Conrad Centennial Singapore

thanks vallous, i am trying to find out how to check my messages cos i dun use this forum often.

I just came back from conrad's food tasting

SUPERB! the food from conrad is not the normal kind that you will get from wedding dinner. As usual, the sharks fins is the main attraction

hi kerri and angel,

sent.

Hi San,

Yes its a good deal. I got a helper room tat day just next to Centennial Suite from 2pm to 8pm. And I got another function room beside the ballroom for my swordbearers to use from 5pm to 11pm. Its all in the package at no charge. Besides we check in at 1.30pm and we managed to have a late checkout at 3pm.

Hi hamdy,

I enjoyed my food tasting one yr ago but i have some comments..i changed the drunken chicken wings to sliced chicken cos its much easier to eat. I think i changed the beehoon dish or is it the tanghoon dish to Ee Fu noodles cos i felt it looks better.

My idea is always as long as the food is good, guests will not complain. Actually not much ppl will bother what u wore that night, but ppl only remember if the food was good. Food is always the number 1 comments for the night. So I am very particular on it..of cos after paying for the table at such steep prices.

Since u have chosen the scarlet theme, do u recommend the scarlet theme??? I'm just worried that with the black table cloth, it will make the place look very dark. Wat additional deco did u request?

hi vallous,

yes i changed the drunken chicken wings too..that's the only thing that din go well with my relatives.

BUT my relatives are against me using the scarlet theme..sighs..that theme is very grand. but granny doesn't like the black table cloth. oh well, gotta respect her, since wedg dinners are usually for the elders

hi bompipi,

we initially tot the scarlet was too dark but after a while we still stick by it as it was very grandeur and formal. The champagne is far too common theme. In order to perk it up, i asked for extra 4 red sash on each tables. So it will not look dark. Black table cloth is underneath, the red table cloth is on top so it is actually not dark.

everyone praised our bold use of black and red. It turns out really good and grand, we are very happy till today that we insisted to it and till now the guests still think its the way to go. In the end, the elders dint even noticed the black cloth as the red table cloth is on top.

but of course, if your elders are too traditional better heed their advice lah. Yes the dinner is for the elders but its also ur wedding nite, do try to maintain ur dream as well. Once in a lifetime you will walk into the ballroom.

Plus for those who think its gonna be dark, it wont as the lights will not be dimed. It is brighter than most hotels.

i dun have rice dish in my menu.

The dessert we had was Cold Cream Taro with Gingko Nuts and Sago. Very refreshing as it is not the hot and thick ones. My guests love it as it is a cold dessert.

Hi vallous, thanks for your feedback.I'm glad you boldly choose the scarlet theme. I like it becoz it's red and more colourful and the champangne theme is too common. The only worry is the black table cloth. How abt the floral deco at the stage, aisle and the centrepiece?

The red is indeed very bold and warmth. The black table cloth like i said is beneath, there is a layer of red table cloth on top of the black so it is actually not dark.

The floral deco at the stage are all dark red roses, aisles are also all red and the center piece has red roses from the round vases booming. Very nice and elegants. Plus there will be many tea lights lighted on the tables and the stage screen. Very romantic feel.

OK...will def consider the scarlet theme.
San, Is there mango sago in the menu??? The dessert from menu A and B are only red bean glutinous rice soup and taro. Are there new items on the menu?

I dun have mango on my menu too.. But I felt mango is too common for that price we pay, normal home buffet already serve that dessert. From what i know, Taro is a much more difficult dessert to prepare.

Hot taro will be very hard to digest especially the food is too filling. So cold refreshing taro is good and ppl can finish it faster.

This is my two cents opinion. But still do ask ard with family members what your guests might prefer. Its better that way.

Hi Vallous, Im new here and after seeing all your good reviews..Im more or less decided to go for Conrad after my site visit late this wk on their actual setup. Can you PM me your coordinator and package for a reference? thanks a million in advance=)

hi lavender,

i can only give my own opinion based on how conrad serves me. But it depends greatly on how ur coordinator serves u and your expectations with Conrad. I will PM u soon.

you have to go to ur profile setting at sg brides then activate the PM to allow others to PM u.

if not u can give me ur email add then i email u

Hi, i am considering conrad but they have a min no. of 400 pax for weekend. Do u all manage to neogotiate to reduce the min. pax?

Also i've heard of my fren complaining about the bad service he had with the waiters. Have u had any problems like that?

is tat so? 400 pax? Mine was 36opax. iTs a public holiday for me..so consider weekend also. The min was 30 tables.

i dun have bad service. For me the service was excellent.

hi samuel..i am not the coordinator of Conrad. I am just a satisfied customer.

As for 2010..i dun think the price and menu will be out so soon. maybe end this yr. It still very early to ask for weekday package for 2010 sept. Just call Conrad and ask for the banquet sales and they will email you the package. My package was 2008. Think expire already haha. Do note..price increases $100 per table yearly. Thats my observation through my resourcing during 2007/08.

Anyone had experience with a buffet style banquet @ Conrad? Is the quality of the food above average?

Am thinking of a buffet style lunch so that it'll be less formal and pple can move around, mingle and chat.

Do you think pple still have the perception that buffets are more cheapo?

hi Jalene,

I jsut had my food tasting 2 weeks ago. The food is good! the reason why i chose conrad was becos i attended a fren's wedding sometime last yr and was won over by the ambience and food.

Did anyone tried the ROM buffet lunch at Conrad? How's the food quality? I've been reading reviews about their buffet at Oscar's Cafe and the reviews have been mixed. It range from really good food to really lousy food.

I'm pretty particular about the quality of food. And also, did their Salon by the Pool had a march-in aisle? Thanks very much!

hihi, i will be having a solmenization by the pool. it's not a long march in, but they will arrange the chairs in such a way that you can see a march in aisle.

Am planning to have my wedding @ Conrad and I definitely cannot go for Scarlet Theme cos my parents will chop me up.

Could anyone who had the champagne theme before email me the pics at [email protected]?

I'm trying to change the colours of my flowers to spring colours but will require at least $800 top up even if I choose cheap flowers. Can anyone advice if you used an external vendor before?

Many thanks!

hi apple,

can just contact directly to conrad. Send email to them or call them up.

hi lai,

just ask your coordinator to send you a pic of the champagne theme. They have it.

Hi hi....

Planning my banquet this year-end.

Have viewed both Four Seasons and Conrad.... felt in love with both of them, which is why I am having problems choosing.

For Conrad.... the idea of having the whole foyer (only one ballroom) to yourself is heaven sent.

But reviews have been a mix of positives and negatives.

Are their waiteress from China? ... becos I have ang moh guests... there may be problems communicating.

My co-ordinator is Eng Yan.... she seems to be very helpful and knowledgeable.... anyone liase with her before?

Hi iamken,

I shortlisted the same exact hotels as you; four seasons and conrad. I chose Conrad because the one ballroom idea was private and very nice. In addition my coordinator Jeanie has been very helpful.

The FS coordinator showed us the suite and it was so beautiful and regal! If I'm not wrong I think FS suite is 75 square metres! The FS wedding coordinator was very on the ball and carried himself very well.

Both FS and Conrad were great and I was in dilemma for a while. I finally decided with Conrad because they had the date I wanted and was slightly cheaper than FS (in terms of the items that were impt to us such as free flow of beer and waiver of corkage).

Cheers and good luck!

Hi hi!

I'm in a dilemma now... shortlisted Regent & Conrad. I like Conrad but Regent can accomodate more people. arghh...

iamken : Yeah, i was served by Eng Yan last week. she seems like a nice lady.

Hi Lai...

Ya... my FS coordinator very solid too. Email replies/phone calls were super fast. It will be a shame to turn her down. Everything with FS was good, but I am particularly worried about the small foyer allocated to each ballroom. Very narrow.... hence the crowd will have to spill out to the main foyer. And if the other ballroom is having wedding.... it could be messy.

I heard that Conrad is rather strict with perks. Any luck from your side? When is your AD?

Pebbles08..... Regent packages are very attractive, but my the other half not keen on Regent....brand-name freak lah.

How many tables you intending to get? My is a small 20-25 tables weekday.

Hi iamken,

No, didn't get much perks from them. But they were nice to offer a complimentary room for my tea ceremony session.

My AD is 3 Oct and similar to you, I'm trying to keep it below 22 tables for a more cozy and intimate affair with close relatives and friends.

So you've already decided on Conrad?

Hi Vallous..... saw your earlier posts raving about Conrad.

During your dinner, were there other functions going on at the smaller rooms? I was afraid the foyer reception will be messy with guests from the other functions.

Just wanna share my experience with all BTB that are considering conrad. I had my wedding dinner at conrad recently and I'm totally happy and pleased with their services. Right from the moment I arrived at the hotel till the day I checked out, the staffs at conrad made me feel really special. My hubby and I are extremely pleased with everything and we had good reviews from our guest throughout the night about the food and services.

We had intended on a casual intimate dinner with our family and friends instead of the usual 30 tables grand affair banquet setup. We used the pool side pavilion and the buffet from oscars was fantastic. We had a Seafood BBQ theme buffet setup where the chefs from Oscars would BBQ the food there and then. Desserts were fantastic, everything was great. My coordinator was Jeanie Tan and she helped to ensure that everything was looked after even though I had some last minute changes. Operations Manager Alvin Lee was great as well and he ensured that the night went on smoothly. I can thank both Jeanie and Alvin enough to help create a beautiful for us, doing what they can with professionalism. Everything was well taken care of and there is nothing that I'm unhappy about. Guest were all happy with the food and promptness in service. Despite the really humid weather that night that kinda made all my guest "melt" under the heat, all my guest enjoyed themselves and hang around till 10plus. The experience was different from a normal banquet and we were able to mingle and chat with all our guest till they leave. It was certainly a memorable night that we had hoped for and we definately recommand conrad to anyone who is considering them. Their staff never fail to make you feel special and important. Thanks to all the staffs at conrad and special thanks to Jeanie and Alvin for ensuring that the night was a successful event.