Conrad Centennial Singapore

Hi Origins,
nope...still shopping ard for the photography on AD. My PS settled already with Golden Horse Awards. be going for my skeleton fitting on the 26th this mth....lookinng forward to trying the wedding gowns...kekeke...you leh? who is your PS and BS? By the way, is Kuang from 39eastimages is the same as Chi Kuang from Pentaserve Photography, cos saw his name in other threads....

Hi Gin,
har, no HM...well yeah lah cos the WB already cost us an arm n a leg so must scrimp a bit...n start saving again after the WB....=( but for conrad n this is a once in a lifetime thing no regrets...kekeke

Hi Summerrain,
Yes! Chi Kuang is from Pentaserve, 39eastimages is his new company name I believe. Our PS & BS is not settle yet! We will be taking our time to source around as there is no rush, can be taken anytime next year. However AD photography must settle first because once the date is taken up, there is no more already! We were already late for our hotel booking because we didn't know the "jin shu" is out already, so most of our auspicious date are being taken up, luckily we managed to find one weekend auspicious date in Conrad, we love Conrad too, so its nice.

me also still scouting for ADPG and VG. Oh yes Kuang is great but too pricey for my budget and I heard that he also do not do table to table shots so we will have to get an alternative PG to do that or ask friends to take for us. . ke ke..

Sumerrain - thanks so much!! will certainly keep a lookout for that false rose petals.

btw, my best friend just attended a dinner at Conrad last sat. She mentioned that the portion was too little even for her (My friend is not a big eater), so she asked me to let my coordinator know during food tasting so that my wedding will not experience such an issue. *cross fingers* man.

i'm going to meet up with Kuang to view his works, i think if its pricey, it has got good reason to be, but i won't mind paying a tad bit more to have something that is going to last for a lifetime! yea, he mentioned that he doesn't do table shots, frankly speaking, i rather like him to take other great shots than table photos with uncles and aunties, we'll probably won't want to take those photos out and view them again!

Hi summerrain,
My PS is in Jun 06 & we chose Andrew Choi for the task. As for my AD which falls on 21 & 22 Oct, have chosen Chor Hui from Beatles@work. I'm a Divine bride. :-)

Wah... this thread moves really fast...

hi angeldust,
really? oh no most of my relatives (mine n dar's) are big eaters. may have to feedback on this to my coord....r u intending to ask them to portion or self service...i thinking of self service for some tables and portion for some tables...duno if they allow anot...

btw, i be checking wif my coord if real red roses can use anot, if cannot, then real white roses can anot...if real roses really cannot, then get false rose petals lor. hope they look real enuf lor....kekeke...i let you know once my coord advises me...

hi origins,
my AD on 27th Jan 07 but WB on 28th Jan 07 as 27th Jan WB is booked already.

Hi miss piggy 77,
i saw the divine collections, very sexy leh...wow, you are gonna be one sexy hot bride on your AD.... kekeke....

Val >
wow, that's fast, you've got all the photography and growns settled already! would you mind PM me what's the package for Andrew Choi and Divine are like? I can't seem to access Andrew's web. Thanks!

hi summerrain,

yes. that was the feedback provided. My relos are extremely picky with food and portion. They are big eaters as well as drinkers.. ha ha ha ha so shall feedback to coordinator. I may request for VIP service for VIP tables + relos tables then the rest shall be self serve. Shall see how many tables first.

On the petals, i can consider them later during nego with conrad but seems like real rose petals are not allowed still at this point.

Val- congrats on settling everything so fast!!

origins - yup agree with you but I have no choice.. to give credit to a friend who said.. table shots are like marking attendance for your dinner.. ke keke ke ... Andrew has now join Ave 8 so you might have to check the Ave 8 website instead.

i also quite like kuang's portfolio from 39east and Chris Ling's but as my wedding is spread over two days (ie. AD on sat n WB on sun) so have to pay more ...=(

hi Gin,
thanks for the list.

I'm the super kiasu type, u see, so got all the necessary packages booked! So that I can plan my big day at a leisurely pace. ;-) My fiance calls me the "fast & furious"! ha...

Origins,
My Divine MTM package costs $3,788 (usual px $3,988) - got it from their recent 9th anni promo. On top of the usual WG, EG, men's suit, etc, it includes a MTM tea dress & men's vest. I simply lurve their gowns! Summerrain's rt, they r renowned for their detailed & low back gowns. If that's what u r looking for. Btw I only checked out Divine, & no other BS.

Likewise, Ave 8 was the one & only PS that we visited. My fiance likes Andrew Choi's portfolio, plus we've heard & read quite alot of rave reviews of his work. We paid $1,800 for the standard package. I can't remember off-hand what it exactly entails, e.g. size & no. of prints. But if u like, I can go dig out my receipt! Andrew doesn't do AD photography, hence we'll be engaging Chor Hui to do the job instead.

Hi ladies... jus wanna give some feedback fm my mum, dad n some other frends who attended dinner at Conrad.

Was told tat the portion was enough as they serve individually. One person only one piece of each item. Don like tat item oso no choice.

The shark fin which was serve in individual pot, taste of funny oil smell... u knw, like some stuff tat has been fried b4 n kept for a long period of time...

Can't remembered wat they said abt the chicken, but it wasn't nice...

N the seating between tables was very cramp... can almost knock onto the seat behind u...

I was really surprise wif all tis feedback as i always thought Conrad was a very gd hotel... n very expensive somemore...

Mayb hving the guest help themselves to the food rather than being serve individually will b a better option to settle the not enough to eat issue...

Jus my thoughts...

Wat i mean was the portion was NOT enough...

"Was told tat the portion was enough as they serve individually. One person only one piece of each item. Don like tat item oso no choice"

hi Yukie,

thanks for the feedback..
the seating issue may be due to 2 things:
1) tables filled up totally - conrad can fit up to 480 guests but i tot 30 tables already quite crampped
2) tables size is larger as they can seat 12 pax per table.

portion issue - i did highlight to the other conrad btbs earlier.. so conrad btbs shld feedback during food tasting session.

Hi Angeldust,

U r most welcome!

It's not cheap to hv a wedding dinner at Conrad. So i felt tat at least the guest should hv enough to eat lor...

The dinner my mum went to is 25 tables only n not fill up...

Helo, just want to add something, my wedding was at Conrad last year.

I recieved nothing but excellent feedback from the guests regarding the place, the food (the tastiness, amount or temperature). some of my friends actually told me they felt so pampered being served the food by individual portions, and they loved every dish.

though of course you can choose to let your coordinator know that you prefer the guests to help themselves to the own food, but Silver service (one waiter to approportion the food to all 12 guests) is one of the frills you are paying for when you fall in love with hotels like Conrad. most hotels does Family service (you help yourselves). Another reason for staying with Silver Service, if you spend money on the beautiful centrepiece, you want it to be there to be enjoyed by your guests throughout the evening, instead of brought away to dispose of, replaced by food and food debris strewn all over the table. of course, personal preference, but I prefer the former.

Yukie and angeldust, the closeness of the tables could be that the couple had other things like band or piano etc in the ballroom taking up space. or that somehow the guests at the adjacent table were not considerate enough, OR somehow the tables not arranged properly. for our case, we had the full 34 tables but had no problem with navigation although in my full wedding gown. believe me, just to assess how much spacve I will have to walk in my gown, I went down to the ballroom few mths b4 my wedding on an evening with a 32 table event, and I decided there's enough distance to navigate.
kiasu, but thats me. angeldust, when conrad says their max is 480, it includes opening up the Grand Salon near the left side of the ballroom. This grand salon can accomodate 6 tables of 12 (72 total) so add that to 34 main tables in the ballroom, that makes 480. if you look at the main ballroom itself, the max tables is only 34, no more. in fact, most coordinators will not encourage you to go for 34 as it can be quite cramp. but we had no choice, too many guests and we even do not have reserve tables hehehee....

Hi angeldust,
my dar managed to negotiate with our cordinator already. we be using real white rose or very light pink petals instead of red petals which may stain their carpet. u may wan to check wif your coordinator?

hi all, think Conrad's aisle is quite well spacious despite my 34 tables
guess it reali depends if u are adding other flower stands or decor. My florist done more decor to the entrance and ard the reception area. PM me if u wan to see the photos

Hmmm
i thought no petals are allowed.
They do not want to even dirty the carpet, let alone light coloured petals.

Has anyone used the white theme for the setting?
Are there new colours for table cloth?

I will be holding my wedding at Conrad too

hey, think my sis placed red rose petals for the guests along the aisle.. we werent informed by Conrad that we cant use that....

Hi Cher,

Hmm .. not too sure, i remembered that when i confirmed my wedding date with the hotel, the coordinator mentioned that their carpet is new ..
They hope nothing can stain their new carpet.
Maybe they have lifted that rule or something.

When's your wedding?

Hi angeldust,
so how? have you checked with your coordinator abt the light pink roses? we be using white roses if my coordinator does not go back on her words....anyway you can get a huge packet of red rose petals from wet market for less than $4 dollars...but you may want to check with the florist if they carry light pink which is your preference. btw, wat are you getting for your dar this christmas? me still brainstorming...be going for my skeleton fitting for PS tml, loking forward to it...

hi summerain,

haven check yet cos now i outstation for 2 weeks leh.. i dun mind using cream roses as per the gold theme. yar i know abt the wet market one.. but dunno if they can provide cream roses wor..

me ah.. very scheming me.. i thinking of buying cuff links for my dar for x'mas gift leh so he can use for wedding ha ha ha ha ha...of cos + a hug and a kiss.. KA KA KA KA KA KA...

gg for skeleton fitting ah.. which BS u with ah? me hor kind of forget.. nowadays my memory very bad.. need to take more fish.. can show me pics?? ke ke ke ke

hi shortcake, my wedding was in sept 05.. my co-ordinator was Catheryn. She didnt tell us any restrictions for the ballroom. But my florist liaise with their inhouse florist for the decor.

hi angeldust,
just bot a a4 size christmas cd for my dar...duno wat to get for him leh.
i went to Golden Horse Awards in Yishun to try the fitting. i quite like the gold colour tube one leh (very victorian style), thinking of using that as my AD gown....they dun allow me to take pics leh so after the PS, i can show you then which wll be mid next yr...

hi summerrain,

its the tots that counts.. so any pressie also can lah..

oic.. ur BS GHA Yishun. okie dokie..shall wait for the lovely pics!!

hiya gals!
im a conrad bride too. my AD is in April. wondering if i cld get some advice on deco.

has anyone topped up to change the colour of the flowers tt conrad provides? i was told it's $500. does the in-house florist do a good job? or shld i still use their basic cream/ivory flowers and pay my own florist to enhance the display with red roses?

the theme im thinking of is black tablecloth with gold runners, cream seat covers and red roses.

hi piper,

erm.. think i wun pay 500 for the decor. i wld prefer the money to be spent on top ups for my gowns etc rather than the decor.

hi angeldust,
im quite reluctant to pay the $500 oso and i tink it's ridiculous if all im asking for is red roses which is so basic. sigh, maybe i'll just hv to stick to the gold theme.. will decide nearer the date but i'll just budget for it anyway hahaha.

hi piper,

do u mean that conrad is saying if change from cream to red roses u nid to top up 500??? ridiculous!! cos red roses are cheap.. haiz.. they nid to buck up on their florist. else tie up with external florist that can offer better ideas at the same cost.

hi piper, think external florist cheaper.. u can check with Cher... she had red roses added by an external florist & it was beautiful!! ;)

hi moninet,
ya i was thinking of keeping the ivory flowers tt conrad provides (after all, it's as good as i've already paid for it!) and getting my own florist to just enhance with red roses. tt's to get my money's worth la. haha.

hi cher,
if u happen to read this thread, can share with me your ballroom deco pix? i want to add red roses too. and what was your experience of having your own florist work with the conrad florist? thanks a mil!