Conrad Centennial Singapore

jasadel

Hey,

can i check with any of your girls if you have top up for the flower decos in the ballroom?

How are the top up like? massive increase in flowwers or just the change of colours of the flowers?

I am just afraid the current setting is a little sparse. Does the whole ballroom still look good as it is?

Concern

petit_ami

Has anyone heard of any turnover issue at the Conrad's catering department? I've signed up with Conrad for my wedding later this year, but I attended a friend's wedding earlier this month and the coordinator that was assisting her resigned just a few days before the wedding. I've since heard that their Director for Catering was the one that left.

Any comments on their in house florist? When I attend the same wedding, I was slightly disappointed with the floral arrangements, very very ordinary (orchids looked like they were sticking up all over, some even caught fire from the candles!!).

angeldust

Hi shortcake,

think the top up for flowers or change in theme is 500+++ and onwards. You may check with coordinator directly.

Hi blur blur, you may like to contact conrad direcly for the packages as the time frame you are looking at may not be the same pricing. What I understand is conrad is almost fully booked (perhaps only left the 2 lunar 7th mths). Refer to her world brides for the current promotion. Do note the promotion is for balance dates left in 2006.

Hi petit ami, unsure abt the staff turover at the catering dept. You mean Dewi left? The decor you saw is the gold theme one which is the very basic. its a mix of orchids with cream roses. If you like you may opt for the other themes available but this is subjected to top ups. (refer to reply to shortcake).

staritzz

ive made my bookings for conrad in june 07. its a relief to see all the happy reviews

st the same time, ive a julia wedding news bridal package to let go. kindly email to [email protected] for more details. cheerio!

apple79

seeing so much good comments here about conrad. Can anyone email me the package or pics? I am sourcing venue for my AD in June 07. Thanks in advance.

jasmanng

Let me pen down this historic moment in SingaporeBrides.com

I'm getting married today!!! Cheers and with lurve,

Jasman & Adele
22 April 2006

Thank you to those whom made it all possible for us,
~ Conrad ~ Bridal Veil ~ Utopia ~ Gabriel Mendes ~ Substance Films

dreamdoll

Hey Jasman,

Congrats!
Have a wonderful wedding!

lilyn22

It seems like suddenly a lot of coordinators left...dawn sim who was mine left also! i have someone called jeanie now who used to b fr goodwood park..anyone has her?

angeldust

Hi Deanen, iceblue and little puppy,

The packages I got are valid till June 2006 and may not apply to u guys who are perhaps looking at 2007 prices. The Min requirement for conrad ballroom is 25 tables of 12 pax per table = 300 guests. But the ballroom can allow up o 34 tables of 12 pax per table = 408 guests. My coordinator is Catheryn. Have not dealt with any other coordinator before. U may like to contact her at 64327176.

jengcc

Hi Angeldust,
i'm new ard here..
AD prob be in mid 2008.. but is looking ard for possible venues..
mind if u can let me know the approx pricing per table???
Thanx!

deannen

Hi Angeldust

thks for ur advice..hw do u like ur experience with them? & are they flexible to changes to to the package?

angeldust

Hi little puppy,

u are welcome. their basic decoration is the gold theme with white candles and cream roses which fits their gold ballroom very much. other than that they have other themes such as green, blue, red purple etc but I believe u have to top up 500+++ for the change.

Hi Deannen,

My AD is still far away in Dec 06 so I have yet to complete my wedding. My experience so far with conrad and exchanges with catheryn so far is ok. She answer my queries quite promptly. I am not sure what changes u are referring to. If you are talking about food, they usually allow exchange of dishes between two menus for the package u sign. as for perks, apologies I am unable to answer that because that depends on how you negotiate with them and what are the items you would like to negotiate for. Call catheryn up and obtain the updated packages first.

julie0870

I just attended a wedding dinner at conrad. When I walked into the ballroom, my first thought was 'stunning! The decor was really beautiful and there were no pillars blocking anything". There was one big big downside though - the food was pretty bad. Every course was served in individual portions, so the waiters and waitresses were busy dishing up the dishes for each meal. Quite chaotic and they took a long time. By the time the food reaches you, most of the time it's cold, chewy and dry. Quite bad.

lilyn22

oh no..no u got me worried julie..i've been reassured over n over by the catering managers that they're relaly quick with serving...but anyways i'm going to attend a wedding there a week b4 my AD there, can check it out n see..

julie0870

Maybe the reason was cos the wedding that I attended had 33 tables of 12 pple, so may be harder to cope. Maybe you can tell them to forget the individual servings for some of the dishes?

joyride

hey Amanda,

you were asking where Mark Chan has gone to? He's now in Oriental. I'm having a hard time deciding between Conrad and Oriental. But because my FH and I are very comfortable with Mark, we are likely to be choosing Oriental.

joyride

Hi Julie,

I've heard from friends too, that food from Conrad is really just ok. By the time its served, its not hot anymore. hmmm This is a definitely a consideration point for me.

lilyn22

i just attended a dinner there last nite, n it turned out great! food was yum, and the service was impeccable! portions wise there wasn't an issue, and most of the food was still warm when it was served...i think we also have to be realistic, cuz its not possible that everything is served piping hot when ur servind 360 ppl at once. I'm very satisfied n confident that mine next wk will be great!

joyride

Hey Lyn,

Hearing your good comments on Conrad definitely boost my interest in them.

You were there for the saturday nite wedding? I was there to meet with the wedding coordinator and had a chance to view the set up. Saw my photographer there as well, Tucky is also Arthur & Stella's photographer (I don't know the couple personally but saw their album at Tucky's, their pictures were beautiful!).

summerrain

Hi angeldust
been a long time since i came in...see lots of to be conrad brides...btw, i just attended a relative's wedding at conrad...food ok but VERY SMALL PORTION...have to da bao a packet of chao kway tiao on my way home. may have to feedback this to my new coordinator when she does get back to me...cos dawn left ald. btw, heard that conrad is getting some new themes...u may wan to look at the new themes...me thinking of going down later this yr to decide on the theme.

angeldust

hi summerrain,

just as i suspected abt the food portion. because i think many pple reflected that to me. I think I will have to speak to coodirnator abt that and also to ensure that the food portion is really enuff. i think i may want to self serve rather than apportion. except apportion for VIP tables.

new themes? really do let me know. i dunno when they will call me up for a meeting leh...

summerrain

Hi angeldust,
wat i am afraid is that if self serve, then if Conrad does not increase the food then some pple may not get to eat...at least when apportion , everybody get to eat although in a smaller portion....sigh..*Headache*...btw...i m designing my wedding bands. =)

angeldust

hi summerrain,

during food tasting can feedback in the feedback form? I did highlight several times to my coordinator that the serving portion s small. the food tasting is really also not a gd reflection of the portion cos it is only for few pax. haiz.. but at least if self serve, some pple who are big eaters and some who are small eaters can get to eat what they want. If apportion, then some pple may not like certain veg like u know celery or what then they eat less and say food not enuff. This kind of situation do happen lor. Also, if self apportion, the waiters can concentrate on serving the guests better given that its a 12 seating table? I did ponder abt all these before.

summerrain

haiz...headache lah....been told that my relative has informed her coordinator bt the food portion being small many times but in the end, the portion is also small. heard lots of good feedback from here and my bf bt the food previously but that nite when i attended the dinner, food not really very nice leh....change of chef isit? the abalone was really very tough (like rubber...) n the fish is not fresh...though the shark fin is good..quite worried cos we are paying a lot for Conrad n we hope that our guests can enjoy a nice decent meal as they celebrate our union.

angeldust

hi summerrain,

u are making me worried a little. I see how is feedback my fren attending one in conrad soon. let u know again. k?

happyface

So long did not come to this thread and found out tht there are so mnay conrad brides to be now..
I've also signed up with conrad and my coordinator is catheryn. Errr, so many not pleasant feedback ah...

lilyn22

Hi everyone..
I just had my wedding at conrad last sunday and it was SO GOOD! better than i ever imagined..their service is impeccable! not to worry, there will also be ppl complaining about things, regardless of what u try to do...think about it, isn't it a little hard to please ALL 300 ppl at ur dinner?

lilyn22

my coordinator was jeanie tan and she was SUCH a sweetheart! just before the 2nd march she popped in to see us! it was a sunday, she was sick, and she really didn't need to do that...she was lovely, getting down on her knees n adjusting my train and everything...

she also got them to upgrade us to the presidential suite!!! it was jaw-droppingly amazing!! pretty posh place i tell u... probably the size of 2 and 1/2 of my condo unit..i was trying to control myself when the bellboy was transfering our luggage..hehe!

their service during the dinner was fab too! the banquet manager for us was Sam Moo and he's such a considerate and friendly guy! he even gave us all hot tea and hot towels just before we did the handshaking bit at the door as ppl were leaving..think he was the hubby was pretty red by then..heheh...

All in all it was an amazing experience, n i totally give conrad a MAJOR THUMBS UP!!!

lilyn22

food wise when i went to my friend's dinner it was really nice, and portion wise really wasn't any problem at all..we had some big eaters on our table and they were COMPLETELY stuffed to the brim....

i think if there r ppl who have varying appetites on ur table u can just let ur server know and get them to serve less to so-n-so, and more to so-n-so...u can even get them to just place the food on the table for ppl to serve themselves! u just gotta ask tts all... hope this feedback helps!