Christian Brides

OMG Lydia! What's your dad's name? I might have a good idea of who your dad is. My family has been attending New Life since it started up, as it was just across the road from my house--I'm the first of the babies born in that church to get married, lol, but I'm pretty sure your dad will know my family. My family surname is Wok, pretty distinctive huh? Anyway, this is really a very small world! How much younger are you than me? I think you were baptised by Rev Patrick Tan?

hi lydia,

u're welcome..
twinkle makes alot of sense, rem the vows wld be most impt coz it's the most significant aspect abt the wedding.. heheh, but like jazol says, heheh, we really can get tongue-tied! but it's perfectly fine, coz it's most natural & more memorable too.. coz ur FH may actually prompt u too, and tt's really sweet!!

had a fren who composed her own vows, with permission of Pastor, and composed the vows in the lyrics of a song.. think alot of the guests were super touched!!

I have a question.
Many of the guests I intend to invite are not believers including my family.
My prayer is that they will see a glimpse of God's love radiating in the ceremony.
The thing is that the ceremony takes approximately 1 hr wif praise & worship, prayers, Word etc.
I have seen at some of my frens' wedding that people stand outside when the ceremony gets "lengthy", some even doze off..
Any suggestions to keep the ceremony more upbeat, or to take away certain segments?
I believed that this wedding maybe the only other time where some of my guests will ever step into a church or see a Christian service, so I really hope to set the right tone.

My FH & I putting alot of prayers into it, believing that God will show up :-)

haven't been in for a while...

summerice: congrats! praise God that everything went well for you, apart from that weird guy.

geraldine: hi! ;) and welcome!
hmm. praying hard that my church will change chairs soon, cos pastor did mention during the budget that they have set aside money to change chairs for the past few years but haven't quite got down to it.

bb queen: regarding the chairs, (fyi) i contacted the Third Party (the contact that Debbie gave). they're charging $4.50/pc for seat covers, and those nice cushion chairs are $8.50 each. *gasp*

twinkle: always thought it's sweet when a couple memorises their vows. but i know how stressful it can be. i once suggested it to FH, but he wasn't keen on it. he's quite forgetful. haha.

hi jess,

I had the same intention when my hubby & i had our wedding.. Esp so coz my parents are pre-believers too. I think with the ceremony under 1 hour, is gd enough. Think the main issue is the duration of the exhortation, keep it short & maybe 15 - 20 min is a gd guide? Same goes for P & W, have seen some WS leaders who have forgotten abt time.. Then it can get the rest of the ceremony a little tiring, coz alot of energy fr the guests was put into the initial part of the whole ceremony

Dunno if there are any areas to take away, but I believe u wld like to have all of it yah?

sharon:
oh, yes yes, it was rev patrick tan! XD my dad isn't at home now but i'll ask him if he knows you when he comes back - his name is Willie Quek. i think your parents and you might know his family, his brothers and sisters were all there in their early days too. haha. i'm 19 this year - hehe i'm getting married very early... :P

hi jess:
a large portion of my guests would be non-believers and some are muslims, furthermore my service is in chinese and some of my friends are either not very keen on chinese (they are chinese but don't speak it fluently - the new age singaporean syndrome) or can't understand chinese at all (friends who are coming from overseas). there will be a translator to english for everything but the vows and exchange of rings. but i think i will ask pastor to keep his exhortation to under half an hour (i would prefer the exhortation to be about our wish to have our friends and family know Christ) and i will have about two to three special items by my family and friends at the end, eg. sing a hymn with violin and flute accompaniment, all that. don't think that the guests will sleep then right? heehee.

Hi mehmeh and lydia Q,
thanks 4 ur suggestions.
ya. it's true I do want to have it all but gonna consider the duration oso.. hehe.. Mine is an anglican eng service, so can be rather traditional. But like wat Lydia says, I'm thinking of injecting some special items.
Mine on the other hand will have chinese translation only 4 the exhortation (for my chinese speaking relatives)

Have you heard of pastors making altar call at weddings?

jess:
no problem, glad to be of help
i haven't heard of pastors making altar calls at weddings, by the way. heehee. what special items are you gonna have? share some ideas please~ hehe... i'm in the church choir, so i'm probably asking them to sing for my wedding. and maybe my batch also, we are still very close after the years in sunday school and i'm the first to get married so ask them to have a special item ready~
any other ideas?

sharon:
HEYYYYY i just asked my dad about whether he knows you and he immediately said 'jimmy wok's daughter is it' and i went, 'i have no idea' hahaha but he started telling me about how elizabeth (your sis?) like to play with me when i was a baby and i totally have no recollection XDDD but it's SUCH a small world. hoho.

sisters, any of you know of any restaurants that are less than $600 per table, has a nice ballroom and do not have any pillars? very headache finding such a restaurant - so far looking at Chevrons and Hilltop Garden, but seems that Hilltop the nice ballroom is for 45 tables and above, and Chevron's nice ballroom is for 35 tables and above with the package that is over $600. sigggghhhh.

Lydia: YOU'RE Uncle Willie's daughter?????????? I definitely remember him, he still sends Chinese New Year cards to us! OMG hahahhahaha This is such an ultra-small world! I'm trying to remember if he has a brother called Kheng Kwang? Because he taught me Sunday School when I was still bratty and kicking up hell with the other P6s...

Yes, I'm Jimmi Wok's *youngest* daughter, and yes, Elizabeth is my eldest sis, but she's now worshipping at Wesley--she also can't remember playing with you too! You must have been terribly traumatised by her until you forgot the incident liaoz. Hahahaha~~

Restaurants-wise, I can't think of one that has that capacity for that amount! Maybe Dragon's Gate or 88 will have? I tried the food there before and it was quite alright...but not quite pillarless, though...

sharon:
haha yes i'm uncle willie's daughter XD yes his brother is called kheng kwang, he's my youngest uncle. he's now a preacher in life bp. hahaha he taught you sunday school huh? XD i think my dad was very excited that i met you here then he quickly smsed your dad or something. haaaa so funny XD but honestly, i really have no recollection of my time in new life because i was too little already~~~ (nth to do with your sis ahaha)

i think i will go to hilltop garden afterall. hehe. after much evaluating and research and realisation that they don't include service charge and GST in their price, muahaha. i went to dragon gate before for a wedding and the food was bad! apparently my bf went for foodtasting with his friend who's getting married this week and the food is much much better than actual day standard. it's very hard for the people near the balcony to see the screen, and we had about two tables standing up to view the montage. quite sad. XD never went to 88 though.

hi jess,

truly, injecting some special items wld be beautiful & personalising the wedding.. Have attended several Anglican weddings, does seem a little long coz u need to follow the book (sorry! can't recall its name).. But it's ur wedding! heheh, do as u want to k?

Yupz, have come across 2 weddings with altar call.. Gd to do so! Esp since, as u've mentioned, many haven't stepped into a church before! You go girl!

Hi lydia,
Ideas?? hmm.. My FH is a worship leader, he might put up a surprise item.. haha. but he so angmo kind.. if he sing a Chinese song, I'll cry lor. haha..
I oso still brainstorming.. hehe.. Not like u in church choir can sing so well.. haha.. so maybe singing is out for me.. haha..
Ya.. u can sing for ur FH???? surprise him ah?
I'm oso really keen on a tribute item for our parents.

Btw.. I recommend Noble House and Pioneer Springs at SAFRA Mt Faber (the latter price is more competitive, but the former has really gd food)

Hi mehmeh,
I haven't seen any pastors making altar call at weddings, but i do heard abt it.
Ya.. i thot why not.. but leaving it to my pastor and as the Holy Spirit shall lead.
Praise the Lord!

jess:
thanks for the suggestions for both restaurants and ideas! hehe really appreciate it.

hmm singing for FH huh... i think he will predict that i will sing for him, if i insert a special item of my own hahaha~ was thinking of writing him a poem (i do poetry and short stories in my spare time) but think he will predict also because all these are my hobbies T_T but i'll think about it. maybe he will sing to surprise me, muahahaha.

Lydia,
He may predict u put up an item, but the contents and how u present it can be diff mah.. hehe.. U can read out a poem and break out in a song? drama mama hor??? haha.. I tink I watch too many movies liao.. :P

hi gals!

A friend was giving his thank you speech, then suddenly some music started playing and he went in one sentence from speaking to singing! It was a REAL huge surprise to his bride and all of us! funky.

For us, my fiance and I are going to sing "I will be here". He'll play the piano and we've divided up the singing.
it may be a common song, but we LOVE the lyrics. Even though it may have been written when SSC was sad, we think it's a good song to sing before our guests, sort of a musical lyrical exchange of vows especially in this day and age when marriage is so rarely sacred.

Corsage, mona and I are gonna walk down the aisle tomorrow! yay, finally!

jess:
but quite a few ppl sing for each other in church lei... would like to do sth different. maybe surprise him with a video of how much i love him, ahahahaha~ but i'd rather him surprise me, because i ALWAYS give the surprises in the relationship out of the blue (folding origami flowers with sweets in the middle all that). he does have a tendency to surprise me on special occasions, while i do it when i feel like it lah. that's why i feel that he doesn't surprise me as much as i, him. if that day he surprise me i think i will cry on the spot. i HOPE he surprises me lah, but i dunno if he actually will :P

twinkle:
congrats! hope everything goes well! my wedding is still far far away... T_T according to the calculator i still have 590++ days to go. hahah XD bet you're excited... dun be too kancheong and hope you can sleep well tonight!

hi Jess,

Yupz! Let the Holy Spirit lead.. It wld be a wonderful wedding gift to God too! heheh

hi twinkle!

*congrats* it's finally your turn *woohoo* enjoy yourselves and take time to savour every bit of the wedding & the love tt's in the air

Pray tt God will hold the weather for u *winks*

hi twinkle, mona and corsage, enjoy your wedding dun rush thru it and ignore the timing if not you will be unhappy.... May God bless you and your hubby with a wonderful and blissful marriage...

Twinkle,my bouquet on actual day was a yellow cymbidium with some berries, duno wat they are called. Coz my church deco we used yellow & orange gerbaras, so had to match in terms of colour. I was actually tinking of someting bright/ multi- colour. Many pple said I got weird taste, but I wanted my hand bouquet to be as colourful as possible. But when I told Justin that our church colour theme is yellow & orange(I wanted something cheerful), he suggested yellow calla lilies or mango cymbidium orchids. I decided on mango cymbidium.

i'm hoping to get orange tulips for my AD. don't really care if they will last or not XD orange is my favourite colour and i don't think there's anything stopping me from having a bouquet of flowers in my favourite shade of orange. hoho. i dunno if it will clash with my champagne gown or the yellow and ivory deco or not, but i dun wanna think so much XD cheers to weird taste, jandew.

Hi lydia,
Yup! I also think should be the bridegroom who surprises the bride. hehe.. which gal doesn't like surprises. hint hint at ur FH then.. hehe.. :P

Mehmeh,
U're right.. a wedding gift for God! aptly said!

I'm rather clueless abt flowers.. seen some of ur postings. I tink I only noe standard flowers like roses, tulips etc.. don't noe wat's cymbidium for e.g.
Do u noe where I can find more info regarding flowers suitable for wedding decor? Coz I'm thinking abt not sub contracting out to professional florists to decor, as one of my fren would like to help me. Any suggestions?

Hi BB Queen,
I've been to weddings at hotels. Some of my church frens have full band. ie. guitars, keyboard, drums. But I've oso seen very simple setup with jus a acoustic guitar & piano. Some brides oso have string & wind instruments for their processional march. E.g. Canon in D played with violin, flute, guitar & piano. Very beautiful.
I think it depends oso where the venue u chose, the wedding theme u have.
Some venues have limited sound system, which means u have to loan sound equipment to backup ur live music setup

jess:
don't know if this website will help - http://www.marthastewart.com. click on the 'weddings' button.
after that one the left there's a button called 'decorations'. i thought some of the ideas were quite fresh. there are websites scattered all over the place about wedding-related stuff, just need to search thoroughly and use a different combination of key words :P i surf the net a lot, almost everything i consult the internet even when i'm sick i look to the internet first haha (geek). anyway, i appreciate martha stewart's domestic skills a lot so here's the site for you! XD

Hi Jess,

U can google for ideas.. But tt wld be too wide a search. Maybe u can consider some issues:
Colour theme
Budget
Any preferred flowers?

Lydia's right! Martha Stewart is full of ideas.. Go browse her magz in Borders, in fact increasingly, more of the SGP magz have ideas for deco
Or, heheh, take pix of flower offerings left for Sun service, after a wedding tt has just taken place

Hope these help!

i'm watching martha stewart now! it's shown weekdays on channel 5 from 12 pm to 1 pm. yay so glad i'm on holiday. hmm wait, wait, i dunno if it's every week day or just tuesday... i'll stay tuned tomorrow and see if it's still shown in that timeslot. (so lazy to look at the newspaper. haha!) today is denim day and she just made a denim rosette, made me think of corsages. XD

you can try youtube, jess! there are lotsa videos of the stuff couples did for their wedding. some seem quite funny, hehe. can look at the decorations too, if possible. ^_^

Dear Lydia & mehmeh,
Thanks for ur suggestion!
Martha Stewart??? I would never check her program out in usual circumstances.. hehe.. so Stepford Wives.. haha..
Jus kidding! I'll find out more.
I'm more Oprah Winfrey fan.. Not that it matters :P

Lydia, Ya.. Maybe I should be more handworking like u, check websites & all that to equip myself. I'm opposite of u, I'm IT idiot. haha..

Mehmeh,
U're rite! Set my theme 1st. I'm into the classic, spring theme.. so will work around that

jess:
don't worry lah, still got time! :D i like oprah too! haha i think i'm too free, watch so much TV. good that you got your theme out already! i don't know if my church allows deco in the sanctuary, must ask my pastor. however my theme will be gold and ivory. ahhh. love it. yummy. i dunno why i said yummy but it just feels like an edible theme. hoho. XD

this thread so quiet nowadays... hehe. i'm trying to plan honeymoon. this one very stressful. lots of money man. i'm keep telling my bf we're going on an adventure in japan cos none of the places we're gonna live at are hotels. initially he suggested going on a mission trip for honeymoon, but i wanted some alone time so we're gonna push the mission trip to '09. haaa.

Lydia,
I jus checked out Martha Stewart's website. Wow.. alot of stuff.. hehe.. now lost for ideas.
Starting to dream again.. hehe..
I esp like those streaming videos. My fav is the segment on flower girls. So cute.. talking abt that. I haven't booked my flower girls yet :P

Why did ur FH suggest mission trip? hehe.. Mission trip can go, but not same as honeymoon ah.
Why not let ur honeymoon be a time where u can also pray for the local people?
When I go on hols recently, I "prayerwalk" as I go abt seeing the place. Amazingly God oso opened opportunities for me to speak to local people. I guessed it's abt bringing God's presence whereever u go.
Wat do u tink?
I oso don't noe where my honeymoon will be. Thinking of going nearby resorts jus to do nothing after my wedding tis Oct, then plan a trip further next yr. hehe.. But leaving it to my FH, coz he's the financier. haha..

hey jess

FH suggested mission trip cos we go on mission trips quite regularly, but separately. my mom is kinda like a 'mobile' missionary, not officially lah, but she's be shuttling to and fro thailand since the 1980s, and i've been going to thailand quite regularly since i was four. dad also comes along lah, but most of the time my mom goes alone since she's the more experienced one and dad has to stay in SG to work. there was a period of time i didn't go - when i was in secondary school though (2001 to 2004)- but i;ve been going there twice a year since 2005. FH goes for mission trips at least once a year. but this year and next year we have to give all the trips a miss, since we're saving for the wedding, so he suggested we go on a mission trip lor. hehe.

good idea about praying for the local people. shall remember to do that when i go for honeymoon.

nothing to do right now and the forum so quiet so i just ramble on a bit...

we've decided to go to japan, because of my fascination with the place. been wanting to go since i was 11 but parents couldn't afford it. so, since FH can afford it, i make him bring me. ahahaha!

actually, techinically speaking, whatever i will be contributing to the wedding would go into the honeymoon, because i will only be working for less than a year before i get married. of course i can't cover the whole cost, but most probably half of it. the rest of the wedding will be borne by FH, who is very calm about the whole affair, saying we'll get our money back in the form of angpaos. even if we make a loss also 20% to 30%, and i quote: 'that's not even ten thousand'. i'm very kancheong about the whole thing, planning everything so that i will be able to save as much as possible, even if it's only $10. he says it's okay to spend the $10 but i said save better. but i'm very nice to him already, i always return him money and don't let him pay for my food. if he pay for the food i will pay for the drinks and buy him chocs or something. feel guilty lah, when he spend on me.

sorry ah, i'm very long-winded. this thread is really soooo quiet, just thought a long post would be appropriate :P

oh and wyy? congrats on being married for a year!!! :D

hey lydia,
you're so cute...

yeah, i recently checked out martha stewart's website and thought it's quite cool! all very pretty stuff.

speaking of honeymoons, FH and I still don't know where to go. we both don't earn that much, and we intend to pay for the very big dinner that we have to have (because of our parents). so we also can't go to somewhere too far off. but i'm sure we'll work something out. even bintan might be nice!

hey Lydia....

yup 1 year and 3 days to be exact.....my AD was 18 Mar 2006 for customary and church then i throw a banquet for my guest on 25 Mar 2006.....so can i say i will be celecrating my annivary again??? hahaha

gg jap for HM.....good. I went NZ (north island). sort of like a semi-backpack thingy, shops close kind of early hence once after 6pm i feel very very bored then.

But I must say, going HM is a good time to know one another better.

so wedding_girl, still thinking of where to go?? hmmmm.....

hi yy,

heheh.. indeed! in fact 1 year, 6 mth & 18 days of marriage oredi! *faint* time really flies by *heehee*

hi lydia,

heheh.. do ramble! then u might make it lively again *winks*

hi twinkle, mona and corsage,
congrats for ur wedding

hi jandew,
i emailed Harvest and requested for quotation. this lady Lilian got back to me. have u worked with her? the sample menu seems good and the decor veri nice
i am also considering four seasons and rasel. any comments? thanks

Hi lydia,
I think it's really gd to have someone like u liven up the forum.. hehe..
wow.. ur family hist very interesting. My FH has similar missionary backgrd as u, as in family wise. Really thank God on how He has been faithfully providing.
My FH has been the main financier coz I don't earn much, so I can understd how u feel abt wanting to save here & there to prevent ur FH from "losing" $.
Well.. going Japan is fun. I haven't been there, always got interest but no $. haha..

Even if got little $ left after wedding oso must go away for a short break. Agree with wedding girl, go bintan oso gd.

Like wat wywy says, I agree that honeymoon is a gd time to noe each other. U'll never have a honeymoon the way it should be after the wedding.
Cool..

hi lovely samsoon,
have u contacted four seasons? I have taken their catering for some company function abt a yr or so back. Not too sure if the standard still gd. But i remember loving the food alot. haha..
I emailed them recently for my church wedding reception, but no reply. So irritating

yay so many people posted! hoho.

my bf says i talk too much. sometimes i will kachiow him, "i'm crazy about you, you know?" and he will deadpan and tell me, "ya, i know you're crazy." T_T but at least can be talkative here, muahaha.

i don't mind going to nearer countries for honeymoon, actually. i would like to visit taiwan or thailand - more budget mah. it's just that since this may be my only chance to go to japan, must faster go!!! XD because next time may not have the heart to spend on myself already, when the children come along. (they won't be coming along till i've settled down in my job lah, but before they come must save money mah.)

i've been very interested in japan since i was in primary school, and i even took the elementary proficiency test for japanese. looking forward to take the next stage of the test, but just don't have the time to brush up on my grammar. hee.

all the best in planning for the wedding/making the most of your married lives, sisters! God bless all of you ^_^ i have to go type out minutes now... am secretary for church choir. i'm a very bad secretary!!! T_T always procrastinate one. very troublesome you see, during mtg write down the minutes then come back and type... plus my chinese typing skills are not very fast. i think next meeting i will bring my laptop along already and type on the spot! like that the minutes sure come out faster.

okay enough of the talk, see you all soon...

ps - sorry, i'm soooo talkative T_T another long post.

Lydia, your bf so heartless huh! If my FH dares to even hint that I'm crazy I'll make him eat his words lor! LOL

I also don't have the budget to go for a honeymoon, but I'll probably end up in Bintan Banyan Tree Resort for a few days, just to R&R (and also enjoy myself not having to prepare for Sunday School on the day after my wedding!) I'd also love to go to Japan, I think we all watched too much Japan Hour liao... I keep wanting to go to the hot springs and little inns that they feature and eat all the seafood and sashimi and ramen (I don't know why, but the Hardgay clip just came to mind)!

I find it quite of strange, actually, that I don't really feel very excited about the whole thing because my FH and I timed our preps too well until now there's very little left to do and run around like mad people for. Can't help but keep thinking that there's something we neglected to do though...

i watch very little japan hour lei! but i read lots of comics. haha. i'm going during koyo season, which is the autumn leaves viewing season. waaaahhhh, can't wait. spending about $6.5k on the honeymoon i think. however this is the projected budget lah, i think i'll spend around $5k in reality because my accomodation is cheapo and my transport i try my best to get all the discounts. must plan the trip until it's seamless, no need to travel excessively because travel is SO expensive there. think my singaporean auntie upbringing is very handy. can't wait to buy the stickers and cosmetics there too, they're so much cheaper. the stickers in kinokuniya here are so expensive.

my bf is quite heartless hor? haha it's as if he don't act crazy like that. we always goof around one mah. when he says i'm crazy i usually say, "you are a bad man!" and we will suddenly burst into the batman theme song together. haha! he's actually very normal with my parents around, but he and his mom same pattern one. haha XD i think he might surf into this forum and scold me for tarnishing his image so i better stop here. XD

oh ya sharon, i think it's a good thing to be free! just relax and wait for your wedding day to come. when it's like a day or two confirm will have a lot of things to do one. if you really want to be safe go through your list and make sure there are contingency plans for every major affair. even though i have not planned a wedding before, i study events management in my course and i think weddings are so much easier to plan because you have a very good budget! usually in secular events the ideal scenario is that there are sponsors for every single thing... if they pull out die already. but wedding is like you're sponsoring it yourself, haha XD so very good control. can see you are totally in control, sharon ;)

you know i'm just thinkin - what if i get my period on my wedding?! i have very severe cramps so if i get my period wouldn't i have to cancel the wedding?! plus what if i have an enormous pimple? or if i have food poisoning?! haha... i think all this have to rely on God. after all, all things work together for good to them that love God. heh. (i'm answering my own question, so silly right. :P)

wyy,
yeah still thinking about where to go for honeymoon. FH and I talk about it every now and then, but it isn't very high up on our list now, cos we're also kinda worried about our finances for the whole wedding and saving up for the house. but as sharon says, even if no budget just go to Bintan for a few days and do nothing.

sharon,
it's good to plan early i guess, not so stressed. i'm one super kiasu bride. my wedding is only next year, but i've already confirmed date, venue, BS, church deco person. haha.
anyway, when you next update, here are my details so far:
AD - 28 Jun 08 (but dinner on 29 Jun)
Church - Pasir Panjang Hill Brethren Church
Church Deco - friend
Banquet - Shangri-la
BS - Divine Couture

Lydia,
ya! i was also thinking the same thing, what if i get my period on my wedding day. i don't get cramps but it'd be terribly uncomfortable and messy. i mean, how do you go to the toilet in your heavy gown?? haha.

Wah Lydia, don't think until so far lah! Got period, pimple, food poisoning... *CHOY!!* but I must also admit that at times I actually calculated my periods to see whether or not it will fall on the AD. I may love Japan but I sure as heck don't want my gown to end up looking like its flag can? I will be damn malu-ated if that happens (plus, can you imagine the dry-cleaning fees??? My God!) And yeah, wedding_girl, considering that the gowns are so super heavy+can-can skirt, I also cannot imagine how to maneuver in a small cubicle! They should have loos specifically catered for brides, man!

But seriously though, I also get cramps sometimes, so I think that if you are suay enough to 'tio' on that day, then you just have to pop painkillers--I think the best is Panadol Menstrual, because it's easily bought over the counter, and it's not as strong as Ponstan, which will basically knock you out for the whole day. I mean, it'll be a bit weird if in the middle of the ceremony the bride slides to the floor and starts snoring right? You can also keep a warm pack on hand, get your chief bridesmaid to be in charge of that (maybe keep it in a thermos flask? Easier to carry around--don't forget to wrap it in a cloth first hor) and as and when you need it, just apply.

I'm really just bad at planning for contingency plans, because most of the time, other people are in-charge of that, then I'm not the ultra-firm kind, so when I ask people what their alternative plans are, then when they say don't worry I just take it 'okay lor' then on the day turns out that they don't have a proper plan, so I end up quite 'sian diao'... haiz!!!! Anyway please pray for me, I'm having a lot of trouble focussing on schoolwork while preparing for the wedding and other things as well.

wedding_girl, your details taken note of =) Jia you! Anyway, if you want a short break that isn't too expensive or time-consuming, why not check into one of the boutique hotels in Singapore? They are apparently super nice, and arguably more luxurious than even Raffles Hotel-- I saw the pics for Red Hotel and my goodness, it's OPULENT can? Never mind that the prices are twice that of a regular room in Raffles, but, just... WOW. I wouldn't mind blowing my cash on a night there (minus the FH...once in a while must have luxury without him mah...)

Oh yes, I forgot! I just bought a book from Penang, there's loads of super-nice floral arrangements inside (mainly simple kinds and meant for house) but there are some that may provide inspiration for wedding deco. I'll scan in sometime in April and share with you guys! =)

Hello ladies,
Wow.. so fast, so much info..
I must share wif u all tis horror story.. I nearly fainted.. (not that serious lah)
I went to collect our wedding bands yesterday at goldheart. I chose the felicite eternity diamond band. (the one with small diamonds 3/4 around the ring).

I was checking & admiring it on my finger then guess wat.. i thot i saw a small hole. I asked the salesperson abt it. He told me, it's the side where the diamond arrangement ended, so look like got hole. But he volunteered to check thru scope. He must be thinking I'm a paranoid woman. Haha.. one of my DIAMOND DROPPED out!
Cut long story short, he took it back to replace.

I still remembered the 1st question I asked him that time when we're selecting the rings, "will my diamonds drop out?" He told me that unless u knocked the ring seriously hard, the eternity setting diamonds won't dropped out easily.
He still maintain the same stand eventho it actually happened in front of him without anyone knocking the ring. (unless it happened at the workshop where our bands are resized) Ahh..

I asked my FH if I should change ring, he said no need coz I really loved the ring, so just pray that it's a freak thing & not the usual.. hehe..

Wah.. scary.. anyone bought goldheart rings?

lydia,
I oso worry abt the period coming, pimple popped up kind of things on my AD. haha.. Can't imagine having period on my wedding day.. oh my goodness.. it's jus plain horrible... better not think abt it already... hehe..

Sharon,
Here are my wedding details, can include into ur next update too. Thanks so much!
Wedding date: 13 Oct 07 (ceremony), 14 Oct 07 (dinner)
Venue: St Andrew's Cathedral (ceremony), Noble House (dinner)
BS: WhiteLink
Church Decor: Emily
PG: Eric

Btw.. any of u ladies going for the NATAS fair this weekend? Got promo for SIngtel users I tink..

hey sisters ^_^

have to pray hard that i won't get period then. however i've calculated, i most probably will get my period during the time when i want to go for honeymoon. so sian... in this one year plus must find a way to stop cramps so that i can go honeymoon properly.

FH and i will have to rent a place first while we go on our house-hunt after marriage. have to be near my parents because my piano will still be there. really must pray hard that we can get a place that we can afford.

i'm very tired, tomorrow have to get up early, i talk to you guys tomorrow... haven't reply all the posts today... hee... good night sisters~

OMG Jess, your diamond dropped out?! that's so horrible... my engagement ring is from Goldheart which i really like too. ermm. so far the diamond is still there but i'm so accident prone, keep knocking it into stuff, every now and then i have to check it's still there. haha.

thanks for the suggestion Sharon. i think it'd still be nice to go out of singapore at least, for a different environment. have you decided on yours? your wedding is this year leh!