Cooking Recipes as promised

blueberry

Does anyone has the recipe for Herbal chicken. I will like to buy the herb myself instead of the instant pack. Thanks in advance

cody

Carol, thanks for posting the recipe. I shall try it out this weekend and let you know the outcome!
Thanks again!

cutedi

Carol, thank u for ur fishball recipe.

got one question, y must dip the fish ball into salty water. just curious.. hee. =)

suku

can any expert here teach me how to make nice scrambled egg, like those that we find at Macdonald's or Delifrance breakfast?

carol

Hi Stars,
Hope you love all the recipes here.

Here's the recipe for Durian puff, Pizza

Durian Puff
Ingredients:
- 1 cup water
- 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
- 1/4 teaspoon salt
- 1/2 teaspoon sugar
- 1 cup sifted all-purpose flour
- 5 eggs
- 300g Fresh durian

Method:
1. Preheat an oven to 400 degrees. Butter and flour a large baking sheet.

2. FOR PASTRY PUFFS: In a saucepan, combine the water, butter, salt and the 1/2 teaspoon sugar and bring to a boil. As soon as it boils, remove the pan from the heat and add the flour all at once. Using a rubber spatula or a wooden spoon, briskly beat in the flour. Place the saucepan over high heat and continue beating briskly for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat again and scrape the contents of the pan into a large bowl. Add 4 of the eggs, one at a time, beating vigorously after each addition until smooth.

3. Place the dough in a pastry (piping) bag with a 1/2-inch plain tip. Pipe mounds about 2 inches in diameter and 3 inches apart onto the prepared baking sheet. You should have 16-20 mounds in all.

4. In a small bowl, beat the remaining egg until well blended. Using a pastry brush, lightly brush each mound with the egg.

5. Bake until the puffs are golden brown, about 30 minutes. Transfer the puffs to a rack and let cool completely, about 30 minutes.

6. Place the fresh durian in a clean pastry (piping) bag fitted with a 1/2-inch plain tip. Pipe the cream into the bottoms of the cooled puffs so a little bit of the cream is exposed between the crusts. Replace the tops on the filled bottoms and serve.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pizza

7896.jpg

For Dough:

- 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
- 2/3 cup warm water, 105-115 degrees F.
- 1/4 teaspoon sugar
- 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour, plus flour for dusting
- Salt and ground white pepper
- 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

For Sauce:

- 1 cup quick tomato sauce or purchased tomato sauce
- 2 teaspoons minced garlic
- 2 teaspoons fresh oregano leaves
- 1 tablespoon fresh basil leaves
- Cornmeal or semolina

For Topping:

- 2 tablespoons freshly grated good-quality Italian Parmesan cheese
- 3 oz mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
- 3 oz smoked mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
- 4 thin slices prosciutto or baked ham, halved lengthwise
- 4-8 fresh shiitake, cremini or white mushrooms, stems removed and brushed clean
- 6 oil-cured black olives, pitted and cut in halves
- 4 artichoke hearts, quartered lengthwise (drained, canned or thawed, frozen)

Method:
1. FOR DOUGH: In a small bowl, stir together the yeast, warm water and sugar and let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.

2. Place the 2 cups flour and salt and white pepper to taste in a mixing bowl or in a food processor fitted with the metal blade. Add the oil, then the yeast mixture while stirring or processing continuously until the mixture begins to gather into a ball.

3. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured work surface and knead a few times until the dough feels smooth. Form into a ball and place in a bowl. Cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap and let the dough rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 1/2 hours.

4. FOR SAUCE: Make 1/2 recipe (1 cup) quick tomato sauce, if using, adding the garlic, oregano and basil as directed. Set aside to cool. If using purchased tomato sauce, pour the sauce into a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the garlic, oregano and basil, reduce the heat to low and simmer for 2 minutes. Set aside to cool.

5. Sprinkle some cornmeal or semolina on a rimless baking sheet. Place the dough on the sheet and, using your fingertips, press and stretch the dough into a round 12 inches in diameter, forming a slight rim at the dough edge. Cover with a kitchen towel and let rise again in a warm place until tripled in height, about 1 1/2 hours.

6. Place a pizza stone, if you have one, on the middle rack of an oven and preheat to 475 degrees F.

7. Using a fork, pierce the dough in even intervals to allow steam to escape during cooking. Spread the tomato sauce over the dough round. Then, for the topping, scatter the Parmesan evenly over the sauce. Place the mozzarella cheeses in an even layer over the Parmesan cheese. Arrange the prosciutto, mushrooms, olives and artichokes on top, overlapping them with the cheeses.

8. Place the pizza in the center of the oven or, if you are using a pizza stone, slide the pizza from the sheet onto the stone. Immediately reduce the oven temperature to 425 degrees F and bake until the dough is cooked and the cheese is light golden brown, 25-30 minutes. Remove the pizza from the oven and let stand for a few minutes before serving.

9. TO SERVE: Slice into wedges and transfer to individual plates.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Stars,
Here's the recipe for chocolate eclairs.

Chocolate Eclairs

7897.jpg

Ingredients:

- 1 quantity cream-puff pastry
- 1 beaten egg, to glaze

For Pastry Cream:
- 1 cup milk
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
- 2 egg yolks
- 1/4 cup sugar
- 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
- 2 tablespoons cornstarch

For Chocolate Ganache:
- 3 oz. Semisweet chocolate, chopped into small pieces
- 1/3 cup whipping cream

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a baking sheet with softened butter and chill until set.

2. Fill a pastry bag fitted with a medium plain nozzle with the cream-puff pastry. Pipe the mixture to form 3-4 inch logs on the baking sheet. Lightly brush with the beaten egg. Take care not to let any of the egg drip down the sides as this may prevent the dough from rising evenly. Press gently with a fork. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until crisp and golden. Immediately remove from the baking sheet and cool on a wire rack.

3. FOR PASTRY CREAM: Place the milk and vanilla in a saucepan and bring slowly to a boil. In a bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the sugar until light in color. Sift in the flour and cornstarch and whisk until blended. Pour half the boiling milk into the yolk mixture, whisk well, then return the mixture to the saucepan of milk. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, then boil for 1 minute to completely cook the flour. Remove from the heat and spread the pastry cream on a tray to cool quickly. Cover the surface with waxed paper to prevent a skin forming. Let cool completely.

4. FOR CHOCOLATE GANACHE: Place the chocolate in a small bowl. Bring the cream to a boil in a small saucepan and pour it over the chocolate. Wait a few seconds, then gently stir until the chocolate is completely melted and smooth.

5. Using the tip of a small sharp knife, make a small hole at one end on the underside of each éclair. Place the cooled pastry cream in a bowl and whisk until smooth, then spoon the cream into a pastry bag fitted with a small nozzle. Push the tip into one of the holes and fill the entire cavity with the pastry cream. Hold the éclair in the palm of your hand and stop adding the filling just at the moment you can feel it expanding. A little of the cream will ooze out once the nozzle is removed; wipe this off.

6. Using a small knife or metal spatula, carefully spread the chocolate ganache over the tops of the eclairs. Allow the eclairs to stand in a cool place until the ganache has set.

Hey, hope you have a good time baking them!

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Cody,
You are welcome.... I love cooking, so would like to share more wondwerfil recipes with all!

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

Thank you so much for the recipes. You are really my walking recipe book. How I hope I can get to meet up with you one day.
I tried to make pizza last Sunday with the ready made dough. Not sure why the dough after baking very hard at the side. The ingredientd don't stick . After another try, is abit salty and saucy when I ate it after six hrs later. SO disappointed.

Will try your recipe.

stars

milo

hi carol,

happen to passby this topic, and look through some of your recipe it made me drool. i am not good at cooking at all. so envy that you can cook.

also saw alot of ppl asking for recipe from you. if you don mind can you send me the recipes? pls... my email is [email protected]

thanks in advance

kittycat

Hi woolly lamb,

Thanks! Heard so much abt her wonderful choc cakes that I think I want to get one for my husband's bday.

stars

Hi woolly lsmb

May i know where is actaully the cake shop? Last time they sell pandan cakes?

Hi Carol

Your recipes ready? How come everybody asking you already leh? If you really are ready, can email me a copy?

Thank u

stars

alic

Kitty Cat,

Better call up to book or at least ask the operating times which is short. Had bought form them for more than 10 years(esp for CNY). A few ocassion went there not open or sold out the chocolates ones already.

Recently found that the standard hasa dropped. Maybe Violet kwan has let her DiL do the baking..Not so nice compared to the initial years.

Heard from the Makan website that "Awfully chocolate" is Great,too... Have any1 of tried it ?

woolly_lamb

harlowz...

kittycat: u're welcome...
i'm sure your hubby will love the yummy cake & especially your special surprise...

stars: lana cake shop is at watten estate off dunearn road...*erm*...dun think they sell pandan cakes 'coz they've been baking & selling choco fudge cakes 4 as long as i can remember 'coz my family used 2 get cakes from there 4 birthdays & they have bunny & swan & butterfly shaped ones...

i hope this map helps u...
7972.jpg

woolly_lamb

harlowz alic...

actually i tried awfully chocolate in march this year...& sad 2 say i didn't like it neither did the others who ate that same cake...we found it really salty...it could be a baking fault that day?? 'coz i read raves about it...weird huh?? different tongues different tastes??

as 4 lana cakes i got it a couple months back when i brought my doggy 2 the vet & it was still good...not the salty fudge i had at awfully chocolate...

passerby

Could it be they have mistaken salt for sugar for baking when u tried aufully chocolate during that time?? Gosh, i wonder how it tastes like when it's salty.

Btw, how much is lana's cake? Sounds yummy!! She oni bake choco fudge cake?? any other flavour?

beatrice

Hi everybody,

Anyone knows where i can get "ready-made" lotus paste for mooncakes?

talking about chocolate cakes, there's this one place we always order from which has great tasting but oh-so-sinful chocolate cakes, the name's "Jane's Cakes"

woolly_lamb

harlowz...

passerby: i seriously dunno what happened but i can tell u it wasn't a good experience having salty chocolate fudge cake...

kittycat: it's best 2 order in advance especially for a birthday cake...as Alic has pointed out...they have rather short opening hours...

beatrice: u can get the filling from phoon huat 'coz they sell lotsa bakery & confectionary stuff...

yep i heard of jane's cake station at jalan kayu too...izzit really good?? have u tried lana's? what the comparison??

alic

Hi woolly_lamb

What other flavour Have u tried? Which is good? I have tried pineapple besides chocolate?

After u mentioned that "awfully chocolate" not so good, at least won't go specially to get it. LANA is much nearer to my place, 5 mins drive only... Waa..I think not worth the trip to go to the other, then.

woolly_lamb

harlowz Alic...

i've tried flavours like coconut but that was like eons ago?? *erm*...cannot remember the taste from 20 years ago...

mabbe u could call lana's 2 ask them...'coz they're the experts...*heh*...so sorree i can't answer your queries this time...

hey...dun give up on awfully chocolate if there's a chance 'coz i could be wrong...juz my personal taste...

cheers 2 all us yummy chocolate cake lovers...

strawberi75

hi blueberry,

mayb u can try tis recipe....

Herbal Coconut Chicken

Ingredients:
10g 'Kei Chi'
10g 'Tong Sum'
10 red dates
1/2 chicken
1 large old coconut
Salt to taste

Method:
CUT off top of coconut & keep as lid. Retain the coconut meat but drain off coconut juice. Stand coconut in a bowl filled with water. Skin chicken meat & cut into bite-size pieces. Scald chicken with hot water for 5 minutes & drain off excess water.

Boil 2 cups water in a pot & add in herbs & boil for 10 minutes. Add chicken meat & simmer for another 10 minutes.

Remove any scum if there is any around the top. Pour the boiled soup into the coconut & cover with the lid. Steam coconut for 1 1/2 hours. Add a pinch of salt before serving.

carol

Hi Stars,
Sure.... Just feel free to share anything about cooking together.
Stars, recently, I just got a new PC, so been busy transfering some old data from the old PC to the new one.
I'll send them to you when ready.

Hi Milo,
Welcome to the cooking thread...

Happy Cooking!

Cheers:
carol

milo

carol,

i got no choice have to learn cooking if not next time when my baby come out already cannot expect him to always eat unhealthy food right?

carol

Halo Milo,
That's a good mother!
I think learning cooking isn't really difficult...

It's a joy to see your love ones eating the food cooked by yourself...

Cheers:
Carol

milo

carol,

i can't say i will be a good mother. but at least i have to try to be one. i see some of my relative only ask their children to eat maggi mee. so cham, i don want my baby to be in the same fate.

interested

Anyone has recipe for chicken pie and chinese style mee goreng?

eileen

Hi Carol,

Today, I read all yr postings of recipes from Jun 01 and copied them into a Word document! It'll very useful to a beginner like me! Thanx for sharing!

Could you also send me the "romantic dinner for 2" recipes? My email is [email protected]

Thanx : )

luckybird

Hi carol,

Thank you so much for yr contribution of all recipes, it's really useful!

How about conducting a cooking course for beginners like me?
Sometimes i got no idea of the ingredients needed...

or all,
Any good cooking course(for jia(1)chang(2)cai(4)) to recommend?

carol

Hi interested,
I've the recipe for chicken pie...
So I should post in here for everyone.

Hi Eileen,
Thanks, I'll try to serach for for it & send it to you.

Hi Luckybird,
I think most of the community center will conduct cooking class.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi interested,
Here's the recipe for Chicken pie as promised.

Chicken Pie

8164.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 5 oz cream cheese, chopped
- 6 tablespoons butter, chopped
- 3 egg yolks
- 1 tablespoon water, approximately
- 2 teaspoons water, extra

Filling:

- 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
- 1 1/2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, chopped
- 3 bacon strips, chopped
- 2 cloves garlic, crushed
- 3 tablespoons butter
- 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
- 1/2 cup dry white wine
- 1 cup milk
- 1/3 cup grated cheddar cheese
- 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
- 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
- Salt and pepper

Method:

1. Sift the flour into a bowl, rub in the cream cheese and the butter.

2. Add two egg yolks and about 1 tablespoon of water. Mix. Knead pastry until smooth, cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

3. Lightly grease a 9-10 inch pie dish. Divide the dough in half, roll one half large enough to line the bottom and sides of the pie dish; trim the edges. Cover the pastry with foil or parchment paper and fill with dried beans or rice. Bake at 400 degrees F for 15 minutes. Remove the paper and beans and bake for a further 10 minutes, or until the pastry is lightly browned. Cool.

FILLING:
1. Heat the oil in a frying pan, add the chicken in batches and cook, stirring, until browned; remove from pan. Reheat the pan, add the bacon and garlic and cook, stirring. Add the butter and flour and cook, stirring, until the liquid is bubbling. Remove from the heat and gradually add the wine and milk. Place back on the heat and cook, stirring, until the mixture boils and thickens. Stir in the cheeses, thyme and chicken; mix well and season with salt and pepper. Leave to cool slightly.

2. Spoon the filling into the pastry shell. Combine remaining egg yolk with 2 teaspoons of water, brush onto the edges of the pastry shell. Roll out the second half of the dough until it is large enough to fit over the top of the pie. Cover the pie and press the edges together firmly, trim the edges and pinch a decorative frill around them. Brush the pastry with more egg-yolk mixture and decorate with pastry leaves. Cut two slits in the pastry. Bake at 400 degrees F for about 35 minutes, or until the pie is golden brown and hot.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Stars,
I'm too sure what kind of muffin you prefer so thought of sharing these 2 recipes with you.

Here's the recipe for Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

8683.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 cups self rising flour
- 1/2 cup superfine sugar
- 1 egg
- 1 cup milk
- 1/4 cup butter, melted
- 1 tablespoon grated orange zest
- 3/4 cup blueberries

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease 12 3-in muffin cups.

2. Place flour and sugar in bowl. Stir until combined. In another bowl beat egg and stir in milk and butter. Add to dry ingredients with orange zest and blueberries. Mix lightly and quickly; do not overbeat. Spoon mixture into prepared cups, filling each two-thirds full. Bake for 20 minutes, or until firm to touch.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Orange Brunch Muffins

8684.jpg

Ingredients:

- 2 1/2 cups self-rising flour
- 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
- 2/3 cup granulated sugar
- 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
- 1/2 cup plain yogurt
- 1 cup orange juice
- 1 tablespoon grated orange peel
- 2 cups (12-oz. package) Premier White Morsels, divided
- 1/2 cup chopped macadamia nuts or walnuts

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease or paper-line 18 muffin cups.

2. Combine baking mix, flour and sugar in large bowl. Add eggs, yogurt, juice and orange peel; stir just until blended. Stir in 1 1/3 cups morsels. Spoon into prepared muffin cups, filling 3/4 full. Sprinkle with nuts.

3. Bake for 18 to 22 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool slightly.

4. Microwave remaining morsels in small, heavy-duty plastic bag on medium-high (70%) power for 1 minute; knead. Microwave at additional 10- to 20-second intervals, kneading until smooth. Cut tiny corner from bag; squeeze to drizzle over muffins. Serve warm.

Cheers & Happy Baking!

Carol

stars

Hi Carol

You finally come back. So happy. Thank you for your recipe. It seemed that no one comes to thead already. Hopefully it will become lively again as I really love to come in here to read.

regards
stars

carol

Hi Stars,
Yap... I'm back... Been busy lately...
Hope you'll love the recipes.

Humm... even though that might be only the two of us left, there's still the 2 of us...

Hope to see you here more often.

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

I will defintely come in here. I love the recipes that you have. I wonder what happen to the rest of them? ButI guess I will be quite busy cos my wedding is only 2 months away. My face got pimples coming out already. How?

regards
stars

carol

Hi Stars,
Glad to hear that you love them...

Maybe all the others are also busy with their wedding prepartions.

I think you got to drink more water, or just like me drink more fruit juice....
I drink almost everyday before my wedding.

Here's a recipe of grapefruit cooler thats cooling & taste good.

Grapefruit cooler

8768.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1 1/2 cups cranberry juice
- 1 cup grapefruit juice
- 1/2 cup sugar
- 1/4 cup lemon juice
- 1 cup club soda, chilled

Method:
1. In a bowl or pitcher, combine cranberry juice, grapefruit juice, sugar and lemon juice. Cover and refrigerate. Just before serving, stir in soda.

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

Thank you so much for the tip. I will try to drink more of that. But do you make your own fruit juice? With your own blender or juice maker? What kind of fruit juice you take? Any fruit can do?

Hi JK

So sorry I do not have any of that recipe. But maybe I will try find for you.

stars

carol

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Stars</FONT>,
<FONT SIZE="+2">You are welcome...</FONT>

Yap, I always make my own juice,using juice blender.

I love all fruits.

Orange, apple, pineapple, grapefruit are good for juices.
Even carrot, tomatoes makes good juices as well...

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Stars,
Just have a nice breakfast recipe to share with you.
yummy! yummy

Colorful Chicken Croissants

8909.jpg

Ingredients:

2 cups cubed cooked chicken breast

1/4 cup diced celery

1/4 cup golden raisins

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup sliced almonds

3/4 cup mayonnaise or salad dressing

2 tablespoons chopped red onion

1/4 teaspoon salt, optional

1/4 teaspoon pepper

4 croissants, split

Method:

1. In a bowl, combine the first nine ingredients. Spoon about 1/2 cup into each croissant.

Cheers:
Carol