Christian Brides

hi Girls

I am ok, tomorrow I shall be back at work liao... I saw my wound when I went for change of dressing on tuesday... The surgeon cannot do cross-stitch, otherwise very nan kan. kekekeke :P

My FIL threw a new problem for us last night, made me so mad. Suddenly insisted that my hb must give tables to my mum for dinner (when my mum and hb already agreed no need for it liao).

I had to stress which is more important to me, as a bride, to my hb... So that he can clarify things with his father. I hate it when my ILs listen to those 38 people... Add stress and pressure on us only. Things that have been settled would end up on the planning table again because of them.

I saw my friend's wedding postponed time and again because of those 38 people... *sian*

coco_mybibi: m looking for my ad one.. prewedding have it in studio mahz.. haha i saw hilarion work, really not bad.. not to sae but we too also consider triangels.. is juz tat my FH and i cant decide which one.. so most likely will make arrangement to go c c look look personally.. at the same time c which photographer we are more confortable.. to me is very important.. cuz m a very very shy person..

ribbons: im refering to the BS in JB lor.. now he cant go in mahz.. so can onli wait till after 24th.. haiz.. meanwhile juz wanna settle the one in local ba.. so gotta c ur schedule too.. when u free during weekdaes..

ivy: since ur mum and ur hb have agreed upon guess tat ur really need to tok to ur IL ahz.. cuz main thing is ur side already sae no need for it liaoz. hmm.. dun get so upset.. there's always 38 pple around.. juz prayed to God ya..

ribbons u saw a handsome guy walk pass har....must rub rub and check o.k if not next time will have pain here n there.

Ivy wha stiches...thinking of it i feel the pain liao....must be careful.

Count can i see your pic? [email protected]

hilarion is a nice guy, i went to take a look at his work. i like those that they have on the website on the actual day. If you dont need a collage/montage/storybook/coffee table, he is a good choice and price is reasonable.

strawberries for me i try to convince my mum that we dont want to have banquet, and i tell her we can go for a good dinner with immediate family members. Now my HB is thinking should we have only day event or night or both...coz he dont want to make anyone unhappy.

Hi Count,

Thanks for sharing your photos! Lots of character. And definitely reminiscent of the movie. Think at some angles your fiance looks like Tony too hahaha.

Think the effect of the reddish cheongsam came out better than the bluish one. i'm not very good at layout so shall reserve comment on it. But overall the PG has definitely done a good job!

Hi Ivy,
Don't be mad. Nothing is perfect including wedding planning. So we got to pray and pray to God

Hi strawberries,
It is true that you have to meet up with the photographers first. You are right, it is very important to be comfortable with the one you plan to engage. Good luck and njoy

<font color="0077aa">hi strawberries, tucky is doing my AD PG and he will be doing the wedding day highlights for us to be shown during the banquet.. =)
before you decide on PG, both you and your FH must be comfortable with the person and can communicate with him... my 2cents worth. =)</font>

<font color="0077aa">hi summerlce, i booked him long time ago, june05 to be exact.. so prices are very different from now.. kekeke..

but if i am not wrong, his AD package will have unlimited hours, unlimited shots, all pictures returned to couple will be edited and at high resolution (from my frens' experiences, couple can get ard 700 pics onwards) and the wedding day highlights presentation for dinner..

i think its better you check with him personally.. think he replies to his thread quite regularly.. =)</font>

hi ribbons,

oooh, u're of influence.. I think if T&amp;T are easy to communicate &amp; they have gd rates, worth the effort. S drives eh?

hi Ivy,

Did ur FIL explain the purpose of giving the APs of the tables to ur mum? Hmm.. Maybe can just highlight tt u have informed your mum of their gift, but she really thinks it wld be better for u 2 to keep the APs. So just to re-emphasise it's ur mum's idea not to.. Then it wun seem like u 2 making the decision..

Dunno if this wld help.. Dun think too much, not tt impt yet, maybe ur FIL may forget also

Ivy: never ask dr if he can also do backstich, chinese knot etc? or stich you and hubby's initials? hee...

i feel ah (fiance thinks so too) that alot of problems that arise from wedding clashs with the couple and ILs is cos the ILs listen to the san gu liu por pple.. the parents are fine, its the pple that they talk to that add a lot of flavourings to the matter..

hey, your mum doesnt want tables or what?

in any case, pray lor.. thats the best thing we can do..

strawbetrries ah, you better go in with me the next time lor. this time you request, tell you NM, off means off..

summerice: i saw 3 handsome guys lor.. 1st guy sprained my right ankle, 2nd guy sprained my wrist... 3rd guy handsome but not as handsome as first 2, cos only pulled a muscle there..haha... but i'm better today.. thanks.

mehmeh: yeah, i am very set on T&amp;T liao.. yup, hb drives.. and we drive to JB so often now, he drives like a malaysian.. but when we in JB we realise, its the SIngaporean drivers that are mean and refuse to give way.. food court also, shopping also.. sigh.. haha

mehmeh

my FIL originally felt that my hb was too 'stingy' to only give pingjin, but not tables. But he does not understand that my parents have consented to it.

To make things worse, he (FIL) has friends from triads, so they are very 'conservative' in terms of customs, and my FIL tends to be a more proud person, so he felt that he cannot lose face because my parents are not given tables.

Anyway, i told my hb to emaphasize to FIL that the more important one is the church wedding. And both of us don't want to owe him any favour in terms of wedding. In fact, my hb will tell my FIL that we hope to do this wedding by own own efforts, if possible.

But like my husband said, if my FIL feels led to bless my parents by giving them tables, so be it. As for the APs, let my parents decide what they want to do with it.

To him (hb), it's a win-win situation, we do not need to bear the brunt of the dinner, my parents get the APs, and my FIL gets the face value.

For me, I am upset with those traid people. I am a Christian, I have a bigger backing compared to them. All I want is a peaceful wedding.
I told hb that if they make any rowdy behaviour, I don't care if they are from traids, I will get friends to send them out of the room. Cause they tend to drink a lot, and it's definitely not a drinking party for them.

Ribbons

haha, your description is so apt... :P

anyway, I am off painkillers, cos it only makes me feel worse. I can feel nauseous and motion sick, from the afternoon dose all the way till I go to bed yest.

This morn, my stitches hurt very much. Maybe because I had to walk from Redhill MRT to bukit merah central...

hihi ribbons,

gd morning! Settle on T&amp;T let strike one more item off ur to-do list. I have read tt several SGP brides also get T&amp;T to do their cards, they shd be able to deliver
Why do u &amp; S have to go into JB more often? Ur album's all alright?

S'poreans are the horrid ones? Gosh, aiyoh.. Esp when u're in a foreign land, better to be less conspicuous

hi Ivy,

*hugs* Let ur parents decide.. Ur FIL wld consider tt ur HB has given the tables to ur parents, but parents may return the $$$ later on anyway

Pray tt when ur HB does remind ur FIL abt u 2 being the ones who are hosting the wedding, he wld be able to understand &amp; consent..

Who are the traid ppl? Amongst ur guests huh? U can always tell ur banquet coordinator &amp; banquet mgr before the dinner to control the flow of liquor to the tables involved. Either smaller amts, or delay the serving. Older folks always term wedding dinners as 'he xi jiu', guess it's still in the mindset. While we can't change it so easily, we can try to cushion the impacts like by the measures u named

Dun worry! God is on your side!

ivy ah.. wah.. triads ah..

actually, whether or not guys side give tables or pin jin to the girls side, who would know other than the family itself?... hmm..

i can understand what you mean by potential rowdy behaviour.. but yet you cannot dont serve alcohol.. it will be a bigger issue..

you got problem, approach your BIG BOSS lah. Ask your BIG BOSS to ask him 'men' (AKA Holy SPirit) to speak to the heart of your FIL, to drop this idea... or best, to forget about this issue.. your Big Boss chu mah, sure no problem one.. He take good care of His pple one.. =)

ribbons

yar lor... i am worried in the sense, because my father used to be in SS too. so he might know or even have offended ppl from my FIL's guests...

I just pray that no mess would arise, neither my parents and our (Hb and I) friends would be harrassed by these ppl.

And I also dunno why my FIL kept harping that his friends would not come if my parents are not given tables. (think it's coming from him, rather than his friends.)

I mean which guest would ask the host, 'oei, how many tables you give the bride's family huh? got at least 5? no 5? then I dun come liao...'

so weird right?

<font color="0077aa">ivy dear, cheer up.. sometimes its just communication.. plus è€äººå®¶çˆ±é¢å­. take joy in that your FIL feels that this occasion is very important to him. smile and let His glory mansifest.. =)

actually, dun need to dwell so much into this.. eh, does your FIL mean that how many tables are occupied by your parents frens?? anyway, if eventually your parents drop all the ang pows into your ang pow box, he doesnt have to know.. =)</font>

ooo... hope there wouldnt be any 'show down' man..

i guess your FIL might be thinking of what his guest will think of him when he tells them girls side no tables... might make him look like a miser? cos he's guy's side mah.. like what pandalic said, ai mian zi..

aiyah, tell your Big Boss and let him bai ping everything..

hi ivy,

agree with lilic, ur FIL doesn't have to know.. He too can't force ur parents into accepting the APs.

As for the traids, u might want to have maybe a couple more guys on the alert during the dinner. Pray &amp; continue to pray for the Holy Spirit to move in the banquet venue, hahah.. I like what Ribbons mentioned, our Big Boss wld help u gao dim!!

Hey Ivy,
Cheer up! For the giving tables issue, think positive. At least ur parents don't want the AP so at the end of the day it will help to reduce wedding expenses. For me, my mum insists on keeping the AP and dowry, so we have to pay. So there's been quite a lot of unhappiness over the $ for us

But we trust that God will provide and resolve matters for us. Take comfort in this message i read today in the Daily Bread abt "peaceful anxiety". Hugs

During those stressful days, a co-worker asked how I felt about it all. I told him I was experiencing “peaceful anxiety.†When he looked at me rather quizzically, I explained: “I have had anxiety because I need the visa and there is nothing I can do about it. But I have great peace because I know that, after all, there is nothing I can do about it!â€

It’s comforting to know that such things are in our Father’s hands. My inability to do anything about the problem was more than matched by my confidence in God, for whom all things are possible. As I prayed about the situation, my anxiety was replaced by His peace (Phil. 4:6-7).

The problems of life can be taxing on us—physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Yet, as we learn to trust in the Father’s care, we can have the peace that not only surpasses all understanding but also overcomes our anxiety. We can be at rest, for we are in God’s hands

<font color="0077aa">count dear, you are spot on. in your case, your daddy God will provide all the finances you require to meet your mum's demands and the expenses.. His blessings shall overtake us when we focus on Him...

i saw your email.. will reply soon.. my bf saw the pics.. he said they are nice.. =) btw, he and your FH are in OCS together.. wat a coincidence!</font>

I have a question... hope u all can ans me soon..
What is the job and SPECIFIC duties of a church wedding coordinator? Cos my FH and I are thinking of who to appoint as our church wedding coordinator..but think need to know what this coordinator is supposed to do first before we can see who fits the bill.
I only know that he/she is supposed to help us pay the caterer when they arrive, as in pass them the chq.
CAn anyone kindly spell out the duties and specific responsibilities?

Hi all I have another question:
My FH and I have planned to use my cousin and a church's friend's daughter as our pageboy and flower girl (both about aged 4 and below). We intended to just keep to one page boy, one flower girl, one bridemaid and one best man for our wedding. However, a few hours ago, my FH's cousins (a pair of boy and girl in lower pri) called my FH to ask if they could be our pageboy and flower girl!! *faints*

We couldn't bear to turn them down, and now am thinking of how to incorporate them into our church wedding. Have you witnessed more than a set of flowergirl and pageboy walking down the aisle?

My friend was suggesting that we could have the first pair of small kiddos walk down the aisle together for the "cute factor", and then use my FH's older cousins as official pageboy and flowergirl (they can walk down the aisle individually or as a pair).But I was also hoping the young kiddos can do something, like throw petals, but my friend was commenting that it'll look weird for the boy to be dropping petals!! :P Anyone has any suggestion?

hi magz

ur chuch coordinator can also do the following
1) ensure families are seated in first few pews
2) inform Pastor tt bride is coming (for him to get guests to stand)
3) make sure the relevant ppl (worship team, ushers, receptionists, Pastor) are present &amp; doing their duties
4) pay cheque to florist
5) ensure aisle is clear for bride &amp; her father
6) ensure no one else other than official PG &amp; VGs are in the front snapping away
7) remind soundman to play the right music
8) assist in any other unanticipated ways

hi Hui,

Cute factor sounds creative enough.. I had frens who just a no. of flower girls to walk down ahead of her, holding a stalk of flower &amp; spinning at intervals of the song

magz: for us, we have 3 pple filling in the role of wedding coordinator (oversees overall schedule of day and events..), church coordinator (handles church stuff, i.e car park, ushers, signaling for events such as bridal march in..) and a buffet i/c. he will be in charge of the set up, making sure that everything is in place, and pays the caterers. this way, everyone has fewer more defined roles to pay attention too..

hui: I think its fine to have more than one pair of flower girl and page boy.. Maybe the first page boy can carry your ring pillows, the 1st flower girl can throw petals and the others can maybe hold hands and walk down together, let the flower girl carry a little bouquet.. or if they are shy about holding hands, let everyone walk down one by one blowing bubbles, this way, your path when you march down with your dad,will be filled with bubbles... lovely photo effect.

hi Hui,

Yeahyeah.. They took a few steps &amp; did a turn on the spot, continued with this process till they reached the end of the aisle..

Hui: Maybe you can have the kids walk down together, then at the end of the aisle they do a little curtse.. (sorry, dont know how to spell.. where they bow to each other.. that lah..) then girl walk to brides side, boy walk to grooms side..

Mehmeh, ribbons:
Thanks for your input!
Am so glad now I have more ideas. Hehehe. Ashlady just gave me another idea of asking the younger pair to hold the bible (the boy) and a stalk of flower (the girl). Heheh. Now with the curtsy, the turns, the bubbles..I don't feel so torn anymore.
Thanks gals!

Hi Mehmeh: Yes C is very good man! Hahah. I am SOO glad I got her to help me cos she is SOO systematic, creative and responsible.

The idea of spinning is so cute! like little ballerinas piroutte-ing! The curtsey thing will add to the cute factor too.

I just saw my 'appointed' ring bearer yesterday. He's pri 2 but looks 5 yrs old! now for him to stay that way till my wedding, heh heh. so cute i want to pinch his cheeks.

my flowergirls will be sisters... they look quite different though - younger one is prettier, heh.

thanks for yr help...appreciated...:D
Also, another qn...who are u using for yr caterer? I am looking at abt a budget of $10/pax but it doesn't seeem possible. Is there any difference between those 'wedding' menu and the buffet menu...? Can someone tell me where the diff lies? It seems possible to get a $10/pax buffet but not for the wedding menus..?

mag: $10 can get one lah.. you just dont go for those high end caterers lor (eg: rasel, lavish..) there are other caterers around that arent so 'branded' but have such menus... from what i understand, wedding menu comes with wedding decor and wedding stuff thrown in.. bufet menu is usual buffet..

hey ribbons!
I think i saw u before...was it in the precious moments thread? hehe..I am from there..how was yr photoshoot? Was it by ken? I finished mine already..but my photographer has been taken up on my AD..so looking for another one.Hey...can give me the number of yr photographer if it was not Ken?

Any names for those $10 caterer that u said can get wan? Really duno...

mag: me never go precious moments thread leh.. my BS is in JB and my PG also from JB... =)

maybe you can try elsie's kitchen, harvest catering, Q'Zin... these are what i can think of my head now..

what do you look for in the buffet other than price? you want tea reception of buffet? Western or chinese food? decor? Must be halal certified? If you want halal certified easier to narrow down.. Just got to the MUIS webby and from the list of halal certified caterers there, can check out their prices one by one lor...

Anyone tried Manna Pot catering before? Their food is good, they can giev me tea reception for the price that i want (got 13 items, including decor) but when i eat food catered by them ah, always end up not enough food for everyone one... everytime i eat food catered from them is when i am at NCSS, maybe NCSS cater for a lesser amount of pple or maybe Manna Pot really dont cater enough food...

so what say you guys, should i take this chance?

Hi Ivy,
Dun worry abt it..God said he clothe even the sparrows so He will definitely take care of you.
And abt the traid members..the one up there is from a even BIGGER "TRIAD",will pray for you.
For my wedding next yr,I m also worried abt an uncle who will behave like mad dog when he drinks.

Hi mad,
My auntie engaged this company who catered for only $12 per pax for 20+ of us and she said it is cheaper if there are more people.WIll ask her when she comes back from HK tom,if not PM me ok?
I tried Neo gdn n Elsie..nice!

hi Mag,

Welcome

Adding on to Ribbon's input:
1) Four seasons
2) Nonya Manis (I haven't seen their wedding set-up, but my church uses them often for functions. Their mee siam &amp; chix wing are really sedap)
3) Highest honour

hi Ribbons,

Hmmm, if u like Manna Pot, u think by catering maybe a 20% more wld ensure food is enough? It is a gd sign tt their food runs out, it means it's real yummy.. heheh

hi slgerman and mehmeh and ribbons

thanks for yr advice...
I am thinking of Mum's kitchen and Mannapot. (yes, ribbons, mannapot too) hehe... mannapot lady sounds friendly and good...just not sure abt their setup cos I have never seen it. Ribbons, have u seen it? Is it ok?

My fren recommended mannapot to me cos she said the food was gd...

mag.. you referring to the manager linda right? havent spoken to her... very hard to contact them but after a few emails they finally replied me..

i think maybe NCSS cater for exact number of pple.. but when ever they serve pastries, we notice they cater for one piece for everyone.. but their pastries are small... maybe i'll check wit my friend at NCSS, maybe they do tell them to cater for certasin number of pple..

MannaPot's food is good, no doubt about that, i am just worried about quantity.

Some caterers that i contacted, ask me to cater for exact amount since mine is a tea recception, rather than the usual where you cater lesser than your actual amount.. is this a norm or is it sales talk?

on one hand, it may be true, cos tea reception food mostly is finger food, so its easy to take 2 or 3 pieces.. but yet, i dont know if its sales talk from them trying to convince me to take more... those who have catered for tea reception b4, whats your advice? mehmeh, when you did tea reception for yours, how many u cater for?

mag: i havent seen the set up for wedding, but i think should be ok lah..

From personal experience, if it's a tea reception, people will expect that they can eat 2-3 pieces... and the guys sometimes buay paiseh will take 3-4 pieces, assuming no second helpings.

So 1 per person is definitely not enough... that's just how i behave at weddings haha.

twinkle: dont say yourself until like that lah.. haha... but what you say is true.. if you see a small piece, you will automatically think "haiyo, so small. sure wouldnt full one." or if its really nice, pple will take more..

One more way i plan to combat this problem is to request the caterers to use small plates.. I've seen it being used b4 and it really works..

ribbons: yah..linda. Hey..i think it's better to call them directly and not communicate with them through email. I tried email with them before, not very prompt. Call better.

And oh..just thought of one thing to combat yr tea reception problem, maybe can ask the caterer if can change the menu a bit, maybe take out one or two finger food items and put in a fried bee hoon or sthg..? yah..just a thought.

i called them many times, no answer. i got answer only when i send email few times...

yeah, the tea reception menu has one staple food... and 12- 13 other items..

I am ok with the menu, only thing holding me back is the quantity of food lor..

I think better to have left over a bit rather then no enough food. I wont want to feel bad on my big day that some ppl may not get to eat if they are slow.

Already had many things to do on AD so wont want to have to worry about small issue like that. Better check with them on the quatity of food.

hahaha if ppl really want to eat small plate they also can put a lot of just go for a few more rounds lor.

just my 2 cents

Summerice: yeah lor... thats what i worried about.. i dont wanna be a bad host..

but if they are given a small plate, theres only so much that they can pile on.. then they will have to go eat first then queue up again, by the time it gets to their 2nd turn, most likely no food/ very little food/ most of my guest have eaten by then.. if they dare to take two plates at one go and not paiseh.. then they are welcomed to lor..

eh, i have seen b4, someone take a plate from the church kitchen (bigger than caterers plate) and use that to take food lor... use few plates somemore.. very chao kuan.. cos its not take to share, its for individuals.. but dont think i will have such guest lah..

i think for tea reception smaller plate is ok. but might they think 'wah plate so small?'

for mine would need larger plate cos thinking of providing lunch reception.... figured since price per pax about the same for lunch and tea items, might as well go for lunch and fill em up!

Twinkle: the first time i had a small plate was during a lunch reception... that was a bit weird lah.. it was by Angeli's.. so they had like crayfish pasta, etc...... the cray fish although small, already takes up half the plate.. then obviously not enough food to fill up tummy for lunch mah, but when i finish the first plate, i already sian to go queue up again.. my other friends also sian to go for seconds..

i got my idea of small plates from this experience.. =)

but since yours is lunch,its ok to get normal sized plates, cos the food items are bigger.