Conrad Centennial Singapore

oh ya....forgot to mention smtg again rgd HM. my goldfish memory at work again lah, hee hee.

F&E for your honeymoon has its pros and cons. I'm still pondering both options - whtr to go F&E or pkg tour.

F&E is good for its flexibility. however there is added stress in the planning of the itinerary and finding transportation & accomodations. may not be a good start to your married life if u are constantly quarrelling or at odds during your HM. I was constantly stressed out from planning the itinerary when I went with my family to Europe for a mth. I also had to find accommodations for us in every city and was part-time driver too. If I'm not on driver duty, I'll be reading the map and guiding the driver. It didn't help that the roads & cars were left-hand drive.

as for pkg tours, u just relax and follow the tour guide like a sheep. the risk is that u may have some unpleasant tour mates. however I enjoyed myself tremendously when I went with my family to Italy in 2000 on an Insight Tour. its totally unlike our local tours here and its more relaxed and the focus is more on sightseeing than shopping, unlike the typical tour conducted by our local agents. we also had free flow table wine at every meal and I had a really good time coz I'm a closet "jiu gui", hee hee. my tour mates came from all over the world and we were the only singaporean family. hence there was hardly any kiasuism and rushing around coz everyone was very relaxed and laidback.

so if I really do manage to persuade my FH to go spain, I'll seriously consider going on an Insight Tour again if I'm not doing it F&E.

just my 2 cents' worth.

goober grape lover,

nowadays very difficult to tell will rain anot leh.. think see heng anot one la..
wah.. 40days in Europe spend 8k+ ah.. then now i got to start saving liao.. then hubby will b more convinced to go hehehe

demure,
sure go with tour if going to Spain, cause dun understand their language, wait kena con also dunno :P hahaha

caicai & demure,
Greece so bad ah?? thought of going to see old buildings and ruins.. so jialet then dun go liao...

lilacblur
also quite fun to go explore in spain even if u donno their language. depends on how adventurous u are feeling lor..

as for greece, I wouldn't mind going to greece again even tho the rest of the city apart from the old ruins are not very nice. u can also go and explore the islands which are very beautiful.

my fren also tried to book but realised that the $676+++ package is not available on alot of dates already.. think most folks have to pay the usual rates for weekdays and this is just a gimmic to get people to come down, see the place, and then decide that they dont mind paying the price for the beautiful ballroom on weekend.

demure, saw the taiwan show on scv, greece quite nice leh..maybe because i like to see old buildings hehe but think hubby will find it boring :P

goober grape lover, i agree, think 676+++ is those super not popular dates.. if place really nice, dun think ppl will mind paying more

yeah, i agree with goobergrape.. by going on a price discount.. Conrad seems to be compromising its standing as an excellent hotel. i dun think Shangri-La or Four Seasons did such things. even if the aim is to get potential customers in to view the ballroom, i'd rather they do it via wedding shows. yet, they've said they never do wedding shows.. such confusion..

no lah.....most pp who are not preparing for weddings will not know abt conrad's special pkg so think it'll be quite safe. its only us chow kiasu BTBs who check all over the place who are that well-informed

I am new in this website. After reading all the mails, I find this site to be very informative. I am considering venue for my banquet dinner now..likely to be in Jan 2006. Does anyone know any info about Conard to share? Such as what is the min and max table? price range?

Appreciate your help.

Koi

Mine is a weekend pkg so can only share info on this based on my faulty memory hor.

min table req is 25 tables based on 12pax per table, so that's 300 pax. max the ballroom can take is 34 tables (408 pax).

conrad prices have increased by abt $100+ per table since I signed with them. think it's definitely hit the $100+ per pax mark now.

u can call the co-ordinator Catheryn at 64327176 or her assistant Joey at 6432 7172 to ask them to email u their pkg.

Hi demure,

Thanks for the info. I went there just now to take a peek at the ballroom. I am impressed and will contact Catheryn tmr. Thanks again.

Koi

wow! conrad is that popular nowadays?

welcome the newbies!

any updates from the brides-to-be?

currently, i'm deciding on AD photo-cum-videographer.. my AD is in Jun05.

btw, does anyone know how is the food being served at conrad?.. as in, the food will be apportioned at the table or in the kitchen?

i've attended a dinner at shangri-la last week. the svs was good but the serving was pretty slow. wonder if it's becos they need more time to apportion servings in the kitchen.

if i'm not mistaken, we have a waiter attending to each table right?

>>harlo, Cai. Mine's a Sunday too, 23rd. ;p

btw, which BS you choosing?

>>harlo, novgal. i have a GF who even booked Conrad for 2006. she scared the weekends are taken so decided to do it early.

If i'm not wrong, you can choose whether to have the food apportioned or DIY. i will probably have the 1st 2 dishes (ie. cold dish & sharks fins) apportion, the rest is DIY. i guess by that time, most of the guests are more settled & less hostile.

you might want to confirm with your banquet mgr on the waiter issue for the peace of mind. i think they will cos they are in the 5* league.

thanks, moon

yr fren is right.. i was looking for weekend (my signed contract was dated 11 mths before my WD).. and all booked! gotta settle for weekday eventually

think i'll check my contract details before calling.

novgal and moon, just popped in to answer u.
conrad is silver service (differs from family service), so they will serve individual portions at each table. guess they will either do it in the kitchen or at a serving table nearby. dun worry abt the speed, its alright. after my wedding, my friend told me feels so good to have someone serve her.
and the food was all sufficient portions for everyone i asked. perhaps if u want, u can ask for normal family service for the 3rd dish and after. but i guess your coordinator may discourage it as this is one of the exclusive things you are paying for, and something not all hotels provide.
and yes one waiter to one table, but on harm confirming with coordinator. enjoy your wedding preps.

not only did I confirm its 1 waiter per table, I also confirmed that they trained every waiter!!! I asked whether they simply drag in any tom dick or harry from the street or whtr they train all even the part-timers? catheryn was actually quite insulted by my question, haha....

binbin & demure,
thanks for the great info.. so happy with our choice

binbin,
when was ur AD? must have been a great night
any photos to share? my email: [email protected]

btw, did u top up for any flora deco or have any specific theme? my EG is in red and my BS co-ordinator suggested summer colours for the ballroom theme. but i have no idea about the summer colours she mentioned

demure,
when is ur AD? how is ur preparation?

helo novgal.
my AD was in march this year, had a memorable day, really really missed it. I never stopped thanking conrad deep in my heart for making my wedding so beautiful. well, i asked for the old guest table centrepiece (with geberras, not orchids) and i paid my own wedding florist to do each table up for me, at extra cost.
the theme is a bit gardeny coz i have trailing ivys. my florist is poppy, and i trust her with everything of my wedding regdg flowers hehehe... perhaps your BS are talking about bright colours issit? can't be sure what she meants by summer colours ,but i am sure if u have a fav florist, they will know what it meant, or they can recommend a theme based on you gowns and personality. poppy is beri good at that hehehe...

hallo novgal & binbin

I understand from Catheryn that Conrad only provides 1 and only 1 theme for the ballroom, ie off-white flowers and white candles? did she tell u gals that? she did mention that either we take it or we go hire our own florist for our own look. strictly no changes allowed. so rigid hor?

so u gals are gonna pay extra for your own florist to come in n decorate? how much does it cost? actually i'm pretty happy with the colour scheme so I may just leave it as that n use the $$$ for other stuff

my AD is 21/5/05 for church and 23/5/05 for dinner at Conrad.

me also very happy with our choice....I feel so safe and confident in the hands of Conrad...

demure , my coordinator told me we can use their inhouse florist ???
cost abt $500 bucks. i am sticking to whatever Conrad is giving me .u can save this $ up , anyway , flowers will wither . so it makes sense to keep the $ ? or u can put this $ to other stuff like engaging a live band ?

caicai
ya lor....agree abt the florist. as long as their standard theme is classy n not ugly, I'm okie with it. was also intending to save the $$$ for a live band

got qn for everyone: Conrad's pianist is in the lounge on the ground floor n he's supposed to entertain our guests in the reception area during cocktail from where he is. If I hire a live band for the ballroom and it includes a pianist, are they able to provide a piano for the ballroom?

btw did u guys hear abt the Marina Mandarin fiasco? it was 1 of my choices. lucky the co-ordinator pissed me off otherwise I would have been 1 of the couples who got screwed! *phew!*

helo demure.
yep conrad only has one theme. u can get their in-house florist to change the colour of flowers though if i am not wrong. but if u wanna save up the money for the band also can. i rem i asked debby this question before abt the piano. think it depends on how many tables u having. for my case full tables of 34, so wun have space for a piano, so we dropped that live band idea and did something else. can check with ur coordinator....
what marina fiasco? read abt something of it in another thread but no head no tail. they renovating like oriental issit?

hi binbin,
how much did you top up for poopy's floral deco? did u trade-in for anything since u are not taking conrad std theme?

hi demure & caicai,
would also like to find out from u if you have any recommendation for the live band. how much will it cost? the band will play music during the cocktail only or throughout the entire night?

hi BinBin
according to my co-ordinator Catheryn, she said strictly no change even in colour. I was a bit concerned initially coz colour scheme is off-white which is pantang for chinese, altho I love it personally n find it classy. I cleared it with my mum and luckily she said no problem coz the whole room is "goldy" in colour

marina mandarin brought forward their schedule reno in jul/aug to apr!!! so all couples who booked for apr to end-jul were all asked to look for other hotels. can u imagine the stress??? my heart goes out to all those couples who were affected

after the oriental and now the MM episodes, moral of the story is if a hotel is planning any form of reno at any time, avoid it at all cost until the reno is over.

hi novgal
I'm now waiting for my FH to find out from his friend the details of this live band that played at the friend's wedding recently. It was very good n we thoroughly enjoyed the music. apparently it cost the bridal couple nearly $2K for 3 sets. now waiting for more details from FH.

think u haf to discuss with the band wat are your requirements, ie how many sets and when to play...

helo novgal, no lah, i said i still used conrad's theme mah.
just that for guest table i asked for the old arrangement with gerberras and not orchids. then i asked poppy to ENHANCE it. hehehe.....dun rem how much i paid though, think arnd 2K. live bands are usually paid per sets. each set about 45mins or 1hr, depending on the band. there is usually rest times of like 15mins in between. so if u want them to play ALSO during reception, thats another hour, plus dinner total about 4 hours or more. not worth it. since conrad has piano in the lobby, let the pianist entertain them during cocktail.
then impress the guests in the ballroom during dinner with the live band.

demure, actually the mm couples are lucky loh. they get to choose 3 other hotels which prices are more expensive than the hotel they chose. but they dun have to pay more. already very good already. and yep conrad's original theme of ivory and gold very classy.
so dun worry, dun tink much relatives will comment lah. those who does just ignore them, they bo liaoz.

hi all , need to check with my cousin , she engaged a live band @ her wedding , just 2 weeks ago . not bad leh .....
but i was pigging out at the food , to fully appreciate the live band .kekeke
will ask her .

BinBin
I disagree with u lor.....money aside, can u imagine the stress if they are not able to get their original date with the alternative hotel? they would also have to reschedule their AD photographer, videographer, makeup artist etc and these folks may be already committed on that day. I won't want this kind of "bargain" lor, since its so ultra stressful. also don't think I can cope with the disappointment that comes with not being able to have my wedding at my first choice hotel

caicai
can let us know once u check with your cousin? wat did her live band comprise?

live band got 3 players .if i can recall , no singers , just instruments .
heard that it is around $3K . expensive hor ?

caicai
wah! very expensive leh! let me get the quotation from mine and i'll let u know.

btw when is your AD? mine's 21 may (church) and 23 may (banquet)

demure , mine on 9 Oct .
Ya , i agreed it is pretty expensive , I dun hv the budget to engage a live band .
I am extremely broke now .
scouting ard for a cheap bridal package . toying with DIYing my make-up / flowers / gowns , coz i signed with Chris Ling.
Think the deals w/o photography at many bridal shops are not worth it . wonder if i made the wrong choice to go with Chris .really tough on my pockets

caicai
think of it this way.....years after your wedding is over, u still haf your photos to look at and remember that beautiful day.....Chris Ling takes beautiful photos so your money will be well spent
231270.gif

as for makeup, u want to contact his lady called Tracey? I got her number from somewhere in this forum and she's supposed to be cheap and good. I had contacted her to do the makeup+hair for the 2 mothers and my sis-in-law and she sounded nice. she just sent me some of her work n her skills looked ok to me. will probably be getting her after I get the clear-all from the 3 ladies who are to be made-up by her on my big day.

my personal feel is tat DIY-ing your own makeup may not be advisable as it may not turn out right in photos. we tend to be too light/soft when we do our own makeup n your face may come out as makeup-less in photos. that will look odd esp if u are in bridal gown/evening gown. just my 2 cents' worth as I feel that some things u cannot save on. flowers can, hair maybe but definitely not makeup

HOWEVER its a different matter if u haf undergone some makeup course lah...
231271.gif

u can call Tracey at 93627546

Yo demure

thanks for the contact , KIV it .
kekeke ,guessed my phrasing was abit awkward :P
By "DIYing" i meant - i will not be taking up a package , doing ala carte .though photos wld be nice , but i am not photogenic enuff lah. so dunno how it wld turn out 2 b.

hi caicai,
hee.. initially i thot ur DIY means u really do it urself too
dun worry about not being photogenic enuf. from the wedding albums i hav viewed so far, all brides look stunning! btw, u hav not decided on ur BS? guess u can scout around the thread for some reviews abt the BS available. opt for OTR which is cheaper. though i have MTM choice in my package, i eventually opt for OTR.

btw, the live band that ur cousin engaged.. how long did they play during the banquet?

demure,
can u let me know if there's any update about live band quotation? i'm pretty keen about this but gotta work out my budget for the whole event before i can really decide.

helo demure, yah lah, true.
nobody wants to go through the unnec stress of having to change dates and such. prob its coz both of my friends who have signed up with MM has no prob changing to other 2 hotels, din have to change date. coz other two hotels have more than 1 ballroom so high chance still available too. yes i can't imagine not having conrad as my wedding venue.....hehee...that time preparing for wedding was worried about such things happening too.

caicai, u took chris ling ah? like demure said, he takes lovely photos, and as actual day photos are the most meaningful u have a lot to look back on.
dun worry. i also sorta took ala carte, but it was fun sourcing for stuff.

caicai
aiyah....then say so lah. made me so worried at the thot of u DIY-ing, hee hee hee...

my colleague told me today that she has just bought an OTR bridal gown from Allure Charix for only $600!!! from wat I heard, their gowns are generally not too bad. only downside is tat there are 3 pcs for each design so it won't be "unique" to u only lor. however for tat price, can't complain lah
231751.gif

u may also want to chk out Margaret Brides which does OTR only. her gowns look not too bad. u gotta make appt before going hor.

novgal
ok....will let u know once I hear anything.
231752.gif

binbin
wah, then your 2 frens are very very lucky. still i wouldn't want to undergo that kind of stress and hassle.
btw I couldn't resist n emailed conrad asking whtr they have any reno plans next yr. they replied to say no plans. phew!
231753.gif

pup2 , i am not engaging any videographer , no budget lah . How abt Fabian Lim , he is pretty frenly . quite a nice chap .
Novgal , i think it was for 2 -3 hrs , her dinner started really late due to late arrival of guests , there was a bad jam then.
Demure , $600 for an Allure Charix gown ? Altho it is OTR , think is a new pc . hmmmmm. i was thinking 800 budget for a WG , 400 EG, 200 Rent Kua . dunno how much make-up artiste costs for 2 sessions of make up and the flower decor for the cars ...
alot of hassle hor ? Muz search high n low for so many things

I second Allure Charix!! I went there today and found that they have my size and all their gowns are like 499-699... very reasonable. maybe I should have just gotten OTR???? all new pieces too....they will recommend make up artist to you, and florists too...

Anyway, i got tempted so i bot a stunning red cheongsam that looks like a fusion between a kua, a cheongsam and the ostrich feathered evening gown which Nicole Kidman worn for Chanel No.5 advert. Fit me to a T. Going to wear this in place of a Kua and also wear it as a EG.if i manage to take pictures, can show you girls. if u same size as me and want to rent it, can rent to you from $400 onwards
offload some of my cost...as I really overspent for my wedding gowns plus this gown is not suitable to be worn again at other functions as it's really too stunning.
but your wedding must be later than April 30th 05

yipe, Allure Charix reali has nice gowns, esp the EGs.. they're in such wide variety of colours! And for the price, it's quite ok.

hey gals, r u renting projector from Conrad? Anyone knows the cost? Think there are 2 screens, so it'll mean 2 projectors are needed? Any advise on this? Thks!

caicai
so much hassle....but 'boh bian' lor...btw I paid $298 for my kua rental from House of Etiquette. think its their starting price. from wat I heard in the other thread on kua, this place has the nicest kuas around. the kuas from the other places are of inferior quality or are not so clean. Shirleen, the lady boss, is very nice so u can always pop in for a chat with her.

goobergrape
oooh...do do do share your pics with us! sounds gorgeous....

pup pup
haf not decided whtr to show anything or not so haf not talked to Conrad.

will try to take pictures of the cheongsam gown for you girls. it's limited edition from Allure Charix so only one piece in Singapore

Tomorrow I will post it.

hi gals, i have read all of ur concern on the cheaper package of 676+++..a fren of mine signed up the cheaper package as well n her wedding is in may 05...she signed up in sep this year n tat was when she told me abt the cheaper rate.. didnt know tat was so much cheaper than the norm...

hey all, i'm also considering conrad for 2006, and their prices increase by so much each year!! anyone know why this is so? it can't possibly be inflation becuase inflation is only at about 2-4% per year.. hotels are really making big bucks out of us!!