Conrad Centennial Singapore

I just signed up with Conrad this Sat, hee... so also a conrad bride. Does anyone know whether the weekday dinner menu is nice? The menu looks okay only... not sure whether nice. Anyone any comments?

i'm also a conrad bride. just wondering if anyone has recommendation on the floral settings? taking its standard settings or having a different one?

icelyn,
i'll be holding dinner on weekday too! the weekday menu seem pretty okie but i may change some dishes.. eg the dessert - the weekend one seeems more interesting. have not gone for the food tasting thou. my AD is in Jun05.

to those who have their food tasting,
can u advise do we have the food tasting based on the standard menu or can we first decide on some dishes that we want to change and have the food tasting based on the amended menu?

hi novgal,
You can tell your coordinator the dishes you'd like to change and have it at the tasting session. Note that there may be adiditonal charges if you change for something more expensive
Good idea to troop down to Golden Peony and eat a couple of times there to try their food

Conrad's dessert is scrumptious...if u have to choose only one, take their mango pudding thinggy...quite famous
but the whole spread is awesome..

thanks sweets,
tried dinner @ golden peony before!... mamamia!!! the food is really marvellous..
i thot of the walnut paste with dumpling cos mango pudding seems pretty common at dinner.

is ur AD approaching or over?

wow..the thread is alive again.

quite long since i came back to this thread.

i'm having my weddg lunch reception by the pool.
anyone doing afternoon lunches with conrad?
what;s the menu?
And for u gers out there, what's the no. of invitation cards u given? is it 75% of ur confirmed no.?

hi hanny

i'm having dinner at the ballroom.. so cannot comment much on the lunch. however, i would gather that basically food @ conrad is good, based on feedback per above and from my other friends.

i think i was only given 70% of the confirmed attendance for the invitation cards. since most of my guests come in couples or as families, i think this meets my requirements.

so, when's ur AD?

I just went to look at its ballroom on thur since there is a wedding.. heehee... quite nice! think I reached at about 6.45pm.. the room is so BRIGHT! think for the wedding reception, should be so bright right?
anyone, find the table flower too white. Anyone knows whether we can choose the table flowers?? the two VIP tables are very nice.. but the rest looks a bit plain...cos no decor for the chairs...heehee... guess we would have to pay if we want additional decor... Luckily, conrad ballroom by itself is quite grand... so still not too bad
I like the foyer very much... very spacious

btw, is the mango pudding really that nice?? heehee... never tried... but it is one of the dessert selection for weekday dinner :p Heard that golden peony restaurant food quite exp... true? maybe should really go try its food one of these days...
what is nice at the restaurant?

hi icelyn
162905.gif

so conrad is one of your shortlisted venues? yes, i agree that the ballroom is pretty grand. they have seat covers for all the chairs. heard that some hotels actually charge if seat covers are requested.

if i'm not mistaken, you can change the table flowers - prob addl charge, depending on what flowers u requested? u can check with the co-ordinator.

so, when's ur AD?
162906.gif

Hi novagal,

I have already signed up with conrad.
fall in love with the ballroom when I first went for site visit... they have some event then... very nice decor...

yep...conrad provides the seat cover without extra cost... some hotels charge...but I think maybe can bargain lah...

as for table flowers... maybe must really ask the coordinator when nearer the date of my wedding... now worry also no use..heehee.. my AD is 13 Oct 05.. a thursday

so when's yours? see that you have tried phoney restaurant before... really that nice?? the weekday menu din include the walnut with rice dumpling leh... you intend to top up ah? weekday menu not as good as weekend..heehee... but also bec weekend more exp lah

Hi icelyn,

my AD is 27 Jun05 (Monday)
163267.gif
.. agreed that the weekend menu looks better than weekday's. thinking of changing some dishes but still not finalised.. also must check how much to top up.. scally overrun budget.. .. keke

yes, had dinner @ golden peony restaurant. what impressed me was the food presentation. eg, we had melon soup which is served in a real melon and they are not stingy with the ingredients (u can find dried scallops in soup). dunno about the food pricing though cos it was a dinner treat from a friend.

perhaps u can try at ur anniversary dinner (if u dun mind the waiting)?

Hi novgal,

So did you pay the same rate of $810+++ or $830+++ for your weekday dinner? Initially I also thought of getting 30 June... but scare that my EC will not be ready by then...so bobian..must postpone...to play safe!

I believe if you change the dishes will have to top up pretty much right? my hubby was complaining that there is no abalone...I told him that if he wants, can...pay money lor... :p

I think I will be changing the anniversary dinner for a day room use for my "sisters"... easier for them to wash up and prepare for dinner...heehee..you don't intend to change your anniversary to day use room ah?

Hi icelyn,

i actually forgot the rate leh.. sorri.. will check the rate this weekend (all doc at HB's place). but i thought it was a standard rate? why did you quote 2 leh?? ..
163654.gif

i'll be having AD and dinner on separate days.. so dun think day room is useful to us.

so, hav u started anything on ur wedding preparations?

hi novgal,
my AD next mth.

just tied up with conrad 2 see their menus soon.
reception menu n the dinner menu different restaurants in-charge.
mine shd be from the continental buffet-spread.

I'm keen on holding my AD at Conrad too. Only just found out from this forum how nice the place is, very tempting. Was thinking of Chijmes but did my sums, realised that it's as much as some of the top-notch hotels, or even more.

if an1 has the pkg and menu avail, care to share with me? me AD next yr Sep.
pls email:[email protected].

thx!

hi novgal,
settled most of my stuff? nope.. long way to go. everything is like a little here, a little there.
hopefully everything would fall in place once the date gets nearer. ha ha...

hi widowwitch,
think u most prob looking for a dinner pkg.
mine's an afternoon reception so i dun think it suits wat u looking 4.

Hi widowwitch,

I have just sent you the package... have a look!
Keep us inform if you are taking up... then we can discuss together on our banquet..heehee...Are you interested in weekday or weekend package?

Hi novagal,

I have not started anything yet...still got one year to go...very long leh..heehee.. actually my WG is WIP now... waiting for the first try!
So where did you get your bridal package? Started any gowns choosing or MTM?

i'm new to this thread and just want to post a comment on conrad hotel, attended my cousin's wedding there just the past wkend. it is indeed a beautiful ballroom. food was great too. only thing i didn't like was the service. all the dishes were plated (meaning served individually). that meant dinner ended past 11. some dishes... like the fish, was served cold and cold fish... is never nice. also there were a couple times when one person on our table did not get the food served bcos he/she was forgotten so we'd have to ask for it. finally, most of the dishes were not shown to the guests first... u know how u're supposed to see the dish before they portion it out? well they only did that when they remembered... it was very mediocre service for a hotel of that standard.
just my two cents. =)

helo bochup, just some comments.
conrad is silver service, that means they serve the food on individual plates. shldn't end so late at 11 unless the dinner start late in the first plc, or the program items were long...and the hotel will tend to keep pace with the couple, to serve the food such that it complements the couples' items. as for cold fish, that was also a concern to me last time. but after talking to my coordinator, i understand the reasons. the time the fish is cooked is decided by the chef, who gauges based on the time the banquet starts. there must always be good communication between the couple and the coordintor/banquet manager on the timings of the 1st or 2nd marchs ins, or any planned programmes. so that once the fish is ready, it MUST be served instead of being held up by the wedding program. for example, my coordinator had my entire wedding schedule, so she knew what we have in mind. she specifically told me that my 2nd march in must be AFTER the fish is served, so we timed it such that i go up to change after 2nd dish, and wait for the fish to be served before we marched in. comments after that was the food was fantastic, and the fish delicious too. as for the waiters forgetting the portions and showing the guests the dish, hhmmm....well, worth to feedback to them about.
maybe you happen to get a new staff, but good to let them know. for other conrad-brides-to-be, keep the above in mind yar..

hi icelyn,

i've signed up with <font color="0077aa">u bridal</font>. package incl OTR gowns. in the event i can't find any suitable, they'll provide MTM. hee... have not started WG selection. bought some brides mag but nvr really flipped to see what designs i fancy.
166264.gif

wow! urs already WIP! where did u get ur package? when are u going for the 1st fitting? have u also decided on AD photographer? i've not.. also undecided with we would want videography for AD. any advice?
166265.gif

hi bochup,
thanks for pointing out the problems.
166266.gif

and binbin,
thanks for the advice on counteracting the problems
166267.gif

I'm thinking of having my ROM buffet high tea at the Oscar's cafe. Anyone has tried the food there before? Appreciate your comments, thanks!

Btw, I fell in love with Conrad ballroom the 1st time I attended my fren's wedding.. think u all muz be excited abt having the banquet there

hi all and binbin
yupyup i was taking note of these problems for my own wedding (at RH) as well =D just wanted to point out the problems from a guest perspective cos i intend to 'grill' my wedding coordinator to ensure that the food service is good for my own guests. and it's good to go change while fish is served cos i'd suppose fish typically takes longer to eat if it's got bones. can't remember the sequence of food served for my cousin's menu but will take note for mine.

Hi cottoncandy,
you got mail
Just call them up if you need any additional information

Hi Bin Bin,
Thanks for highlighting to us about the fish thing. Good suggestion to change during the fish course.. hope I can remember that when preparing for my AD...heehee

Hi novgal,
My bridal package is from Camellia Haute Couture at Peninsula Plaza. I like the service of the boss who is the designer as well. She is very friendly and up till now, I am pretty satisfied with her service. She also did my ROM dress for me this year..

I have already done all my "homework" for the gowns..hahaha..almost bought all the bridal magazines for the last few months..
Now can stop buying and shake leg liao..
already got some ideas on the design of my EG and tea dress. Hopefully my WG will turn out well.. still waiting for my designer to call me for first fitting...dunno when leh... *sigh*

All my gowns will be MTM..including tea dress...heehee... but only WG WIP now...will be designing my EG during 1st fitting for WG

I also have not decided on which AD photographer leh... still sourcing around though has not approached anyone yet. Actually I also can't decide whether to get a professional videographer for AD or just ask any relative to take. But some of my frens were saying that it is the video which will record down the whole process, especially the sabo part of our hubby...cos we don't have chance to see...heehee
AND I believe that is the most amusing part, right ladies?!

helo icelyn, just a note, i didn't mean change just before fish course (usually 4th?) leh, but earlier.
just that u march in after the fish is served, or else they will just sit in their steamers and hardened, or cool down on the plates in the kitchen. just rem to check with ur coordinator on that.
happy wedding preps!!!

Hi Bin Bin,

Point taken. thanks for highlighting to me
think usually pp change after 2nd course... 4th course fish... so after fish served then we appear, right?
my AD still long long away... heehee... can still ja lan ja lan now

Hi icelyn and novgal and all those weekday brides,

Am tinking of holding my wedding at conrad in 05. However, was disappointed that almost all the weekends were taken up. So tinking of settling for a weekday. But personally prefer weekend. just hope u gals can gimme ur advice on weekday weddings. Is it gog to be troublesome for the guests?

I just signed up with Conrad - having 2 dinners.
Relatives on 2nd Apr 05 sat
Frens and Colleagues on 4th Apr 05 mon

Weekdays should be ok. My colleagues were happy about weekday dinner as they can just log off computer and then come for dinner. =)

I am thinking of having a little dance at the reception area before dinner. Anyone thinking of doing the same thing?

hi maroz,
icelyn and i will be holding ours on weekdays too. i could not get a weekend as well.. but i guess it should not be troublesome for the guests.

perhaps u can try to co-ordinate the program nicely and not overrun the timing. i hope to start mine at 8pm so that the guests can leave early as well.

hi bel,
dance at reception?.. hmmm.. nvr thot of it. but do u think the area is sufficient?

I think can lah - we only move slowly and everyone else crowd around us during the cocktail. I dont want to be the "hideaway" type of bride - forever doing makeup or changing etc. =) so thought of this item to entertain the guests and its quite fun too!

bel,
true.. i also want to mingle with guests at the reception. not to appear only upon entrance
.. but no dancing.. keke

the only prob is that there is a pianist playing downstairs during the cocktail time.. wonder if he can play a song which I can dance with FH...

If I play a song upstairs and the pianist play downstairs - it would be too noisy wouldn't it?

Anyone with a solution....?

who can i call if i wanna make an appt to view the ballroom? or DO i have to make an appt to view the ballroom in the 1st place?

Just passing through, thought I'd like to say the Conrad C. is a beautiful hotel. Wise decisions by the brides &amp; groooms here

Hi gingerleaf,

If you want to view the ballroom, just go on any of the weekends since there are weddings for most weekends. You can go at abt 6 to 7pm... the ballroom should be more or less ready. I have been there a number of times to look at the different setting
Don't have to make any appointments, just go in and take a look!

Usually at abt 7pm..you will get to see the banquet manager briefing all the waiters on the menus.. heehee

Happy viewing!

me too will be hvg mine at conrad.. 19jan05..

aiyo, i still hvn't settled my guest list yet. getting abit panicky now! :S
share the same sentiments.. i fall in love with the place when i went for my friend's wedding last year so decided that i must hv mine there! haha.. so my dreams come true! but of cos at more $$$ compared to other hotels.

Can I find out what you really think about the flower deco provided...?

I think it's quite "tu" and I prefer contemporary floral arrangements - like the wishing tree's tall ball-like potted arrangement.

You think can get them to change evem tho they say its standard?

by the way - on Wines - you think their waiters are trained to keep on asking guests if they want to have another glass and another glass just to boost up the number of bottles opened? I went to a wedding dinner at intercontinental and the waitress kept asking my table folks if they wanted another glass and mind you our glasses were still half full!!

Hi duffybuff &amp; Yoyo

welcome and congrats!!!

seems like this thread is terribly quiet.
how's everyone doing? .. any updates on ur preparations?

To those who have had their AD dinner or food tasting,
will appreciate if you can highlight on signature dishes, if any.. or any recommendation/ advices. thanks a million

signed up with conrad but haven't gone for food tasting yet so need your input on the menu part.. did anyone change their chicken/duck dish to something else? also, what r u choosing for dessert?

Yeah - this thread's extremely dead... uh... let me see if I can revive this.. everyone join me yeah...

When is everyone going for the food tasting? 3 months before AD? Am thinking of doing it in Dec (my AD is in Early April).

My WG is still pending the silk satin fabric being flown in from Italy... so sad... I am dying to have the WG made asap so that I can prance around in it heheh.... how's your gowns coming along???

Hi Hi, I'm a Conrad bride too... but haven sign the contract yet...

I will be having my reception in the afternoon by the poolside and dinner at the grand ballroom on another day.

goober grape lover,
yah.. it's really quiet here.

my AD in jun05.. food tasting will be in next year. do we have to call the co-ordinator for arrangement or wait for them to contact us?

i'm going gown selection next week. should be getting OTR for convenience.

yeen yeen,
welcome
so when's ur AD?