Christian Brides

hi weddin,
U can try this place at bras brasah called Ming Hwa Envelope. It is at first level & the price is very cheap. I got my cream ones from Popular though coz FH prefers the textured ones..keke ;P

As for the $12 tea recep, the menu looks fine to me...I dont think there's little variety. Got abt 17 varieties & 3 different drinks!

thanks ribbons and ashlady. will go and take a look. ashlady, how come u hv 17 varieties and 3 drinks? did u customise the menu or u hv a better deal cos u hv many guests? iam hving 250. the menu on the website only shows 15 varieties and 1 drink...

hi weddin,
hmm..i counted the lemon cordial, tea & coffee as 3 drinks. I also counted the 3 variety of sandwiches separately...keke. I didnt really customised a lot except for some items to be changed. Maybe it's coz i took the menu during their workshop...not too sure abt it. But 15 varieties is good enuff too! hee..

<font color="0077aa">ribbons, you are right.. biz travel is tiring and lonely.. unlike the leisure holidays.. its really a paradox.. i am provided with whole suite to myself when i travel.. but the loneliness can really overtake me at times.. thank God for technology... my ipod is my companion during these times.. =)

i think you need to check with your church office if they are filing the notice for you.. =)

weddin, can you share your lobang on rental with me?? keke, or are you looking for a housemate?? email me at [email protected] thanks in advance..

then for the bridal party, we bought them gifts -ties for guys and mtm dresses for the ladies.. also faciliates their attires for the church wedding.. my gf design their own dress.. which they can still wear it after the wedding.. but this is decided after communicating with my frens.. then for ang pows, they will be getting it from the parents..

then i plan a surprise for them too - customising a thank you video for my helpers.. thinking of airing it for dinner too.. these people are really dear to us.. we want to use these people as evidence of God's goodness to us and proclaim that to the unsaved frenz.. =)</font>

pandalic: i dont travel often, and i will never get the luxury of having a suite to myself, but i guess i know what you mean when you say the loneliness can take over.... being tired, and all alone in a foregin country can be quite taxing.. but good thing is, you will ultimately come back to spore!

the thank you video is a very nice idea..

Hi Lilic!

I've got exactly the same idea as you! we were thinking instead of juz showing a video of how we got together, how we progressed till todae... we thot it would be more meaningful if we do up a thank you video (both family, frens and colleagues who have been standing by us closely during this period of the wedding prep) instead. Besides, it would save us some sort of a thank-you speech! :P

hi weddin,
My tea reception is abt 3.30pm to 5pm...hee.. The only filling items are shepherd's pie &amp; gultinous rice. Others shld be finger food i guess since it's a tea menu.
Are u looking at tea too?

hi summerIce,
I think the spread wld be very different for a tea &amp; lunch. If yours is at lunch time between 12nn to 2pm, it is better to cater for lunch. Guests wld prob have breakfast before that &amp; may be hungry by lunch time. The price doesnt differ much actually. Just have to order lesser according to the number of guests u have.

hey summerice: that time would be lunch time already... so finger food plus one or two carbo may still not be enough... whats ur budget per pax? if its about $7 and above, you might as well order lunch menu..

hi summerice,

i find tt sometimes, lunch menu costs the same as tea menus. Since urs is a lunch affair, i think better to cater lunch.. Otherwise ppl may have not prepared their tummy for tea

thanks for the advice. Maybe i go find out the menu first, i think i will get something simple for lunch since i will be having dinner.

At first i thought of having a good lunch coz initially we dont want to have banquet. Since now with banquet, most likely i will get cheaper menu.

How much per pax are u all looking at? If i get the below $10/pax you gals think it will be o.k?

summerice: you can get cheaper menu, but must consider your guests rumbling tummy as they see you take your vows... =)

you can def get lunch menu for below $10... but depends on which caterers you go for....

<font color="0077aa">hi coco, i mtm the dresses with a fashion label.. a fren happen to know the owner.. but i havent seen the final product yet so dun really know how they turn out like.. if you keen, i update you again when i see the dresses ok?

hi ladies, thanks for your concurrence on the thank you video.. i will start working on it soon.. a tough one for techno idiot like me.. kekekek</font>

how r u??
i manage to get a dae dress at city plaza.. actaully is not easy to find cuz of the cuts and etc.. so juz manage to get one..

mehmeh: m doing fine
now my pace is a little slower.. juz tk my time in searching fer PG and MUA.. juz dun wanna in a hurry to decide..

hi summerice,

u can have a gd lunch with gd quality food, but not splurge on the deco.. I find tt tea receps are nice finger foods, but the cost goes to the wedding set-up. If u aren't particular abt deco &amp; want to pay more attention to food, can dun have to go for the wedding menu

I think $10 is possible.. Need to ask ard a little more. How many guests are u expecting?

hi Strawberries,

Ur big day's next year yah? Can afford to take ur time &amp; make a wise choice on PG &amp; MUA. But dun delay too long in deciding on a PG.. Quite irreplaceble if ur fav/best choice is taken up

mehmeh: yup my AD is next yr.. like wat u say still can afford time to make wise choice also.. haha.. also agree tat PG muz decide as soonz as i find if i really find the work is good.. but currently now cant really discuss wif my FH as he is involve wif IMF thingy :|.. kind of hard to mit up wif him.. so guess everything as in discussion can resume when he is free

weddin: haha yup agree.. but the dressses also varies.. depends on the material etc.. whether it suits u not.. i have a hard time really trying to pick one tat can suit me.. but thanx God i found one.. so which shop u got ur tea dress from.. ?? m tinking whether wanna get tea dress there.. or maybe can rent kua.. (dun noe how i look like.. )

ribbons: not to worry .. u will get to c the dress soonz.. haha.. cuz i will definitely upload the pic once i got the pic.. my fren wedding will be next week liaoz.. noe wat.. im one of the bridesmaid that will march in b4 the bride.. dun noe will i freeze not when i c crowds, or worried i may trip and fell haha.. yup too much tinking.. btw after ur wedding.. i guess i will start to keep u busy liaoz.. haha.. cuz i already tot of lots of things.. and i really ready to further discuss wif u

pandalic:a thank you video is really not a bad idea at all.. my FH and i also considering tat.. i find it a way that is much more unique compared to the usual..

coco_mybibi: how's ur wedding prep??

ehz.. need some opinions too.. is it funny to have all the bridesmaids and helpers to dress in black dresses?? as in fer the dinner one.. hehe juz curious.. to me i find it rather nice.. but of cuz dun noe wat the older generation will tink lahz..

hi mehmeh, i am looking at about 50 guests still havent confirm the actual pax. I see i thought if u tell them wedding they wont allow u to choose non wedding menu. hehehe

I will start looking for caterer maybe a few mths later. now have to book church n confirm the AD PG. Follow by design of EG, and most important must find shoes, and the lists goes on......will find the not so important ones later.

strawberries i think now ppl are more acceptable to black dresses, but u can add a little color to the black. Maybe a ribbon, flowers, shoes. Personally I think it is not so nice for wedding. just my 2 cents.

hi strawberries,

gd tt u're going to get ur FH involved in the wedding preps.. It's gd to make the decision together. Keep us updated on ur progress

I think summerice's suggestion is quite gd, can add a dash of colour so tt others wun have opportunity to say things.. A gold bow or brooch wld be quite elegant

hi Summerice,

I had non-wedding menu for my wedding recep.. U're the paying customer, if u dun want to use their deco, it's really alright to decide to go for non-wedding menu. The basic skirting &amp; layout of food in warmers wld def be done.

Personally I won't suggest black dresses for all, unless both sides parents are totally cool with that. even when i attend friends' weddings I don't dare to wear too much black! worried that their parents might get offended.

need some ideas from u all: What do u do with the ang pows inside the ang pow box after the church ceremony starts? How to safekeep the money? Thanks in advance!

<font color="0077aa">hi strawberries, depending on your folks i guess, personally i think black dresses are cool.. kekeke.. by grace of God, i having a short white dress with black sash and tulle for the day before i changed into my WG for church.. both parents are pretty cool with it.. only thing i was told is that i cannot use the same dress for tea ceremony for the grandparents.. =)

then for evening, my mum wearing black lace CS too.. come and think of it, the men be in black suit too mah???

ashlady, normally my gfs will locked them in the boot of someone's car (those with double locked system kind).. hope this helps.</font>

mehmeh do u have a pic of your recep to show me? which caterer u go to?

I think not the very black, black dress will be o.k for the day. As for the night already so dark no one will bother what color ppl wear unless its the bride. Now its more common to have black dresses for banquet.

Maybe if u can find a big carrier and put the whole ang pao box inside then ask someone to look after it. Thats what happen for banquet also, one or two of the sister will be in charge.

strawberries... you ah, better not waste my weekday leave again ah.. ggrhh.. haha.. did you go to that shop to get your dress?

weddin: did you get your dress from a shop that sells wholesale gowns? i got my tea dress from that shop.. didnt want to wear a kua, figure not forgiving enough to wear a cheongsam, so i got a maroonish- reddish bustier gown as tea dress..

ashlady: the best way to safe keep.. is to give the money to me, i spend it straight away for you.. then it will be safe in the shop's cashier box.. hee....

if i can, i dont mind if my guests/ helpers wear black... just dont wear black and maybe a white flower as a brooch or as hair piece can liao...

hi summerice,

i dun have a gd pix of it.. i see if i can find &amp; then send u.. what's ur email add? Prob shd be able to send u only tmrw

hi Ashlady,

Agree with Lilic.. Either in the boot or with 2 persons at any one time. Or like Ribbons said, with me lah.. heheh, can spend for u first

well will consider black dress wif some add ons.. but of cuz .. having black dresses i cant confirm ba.. cuz gotta discuss wif FH too.. also worries.. parents wise might feel pan tang..

ribbons: u also kinda funnie lehz.. if my day off not grant wat can i do.. sobz.. i already request the dae liaoz.. ehehehe juz hopefully pray tat God will help me ahz.. to be granted.. hehe u and mehmeh also very funnie lehz.. spend the $$ fer ashlady.. haha...

ashlady: i agree wif pandalic.. but to add on to hers it will be safer to be kept by ur family members or very very close frens.. whom u really trust ahz..

mehmeh: will keep ur inform

wow todae a rainy dae too.. so sleepy...

Strawberries island wide rain? My side also rain leh. if can go home now is the best. Better stop in the evening then can go shopping. I am going to shop for my wedding shoes. Anyone goes to the CK tang sales already?

I heard from my designer that one of her bride got a pair of WG shoe there very cheap n nice.

summerice where's ur location now..?? im at north now.. so my side still raining.. non stop.. so sianz.. hopefully by tonite the rain will stop if not i find it a troublesome to go work wif a big umbrella.. haha

me in hougang, raining still...

strawberries, the black dresses for your bridesmaid and jie meis ah? Your WEDDING PLANNER can wear or not? I can tell you, she sure in favour of black one!!! heee..

ashlady: the money, pass it to a trusted guy to hold on to it. some say split the ang baos between two pple, some say keep it to one person.. this i cannot comment cos i am not too sure too.. =)

summerice: if you arent too particular and dont mind, i know many who have managed to get their shoes from HDB shops... i dont mind too, cos i get these nice heels, i most prob will wear not more than once or twice in a year one lor... so to me, i dont need expensive shoes... some HDB shops have really nice and exquisite looking strappy heels..

ribbons u mean those HDB town central shops? Oh i wont be wearing them often too thats why must find mah. i not a heel lover. The bride only pay $9 at the ck tang sales, not ex right. so thats why i am going today.

summerice: yeah, any kind of HDB shop.. of course you must check the quality too lah, dont get one you know very easy break kind..

$9 is cheap... but please check ok, cos sometimes these kinds of sales, they sell old stock.. the glue and leather that is used for some shoes, may break down over time, so if the stock is too old, they break easily.. maybe thats why so cheap.. check properly b4 u buy.. but $9 is a good buy..

me bought already, if not i will go check it out too.. =) (hee.... excuse to buy... haah_

Kindly advice when to put on the SDJ on the actual day? on the way back to bride's place for tea ceremony.

Ribbons i didnt manage to get any shoes. Saw one but its $99. so i think i will look around more.

Weddin mine is a light brown.

Cheo what is SDJ?

hi summerice,

i try sending u tonight k.. Was caught up with renos over the weekend. Sorry to keep u waiting *oops*

hi Cheo,

SDJ is given by ur ILs (is this correct for u?), so usually ur ILs wld put it on for u during the tea ceremony at their place. Then u wear it back to ur parents' to 'show' tt ur ILs have accepted u

Some brides also wear the SDJ during the banquet, if it can match the EG

hi Weddin,

U have an image to show how cigar-coloured looks like?

cheo depends...some ppl sew the SDJ on those display boxes, u know those that u see in jew shop. so that u can show ur inlaw relatives when u go over the first time. Then wear it later when coming home for tea. Some will wear it with the WG coz if they dont have other accessories.

Depends on how is ur schedule that day. Now no fix rules unless ur mum or MIL insists.

How many types of flowers are u all choosing?

Hand bouquet and chuch flowers deco must be the same or not? can it be totally different flowers like calla lilies n tulips but same in color?

SDJ i think its ILs give the girl and the girl wears it back to her own home, to sort of signify that her ILs treat her well lah, etc...

Summerice: my advise is not to get the same kind of flowers or colour as your venue decor... it will look like your bouquets are pew flowers bunched together, or yours are left over flowers.. same flowers diff colour can... same colour, diff flwoers can... just now same flwoers same colour..

Anyone had problem logging into this forum today? i cannot log in for the whole moring ok... says my IP address blocked or something... scare me man.. haah