Conrad Centennial Singapore

Hi Novgal

We have to contact the co-ordinator to arrange

I am thinking of having it in Dec. my AD is Apr next year.

Gown selection is very fun. Which BS you shortlisted??

Hi gglover,

keep me inform of ur food tasting

i've signed up with U Bridal.. hope i'll not have trouble in my selection. how abt you?

btw, have u engaged AD photographer?

Hi Novgal,

My actual day is 22/10 Solemnisation & Hi-tea by the poolside & 24/10 Wedding Banquet...

Went to tour around for BS and end up signing package with Milan... seems like everything approaching so fast... abit scary.... Jan select gown, Mar PS... Sign~

Hi Novgal

I signed up with the wedding present. am waiting for my WG fabric to come from italy so the gown is not made yet. tried on my EG already so they'll start putting on the embellishments.
I am happy with my gown designs, choice of fabrics, the service I am receiving

I have not decided on AD photographer.still looking around..... videographer also not hired yet.

Hi cyclone, dont worry, it'll all fall into place.
my proposal was in end sept and we are having our AD in early april. PS in Jan and now gown still not made

Hi cyclone,
at least u did ur homework in the search. my HB & I was just about to start the search along tanjong pagar and signed up with the 1st BS we went! .. gotta know this thread kinda late..

dun have to worry
i am still pretty eng.. will only be choosing WG this mth.. but PS likely be in Jan cos my co-ordinator giving birth next Mar.

Hi gglover,
so great to know that u are working happily with ur BS! lucky bride
i'm also in the midst of searching AD photographer.. may not want videography though.

Very long never update on other interesting matters... I am on leave today so can vomit all out
:

WALKING TO BALLROOM FROM SUITE
I was reading the thread at Raffles Hotel and realise that the brides there will need to take a long walk from their suite to the ballroom. This means more perspiration, inconveniences...

Conrad's ballroom has a lift within the ballroom which can take us up to our suites right?? I vaguely remembering Cat telling me that... anyone remembers this?

DANCE FLOOR
anyone else thinking of putting up the dance floor near the stage? FH and I are waltzing at home as and when we remember to. heheh.... hope we dont look like a joke..... wahahaha...

CHANGES OF CLOTHES ON AD
I was thinking of only having on EG for the banquet..... now I see so many other brides AD photos with so many nice changes of clothes, i am starting to get tempted to make one tea dress and another EG!!! someone stop me!!!!

MATTRESS SHOPPING
yesterday i went shopping for a bed at Robinson... the Simmons mattress was on sale - $1700 after all the discount. but still expensive....sigh what mattresses did you gals buy??

INTERESTING DINNER PROGRAMS
Anyone with ideas on how to make the dinner program more interesting???

I am thinking of mingling with the guests outside the ballroom before the dinner. get my cousin to play the piano, FH to dance with me... phototaking and guestbook signing, maybe put our wedding photos up like an mini exhibition instead of just the album. This way the guests can walk around to look at the pictures. Was thinking of putting up a photo exhibition of the wedding preparations... I have started taking photos of me sewing my flower gal's outfit, gown fitting, family discussions etc..... anyone doing the same?
During the dinner I was thinking of playing abba songs hehehe.... like in mamamia.... or a live band to play songs.

will also be trying to rope some of my friends who sing really well to perform on that night.

hi novgal,
hv not arranged for food tasting yet. probably sometime in dec since my AD is in jan.

so icelyn,
since u hv seen diff settings of the ballroom.. any particular one tat you like?

hi pup,
we'll stick to the duck dish,, not changing. as for dessert, we are going for red bean since i dun thk our relatives enjoy mango pudding.

gglover,
i was browsing thru the threads and saw ur comments under Chris Ling. must say that i'm impressed by your preparation and the involvement. u really put in a lot of efforts for the event! thumbs up for your diligence

like caicai, i also remember there's a lift near the ballroom (not within) for easy access to our suite.

dance floor near the stage? .. hmm.. will it be pretty cramp? how many tables are u having? if the table arrangement can be done nicely without compromising, the dance floor will be great esp if both of you can waltz.. pretty romantic

AD gowns - i'm thinking of wearing a cocktail dress for the reception. 1st march-in with the WG and 2nd march-in with EG.

No comments on mattress yet.. cos i've not even bought my bed.. keke...

Photo exhibition? .. hmmm.. innovative but will it seem exaggerating?

hi duffybuff,
wow! ur AD in Jan.. feeling excited? which AD photographer have u engaged? will u be having videography? .. hee.. me still doing research on the photographer..

keep us updated on ur food tasting yeh?

hi novgal,
hv engaged my AD photographer & will be having videographer as well. cos' thk it'll be more fun having video as u can watch them over & over again later.. & of cos' we plan to hv feature a short highlights of the morning session during the dinner as well.. so it'll be at least something different than just have photo montage of childhood days. my hb is against the idea of hvg montage.. so highlights will be good!if u interested, i can send u the phtographer's contact.. my friend used him.. & i find him good too!

hi gglovers,
wow, photo exhibition sounds interesting!
but thk you'll have lots of photos that you have to hang back home when yr banquet ends.

The photo exhibition is pending my being able to find those boards on wheels... donno where to get those.... I know community centres have loads of that..
Will be compiling all the photos of the exhibition into an album after the wedding.

novgal - I think a tea dress during the recep is a wonderful idea...very chic.

I think a montage is a wonderful idea to keep guests entertained but FH is also against the idea...

Am shopping around for a AD videographer and AD photographer as well... if you have any recommendations which you will be using at Conrad, let me know too

I am afraid my pictures dont turn out well... that's why i plan so much for my photoshoot. hehhe.... i not photogenic so tot might as well throw in more props hehhhehe...

thanks duffybuff! anyone knows if we're allowed to go to the ballroom and take pics of the decor? can anyone email the 2005 package and menu to me? have u ladies decided on wat color for your tablecloth sash? It's on all tables rite?

hi pup,

i only have the extract of the 2005 package with me. menu at HB's place. can only be fwd to u over the weekend. what's ur email address?

i've not decided on the setup and tablecloth yet.. forgot if sash for all tables also. perhaps u can check with ur co-ordinator?

guess it may be difficult to take pics, unless the wedding couple is ok with it.

oops, here it is: [email protected], thks!

yeah, guess i can't take the pics as and when i go down and take a look.

anyone chosen their wedding cards yet? i'm keen on the white one but i still have some reservations over it.

hi pup pup,
heehee, was initially planning to hv ivory card but when we were at the printer.. we chose the red one instead cos' we find it more classic.

hi pup,
sent u the package

cyclone,
dun be kan cheong *wink*
dinno conrad provides complimentary wine.. only a bottle of champagne for the couple, rite?

duffybuff,
thanks, dear! my BS co-ordinator told me her AD photographer was very good.. will be taking a look at her album to decide also. charging at $1,500 - dunno what does the package include though.

received it, thanks, novgal! anyone engaging videographer? wat's the rate like? I'm thinking of skipping the photo montage but duno wat to replace with so was thinking of using the video highlights.

duffy, u chose the red card eh, which printer did u go to? I may go to Jasvy. Can tell me the cost of the inserts?

pup,
hubby haven't got the time to go view the BR with me yet

is the ceiling high? how's the march in like? hope it's not those dark dark concept like hyatt?

saw it a few months back so memory a bit vague.. it's high ceiling.. bright and the walk in is.. maybe medium length? hahaa.. definitely not like Hyatt's.. no worries on that

wah...suddenly our thread move so fast....trippedchokeever, sorry to hear your bad experience but I really think it's the same for every contract we sign. I used a ruler and pencil to go through the contract for 2-3 times before I went back there to sign off. FH ran through the contract the same way as well. we negotiated for things which we wanted and made them correct the contract before agreeing to sign it.

The same goes for photography, BS, etc... fine prints are important.

Anyways trippedchokeever, nevermind lah, you can always choose another hotel. Most important to enjoy yourself as this is your big day!!
All the best in your wedding preps.

Hi Lilacblur - yes its very high ceiling! I went to Marina Mandarin and the ceiling very low, so didnt like it.

Hi Duffybuff, maybe we can go together to order wine and BARGAIN for a good price!!! With more bottles sure to get better price and terms right??
Anyone else interested pls join us!!!

Well, for my case, she went back on her words lor & totally denied the whole affair. We have lodged an official complaint on this particular coordinator anyway. But we are not having Conrad anymore. Good luck to u gals.

i was scanning thru the price list for 2005 & 2006..nearly fell off my chair.. weekday for 2005 is at 676+++ but for 2006 is at 868+++ such a big difference!! is this normal?? or should i ask them?

Hi Seval,

Sad to hear abt ur experience... Will be u transferring ur package? Or u din even sign teh contract?

Hi Lilacblur,

I'm also very interested in Conrad, but the prices for 2005 & 2006 are really v different.. as for the weekday 2005, think it's cos by this time most of the gd dates are already taken up, tat's y the price is pretty cheap. Are u looking at 2005 or 2006?

I was hoping tat there'd be some bridal show, so tat there's some discount.. but the co-ordinator told me they never have shows

hi shyen,

i'm thinking of having it in 2006... but with this kind of big difference rate... sigh... got to seek approval liao...

they never have shows??? sure anot??? then i think can't have any special package already... tat makes my pocket even tighter

Hi Lilacblur,

Me too looking at 2006.. but think the weekend prices increase by abt $10 per pax.. which i think it's pretty unaffordable for me

But i really like teh ballroom v nice.. tat's wat the co-ordinator told me leh... but maybe next yr they will have some promotion for 2006, like now they have for 2005...

you've been to the BR already? i heard it's T shape? means the ones at the side can't really see? i haven't seen the place yet.. thinking of calling them later to make appointment..

so you considering weekend huh?

I don't think I want to name the person here but if u read further into the thread in FB, I mentioned who was I meeting with.

I didn't sign the contract. How cld I with such great discrepancies?
No way man...

Actually, Conrad is trying to establish themselves to be on par with Ritz/Shang or even Raffles but as they are new/young, they have a more affordable price range compared to them. Now that they r getting really popular, they are pricing themselves higher too for sept 05 onwards. 2005 weekends r all taken but I think there is some dates left for weekdays. The BR is realy nice even though they have odd shape. The deco is nice too, I like the table cloth. Anyway, just be very careful when u nego with them. Have everything in black and white, don't go thr what I had. It's really devastating esp when you have already decided that that is the place you want to have your big day. I also know of another bride who had problems with them on the perks. Same thing lor, they wanted to take back things that they promised. But worse for her
as she has already place the deposit lah. Gd luck to all.

Hi Lilacblur,

Yes, attended a fren's wedding last yr & fell in love wif it instantly.. Not sure abt the shape, but the march in is the bride & groom come in from different entrances then merge & walk together..

wow! the Shyen sounds romantic!! but going in alone ah.. hopefully i dun too nervous then end up twisting my ankle halfway

trippedchokeever, so where are you considering now? y dun you try changing coord? will it b better?

Lilacblur,

u so cute... no lah, think the walk alone is less than 1 min
so won't fall lah.. but it's pretty unique lor... shld go n see, v nice...
So u gg to discuss wif teh co-ordinator soon?

Hello lilacblur,

We were too disappointed with Conrad already. Even stepping into the hotel make my heart hurts. But I'm ok now lah, lodged a complaint and I'm glad tt the management know abt this incident. Now looking at either Raffles or Hyatt, dunno which one to choose leh. U gals have any comments about these 2 places?

for me, i dun really like hyatt cause we feel that the rooms are really dark.. suppose to haf the classy feeling but hubby and i dun feel tat way..

the rooms are quite near each other? will b quite confusing for guests..

ohh.. too dark.. i thought that was quite classy but old folks may not like it.

Yeah, I dun like it when they have several weddings on 1 night. That was one of the reasons I liked Conrad lah, becoz it's exclusive lor, only one wedding. no one can go to the wrong wedding.