Conrad Centennial Singapore

hi bom pi pi,

yep you're right some may not get the other wedding favor.

guess it depends on personal preference; for myself I'll prob provide a mix so that guests can choose what they prefer. anyway most of my guests will come in pairs or as a family.

haven't tried the praline/fruit cake and will need to ask the coordinator to let me have a taste before making a decision.

Hi Lai..... when is your dinner?

Have not been checking the thread here for a while, as we are now focusing on the BS threads.... finding a BS is so much more difficult than choosing a banquet venue. Haven't finalise our decision yet. We are quite choosy freaks =p

Hi iamken,

Our AD is on 3 Oct 09, lunch.

When is yours?

Hehehe...we're not gonna find a BS, gonna have ala carte arrangements for most of our things and not going to do bridal album!

nope...i chose the chocolate pralines...all my guests either ate it at the dinner or took it home. I tot there was some remainder, ended up none on the tables. All took it.

I dun really fancy small bears cos its too small. I like the conrad bears but the bigger ones so i displayed in my matrimonial home. the pralines are of very good quality.

Fruit cake we got it for the 2Kg complimentary wedding cake so we just took it. Damm rich.

as for BS, just remember to try on the gowns beware of 'exclusive clauses" cos they will show you the nice ones then later say u cannot wear unless you top up cash. So be careful.

Lai... mine is a bit later then yours.... 28th Oct 09 dinner.... haha... same month!

Hey, care to share about your unique arrangements of doing away BS and album?

Vallous.... thanks for the advice.... sourcing for BS has really been an eye opener... from the hard-sell tactics to the tricky wordings they used..... basically I am staying away from those BS... damned scary... I am opting towards ala-carte stuffs from designer houses... just went to this fella Vaughn Tan.... this fella is quite good.... still looking around though =p

Hi iamken,

Hahah..that's nice, our wedding is on the same month!

Basically, my FH and I are not comfortable in front of the camera and refuse to go through posing for photos. But we'll definitely hire a photographer on the actual day (still contemplating if we need a videographer). Am asking around for free-lance photographers especially those who are good with candid shots...would like him/her to capture the different emotions of us and our family/friends on AD.

I'm sticking to one wedding gown (not changing into another dress) cos we hope to spend time mingling with family and friends at the wedding. Am also sourcing for a wedding band to liven up the event!

You can say our wedding is very frills-free...haha...time will be effectively used so that everything (from gatecrashing to tea ceremonies, solemnization to finally lunch)ends by 4pm latest. Then my FH and I can enjoy ourselves in the conrad suite!

Lai... hey, your idea is very good.... not only frills-free... but I believe stress-free too.... that is very impt on AD.

I am still trying to find ways to 'innovate' my dinner so that it will not be so boring.

Your candid shots idea is good too... I intend to place disposable cameras on each table, so that the guests can help us capture moments from their angles. I learnt this idea from magazine... hahaha

Me still thinking whether to have live band anot... becos we are going to engage Vernetta Lopez as our emcee that night... need someone comical to spice up the otherwise boring sit down dinner.

As of the videographer.... my fren told me that one bad about having a VG is that he will always get in the way of the PG... or if not, will appear in some of the photos taken by PG. His experiences lah. You decide.

Hi iamken...cool! U invite Vernetta to be your MC. She must be quite expensive. I'm still thinking of ideas to spice up my wedding dinner too! Any ideas...want something unique...any recommendations for pipe or string orchestra? Any ideas...help.

bom pi pi..... when is your day?

Yeah.. she quite ex... but still affordable.... I quite like her and her jokes, so ok lah......... FD (the flying dutch***) is more expensive.....

The orchestra thingy should be not cheap though... even for a 3 piece group.

I also really have no idea how to really spice up the night. Thought of having D&D-like games... but scared lack of wedding feeling.

Still got abit of time to brainstorm... heehee

my wedding is june leh...abt 3 more months. everyday has been dreaming in the office on the BIG day..hehe...sometimes even dream at night...sometimes nightmare..hehe...i think if you want to make ur dinner like D & D, may not be a good idea unless there is a theme and ur guests are very sporting, otherwise it will look very awkward. I'm looking of some entertainment though, ultimately live music is still better than piped music. But juz a short performance, coz ultimately many times ur guests will not focus and pay attention to the band.

Hahaa.. I also having my fair share of dreaming... but right now, am stuck with choosing a bridal shop.... which BS are you using?

3mths to go..... well, as least i suppose you have everything in place and ready to go full throttle on AD.

Do update us on your AD experience with Conrad ya.

Yes...i will definitely update all of you...i got to arrange for church wedding, solemnisation and tea ceremony in the day 2. Frankly, there are still so many things to finalise. The list just goes on and on....My bridal studio is with La Vie. U can check out their services

very quiet leh... Conrad thread....

Just to update all... we have finally settled our BS after weeks of visiting and evaluations hahaa..... it will be Vaughn Tan. Verbally agree lah, because his PC broke down when he want to do up the contract... funny friendly chap... we haven't pay deposit too =P

Actually wanted Bridal Veil, but decided to give it a miss.

So another issue down... next will be sourcing for PG.... any recommendations from fellow Conrad-ians?

Oh yah... for those who want 'live' bands... someone just emailed me the following... dunno who the person is, but he most probably got my email from the forum....

SGD$750 for a 2 piece band consists of a Singer & a Guitarist.
SGD$950 for a 3 piece band consists of a Singer, Guitarist & a Saxophonist or a Bassist.
SGD$1250 for a 4 piece band consists of a Singer, Guitarist, Bassist & a Drummer.
SGD$1450 for a 5 piece band consists of a Singer, Guitarist, Saxophonist, Bassist & a Drummer.

The band will perform for 1hr 30mins (2 sets of 45 mins) for the above mentioned rates & all musical equipments required by the band for the performance will be provided without additional charges.

His email: [email protected]

My humble contribution. Note: I got this from spam mail, so I am not related to them in any way.

Anyone consider buying artificial petals (or any suggest replacement) for throwing during match in? Conrad do not allow real petal in case it stains their carpet. Thanks.

Hi lovelee,

You can try asking the florists... they should have it.

By the way, was it you who PM me for a link-up?
Sorry leh, I forgot abt it.... anyway, how to link-up? Abit blur blur with all the 'facilities' available.

How's your preparations coming up?

actually i bought a box of artificial petals from IKEA for less than $5 before. I use them when making presents or cards. I rem they have pink/coral colour, red and white and are actually quite pretty (but of course cannot compare to real flowers lah).

Is Conrad referring to Conrad Centennial? The one beside Suntec? I am very blur!!! :p I am still shortlisting the hotel venues for my banquet next year.. so many things to handle! Anyone can share with me the price per table for Conrad on a weekend? I can’t find the prices on their website..

Hi Tickpoe,

Yes, it's Conrad Centennial near Suntec Convention. They don't post their prices on the website, have to call or write in.

Style Magazine featured them and their prices are around $1188++ (weekend with min. 30 tables) and $988++ (weekday with min. 20 tables). They have other complimentary things which I didn't list down.

Drop them an email or give them a call! They're extremely quick and friendly!

I am considering conrad. May I know what can we bargain for? Is there any waiver of the projector as I just found out tat it is chargable. Is one barral of beer enough for 30 tables? Can bargain for more? Pls help before we decide. Thanks

Projectors are non-waivable. As for beer, depends on your guests. Are they the beer dinkers type? I notice that nowadays people tend to order wine, so might not be necessarily to get the beer barrel.

Sadly, I wasn't able to take Conrad due to its limited seating capacity at its Grand Salon and I can't fill up the ballroom.

I wanted to do my ceremony at another part of the hotel so that it wouldn't be boring to the guests. I should be going with Ritz instead and they were were nice to offer me a the poolside or a function room for my ceremony and tea ceremony even though mine is just 7-8 tables. Conrad charges an additional $1500 if I wanna do the ceremony at the poolside or at another function room.

Projectors are non-waivable. As for beer, depends on your guests. Are they the beer dinkers type? I notice that nowadays people tend to order wine, so might not be necessarily to get the beer barrel.

Sadly, I wasn't able to take Conrad due to its limited seating capacity at its Grand Salon and I can't fill up the ballroom.

I wanted to do my ceremony at another part of the hotel so that it wouldn't be boring to the guests. I should be going with Ritz instead and they were were nice to offer me a the poolside or a function room for my ceremony and tea ceremony even though mine is just 7-8 tables. Conrad charges an additional $1500 if I wanna do the ceremony at the poolside or at another function room.

Hello Eunice,

Didn't really try to 'bargain' many things from Conrad because they're actually quite accomodating in many areas already. But could be also cos my FH and my negotiation skills lousy. I also didn't want to sour the relationship with the coordinator cos 'good vibes' throughout the process till AD are impt to my FH and I. We managed to get the following though:

i) Food tasting for 10 pax (instead of 5 pax),
ii) 2 centre fresh flower pieces with abit of pink flowers (cos my parents pandang so cannot all white flowers for champagne theme). If wanna change flowers have to be prepared to fork out $800 to $2000 to $3000, which we refuse to.
iii) 30% (instead of 20) guest with FOC parking
iv) complimentary use of small function room for tea ceremony
v) Solemization set-up in main ballroom

We discussed about the projector but they maintained that we need to pay rental of $450 so I'll be borrowing from friends to save cost.

As for beer,as carebearz mentioned have to depend on guests. I will be getting wine to supplement the beer cos I think most of my guests will drink wine. I will also give instructions NOT to open new barrel if beer is not enough. I think the guests should be quite happy with Conrad's food liao cos my FH and I personally went to try out the food @ Golden Peony before committing for our AD on 3 Oct.

Good Luck!

I'm a mar 2010 conrad GTB =) . My coordinator is jeanie, and we usually spend 1 hour talking rot with her before we get to the serious stuff.

Just to note though, they can't waive of the projectors cos the projectors belong to a different team/department. not under banquets.

I checked with jeanie and their projectors are the 3000 lumens
type (if i remember correctly). just make sure that when you get from outside, its close. later not bright enuff then ... arrrrrggghhh ...

I'm still looking for projector rentals. would be good if anyone comes across anything good
. but my AD still far away larr, can slowly look.

Welcome Darrel & Geri as Conrad Bride and Groom!

Jeanie is also my coordinator and she's very nice. Even recommended her facial place to me.

hi all... i was wedded last oct and in Conrad too.. it is a really nice and good hotel! you made the right choice. And their service is excellent.

I'm contemplating between Four Season and Conrad, and personally the contact person from Conrad won us over immidiately.
She was so personal and not rush through the list of things and really listen to what we want. Comapre to Four Season, I thik COnrad is more flexible to bargain for the items.

Hello Hellen!

I shortlisted the exact same hotels as you; Four Seasons and Conrad. We chose Conrad in the end because of their service and great food! We had lunch at Golden Peony (very impressed with the food) before committing!

I just confirmed with my coordinator, she's the Assistant Director of Catering, for 20th June 2010, dinner.

I really glad they have blue linen for the table! Because my theme are breakfast at tiffany (blue)!

have you decide on your table color?

hi hellen congrats for being a conrad bride too!
i'm surprised to hear that they have blue linen...what type of blue is it?? so exciting! cos the last time i went down they only had 2 themes, the scarlett one and the cream one...

any pics that u care to share?

yeah man! Yeah...blue sounds so strange and interesting! i oso thought they only have 2 themes. Champangne and scarlet. Hellen, how about the flowers??

I have the following items for sale.
These are bought last month, thus in very new condition.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 9 bottles, $70 each

2) Chivas Regal 12 yrs, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $55 each

Please email to [email protected] or sms to 91106030 for enquiries now!

Just a word of advice for those doing Tiffany blue. Make sure it's the exact shade like the famous Tiffany is. Otherwise, it will end up looking like a cheapo-wannabe version. That's how my friend's wedding ended up and till this day, she's been lamenting about it.