curly

Hello Clari, I don't have a soft copy.... I got the recipe from here too. It was posted by Carol sometime last month. If I'm not wrong, at the end of the recipe, Carol pasted a big precious moment pic....

luckybird

Hi Carol,

I have tried to bake cookies the past weekend, and i'm quite satisfied with the result, taste really good... so i decided to start baking cake, actually your sponge cake recipe looks simple, think i can try this one first...

1)shall i follow 1 cup=95g in this recipe?
2)what does it mean by 9x3-1/2 inch tube pan?
3)can u recommend which brand of mixer shall i buy?
Sorry for so many questions, thank you...

luckybird

Hi Clari,
Here is the durian cake recipe carol has posted.

Durian Cake

Ingredients:
- 240g butter
- 225g castor sugar
- 4 large eggs
- 100g mashed durian pulp
- 2-3 tablespoons milk

Shifted ingredients, combined:
- 240g self-raising flour
- 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

METHOD
1. Line a 23cm cake tin with greaseproof paper.
Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one
at a time.

2. Beat in durian pulp until well blended. Fold in shifted ingredients and enough milk to give a soft dropping batter.

3. Pour into prepared tin and bake in a preheated 175c oven for 50-60 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted to the center of the cake.

freesia

Hi Dolphin

What I meant is that the muffins leave a rough sensation the the tongue....some sponge cakes I bought oso got this problem.

BTW, oso like to consult you gals about oven? Is there difference in settings based on the oven used? Mine is the Connell brand....dunno good or not....

luckybird

Hi Dolphin,

I was following one cooking book borrowed from library, it was written by a Japanese but translated into Chinese... if you can read Chinese i can scan it and email to you...

Actually it's a very good book introducing all required tools and baking tips for each recipe...if you can read chinese, you can borrow from library, will check the name for you if needed...

clari

Hi luckybird and Curly

Btw, may i know what does this mean "Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy." Do i use the electric mixer to do this step?

luckybird

Hi Freesia,

I'm using National Microwave which comes with baking function...

carol

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">WOH</FONT> so many messges!!!
Firstly, lets' welocome Fressia to the thread!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Fressia,</FONT> no problem, DO NOT OVER MIX AND/OR OVER BAKE MUFFINS AND OTHER QUICK BREADS. When a muffin turns out dense, dry and flavorless, you have either over mixed the batter and/or over baked it.
If you break open your muffins and see tunnels, you've over mixed the batter! The excess of air bubbles beaten into the batter, stretch the gluten while baking. To prevent, STOP mixing when you have generally just combined the dry and wet ingredients.

To prevent over baking, the muffin tin should come out of the oven just when the muffins have a tiny bit of baking to go.

Here's a muffin recipe to share.

Chocolate Mini Muffins with Toasted Hazelnuts

11452.jpg

INGREDIENTS: Makes 24

2 oz (50 g) dark chocolate (75 per cent cocoa solids), roughly chopped

5 oz (150 g) plain flour

2 level tablespoons cocoa powder

1 level dessertspoon baking powder

1/4 level teaspoon salt

1 large egg, lightly beaten

11/2 oz (40 g) golden caster sugar

4 fl oz (120 ml) milk

2 oz (50 g) butter, melted and cooled slightly

For the topping:

2 oz (50 g) hazelnuts, roughly chopped

3 oz (75 g) dark chocolate (75 per cent cocoa solids), broken into pieces

You will also need 2 x 12-hole mini-muffin tins, well greased or lined with mini-muffin paper cases.

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 6, 400&deg;F (200&deg;C).

METHOD:
1. You need to begin this recipe by toasting the hazelnuts for the topping. To do this, place the chopped nuts on a baking sheet and toast them in the pre-heated oven for 5 minutes.

2. Next, for the muffins, start off by sifting the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt into a large bowl.

3. Then, in a separate bowl, mix together the egg, sugar, milk and melted butter. Now return the dry ingredients to the sieve and sift them straight on to the egg mixture (this double sifting is essential because there won't be much mixing going on). What you need to do now is take a large spoon and fold the dry ingredients into the wet ones – quickly, in about 15 seconds. Don't be tempted to beat or stir, and don't be alarmed by the rather unattractive, uneven appearance of the mixture: this, in fact, is what will ensure that the muffins stay light. Now fold the chopped chocolate into the mixture – again with a minimum of stirring; just a quick folding in.

4. Divide the mixture between the muffin cups, about 1 heaped teaspoon in each, and bake on a high shelf of the pre-heated oven for 10 minutes, until well risen. Then remove the muffins from the oven and cool in the tins for 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling tray.

5. While they're cooling, make the topping. To do this, place the broken-up chocolate in a small heatproof bowl, which should be sitting over a saucepan of barely simmering water, making sure the bowl doesn't touch the water. Then, keeping the heat at its lowest, allow the chocolate to melt slowly – it should take about 3 minutes to melt and become smooth and glossy. Then remove it from the heat and give it a good stir, then let the chocolate cool for 2-3 minutes.

6. Then, when the muffins are cool enough to handle, spoon a little melted chocolate on to each one, then place it back on the cooling tray and scatter the hazelnuts over the top of each muffin.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Dolphin,
SHORTENING: is made from vegetable oil that has been hydrogenated to increase its melting point to withstand high oven temperatures.
There are both regular and butter-flavored varieties. Vegetable shortening is usually used either in pastry as a butter alternative or complement.

Dolphin, I love to bake cookies, they're easy to bake yet so YUMMY!!!

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Coco,
SUGAR is general term for sweeteners used in recipes, There are mny types of sugars,like brown sugar, icing sugar.
Different types have varies effects on recipes.

Castor sugar are small white refined crystals.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Clari,
You can just blend in the eggs without using the mixer.

As for your question regarding the durin cke, "Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy." You can use the mixer for this, cos it's more uniform in beating for the mixture to become light.

Cheers:
Carol