Christian Brides

Dear All....good to find this thread...didnt know there are so many christian brides here. Can i jus check wif you gals out there...did u chose an "Auspicious" date for your wedding and also to avoid the day which clashes with yr zodiac?
Thanks alot... I think Christian shouldnt believe it as God is in charge of all things that happen. However, how to convince pp around you esp parents that are not christians.

hi YJ,

I din consult anyone, neither did my parents/ILs do so.. But if u're quite chin chye abt having any date (ie no significant date u must have), letting ur parents get involved with choosing the date, shd be gd for all parties.

Ur parents wld feel tt u value their opinions too & be more 'cooperative' in the wedding preps

breekz, we didnt want to check the calendar for auspicious dates.. we chose the date we want and left his mother to go check if she wanted, we dont bother about that (Of course, here i am also praying and asking GOd to let it be a good date. not cos i pan tang, but becos i really liked the date and dont want to change.)Thank GOd, it turned out to be a very good day.. to them it means good luck, t be it means, "yeah, i can have my dream wedding date and dont need to change..." And hor, some hotels charge more for auspicious dates leh.. Was just chatting with my bestie yesterday about her hotel quoets... some hotels actually state that they charge 20+++ more for auspicious dates..

skyeskye: my 5 room is... ok size lor. but when compared the other 4 rooms that we saw, my house is very very big.. and yeah, we were planning for future when kids come along..
For us, we were suppose to collect last november but we defer.. Why collect keys and reno when i am only going to move in a year later?

Hi breekz, interesting that you brought this up cos I almost had an issue with my own mother with my wedding date, the food we choose at our banquet (according to my mom no frying of fishes or any animals alive - which means things like drunken live prawns etc all cannot), the fengshui man (when I haven't even gotten a house), the timing I am supposed to be married off..etc. Hahaha.

It was really tough balancing between allowing my mom to decide on some small matters and me standing firm on bigger issues for me to maintain my testimony. It was really tough man. In the end, my FH and I narrowed it to us deciding on the wedding day and whether to have a fengshui master for our house (a big no no of cos) and leaving it to her to decide the food at the banquet (as long as they have orr-ni for dessert hahaha) and the time I am supposed to be "married off".

The scary thing is I haven't even fully begun my wedding preps yet cos its still so far away!

In the end I really saw how my mom was very concerned about me starting my marriage right, thus the fuss she has about all the traditions. I guess the difficulty was in balancing our testimony and submitting to them on issues that will not compromise God's standards.

My friend suggested making my mother feel really important in other areas of the wedding preps, so I told her that I'm clueless in the tea ceremony and who to invite for the banquet..and then thats why her help will come in. Hahah. So..she backed off regarding the fengshui master and my wedding day. ;)

Very funny I think it'll be something I'll look back and smile about.
*ah yo I so chong hei*

hi all those who replied so promptly. My FH and I actually did not consult on anyone, not even parents for wedding date. Cos we dun believe that. We went on to book a date and when we finally disclose the date to his parents.. they said it clashes wif my zodiac and some more my birth year too... Hmm... really dun wan to believe this kind of thing but also am worried that if any mishap happen, regardless how long we are in marriage, his or even my parents will blame it on the wedding date. Then yesterday my aunt told me a scary story abt someone who got married on a date which clash wif the Groom's zodiac, well... by the work of the devil, the next morning after the wedding, the groom's leg became numb and need to be rushed to hosp, since then he walks wif a limp... Hai... I believe as long as we trust in God, He will not let us fall into the hands of the devil.
Well... now i will be changing my date. NOT becos of Pantang but becos of unforeseen cases. Therefore it will be postponed to Jan 2007. I jus hope that the date will not clash with us again to avoid trouble. Think it isnt a "good" date as until now still no couple going for that date. That's the reason why i can change date with the hotel. Dear all sis-in-christ pls pray for me. Thanks

hi breekz,
I also changed my ideal date to another one coz my FH's grandmother said it clash with his mum's zodic. I was agitated at first...but after thinking it through & like what u said, if anything happens to her, the blame will be on us. It wouldnt be nice if we insist our way...have to face my in-laws & his extended family. Hence change loh...anyway, i supposed any date will be significant in itself coz it's going to be a special day

Ya.. but all these subjected to alot of contraints.. Imagine me and my hubby plus our parents is 6 pp already. All 6 of us different zodiac & we hv to hold our wedding on a Sat. My sis is studying overseas and the onli months she can be back is Dec & Jan. How many sats left? Haha.. anyway dunno who think of all these "chong" things... make our lives so difficult.

hi breekz,
oh i see...that sounds difficult. hmm...sometimes it's hard to take it when our loved ones are seemingly making things difficult for us. Press on, ya?
kao_babydust.gif

breekz, for us, my fh said if the older folks want to check, let them check lor.. If we took a date that was deemed inauspicious, and something did happen, we didnt want to hear nagging of "see lah, tell u not to choose this date, i told u so."..
so we just let them check to reassure themselves, on our part, we just prayed and trusted the whole situation to GOd... thank God it turned outt o be a very god date, good for everything...

I guess my FH and I are blessed that our parents are Christian so there was no mention of checking any Tong Shu. How we did it was that we basically decided on a month, and narrowed down to a few saturdays/sundays, and basically it was hotel availability that determined the actual date! I also liked the sound of the date, so all things work together for the good I suppose.

Think it's harder when you have parents that don't share your faith... it's a greater challenge, but God will grant you more grace to deal with it, so keep on trusting and try to honour both sets of parents and maintain a good testimony. I'm sure even though I've not been challenged on this issue, there are other issues in married life where I'll need an extra dose of grace to honour our parents!

hi YJ,

I guess now tt Jan is a better option due to the availability of the hotel, do tell ur folks tt u need to also consider ur sister

While we need not believe in the way things are done, i guess at the same time we also got to rem tt we must honour our parents. Do also highlight to them tt as far as this superstitious stuffs are concerned, u wld only go with them on things such as gd dates, timing, but deal nothing with holding joss sticks, or having a priest go to ur place to 'bless' the house or all other stuff which u're not comfy with

Things are going to get better k? Trust God tt He wld make a way, when there seems to be no way
375054.gif

Hi Mehmeh,

My AD: 14 Oct and 15 Oct
Church: Chapel of Holy Spirit
Hotel : Conrad Centennial
BS : The Wedding Present
Photographer : Vividshots and 9 Frames

The rest not determine yet. Thanks =)
Hope you are feeling better now.

Hi Breekz,
As for checking the dates, we didnt check ours. We just find out when the church renovation is due to complete and work from there. Thank God my FH's parents are ok and none of the relatives object. My side ALL are believers so no problem. =) BUT do pray for God to grant both of you wisdom to handle all the situation. Must remember to respect parents and in-laws, that's a better way, espcially if they are not believers, it'll be a good testimony.

Hi Meh meh,

Another question, was your caterer (Elsie's Kitchen) good, in terms of their service and the quality of their food?

Hi YY,
Saw from mehmeh compilation, that your caterer is Mum's kitchen. How was the food and the quality of the food. Any feedback from your guests?

Hi all... thanks for all the advices... indeed it is very important to hv a good testimony. I told my parents and his parents abt changing the date to 2007 already. My mum is very worried as my previous date clashes wif my zodiac... so this time round since the 2007 calender is not out yet, she decided not to check. I think ignorance is the best solution now. Dun wan to know that day clash wif wat...haha.. so at least we all can treat it as a good day. Really need God's wisdom to handle all these things. Sometimes its not the parents... its those idle relatives who keep brainwashing them... :p

hi h2b2b

Saved!! Feeling much better oredi

Yupz EK was my caterer.. The spread was pretty gd at $5/pax, it's not a wedding tea recep package, just a normal tea recep package. I had huge no. (catered for 300 pax), so they threw in faux floral deco. Coz it's the normal tea recep package, there weren't any service staff, but it was manageable..

I liaised with EK mainly over the email, so I din encounter any hostile phone calls. Emails were also pretty promptly replied. Had requested for additional set of skirting for the table where guests sign in, and they provided with no questions asked.. *thumbs up*

Family & frens loved the food.. Satay, honey baked wings, assorted sushi & the choc eclair were raved
Parents fear of the food being 'cheap' wld be 'complained against', but those fears were unfounded.

hi YJ,

Agree, sometimes our parents hear too much fr these ppl. Pray tt God will guide u, ur FH & ur parents!

My hubby and I don't have the date selection problem. His parents are christians and so no problem. My parents are non christians but they leave everything to me. God has indeed bless us richly.

mehmeh, if I remembered correctly, you did a dance in your wedding, did you?

Hi Breeks: Agree about the idle relatives! Hehe. Then again, sometimes I look at the way parents fuss over their children's weddings, very cute. I wonder if I'll be like that too when my children marry next time. Tehehe.

Yes you're right, we always need God's guidance and wisdom. Though sometimes I struggle with leaving things in God's hands and trusting Him. Bad bad me. :P

Hi all, sorry to interrupt.

I am KC from Greymatter Photography. Just like to thank all who have lent me their support over the years and I must say I am also very happy to have been involved with your wedding by documenting the special and beautiful moments.

I have just uploaded more photos onto my website. In future, I will try to make it a bi-annual exercise so that couples can keep abreast of my latest professional direction and vision.

I would also like to announce a price revision by end of June 2006. Couples who enquire before 30 June will still be quoted the old price though.

Meanwhile, have fun in checking out www.greymatterphotography.com

hi mehmeh,
did you learn it? I will be having jazz song for my 2nd march in and would like to dance after we march in from the continuation of the same song. Headache, don't know how to dance jazz dance.

mehmeh: your tea reception no service staff, do u think u would have needed staff? all the food was laid out by them and they didnt need to be around to top up?

hi coco,

Yupz, my mum taught

It doesn't have to be a waltz, a slow dance is gd.. Otherwise, i think better to get the professionals to teach, like a mini proj for u & ur FH to start off the marriage

hi Ribbons,

I din feel tt there was a need, coz a fren who engaged them before my wedding, didn't have service staff. And it was quite fine

All the food was laid out and no need for top-ups. We had enough to go ard..

hi mehmeh, thanks... if thats the case then maybe i will consider them too.. cos i dont wanna spend too much on a tea reception, but only thing worried is if need staff to be around or not..

Coco: if u want, u can check out those dance schools lor... i think they should haev such programs to cater to such needs.. i know jitterbug does..

Quite a few friends suggested Chilli Padi but when i checked out their website, I found that their table skirting is actually batik skirting, anyone use them before, can they chnage their skirting? How's their finger food?

Hi Mehmeh,

Thanks for your response. Glad to hear that you are getting better. Do pray that I will be able to cope with things..so much to do still have to run a church camp in June..pengsan..BUT God will help, do pray, thanks =))

hi Ribbons,

Yupz, def can consider them
Since it's abt 6 mths to ur big day, u prob have some church weddings to attend in between. Use these tt u attend to help u guage whether u need service staff, esp if ur guests no. are similar, rate the food & deco too

hi h2b2b,

Welcome!! God will def bless ur planning & help u have fun too k?
Chilli Padi is Peranakan, so i guess the Batik is to rep their roots. U can always call & ask.. Have heard fairly positive reviews, though fr what i recall, it's not Halal certified (tt's if u've got Muslim guests)

hi h2b2b,
My company used Chilli Padi before..the food is nice! We've used them on 2 occasions so far
Yes, the table skirting is Batik..quite unqiue actually...However, some of their food stuff are spicy. You may want to check with them on the range of food they have.

Hi mehmeh... yah, b4, i never go notice whether got service staff and i they are necc or not... i only notice them when the food's run out.. hee!! ok, i will open my eyes big big for the next 6 months..

I dont think chilli padi has other table cloth.. i always see the batik cloth.. maybe u can ask?

Chilli Padi has a halal certified company, its called Chilli APi.

hi all, I was just wondering how early / late we should confirm a caterer. My AD is Mar 07, so was thinking I can wait till end 06/early 07 to confirm a caterer. Think it's too early to book anytime before Nov 06... what do you guys think?

Figured most caterers can deal with more than one wedding a day, so should not be an issue? Anyone heard of cases where couples booked too late and did not get the caterer they wanted?

hi Ribbons,

heheh, hope ur bigbig eyes wld give u a gd clue.. Dun forget to make sure ur tastebuds work well! Take pix, rem the nice food & ask ur frens on their package details.. heheh

Ooh, now there's the certified sister company
Gd thinking!

hi Twinkle,

Abt 2 mths before AD to confirm a caterer is gd.. To confirm exact no. to cater can be done 2 weeks to the AD.

mehmeh, thanks.

ribbons, just want to take 1 or 2 lessons to learn the dance for that particular song. so dun want to be tie down in school.

<font color="aa00aa">yay, I've got lots of time then. Thanks Mehmeh for the advice. From helping my friends, I've gone for food tasting at Elsie's kitchen and Four Seasons so far. Both quite ok, but will try to check out a few more before deciding.</font>

coco.... i think there are some places that can offer by session one.. not by package of __ number of sessions.. but i am not too sure where..

hey all... share something with u guys, something i found in today's New Paper.. Just for laughs lah hor...

The Truth About Weddings?

White Wedding:
A boy at a wedding looks at his mum and says; “Mummy, why does the girl wear white?†His mum replies: “The bride is in white because she’s happy and this is the happiest day of her life.†The boy thinks about this and says: “Well then, why is the boy wearing black?â€

Like father, like husband?
If its true that women are inclined to marry men like their fathers, it is understandable why so many mothers cry at weddings.

A sudden change of mind:
My dearest Susan,
sweetie of my heart. I’ve been so desolate ever since we broke off our engagement. Simply devastated.
Wont you please consider coming back to me? You hold a place in my heart that no other woman can fill. I can never marry another woman quite like you. I need you so much. Won’t you forgive me and let us make a new beginning? I love you so.

Yours always and truly, John.
P.S: congratulations on your winning the lottery.

Hi all, am i glad to find this thread. I will be getting married dec 2005 or early 2006. The date is not fixed yet because of some issues. I am currently working overseas and do not belong to any church even though I have been attending one for the past 10 years. When I asked my church, they need me to attend a Marriage Prep Course. However, since I am working overseas, i am not able to attend the course. But I would really want a church wedding. Does anyone know of any pastor who would agree to solemnise my marriage for me in this case? Both my bf and i are believers. I am planning to be baptised soon..

Hi Daning... hmm.. did you speak to your church about the issues u are facing? How about asking them to do the solemnization first then go for marriage counselling? (I know some churches are ok with this kind of arrangement cos their focus is just to help you along with your marriage.) Or alternatively, maybe look for a place in the country that u are at now, that holds pre marital counselling classes. See if your church approves of the material, and if they will allow you to have your classes there then when u come back to singapore, maybe have a follow up session with your pastor? Dont know if can work or not lah.. u can try.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Daning,

Which country are you working in? Can you ask the pastor in the church you're attending to come up with a course that you can go through? Although understand it'll be slightly strange to do it apart from your fiance.

I think there are some MCYS short online courses as well, can surf and check it out.

I presume you will be based mainly in Singapore after getting married? Long distance relationships are tough, so hang in there for now!</font>

hi coco,

u're welcome.. I think most dance studios offer packages, but some are according to their schedules (wld be a class with other couples), whole those which follow urs, wld be just the 2 of u. Having said tt, figure the latter wld be a little more exp..

Our sis-in-Christ ggjj did have private lessons for herself &amp; HB before the wedding.. Hopefully u can get in touch with her to find out more

Hi Twinkle,

Most welcome! I quite like Four Seasons too..

hi Ribbons,

Heheh, i like tt!! so funny! hahah, esp the one where mum's cry

hi Daning,

Since u're intending to hold the wedding locally &amp; prob marry in the church which u &amp;/or ur FH attend, give tt church in mind a call &amp; explain the situation. I'm sure the pastoral team wld be able to offer sthg to suit ur needs..

Marriage prep counselling wld be gd, so tt both parties go in with eyes open, a deeper understanding of each other, how each other make decisions etcetc.. It's quite a gd learning journey, be sure not to miss out on it k?

Pray that a gd/convenient option is put forth to u soon! God bless!!

can i ask u ladies something? I have a guest signing book that i wanna sell off... if i sell it under market place in this forum.... will kena ban or not ah? will they consider this business? even if i only selling one?

hello all, thanks for your replies..I am currently based in Shanghai while my fh is in sgp. My assignment is due to end in Mar 2007 but there is quite a high chance of it being extended till dec 2007. The problem is we r both over 30 so my fh is rushing me. If we wait till I come back...really dont know wait till when...I asked my church but they said got to attend course etc...so am really stuck. Now I am asking ard to see if any pastor is flexible enough..Also, I am looking for a weekend retreat marriage prep course. At least can take one wk leave back to sgp...I know the catholics have a EE that is a weekend retreat but seems like christian churches do not have...If anyone knows of one pls let me know..If not, got to get a JP lor *SIGH*

seems like this thread is getting active.

Hui, u frm Zion BPC? Me frm Shalom BPC. Are u getting EK to cater for u since EK's owner is an elder frm ur church, or so i heard.

Anyone have caterers to suggest? My service wld start at 2.30pm, therefore I reckon shld end ard 3.30pm or so. Wld a high tea or light snacks menu be better? Anyone knows of a caterer that packages- staffing (manpower), cocktail tables (ratio seems to b rather slim for some coys), decorations, table skirting, etc?
Seems like some have one or the other, I've yet to see anyone that has all.... pls help.

daning... i have heard of some churches that have these retreats but i am not too sure about it.. will check it out for u.. will try.. why dont u try speaking to your pastor again? dont speak to the admin pple lah, talk to ur pastor.. I'm sure they arent so rigid and unfeeling about this..

Whiteangelz: by EK, u mean Elsie's kitchen right? Isnt the owner from Trinity MC?
I think a high tea will be enough... for us, wedding starts at 1, should end about 2 plus... in between lunch and dinner so i cater high tea lor.. I think there are caterer's can provide the things u want, but i think they also see the couples budget... if its a big budget, they will offer them to you... if its not as big a budget, i think they not so willing to even reveal that they have such services....

Hi Whiteangelz:
Yup I'm from Zion BPC.
Not sure if I'll be using EK yet cos my AD is still far far away!! :D But will definitely be one of my choices. You're right that the owner is from my church, though I'm not exactly sure who he/she is, but I think my FH knows.
Many of my friends did not use EK but used other caterers such as Angeli, and I thought the food was fantastic. Service staff weren't that fantastic but the main worker was very nice.

When is your AD whiteangelz? What is your budget and how many people are you catering for?

hi coco,

do hope u get a speedy reply fr ggjj

hi whiteangelz,

Agree with Ribbons, most caterers wld provide all of the items u've mentioned when u take up their wedding packages. All the accessories, such as floral deco &amp; cocktail tables wld usually be inc in the packages..
Which caterers have u oredi looked at?

hi Daning,

Yeah, u shd try what Ribbons mentioned, talk to ur Pastor directly. I'm sure they can organise sthg for u 2
The following is fr MCYS, but if u keep a lookout, some of the Churches or Christian organizations wld offer sessions fr time to time. http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/PopularTopics/CalendarofEvents/FamilyLife/Couple+Programme+%28May+06%29.htm For this, i think Covenant FSC seems to stand out, coz it's by appt &amp; Covenant FSC is affiliated to my church, Paya Lebar MC

hi Ribbons,

I dun think the selling off 1 item in the Mkt Place wld fall into the category of commercial rite?? *i hope*

i'm new to the forum, so need help in some issue.
My family is buddist, my Bf Family is Taoist
But me and my bf been attending church for the past one year, and will continues to do so. But we do not attend any cell group or bible study, cos my bf don see the need, and my work is taking up a lot of time...
so if me and my bf wanna held a church wedding in 2008 what possible issues will we faced next time?? do we really need to attend cell group in order to have church wedding??

Hi Adelynn!
it depends on the church you are attending, but most churches will only solemnize a wedding if the couple are church members, or if the pastor knows the couple quite well. Have you spoken to your church's pastor?

mehmeh.. i see we think alike on most items.. *hi five!*

Hi Adelynn! It depends on the church u are attending.. some churches emphasize strongly on cell, some just require u to be at least a member of the church. Actually... joining a cell isnt all that bad.. U get to share ur thoughts in a safe environment (would u rather hear something that puzzles u and not share it out and forever hold ur peace?), u benefit from the fellowship and friendship, and u'll automatially get helpers for ur wedding. =) And these cell members, because they are from ur chuch and familiar with the church layout and all, they will def be more helpful than other friends who dont know where is what in the church... wouldnt u feel more at ease knowing that ur helpers can help themselves and not need to bother u? Just my thoughts..

hi mehmeh,
Thanks. I pm her already but no reply.

hi ribbons,
I think that will be expensive too and so I would like to go for 2-3 lessons only and then practice on our own lor.

coco... then u go for those..... not so branded studios, or u can check out community Centres. Cheap.. unless u are bothered about the fact that might have more aunties and uncles than pple ur age..