Conrad Centennial Singapore

cleo

Hi Carol,
thanks for your compilment and nope, my gown was MTM at Wedding News Bridal Couture and I indeed got the inspiration from 1 of Divine's creation in Her World Mag....but my designer also good in her use of material and cutting to enhance my pear-shape figure

I have 26 tables and that cake is a dummy cake and was provided by Conrad.

1 VIP table each for each set of parent as I think this is quite the norm...

Hope this helps again!

carol

Hi Cleo,

thanks. Going for food tasting this thursday and will have my final meeting with Catheryn next week. Soon wedding will be over and I really look forward to my honeymoon : )

cleo

Hi angelbella, kiroro and shirsweetiepie,

Veri sorry for the delay but only managed to sit down tonite and scan some of the photos of my 2 EGs and those of the yam seng session on stage, reception area(not very clear but can still see the basic set-up), champagne pouring session and also sending-off guests part....

Check ur email and if u don't receive, pls let me know......

sweets

hi cleo...
thousand apologies for this late reply...I have had to make an emergency trip since I've rec your pix....your gown looks awesome....!!!! wow!!

26 tables seems to leave the room spacious hor ? Wonder where the band is normally "situated" when Conrad brides have them ?

angelbella

Hi cleo,
I've received your pixs. Thanx for sharing! You are really tall and slim

cleo

Hi Angelbella,
All brides tend to be tall and slim on their big day but I really PIG out straight the whole banquet is over.....and for the whole of Oct'02 till I gained abt 1kg and so scared of being fat that I stopped pigging out

Hi Sweets,
It's okie and thanks for the compilments on my gowns...since the ballroom can accomodate up to 34 tables hence my 26 tables will have a lot of walking space in btw...

u engaging a live band???that's cool!!!u can check with ur co-ordinator then but what type of band-Jazz, Rock???When's ur wedding though?

Hi Unknown & Sue,
Will send in 5 mins...check ur email

marie

just to check, are we able to use burned CDs on our wedding day at Conrad and can its equipment play mp3 files?

Many Thanks!

cleo

Hi Marie,
I burnt all those songs that I liked into 2 CDs and the songs turne out fine. As for mp3 files, not too sure..sorry can't help!

vodka

Hi Cleo,

Thks for the fotos.

Hi carol,

me oso had my food tastin last thur 5 dec. was quite disappointed wif a no. of dishes but my dessert buffet was super yummy especially the tiramisu...kinda of make up 4 watever disappointmt.

how was ur food tasting? n who's ur coordinator?

maro

Hi cleo,

Can i take a peep at yr photos too?
btw, can you pls let me know what are the songs that u have used for yr march in & 1st dish?
pls email me at [email protected]

Thank U.
Congratulations!

cleo

Hi Bear & Angeline,
Ok....sending in 5 mins....

Hi maro,

I used Faith Hill "There You'll Be"(Pearl Harbour Soundtrack)-1st March-in , Crowded House "Don't Dream It's Over" (Pure NZ Commerical Song) - 2nd March-in and 1st Dish- "Life is Beautiful" (DBS Commerical Song)...and check ur email for the photos.

maro

Hi cleo..

thanks for replying so soon..
I have not received the email yet.. will try again later.
Do u also prepare another song for champagne toasting?
btw, where did u get the songs from?

carol

Hi Vodka,

such a coincidence, my food tasting was also thurs! where did you have your foodtasting, Golden peony too?

I was a little disappointed with the food, the sharksfin tasted funny, quite sour even though we didnt add vinegar. Most of the dishes were ok, but we think there were a lot of vegetables instead of the more expensive stuff. We even have to switch the sequence of the dishes in order to avoid the guests from complaining that every dish is vegetables. DUn know, maybe its cos I dun like chinese food too. My parents and in-laws thot the food was ok, though not fantastic. Well, just hope that the guests will not complain.

My coordinator is Catheryn, havent arrange to meet her for the final meeting yet. Still sorting out invitations, intend to send this week. My wedding is on 4 Jan. When is yours?

Anyone doing the wrist corsage for your receptionists/sisters?

vodka

Hi Carol,

mine was @ Golden Peony too...i was sittin rite inside (a big noisy grp of 9 adults n 2 kids) while i tink u were situated neared 2 entrance.

i oso find tat the ingredients used r quite miserable n the food wasnt fantastic. e.g. my lobster soup veri little lobster, quality of abalone is lousy, sauce for steam fish was too sweet, chicken teriyaki marinade was too sweet n the dish cold when served, no taste of mango or pomelo in dessert cream of pomelo with mango n sago at all. Luckily the rest of my desserts were yummy. My parents n ILs oso hav the same comments as me...so i guess i'm not being fussy.

My coordinator is Catheryn too. Alrdy feedback all these to her n revised my menu too. Meetin up wif her tis Sat 2 finalise details.

cleo

Hi BEAR,
Email got bounced back as I think ur mail box full...i try again tomorrow....

Hi maro,
Sorry but juz sent 15 mins ago as was called in for a last min meeting and I didn't have another song for champagne pouring as my 2nd march in song was long enough to last thru and when the light was switched off with only light coming from the bottom of the table shining onto the champagne glasses..........wah....really nice and romantic....loved that part most...even when we replayed the VCD for our friends and relatives.....

I burnt abt 34 songs into 2 CDs from various CDs and played thru the dinner.....all are love songs...

Hi binbin,
ok...i re-send tomorrow as me knocking off soon and in a rush today

maro

Hi cleo,

Thanks for the email. I have just seen the photos.
btw, which bridal did u sign up with?
Do u have the photos of yr evening gown?
if you have, pls email me.
Thank U

cleo

Hi maro,
U r welcome! I signed up with Wedding News Bridal Couture and I do have photos of my 2 EGs and will email u tomorrow.

carol

Hi Vodka,

do mind sharing what is your new menu? I have fedback only on the sharkfins, prawns and chicken. I am topping up for king prawns and changed the chicken to crispy chicken.

cleo

Hi binbin,
Thanks for the compilment...pai seh leh
anyway..I sincerely believe all brides are at their prettiest on their big day and so will u when it comes to your big day

Yup...got it MTM at Wedding News...

sue

Hi Cleo: Do u know the florist that Conrad work with? Thanks.

Hi Carol & Vodka: My food tasting shld be in Feb. Reading both yr comments make me worry abt the food @ Conrad. My coordinator is Catheryn too but don't think she can do much abt the food.

Hi Carol: how much did u top up for the king prawns etc?

vodka

Hi Carol

Here's my new menu

Main Courses
Fusion Connection (Barbecued Suckling Pig with Pancake, Fish Roe Sushi, Jelly Fish, Vietnamese Spring Roll)
Soup - pending Catheryn's recommendation
Stir-fried Scallops and Cuttlefish with Celery
Steam Red Garoupa With Superior Soya Sauce
Twin Combination of Stir Fried Prawns Skewer with Asparagus and Deep-fried Prawns in Taro Nest
Braised Sliced Abalone with Mushroom and Chinese Spinach
Deep-fried Crispy Chicken garlic n sesame seeds
Stir-fried Vermicelli and Glass Noodles with Mushrooms and Chives

Dessert
Hot Cream of Walnut with Glutinous Dumplings
Chilled Cream of Pomelo with Mango and Sago
Tiramisu
Chocolate Royal Hazelnut Crunch
Conrad Cheese Cake
Limoncello Mouse
Fruits

Told Catheryn tat a clear lobster soup instead of starchy soup n she'll check wif chef 1st b4 recommendin sth 2 me.

Changed the sauce of steam fish i.e. soya sauce instead of traditional sauce w/c i find too sweet.

Did not changed the abalone dish...just told her to change the brand of abalone used.

Oso changed the baked chicken in teriyaki to crispy chicken.

as for dessert, told her 2 take note of the quality of mango used.

cleo

Hi Sue,
Conrad has their in-house florist from what I last know in Oct'02 so most probably u got to re-confirm with them again this time round as my info may not be that new...

sweets

Sue...Cleo is right, I met up the them last week and was given the same info as well - inhouse florist....

Cleo, did you find his charges, service, quality ok ? Did you top up any on decor?

U

unkown

Hi Vodka,

Which package did u take weekday or weekend?
Did u top extra money to change the dishes and how much is the extra cost for the dessert buffet?

Hi Sue,

i am also looking external florist to deco the ballroom. Maybe we can exchange notes.
Same here i am alos worry about the food after reading the comments...just to keep my fingers cross.

So when is yr wedding? Mine is in Apr 03.

unkown

sue

Hi Vodka: thanks for sharing yr menu. Sounds gd!! :p

Hi Cleo & Sweets: Thanks for the infor. One of my friend told me they r using external florist that's why I wanna chk.

Hi Unknown: Why do u call yrself Unknown? *scratch head* I'm not looking for external florist, just wanna find out if they tie up any external florist. I've seen Cleo's photos and I think the ballroom decor looks fine. My wedding is in May 03. One mth after yrs!

vodka

Hi unknown,

Mine is the weekend pkg n i'm payin $12/pax for the dessert buffet. The menu i came up with r all item for item 'exchange' i.e. swop an item fr menu A with menu B so no xtra charge. Except for soup, cos I did not wan sharks' fins.

Nutin to worry too much abt the food. Just feedback to your coordinator how u feel after food tasting & i'm sure they'll do sth abt it or recommend sth else. I'd 2 other frens who'd their weddin there & everythg went fine on actual day.

In fact, i just met up wif Catheryn today to finalise the details n she specially told chef to prepare another soup for me to try again. It was super yummy.

For those interested in ballroom decor, Conrad's basic is 8 foral pillars to be placed along aisle, entrance & stage and a floral arch on stage. I oso asked for quote fr Conrad for 2 organza pillars on stage n posies behind chairs and was quoted:
- $300 for 2 pillars
- $10 for each posie

The standard flowers used r ivory roses n if you wan red roses, gotta top up $500.

carol

Hi Vodka,
thanks for sharing the menu. I had almost the same dishes as you except the dessert buffet and prawns dish. Is the prawn dish nice? How did you get the idea for this dish, sounds interesting and unique. Will be meeting Catheryn this sat, will remind her about the mango for the dessert too.

Hi Sue,
I top up $40 nett per table for king prawns.

U

unkown

Hi Vodka,

Thanks for the info. May i know what is the name of the soup that the chef prepare for u cos my hubby is anti against killing sharks ands so we will not be having sharks find for our banquet.

Actually, i am quite keen on the dessert buffet but mine is a weekday package and i don think my guest will hav etime to enjoy the desert buffet cos they will be rushing home since they still have to work the next day.

Seems quite reasonable for the price they quote u on the deco.. I will check with Far East Flora and if is the same price most likely i will get conrad to do it to save all the trouble...

vodka

Hi carol,

did u havin any prob wif the mango dessert durin your food tastin? i wud suggest u to take the cream of walnut with glutinous riceballs w/c i find super yummy rather than risk havin poor quality mangoes.

the prawn dish is on Conrad's wkday menu. it's veri nice n unque.

Hi unknown,

me oso opted not to havin sharksfins for the same reason

Not sure of exact name...sth like double boiled lobster soup with conpoy, fishmaw, hashmar n chinese cabbage.

carol

Hi Vodka,

thanks for the advice. Actually I didnt have time to look at the menu, so it was chosen by in-laws, may be a little tricky to change the dishes now. So, likely to stick to the same mango dessert but make sure the hotel use good quality mango. I like the prawn dish that you have chosen though, sounded very nice. Too bad, think our parents are quite afraid to change to dishes that we didnt try before, so we will still top up for king prawns. Anyway, as long as the food looks presentable, its all rite to me.

What is the menu for vegetarian and halal food? My husband has some colleagues who are muslim and some vegetarian, so we will need to take care of their preference. What will happen if I have less than 8? Can they be placed with those having the normal menu?

vodka

Hi carol,

I'd talked to Catheryn abt the mango n i hav to agree with her tat she cant guarantee tat the mangoes will be 100% sweet n nice.

it's not compulsory to form a table for pp wif special diets. just so happen tat i'd more guests wif special diets. When u cant form a table, u'll hav to placed your special diet guests with the rest of the guests. Just order n pay xtra for the set menu. try to form a table of 13 or 14 wif 12 standard menu guests n 1 or 2 special diet guests cos your chinese dinner is meant for 12 n tat'll sav u some money.

Below r the halal n vegetarian menus:

MUSLIM DINNER MENU
HIDANGAN CAMPURAN
Muslim Deluxe Hot & Cold Dish (Spring Rolls, Vegetable Samosa, Pickled Cabbage,
Prawn Thai Style, Jellyfish)
SOTO AYAM
Spicy Clear Chicken Soup with Shredded Chicken
BOTOK BOTOK IKAN SIAKAP
Grilled Seabass wrapped in Banana Leaf
AYAM PANGGANG BEREMPAH
Baked Spicy Chicken with Indonesian Spices
NASI BIRYANI BERSAMA KAMBING MASAK PENGANTIN DAN ACAR
Fragrant Basmati Rice Infused with Four Spices
side of Braised Lamb Curry & Acar
Tropical Fruits Platter

INDIVIDUAL CHINESE VEGETARIAN SET DINNER
Combination of Vegetarian Appetizers (Spring Roll, Beancurd Skin Roll, Vegetarian Dumpling, Taro Puff)
Superior Vegetable Soup with Winter Melon and Diced Mushroom
Stir-fried Diced Vegetables with Vegetarian Ham
Braised Bamboo Piths with Broccoli & Golden Mushroom
Fried Rice with Diced Vegetables & Preserved Minced Olive Wrapped in Lotus Leaf
Dessert as per Chinese dinner menu

carol

Hi Vodka,
thanks for sharing the info. Saves me a lot of time.

Do you know how much will it cost per pax to have such special menu? Also, I remember that corkage is charged for the 35th bottle onwards assuming I have 34 tables. This includes wine and hard liqour rite? AM trying to negotiate for a better corkage charge cos mine is likely to be high. I have so far ordered 60 bottles of wine, 1 barrel of 30L beer plus purchased 10 bottles of hard liquor.Hopefully we are over-providing and the guests will not drink so much.

vodka

Hi carol,

the special menu is $65+++ per pax for both halal n vegetarian.

my estimated liquor consumption oso abt the same as yours - 55 btls of red n 12 btls of white, 6 btls brandy, 1 whisky, 1 vodka, 30l beer.

u ordered ur beer fr Conrad alrdy?

sad binbin

dear all, which of u here are clients of debby huh? i am a bit disheartened by her attitude recently leh....anyone care to share?
initially learnt that if anyone get her as their coordinator, they are in good hands. so i specifically requested for her. initially okie lah, but recently she sounded like she is regretting the things she told me b4, and is rushing me to confirm my booking and hinted that there's some ppl eyeing my date liaoz. my date is in March 2004. :p
Me and my FH intended to confirm the booking and sign the contract by end of this year. But her tone is quite put off loh.....I am very sad...
There's some other things as well but dun really wanna voice it here lah.

and I did not try to negotiate for a lot of things leh, so I did not offend her in any way.......

anyone have comments? hope she will be nice, may need to work with her on things like sitting arrangement, flowers, menus etc etc next time leh.

cleo

Hi binbin,
don't be sad! debby was fantastic and really friendly with me prior to my singing of contract up to the moment I'm about to step into the ballroom for the 1st march-in on my wedding dinner nite...so very surprised to hear such comments abt her...she even made extra effort to stay back for my big day to finalise all details with my hubby and the banquet manager and to congrat me as she told me once that she seldom handled wedding dinner case personally as she got co-ordinator to run the groundworks and the nos. of wedding dinner which she's personally involved is only a handful....

carol

Hi Vodka,

I told Catheryn about the 30l beer before but guess she has not included in the total cost yet. Anyway, there is this form that she gave you when you met her for the final meeting rite? It has a field on the number of barrels that you require. I will just indicate 1 30L barrel, anyway she confirmed that they will have more barrels on standby in case the guests finish the first barrel.

So are you going to negotiate for lower corkage? She did tell me that she would try to help, but of course nothing committed yet.

Hi BinBin, dun be so upset, I think its cos there are people eyeing the same date as you and willing to confirm soon, that's why she is pushing for your decision now. It is very common to book 1 and a half year in advance if you want to hold the dinner on a sat. Originally I wanted Sept 02, so I went to Conrad in Sept 01, guess what, all sats were confirmed and taken except one sat which is a "bad" date according to the Chinese almanac so I have no choice but to take first sat of 2003. Personally I feel that the coordinator need not be very friendly, as long as they are competent. Frankly I do not think Catheryn is very very friendly but she does her job well, and that is the most important thing for your wedding. So, dun worry.

One thing, Bin Bin, before you confirm Conrad, pls make sure that the ballroom capacity is really enough for your guests. I am in a situation where after we booked the hotel, our parents and inlaws suddenly have a lot of relatives and friends to invite, something that contradict what they said earlier.

vodka

Hi Carol,

Yep, there was a form tat she was fillin up durin our last mtg. Conrad is chargin $20+++ for corkage of wines, u mean negotiate for a lower price or corkage waiver for more btls of wine. Me might try to get more btls waived when nearer to date n i'd confirmed the no. of tables.

binbin

hi cleo and carol....thanks for the encouragement. hope that things will improve...

It'll be the most important day of our life, so I hope the relationship will be good. I wish to remember it as a wonderful day.....

binbin

dear carol, yah originally did not consider conrad coz capacity not enough to hold all the guests, esp when my PIL's guests are around 260 based on their elder son's wedding. but they quite like conrad's ballroom loh, and FIL said he will cut down the friend's guests list to meet whatever capacity we give him. so far, he has agreed to the number...so should be alright lah....
so how did you resolve your problem huh?

well, as for the dates being popular, i understand. but the difference is hor...for ur customary in Sept 02, the almanac is ALREADY out when you go conrad in Sept 01 (because the almanac for the next lunar year comes out in lunar eight month every current year). therefore it's no wonder most saturdays are booked, and you had to choose a sat in 2003. but for me hor, it's 2002 now, my wedding is in March 2004, and the almanac for March 2004 will ONLY be out in around June next year. So i find it a bit bit surprised that ppl are asking about March 2004 liao loh......unless ppl are like us who goes to ask geomancer calculate dates in advance for us mah.....

sigh.....anyway...i'll just pray things get better lah.....

13453.gif

interested04

Does anyone know if there is additional costs for screening video/photo montage at Conrad ?

Pls advise.

Interested04