Christian Brides

ribbons i dont have a problem this morning. o.k will bear that in mind about the flowers.

I know some ppl will buy SDJ very early right or ask the bride go n buy what she like? so u mean buy already then give to the inlaws so that on that day they put on for u? but SDJ apply to all direct?

hi Summerice,

Your choice of flowers refers to bouquet or church deco? U may want to get advise fr a florist, esp if ur BS ties up with a professional florist. Otherwise by browsing floral bouquet sites, u shd get an idea on the no. & types of species tt appeal to u

Agree with Ribbons, dun have the bouquet with exactly the same species as deco.. In your bouquet, u can have species which ur pews have, but limit to 1-2..

SDJ is actually a Teochew custom.. But now many ppl also give

i hokkien, fh is cantonese, but as of now, i got SDJ from MIL leh.. i never question.. pple give me thing leh... haha..

i think most pple now ask the brides to go choose their own, then pass back to IL who will give them on AD... but some might wear it for the AD accesories also..

hehe i greedy lor like many species of flowers so want to have them all in my wedding. so have to make use of the church deco, banquet and the bouquet

summer: then i suggest you take the one that you like best (and of couse must be suitable as a bridal bouquet lah) and take that for your bouquet and the rest as decor... having something like a bouquet of your favourite flowers near you at all times, sure will make the bride happier too right? =)

Kindly advise what song to select for 1st dish, 1st march in, 2nd march in and champagne pouring

ribbons: i noe my WEDDING PLANNER is in favor of black dresses.. haha i also in favor.. but dun noe whether will my mum and MIL mind not.. haiz.. have yet to discuss wif hubby lahz.. but the black dresses are most likely to be wore at nite.. but nutting is confirm.. as fer the dae have yet to decide wat colour i wan too.. hehehe.. btw no worry.. my wedding planner will need to wear the same colours as my bridesmaids.. hehehe...
o one more thing.. 26th i cant make it lehz..is there any other alternative date??
no body wanna change shift wif me.. and im not allowed to request to switch to day off though requested in the request book much much much earlier.... cuz that dae is AUDIT!! sob sob.. so was thinking whether when else u can go down?? how bout the weekend on the following week.. cuz im on LEAVE hehehe.. well.. u let me noe can?? sorry bout that dun mean to disppoint u..

by the way ladies.. when to go fer 1st gown selection.. and when to arrange for photoshoots ahz??

summerice.. taka also got sell wedding shoes ahz.. have u seen them yet.. well not sure whether they got sale not lahz.. hehehe

hey im curious.. wat flowers are ur intending to use fer the bride's hand bouquet??

Hi strawberries

I am thinking of tulips but i know they dont last. not taking roses as my ROM i took yam roses already. Somemore the color that i want the flowers to be either lilac or blue with white. coz i want to match my gown. I notice not many blue flowers around (as main flowers), i dont want the dye ones.
So now thinking mayb take white flowers with some blue ribbons or blue small flowers to match. I happen to saw a pic with calla lilies with some blue flowers and it look simple n nice. So maybe if the flowers i want is hard to get i may consider calla lilies.

will check with my florist see what they can get n offer me.

strawberries: please please please dont make your planner wear white.. she hates it.. haha...
Will discuss with your privately about the visit.. dont flood the thread.. =)

can i ask you all ah, anyone got experience with freesias? do they last? or wilt easily?

hi cheo,

saw ur email.. I will reply asap

hi Ivy,

I can send u my copy.. But do note, my version may be of some help, coz my AD was split into 2 days.. U need to do some tweaking

was tinking besides roses or calla lilies.. which will last if wanna use fer AD.. wat bout orchids?? as in not those normal purple white one..rather the greeny ones.. hmm.. how to sae lehz.. also cant describe haiz

ribbons, white is my favourite
if no other colors i find tat i like perhaps even my bridesmaids to wear white hehehe so tat will goes to my wedding planner too

Hi Strawberries,

I think you are talking about dendrobiums? I think I've also heard them referred to as cybidium orchids. I'm sure if you google you can find pix of them to show your florist.

nice bouquets.

Oh ya if i have all different color of flowers, like 1 or 2 color posy, other colors for church deco, will it become messy? or if i have all same color theme will it look dull like everywhere u c these 2 colors. I am also thinking of having the cake n invites to be the same color theme.

I don't think it'll be messy...

at least it's only two colours right?

Just so long as the Type of flowers are not all the same, then I think it'll look fine. What are your colours again, summerice?

thanx!! mehmehz.. nice flowers
but besides this 2 wat other kinds?? hmm.. wanna to have some trials coming down.. but dun noe nice or not.. hehe..
besides can this flower last fer a whole dae event??

btw beside roses or calla lilies wat are flowers can last fer a whole dae??

Twinkle its white n blue or lilac if i can get but dont think they are any lilac flowers around.

mehmeh no problem. thanks

most florist will recommend rosses coz they are lasting n can be dried and look nice. that what the florist told me when i make my ROM flower.

hi strawberries,

oh u want cascading bouquets.. i think orchids look gd. Google for cascading bouquets, tt shd give u some leads

hi summerice,

what's TA2 ah?
Nope, no tables nor chairs

Hi all, I am going to have church wedding and will want to give gifts to parents and parents in law. Care to share some gifts suggestions? I know most of friends give the mothers flowers... I was thinking of something more tangible. Suggestions please

Hi WY,
We decided to do up those small photo albums for them which Fotohub has for abt $60 each. They're quite easy to carry ard cos quite small. Cos our PS pics were more unconventional so we collated the usual couple, happy shots into a parents' album for them...

hi summerice,

isee! Sure thing, do show me

hi ivy,

no probs! Glad to be of help

hi WY,

Like Count, i gave photos to my parents.. I did a framed collage of pix taken with my parents fr birth till current ones.
Otherwise jewellery can be quite nice.. If they are having a nice dress for the dinner, u can help them get a nice pair of earrings etc

WY if you willing to spend maybe buy her a pc of jewellery.

Oh so all of u give ur parents gifts? I never thought of it.....always c parents give the child gifts never think of it the other way round.

Thanks meh meh and count
sounds like a good idea to give them photos.. hahahaa..which means that I got to refrain from giving them immed after I took the pics..jewellery is excellent idea...but hmmm...budget may be a bit tight leh...so many things to spend on...

By the way, do you give the church helpers and pastor ang paos or gifts? How much if AP?

Usually, as church helpers, we will receive gifts rather than ang paos... 'coz ang paos too expensive and gifts are more personal. Some of my friends actually take time to shop for small gifts that holds 'special meaning' for their helpers.
But that takes up quite a lot of time lah...

For pastors, the usual practice is a love gift... maybe about $100-$200?

If me, i rather receive an ang bao if i am a helper... I have many thank you gifts from couples lying around.. cups, frames...
Ang baos need not be ex (got to depend on job scope) but at least i confirm can use the money.. gift also can use but depends on what it is.. my view.

<font color="0077aa">count, mehmeh - i like your idea of the photo album. brillant one..

count - i saw you at suntec city yesterday.. but you walked past me too fast.. no chance to acknowledge you.. =P

on the gift issues, i intend to give ang pows to some of the helpers.. for the closer ones (like my bridal entourage), i getting presents for them.. =)</font>

hi WY,

we did not give our parents the pix immed after receiving fr the BS.. But we did show them of course
Afterall u're still living with ur parents, so heheh, they 'need not' hang on to the pix so soon

I think diamond or pearl studs are quite timeless, so even if u exceed budget a little, think of how happy ur mums wld be! *winks*

hi lilic,

how's everything going? When's the date scheduled for PS?

hi coco,

u wld arrive in church earlier than ur guests, esp if u're having the gate-crashing &amp; tea ceremony in the AM. So the room is for u to rest, change if u need (kua/CS to WG) and touch-up on MU. Also a gd place to practice walking in the gown, giving a slight kick for each step, otherwise u may trample over the gown

Hey Lilic,
I was not at Suntec leh. Me was at Orchard... Looks like i have a familiar face!

Coco,
Yes i thinik so, for the bride to cool down esp since it may be hot outside and tendency to perspire. If the waiting room is air con, can cool down so that the makeup doesn't smudge

I think if it's big enuf some ppl use it for tea ceremony too...

Though Mehmeh's idea sounds good - practice walking with the gown! Hehhehee

Hey girls,
on a lighter note, any suggestions for venue for buying my jie meis lunch or tea? Abt 5 of them and budget abt $35/pax. Wondering whether to bring them to Hanabi or some cool dessert place or anywhere interesting...

<font color="0077aa">hi mehmeh, my PS is 23 oct.. hope it will materialise! *keeping my fingers crossed*

went for my trial last sat.. printed my cards and ribbons.. now firming up guest list, sourcing for caterers.. shortlisted angeli, lavish and kri*ton..

i flying off again on wed.. gotta burn two weekends.. =(

hi count, will scold my bf.. kekek.. he said it was your bf lor..

you confirmed with angeli? i like them but they need min 200pax...

wat abt the loft opp raffles hotel? i tot it will be nice for a girly session.. =)

gers, are you all hiding in the bride's room before you walk down the aisle? can i choose to hang around the reception area in my short dress then change into WG just before the service starts?</font>

i think i will wannna keep my guest in a bit of suspense first.. will hide in the room to calm my nerves a bit first, then go for service, after service then mingle... =)

hi count,

Tangs cafe on top floor is quite nice.. But food is more jelat. But must say, the crayfish laksa is super *thumbs up*

The loft tt lilic suggested is also quite nice! Is it opened oredi?

hi lilic,

heheh, u worried abt the weather ah? Nvm, have more shots in Fullerton first?

U're quite fast!! Still have approx 2.5 mths fr now &amp; u've more or less settled the cards. Angeli is quite gd and so is Lavish..

Gosh, another trip again? thankfully ur cards are settled oredi.. when u return can address the cards &amp; start sending out. quite well on track

hmm, i wld prefer to remain in tt room.. To give the guests the 'wow' factor, and also after the HM, can also mingle

<font color="0077aa">hee mehmeh, its not abt weather.. its abt our availability lor.. kekekek..

settled the cards, but havent gotten them yet leh.. and i gotta DIY my church invites..

yupz, i travelling this week back for one and gone for two more thereafter... so effectively burnt 3 weekends liao.. then i still gotta prepare for a professional paper on 30 oct.. sighz..

ok.. i tot the WOW factor will come when i appear in WG at the start of the aisle.. before that tot of showing off my short dress. kekeke.. i hiao lar.. kekekek</font>