Conrad Centennial Singapore

small2hand

hi strawberrie,

thanks for your tips! i'll try hard with maran and other hotels then...

just out of curiosity...how many hotels did you negotiate with?

moopo

Hi strawberrie (berrie27),
I just attend my frd wedding at conrad on sat, to be honest conrad was one of my choice as well...so sat was a good time for me to take a look at the decor, taste the food w/out having to confirm the package, see the bridal suite, experience the service n many more....

Ok, here are my feedback:
My frd took the Centennial Suite bcoz she can get 2 nites, if she chose the premium suite they can oni offer 1 nite stay. But the Centennial suite is still good, big and nice.

As for the decor, my frd chose white & gold (which is conrad std color i would say)...bcoz i did go view the ballroom 3 times (on my own b4 other pple's wedding of coz) and all 3 times are the same color...unless u gals dont mind black which i saw some pics posted by Dreamdoll.

As for food wise, yes i did experience cold food...for eg the noodle was cold, i guess that is bcoz they hv cooked that before hand...
The chicken & fish was cold too...in actual fact all dishes are not that hot i would say, bcoz they hv separate the whole dish individually and by the time they serve the single portion to us, for sure it wld hv turn slightly cold...but the shark fin was hot thou...

Service wise was just ok...coz my table was served by a chinese national...n he dont understand what we wanted....but still ok lah. hehehe!

moopo

Hi strawberrie,
i am also given the $1088+++ package...hehehe!

But i am not sure if i still want conrad bcoz after sat experience i need to re-assess again.

Partly is the perks that they are giving, im quite disappointed they dont hv projector n we still hv to rent it on our own.

And they only give u 1 day room n the timing is only frm 2pm - 6 or 8pm....

Like wat u said, other hotels like oriental are throwing in free flow of beer....

Oh ya! n they oni hv 2 wedding favours..chocolate & fruit cake!! oh no...i think conrad is the only hotel that hv 2 types of favour...other hotels hv so many to choose from....

So i am still deciding....what about u strawberrie? Are u confirming on conrad? care to share?

dreamdoll

Conrad was pretty limited in their favours (only 2 types), and we had to rent our projectors too...but I guess we felt the good things outwayed the cons...ambience was amazing (we had the black theme - but it was black cloths with deep red roses, as well as the ivory and gold theme - the usual classic), service was pretty good on the whole (think most hotels all have temp staffs for banquets so it's quite unavoidable), banquet teams and service managers were very good, food was pretty good, hotel only has one ballroom (which is more exclusive) and the ceiling is pretty high, and mainly no guests really complained, in fact, so many people were full of praises.

But I guess at the end of the day, it depends on what's most important for the couple - for us, it was the pros listed above
even in Dec when we went back to Oscars for a dinner, it brought back the nicest memories...

moopo

Hi dreamdoll,

Mind to share how much u top-up for changing the flowers & colors? coz i was told i have to pay a min of $500 just to change the color of the flowers....and if i want other type of flowers i have to pay another amount again...is it true? and is the price to top up reasonable?

Did u pay anything extra for the table centre piece also?
Thx thx !

garcia

Hi Mintee,

Sometimes the coordinators can be quite busy meeting with prospective couples. Suggest you give him/her a call quickly.

dreamdoll

Hi moo & po,

Think yes there is a $500 top up for red roses, about other flowers I can't remember, sorry coz we wanted roses...But I think it depends on how important flowers are to you, our black theme with the red roses turned out quite stunning, based on feedback from guests as well...I think for us, the dinner went by all too quickly, it felt surreal

Nope, we didn't top up for the centrepiece...

moopo

hi dreamdoll,

Geeee....Thx thx!
so i guess it shld be the same coz i was asking for a change in the flower color as well....hehehe! coz i saw ur pictures on the black theme, it is sooooo nice! I love it!
So i am thinking of chosing black too if i were to confirm conrad.

But duno why she told me the centrepiece i need to pay extra if i chose the golden big candles....Hmm.m...guess i hv to re-confirm with her again.

starmed

just to share. Attended a wedding at Conrad few weeks back. Overall experience as a guest was fine.
Ambience, decor etc... good! Guess the only problem is the food. Most dishes was served cold. The fish was a disappointment. It was cold n abit tough. Else, everything else is good if food is not the top priority in the list.
The whole ambience was lovely.

moopo

hi lavender lover,

Ya i also experience cold food when i attended a weddind dinner there last week...sad that the food is served cold. Initially i thought by having just 1 ballroom the food shld remain at least warm, since the banquet kitchen has only 1 ballroom of food to cook....and the kitchen is so near the room somemore (its just beside the ballroom actually)....so in all i am quite surprise the food is cold.

But the decor & feel is still nice.

moninet

hi gals..

i was a conrad bride.. actually most hotels i know prepare the dishes well before the dinner, and they will be warmed juz before serving. and most hotels, guests self serve.

at my wedding, my good fren noticed tt the dishes were apportioned by 1 food distributor for 2 tables thus most probably tt was why food was cold by the time it was served. 2 ways i can think to get around it, is to either let your guests self serve or mayb ask for 1 food distributor per table so apportion can be done faster. i'm not sure if the latter can be done, you may even have to top up for extra staff, but i suppose no harm checking this with ur banquet manager...whilst it's too late for me to do anything, at least i can share this with future conrad btb.

other than that, everything else at conrad on my AD was wonderful.. service was top notch & ambience was great!

moopo

hi moninet,

Thanks for the advice!

Ya think i will ask the coordinator again. btw, do u mind sharing with us who ur coordinator was?

Oh ya, wat color theme u chosed during ur AD? Any pics to share?

can email to me at [email protected]

moninet

hi moo & po

my coodinator was lolita.. theme was gold.. didn't have much of a choice, cos folks at home were very against black theme & my EG was red so didn't want to clash with maroon table cloth

i don't have most of the pics with me now, but i have this overview one of the ballroom.. thou u wld most prob have seen the actual set up if u had gone down to the ballroom

452066.jpg

moopo

Hi moninet,

Thanks thanks!
Yup i saw the ballroom 4 times in total and all used the white & gold theme. Hehehe!

Oh ur coordinator is Lolita, she is the Director i suppose, coz saw her name when they email me the package details...think she is the highest ranking there. Hehehehe!

but i find it difficult to negotiate for perks with them...(not lolita i mean) my coordinator seems to be more rigid kind... sobz
kao_cry.gif

xiaozhupigpig

Hello everyone,

I am new to this thread and i am also interested in Conrad but haven't really had anyone to ask for feedback and comments about this hotel. So can anyone of you be so kind enough to intro me to conrad abit? hehehehe!

I rec their menu & package thru email, but i also read that a few of you encountered bad experience on the food being served cold is it? Is all dinner like this? I wouldn't want my guest to eat cold food....

And anyone actually tired the Panfried Ostrich?? is it good?

Now i am very confuse coz some say good some say no good...

Please do advice this newbie okie? Thank you!

moninet

hi moo & po,
yep, lolita is the director.. frankly, conrad is not very generous with their perks but to me what i got fr their previous director was good enuf for me. i oso will feel dubious if a hotel is able to give many goodies at a low price. ultimately i chose conrad for its ambience & service & felt what i paid was worth it..

moopo

Hi moninet,

You use the gold organza or the thicker gold cloth for ur tables? And for the VIP tables did u use the same design or you use the entire gold cloth?

So far for Conrad they dont have a super big single VIP table rite? Coz i heard some hotels like marriott they have a super big VIP table that sits 16 pax... any idea if conrad have such table?

Thx thx...

moninet

hi moo & po

i used the entire gold cloth for VIP & the gold organza for the rest. at tt time, they had a 16 pax table but i think better if you check again in case it's changed..

moopo

hi moninet,

Thanks!! u are really an angel!
thank u so much!

Yup i will check with them. Btw, so ur AD u use the 16pax table or u take 2 normal tables? hehhee!

colortv

hihi.. im a 8 jul 07 conrad bride.. is the 7 jul 07 bride in this thread? contact me ya.. hee.. read in this thread that sat and sun share flowers.. so we may be able to work out a bargain if we share a top up? hee.. and anyone else in this thread, if you top up on your setup, please share with me pics.. also anyone did choc fountain during cocktail? any vendors to recommend? i am sourcing for all ideas to make the wedding a special one.. please share with me your ideas.. [email protected] thanks..

moopo

hi colortv,

is it true that sat & sun brides share the same flowers?? oh my god...i hope this is not true...if yes i would be very affected, coz if i am the sunday bride wouldn't my flowers be fresh anymore??

Now that you mentioned i am starting to think back, bcoz i did went to take a look at the ballroom before on both consective sat & sun, and i also find that how come the flowers are exactly the same...as in color, type of flower and everything....
Then i also find that the tips of some flowers are abit brown...at first i tot all flowers are like tat....but come to think of it, the sun might be the sat used flowers....

colortv, can u pls confirm whether this is true? if yes i am going to re-consider my choice as conrad liao....
kao_cry.gif

moopo

Hi colortv,

Oh...thats great! Gave me a shock when i thought they are using the same flowers for Sat & Sun... phew...hehehee!
kao_scared.gif

if not sunday couple sure complain one...hahaha!

Btw, when is ur AD?

lilyn22

xiaozhu
I was a Conrad bride May 2006 and we had the panfried ostrich then..LOTS of good comments..its very unique as a dish..my family still talks about it 6 months after! done beef style but its not beef so everyone can eat it! one issue tho..people are eating with chopsticks, and its a "steak" so no fork and knives for u to cut..but the meat is super tender so chopsticks also can use to eat!

moopo

Hi lyn (lilyn22),

Good to see that finally there is someone in this thread that has tried the panfried ostrich. Hehehe!

That's good at least now i know the panfried ostrich is good, was still wondering duno how it will taste like. hehehe!

Oh it is in a steak form...oooh, that's special, but too bad they dont serve fork & knife. Hahahaha! But lucky it is soft enough to eat.

xiaozhupigpig

Hello lyn,

Thanks for ur feedback...
Ya i was also wondering how the ostrich would be like...kekeee! lucky you hv experience it. I'm sure it is more special than the spareribs.... kekee! ^o^

Ooooo, 08/07/07 is a nice date, i am looking at year end but most of the weekends are all taken up at conrad, never knew it is so 'hot'. ;p
Have to call them to check on the available dates again.

btw colortv, hv u decided which color theme to use for ur tables? Do keep me updated if you hv any other news to share okie? =)

colortv

xiaozhu.. we have not decided on the color theme yet.. my co-ord says discussion will be 1 month prior to the wedding.. may be looking at black and red.. but need to top up $500++ for the change of flower color from white to red..

xiaozhupigpig

Hello colortv,

Yup i read from this thread that many people like the black theme with red flowers too....seems like it is a popular choice. But provided parents don't mind. hehe.

So i guess it is a must to pay $500 for the change in color of flowers? is $500 the min?

Btw who is your co-ord?

moopo

hi hi colortv, ur AD is nice...heheheee! hm.m.m.m.m.....7/7/07 also nice date hor...wonder who is the bride.

oh so you will start to choose ur theme in may rite? Ya i saw in another thread pictures of the black & red theme,very impressive & nice. ^o^

colortv

xiaozhu, my co-ord is jeanie.. ya, she quoted $500++

xiaozhu and moopo, thanks for saying my wedding date is nice.. =) we went to a geomancer for our dates.. we wanted a sep date.. but conrad was not avail in sep.. so we took the jul date.. i was reluctant to take that date at first.. because my bday is 7 jul.. ha.. but gave in in the end..

berbers

hi hi...

me is the 07/07/07 conrad bride... you girls toking abt me? hee hee...

hi colourtv, sorry for the late reply as i seldom visit this thread... we are tentatively going for the standard ivory/gold theme... but hubby seems keen on the black/red theme so will KIV... still no hurry i guess... =)

moopo

hi colortv, nevermind lah 8/7/7 is also a very nice date, in fact u get to celebrate ur bday on 7/7/7 and the next day is ur wedding day, even better & more meaningful....then next time you can have better excuse to wanna have 2 celebrations...hehehee!
And u can ask ur hubby to give u 2 presents...hehehe! so good.

moopo

Hi berber,

Yup yup, we were wondering who is the 7/7/7 bride..hehehee!!

Do keep us updated which color theme u have choose okie?

berbers

hi mintee,
i booked the package way back in Jan/Feb 2006. at that time the 2007 prices were not out yet but yup, we did pay some premium for the date. but the director at that time, debby, was rather generous with some of the perks probly considering we paid some premium... wonderful debby =)

hi colourtv,
yeah, lets keep in touch and i will try to visit this site more often =)

hi moo&po,
okie will keep you girls updated... tentatively ivory/gold cos of gown colors and budget constraints... getting married is a very expensive affair ley... =p

mingz

Am new to this thread and am hoping to tap your experiences since my fiance and I are also looking at Conrad as a potential venue. If anyone has the 2008 package for Conrad, would you mind emailing it to me at: [email protected]? Thanks in advance

sunflower44

HI gals,
wow its been a long time since i visited this thread, and its alive again! Yeah! =p
My dinner at Conrad is on 18 Aug...anyone's AD around that date? Its not a hot mth to hold weddings coz its 7th lunar mth.... hehe...

I attended 2 weddings for the past 4 mths in Conrad, 1 in weekday, 1 weekend. The ostrich meat is not bad! At least its something unique... =)

Btw, we've chatted with the banquet manager too...he was saying tentatively we have to top-up for the black-red theme...but who knws what will happen afew mths down the road? Sekali Conrad decides to do away with the $500..... lets keep our fingers and toes crossed! ;p

ozbride

the perks that strawberrie mentioned.. is it because you have many tables?
with 12pax per table... the total number of tables seem a lot 'less' than usual and bargaining power goes down with that i think?

summerrain

i just had my wedding dinner at Conrad on the 28th Jan 07. Its a dream wedding came true. the service is fantastic n we were upgraded to a Presidential Suite and was given a welcome by Mr Graffer who is the GM of Conrad Singapore!
No regrets choosing Conrad.

berbers

hi colortv,
yup yup GST increase... am wondering if we can cham siong with Conrad to pay the confirmed tables in advance like sometime late june... hee hee

Happy New Year everyone! We are getting married this piggy year! XD

ozbride

berber
if your banquet is in jul/aug then ok
but if it's next year.. you'd be better off putting the money in fixed deposit (earn more than 1%?)

unless you have a lot of cash to spare lah... otherwise cash on hand is best?!

ozbride

summerrain... congrats!
how many tables did you have? who is your coordinator and banquet manager?

was yours the standard package or did you top up?
i think the upgrade was such good luck!