Conrad Centennial Singapore

Hi demure,
i agree catheryn is very professional and keep to the perks as stated.. but she was very helpful when i told her i need to change my wedding date due to some personal reasons.. in then end i re-booked my AD in Sept.

hi mei,
yup
so far so good with Judy..
my AD in Jun. shall keep each other posted on the progress, k? ;)
how's ur wedding preparation?
btw, has Judy called you regarding the banquet affair?... i'm just wondering when will she start to contact me..

just had my AD last week..everything went well. but my pix will be ready only after cny.. hope then it'll not be too late to share. hee..

oh ya, just some updates..there are some minor hiccups though..
even though all my guests were in by 8.30pm, the dinner was served only at 8.45. and they delayed my 2nd march-in and i was made to stay in my room for quite some time before they called me down. & i heard that that was bcos there was a delay in the 2nd & 3rd dishes.
some guests commented that the dishes were served cold.. and after that we realised it bcos' the waiters distributed the food at the extreme sides of the ballroom.. & they served 2-3 plates at a time.. so by the last plate, the food has turned cold.
but anyway, generally it was a great experience at conrad!

Hi mei

my AD also in may *high 5*

cher
yup, Catheryn is very easy to talk to.

btw anyone knows what is the chinese name of Conrad? coz some relatives asked me and I didn't know how to call it in Chinese.... ;p

hi jgiffy,
mine is on wkday.. i didn't add flowers cos' we felt that the deco is sufficient, anyway, we want it to look really simple & grand!

sure will share pix when they r ready!

hi demure,
the chinese name is known as 'gang li'. 'gang' as in harbour 'hai gang', and 'li' is in beautiful 'mei li'.. haha, hope i'm clear enough..

hi demune,
mine in 15 may... urs leh??

hi novagal,
judy haven't call me.. but i email her few days ago... she told me it's too early to sart the preparation now... if i wan, i can collect the wedding cards first.. then arrange for food tasting... think the rest will only be discussed 1 mth b4 the AD.

hi duffybuff,
ur AD over liao ah... Congrats!! can u pls advise me of the procedure? wat are the things that we need to discuss with Conrad? conrad standard deco comprises of wat? wat's the colour of the flowers?

duffybuff
thanks!!! wah....'gang li' so means beautiful harbour? hahaha....

mei
mine is 23 may.....all the weekends were fully booked by the time we decided but luckily we discovered 23/5 (Mon) is a public holiday so we quickly grabbed it, hehe. even Catheryn said she was not aware tat it is a public holiday. I tried my luck but she's still charging me weekend rates even tho she was initially not aware it is a PH

novagal
I was told tat they usually contact u abt 3 mths before your AD, eg mine is in May so my co-ordinator said she'll only call me in Feb.

demure & mei,
thanks for the info.. guess i better busy with other preparations then.. hee

duffybuff,
congrats!!! can't wait to see ur photos

Hi duffybuff, novgal, demure & mei,

Which bridal studio are u are with? normally when do u sign up for the bridal studio? I am looking at 2005 end but have not visit any studio yet...

jgirffy
I'm with Ted Wu. I didn't even bother to go chk out other BS coz I had my heart set on him long ago so he was the 1st thing I booked n confirmed when I started my wedding prep 7 mths before my AD

hi jgirffy,
i am with U Bridal.. i signed up somewhere mid-2004. din do any homework then.. just passed by Tanjong Pagar and decided to sign with them as we like their style

hi demure,
i had mine in mid jan.. that's the date that my BS gave me.. ready miss my PS leh!!!! who's ur photographer?

Hi mei,

My AD on 29 June... and I also had my PS already... think even earlier than yours... my PS was on 11 Jan 05... I missed my PS very very much!! It was so fun that day! so have you chosen your photos? your photographer also Kelvin?? Really happy with the photos and also the gowns and make up! I keep thinking of my WG now...hahaha... really very beautiful... must wait for another 5 months before I can wear it again! So long!

So how's your PS? you satisfied?

hi icelyn,

yup! my photographer was kelvin also.. chose my photos liao.. top up to 40... u did any top up? can't wait to wear my WG again.. and take plenty of photos with it... u intend to go to anywhere to take photos during the AD?

hi jgirffy,
mine is all ala-carte.. DIY.

hi mei,
sorry for late reply. u were asking abt what to ask conrad & the procedures right..
oh yr co-ordinator will only call u 1 mth before the AD to finalise the stuff. prior to that, they will send u the floor plan and the basic programme schedule. basically u need to finalise:
1) no. of tables + 1 reserve
2) loan of projectors if required
3) guest book if required
4) deco (try to arrange 1 day when there's a wedding on, be there early to see the layout & deco)
5) alcohol (barrel of beer)
6) reception ( what to serve: soft drinks only or with wine/ beer)
7) menu (try to decide what to hv for yr food tasting) - finalise dishes if any changes made.
8) carpark coupons (depends very much on yr attendance)
9) wedding cards (this has to be collected at least 2-3 mths before yr AD) so that u'll hv enough time to print & write.
10) hotel room stay (suite & helper's room if applicable)- request for early check in if possible
11) title of wedding event
12) any message to be printed on menu card

i suppose these shld be all for the discussion with hotel.. others will be all on yr own!

I am new here and yes I am a "boxing" bride this year. And also a Conrad bride =)

Wondering if anyone can share some lights on wedding gifts/favours that I can have...or where I can find it in Singapore. Thanks, girls

Hi Pricee,

Hee...what is 'pm?' Really greenhorn here...paiseh ;P

Thanks BinBin...went into their webpg...pretty impressive. Thanks very much.

Hi mei,

I also top up to 40 photos... the PS very fun hor! where did you go for PS? mine was at Sentosa... the usual places..but I like it leh :P

For AD, maybe will go to my new house, maybe changi area and of cos conrad lor..
where you have in mine?

Hi duffybuff,

Thanks for the list as well.. will help us alot! but you will saying that the cards will be collected 2 to 3 months in advance?? does that mean that we have to contact our coordinator for the card then? or do they contact us? thanks!

hi icelyn,
i went to sentosa also.. & nus...
for AD... i haven't decide leh.... my frens suggested 'nearby places' but i stayed in clementi, and my in-laws stayed in sengkang... like that everywhere also nearby lah!!!! trying to decide on one outdoor location.. but dunno where leh...
definitely going to take plenty of photos at conrad... i actually wanted to go to Conrad for my PS.. but as the weather was pretty good, we had all outdoor instead... i wish to take some at the bar.. dunno got time or not leh.. did u take up john's service for the AD???

check with u hor.. during the AD... when ur FH come and fetch u... will u all go back to ur in-law's house or ur new house for the tea ceremony?

hi boxingbride,
u must have booked early... i was looking at this date initially...

in the end i choose another date very close to urs.....

Hi mei,

SO fast you choose the cards ah... when's your AD? tot yours only on 15 May? so you contact the coordinator to get the cards lah? Think still early for my case.. maybe call them in Mar or Apr instead

I did not take up John.. still find too exp...heehee.. I got Sam Wong for my AD photography... he charged at $580 only... he also had a $680 package... I haven't really decide yet

For AD, I think I will go to in-law place for tea ceremony... but I had frens who went straight to new house for tea ceremony... so depends on individual...

my plans likely to be that after my hubby fetch me, we will go to new house to take photos... then go to in-law house for tea ceremony.. then to my mum's place for tea ceremony, then go to Conrad

hi mei

my AD on 21 May but my PS will only be on 28 Mar. my photog is Andrew Choi and tat was the date he gave me. anyway my WG (by Ted Wu) is now still WIP and my 1st fitting will only be on 26 Feb. my PS will be taken with the WG and EG that I'll be wearing on my AD.

Hi pricee,

Thanks. Will PM.

Hi jgirffy,

I booked it 2 months ago...not very early in fact...that's one most of my friend said...they even said I was lucky to have got the booking. So when is your AD?

hi boxingbride,

i book only in jan. mine is 2 days after urs.
think u will be booking out on my AD...:P
anyway, a lot of things we can learn from each other or prepare together??

hi icelyn,

cannot dun early leh... my fh going outstation soon..... that's why we called up Judy for a discussion...

for anyone who hasn't already booked their wedding date, or haven't even gone to see the people at conrad, i have some advice! i read in another thread that one way to bargain is to say you're quite poor, eager to get married, etc.. too bad i only read that after we had gone to see conrad like twice, and i feel we haven't had much "bargaining power" because we told the coordinator that my FH is a doctor, so she probably thinks we have a lot of money (which is so not true at all at this stage of our lives!). i know this because the 2nd time we went to see her she would always call him "doctor" and instead of his name..

at the moment i'm checking out other hotels too and we're definitely not disclosing too much info until we're satisfied with the package! ;)

i'm currently still considering conrad, but because we have some relatives who are not so well-to-do, we don't want to "force" them to give angpows, so we're also considering other options so that it'll be less taxing on us..

hi icelyn,
sorry for late reply.. was away to BKK for holiday.. just came bk!
oh for the wedding cards, u can call the coordinator and tell them yr estimated tables.. it's better than u call them since u will know better when u r ready to prepare the cards.

hi iso,
well, for conrad, it doesn't really matters whether if u r rich or poor cos' they are quite standard in their facilities and freebies.. they r pretty fix with what they can offer.

Helo gals,

Happy Lunar New Year to all!! I hope all of you had a good year ahead. It's going to be a busy year for most of us, I suppose...

jgiffry, your AD is 2 days after mine...cool cool. Haha...sure, I believe its going to be fun having you around. We can learn lots of stuff from each other. Have you look for your AD Photographer??

Hi Iso,

Yes, u are right. Price at Conrad is pretty steep. When I told my relatives and friends that I am having my dinner there...most of them turns "pale." Unless, you are prepared for the "losses" (cross our finger, hoping that it will at least break even), you may need to think hard about it.

hi boxingbride,
yup... i was informing all my relatives this cny about the impending "red bomb" from me, and many of them have this "pale" expression alreadi...
oh yes, can i have ur email address so i can actually pm u some things...
which co-ord are u with?

hi iso,
I think everyone will wow and ah.... lor
that's the singapore way of thinking... so u looking at AD in 2005 or 2006?
isn't it a bit late if it is 2005?

my friends and relatives all wow-ed when we told them it's at conrad.. majority of them heard abt the grand place. well, talking abt ang baos, i'm glad that we breakeven after including our tea ceremony ang bao.. thk it's also becos' ours was on a wkday so at least cheaper rate compared to wkend.