Conrad Centennial Singapore

hi meowmel,
conrad doesnt have themes.. just different coloured table cloths and runners. for flowers, only white/ivory lilies, orchids and roses are included in the package. for any change to type/colour of flowers, u need to top up or get your own florist.

the most popular "theme" is organza gold setting where the theme colours are ivory, gold and cream.

maybe u can email your coordinator for list of table cloth/runner colours.

seat covers come in an off-white colour.

hope tt helps. this thread is pretty quiet tho.
when's your AD?

bumbee

Hi Piper,

Will like to check if there are any candles used by Conrad in the centerpiece? Or is it just flowers?

meowmel

Hi Piper,

Thanks for all these infor.I need to select my colour theme , so that my WG and EG colour will not clash with my theme. Guess I need to make an arrangement to go down to take a look at the colour before I finalise my WG and EG design.

So do Conrad have their own inhouse florist or they work with any particlular florist?

My AD will be on 26th Nov 06 but my banquet will be on 27Nov. Splitting it will be less taxing for me , cos I wanted to have more energy to entertain all my frds and relatives after the AD.

So when is ur AD?

hi meowmel,
im also worrying abt my colour themes. i want red-black-gold deco.. but i also want a red satin with black lace CS.. so v headache. worse comes to worse i'll just stick with the generic gold organza theme they have... even though my EG has gold colour in it. as long as i dont blend into the surroundings, i tink it's ok la. haha

u shld ask your coordinator to inform you when there's a banquet setup, then u can go down and see the whole room in the full deco. it's quite hard to imagine just by seeing the photos n tablecloth samples. who's your coord? mine's catheryn. she's nice n pro.

conrad has a regular florist- but im not sure if it's in-house or a supplier.

my AD's on april 15, 2006.

u'll be starting gown design soon?

meowmel

Hi Piper,
Oic...so ur AD is quite soon la. How's prep?

My Co-ordinator is debby. I think I should give her a ring and see some of the setups that they for this month before I finalise my gown design by next mth. I think the gold and ivory and cream is what i need. Elegant and classy colour. I think probably the flowers, I will get an outside contact to do it if I am not happy with it.

I am doing it earlier cos my PS will be in early Aug. Giving my designer ample time to get the materials and do it.

hi meowmel,
if ivory,gold n cream is what u want then u shldnt hv a prob with conrad's overall deco. they do it beautifully! what u cld do is maybe get your florist to work with their florist and add on to what they provide. in tt way, u dont lose your entitlement.

so far i've been focusing on my gowns (cos i tink tt's the most impt part for me! hehe), church deco (cos need to decide whether to DIY and buy materials) and wedding favours (oso need to decide whter to DIY.) i'll decide banquet theme only next year..cos i know i'll keep changing my mind.hehe.

anyway, u can work around the deco colours once u've decided what colours u wanna wear for your EG and WG, i tink tt's the most impt bit - u looking good.

which BS are u with? im with The Wedding Present.

meowmel

Hi Piper,

Actually I have seen somebody's wedding photo at Conrad recently. She is also from this forum. It remember its cream, gold and ivory. Thats Y the impression of these 3 coloyr sinks into my head.

Lucky for me is my AD will be just normal customary which is on the 26th Nov and the banquet is on the 27th, so I will still have some time to over-see some of the details for the banquet.

As for the weddng favours, I think I will just take up the normal chocolates that Conrad is offering. I have some friends that spend their effort and money to buy nice favours for their guests but some of them just left it on the tables after the wedding banquet. It will definitely breaks my heart to see such thing happening. Also I tell myself to spend that kind of money on other things, eg upgrade the food, or buy a better wine.

My BS is silverlining-Jit. He is the one that recently done for Jamie yeo's wedding. You can catch a look at this good looking designer on Channel 5 tomorrow, on Gotcha.
My Rom gown is also done by him and I got quite good comments from all my friends so I decided to also get my wedding package from him. He is very easy to talk to and a good listener. Most importantly, He knows what I want!
Now I am looking around for some designs for my WG and EG. Hope to find something that is unique and suitable for me.

hi meowmel,
ya, actually i fell in love with Conrad's organza gold theme 3 or 4 years ago at a fren's wedding. but now i'm feeling itchy leh, so was thinking of adding some colour to the deco.. like red and black for the wow factor. haha. dunno la, still v reluctant to top up the $$$ cos like u said, i'd rather the money is spent on something more practical like more PS photos or nicer beading/lace on my gowns, or better thank-you presents for my helpers...

anyway, i may give wedding favours only at the church wedding and stick to conrad's chocs for the dinner.

u still hv lots of time to mull over what u want, so no need to kanchiong. slowly look thru fashion mags and decide what u want for the WG/EG.. and everything else will fall into place.

im not too familiar with silverlining's jit. did he do jamie's ROM short dress? cos i thot tt was rather cute!

hi angeldust,
thanks for the info!
when's your AD? are u using the gold theme too?

angeldust

hi piper,

my AD is 17 Dec 06.. Still a long way.. yes. will probably use the gold theme cos I dun intend to top up as I feel the price of topping up can be used for gowns top up or PS or AD PG top ups etc something which I can keep for memory for a long time. Anyway, I am quite happy with Conrad's gold decor.

Tip: I intend to recycle my car decor to be used for recept area. As I will be using a silver car, I will be asking for either cream or champagne roses so will ask my receptionist to take down the decor and reuse it for recept area so the flowers are put into good use.

meowmel

Hi piper,

The red and Black theme will definitely be a "wow" statement for the ballroom. I am not that adventurous with colours-can say I am the boring type..hahaha..I will just stick to what they have and touch up a bit with the centre-pieces for the table display. Maybe some candles-hope my MIL and Mum will not be that "pang dang". :p

Ya..Jit did Jamie's yeo and My ROM gown as well. Mine was also a super short dress. Quite different from the normal ROM dress. My hubby and friends simply went wild cos I seldom wear dress and it was such short one. :p

Hi Angeldust,

Thats a good idea- to recycle the car decor for the recept area.But I wonder if my flowers can tahan till the next day cos my banquet is one day later of my AD.

angeldust

hi meowmei,

if u can salvage ur car decor flowers, suggest u put them in an aircon room at 18-20 degrees that shld help.. or dunno if conrad can help to store the flowers till ur AD? maybe u can chk with coordinator on that?

kittyhello

anyone had their food tasting ?

Understand they will charge per table no matter how many ppl turn up but any idea if a table less than 12paxs, how r they going to distribute the food ? How they handle the excess especially Shark Fin as they serve each per bowl.

u see, i don't wan to waste food.. there r ppl in this world had nothing to eat

kittyhello

For topping of flowers, i did have the intention at first but the ex conrad brides from other forum advised that actually not many ppl notice the different....so i drop the idea

Frankly, i feel that compare to Shangri la, conrad is not so flexible and not much choices for certain things like rose petals for march-in not allow, 2 choice of favors, Flowers selection very limited....hai...

The only thing that we r very statisfy is Catheryn Tan's service

angeldust

hi kittyhello,

i agree that conrad is not so flexible in terms of favours and decor requests and rose petal march ins. really!!! they shld improve on that area.

miaka05

hi guys.....

i'm considering holding my wedding banquet at conrad and was thinking if anyone can give me any contact of their co-ordinator for me to make inquires.... me can't seem to find any info on their website.

ajdory

Hi Gin,

Not sure if you are still reading the thread.

I am thinking of signing up with Conrad for a lunch banquet. All the nites are taken up for all the dates that I have =<

Could you share your lunch package with me as I am not sure wat things r included for lunch.

Please email me at [email protected]

landy

hi all, i m an Conrad Bride in Sept 05
i was surprised that they dun allow petals in the ballroom. i had that for my march in

miss_piggy77

Hi Miaka,
Dun worry, Mark's a super nice guy who's far from being pushy. Like dreamdoll said, you'll be amazed by the cute ideas and useful tips which he provides.

landy

hi piper, i seldom check this forum.. i m already an ex-conrad bride
i have email to u , pls check.. those who are interested to see my wedding ballroom photos, PM me.

landy

hi all Brides to be, my florist sent the red roses to Conrad's inhouse florist then they do the arrangement for the stands. I wouldnt pay $500 to COnrad!! my florist added fairy lights @ entrance..simply gorgeous... PM me if u wan to see the photos

dreamdoll

does anyone know if there's a choice to get the red/black table and chair covers for conrad? or, do they only offer white/gold/ivory and if you want the red/black table you have to top up?

axel

Have chosen Conrad to hold my banquet.

Any tips/negotiation for package apart from the standard one in their list?

Many thanks! if it is inconvenient, just email me at [email protected]

ajdory

Hi Axel,

I am also currently talking to Conrad..

Who's yur coordinator you are talking with.

C if we can share some tips.

hi dreamdoll,
there's no charge for changing colours of the tablecloth and runners. seat covers come only in off-white. but if u wanna change the colour of the flowers as well, top-up is $500+++.

when's your AD? im also thinking of red/black theme.. v glam n chinois.. but im reluctant to pay the top-up. may do what cher did and get an external florist to help.

dreamdoll

Hi piper...

what are the colours of the flowers normally?

Hmm when's ur AD? It's not really finalised yet..but red and black is v chic
I wonder if family and relatives are still v traditional tho...

g00ber

yah. black and red is nice. I went to a hyatt wedding and they had a black and red theme. the whole ballroom was clothed in black table cloth, seat covers. the only items red were the Runway Carpet, the roses and rose petals on the tables.

very drama.

dreamdoll

Yep grape..I agree it can be very stunning, we once saw a wedding at Four Seasons, black seat covers and napkins with red table runners and deep red roses.

Nice.

I think Hyatt does it well too...

hi dreamdoll,
the flowers come in only ivory/white combi, with orchids, roses and lilies. anything else is a $500+++ top up. apparently it's becos they use the same flowers for 2 weddings (sat/sun)

when's your AD anyway? maybe by some strange stroke of luck, we may be 1 day apart, then we share flowers! mine's on april 15.

yup yup, i also fell in love with red/black combi after hyatt wedding and we contemplated 4 seasons as well because they hv beautiful shiny burgundy table cloth.. but i didnt like their cocktail area - the ceiling's too low. conrad's foyer is much grander.

black/red looks really good for hyatt ballrooms cos the pillars are also black. v complementary.

i oredi checked with my MIL and psycho'ed her to tink tt black and red is nice and glam. hope she doesnt change her mind. :pP i tink shld be ok la, as long as there's red to balance the black!

hi dreamdoll,
the flowers come in only ivory/white combi, with orchids, roses and lilies. anything else is a $500+++ top up. apparently it's becos they use the same flowers for 2 weddings (sat/sun)

when's your AD anyway? maybe by some strange stroke of luck, we may be 1 day apart, then we share flowers! mine's on april 15.

yup yup, i also fell in love with red/black combi after hyatt wedding and we contemplated 4 seasons as well because they hv beautiful shiny burgundy table cloth.. but i didnt like their cocktail area - the ceiling's too low. conrad's foyer is much grander.

black/red looks really good for hyatt ballrooms cos the pillars are also black. v complementary.

i oredi checked with my MIL and psycho'ed her to tink tt black and red is nice and glam. hope she doesnt change her mind. :pP i tink shld be ok la, as long as there's red to balance the black!

dreamdoll

hi piper!

really, i think red and black is stunning..haven't decided on the date but april is way too soon for us

it's true now that u mention about hyatt's pillars...

how are your other preps?

hi dreamdoll,
oh, u hvnt booked a date yet, huh? hv u met the coordinator? mine's catheryn, she's nice.

anyway, PS is scheduled for feb 6.. so my gowns better be ready by then!..been for 3 fittings so far, but every time i go, the gowns look the same leh, like forever stuck in the tacking-on-lace stage hahaha. mayb im just too impatient.

now mulling over whether to make CS and where. so many things to do man. was thinking of buying christmas decorations to use for wedding deco since my theme is red/black/gold.. but dunno where to start! may brave the crowds tmr or boxing day to try and pick up some deco bargains.

how abt you? what hv u booked or not booked?

dreamdoll

hi piper...

I've got all my gowns already... L) I met the co-ordinator Mark at Conrad. He's very friendly with loads of ideas...
which bridal studio did u sign up for?

hi dreamdoll!
that's unusual! how come u've the gowns ready but hv yet to book banquet venue? and u hvnt fixed a date yet? *scratch head*.. v strange to me heheh.;) im curious

i'm a Wedding Present bride.

dreamdoll

Hi piper,

I actually was lucky enough to win 1 wedding gown at a wedding show..

everything else im taking my time...when's ur AD?

hi dreamdoll
wah, u're a lucky girl!! any pix to show?
how abt EG and CS?
my AD is on April 15. preparations are picking up. hv to start confirming theme, florist and church caterer soon.

dreamdoll

piper..haven't got the WG yet..waitin for it to come in from NY..
really very lucky, was pure luck...

don't think i'm keen on a CS..but EG etc gettin from the Link..what about you?

you're having a church reception? which caterers did u shortlist?

hi dreamdoll!
wow, your gown's from NY? dont tell me it's from one of the big name designers?

EG from the Link means Vera wang? wah wah sounds gorgeous already!!!

my WG and EG are both from Wedding Present. but i feel like getting another gown. hehe. the CS is just an excuse.. I may tailor a chinois-inspired gown. was thinking of chinese collar beaded halter gown using beaded indian saree-type cloth for an ethnic look.

im looking at lavish dine or kriston for church reception, mainly cos they have nice presentation. aesthetics is everything to me! hahaha. how abt u? any caterers to recommend?

hi shortcake,
no catheryn hasnt called me but i'll call her soon, maybe in the first week of jan. i wanna arrange for food tasting.

when's your AD?

dreamdoll

Hi piper babe,

I kinda got lucky and won the WG in a draw
Jane-wilson marquis...I have to admit though I'm more of a Reem Acra and Vera Wang person, but I'm not complaining since it's FOC!

Yep, EG from VW
It's my own indulgence! You should go take a look at the Link! They brought in some EG so you can actually get them OTR now and you can see the samples...unless those sell out, then you'll have to order from NY...

Wedding Present's quite good also, I love the whole French-inspired deco of the place
Think their WGs are quite nice also! Have you gone for your WG and EG fittings yet? Any pics to share?

Haha, yep I know what you mean...initially back then, I got so caught up in the dresses, I couldn't stop looking around and now I have so many! Still had a package with AL...a chinois-inspired gown sounds unique...

I think both Lavish and Kriston are pretty good. I haven't yet been to Lavish but Kriston has fantastic food! Have you ever tried Continental Delight?

Your AD's coming up! How are your preps babe? Decided on your theme and flowers yet? Oh, I'm a sucker for such details so, I'm really always do put unnecessary stress on myself, but truth be told, I do quite enjoy the process...
So, last but not least, your honeymoon? Got your own place yet?

Happy New Year! Have a brilliant weekend and a year filled with much happiness and good cheer!