Christian Brides

oh dear. i think i have alot of helpers and 5 jiemeis. i cant even begin to count!

i dunno how it all happened. somehow some friends were very eager to help and they created their own roles. i thot was a good idea so i said ok!

for example, initially the church recept only has 2 recepts. then a group of gfs suggested that they help to take polaroid shots of my guests and get them to write their congratulatory messages on it before pinning it only a mega corksheet.

this corksheet will be recycled for the dinner (since i didnt take any photo shoot so i dont have a portrait).

thot it was a good idea and sounded quite fun too. so somehow this idea created 'jobs' for 3 lovely girls. =)

my worship band (also the band for the banquet) is 9 player strong!

my FH has 8 siong dees!

hmmm... that is like 25 helpers already. not counting my coordinator, the bridesmaid, best man, MC, translator, banquet helpers, relatives helping with tea ceremony etc. hahaha... it's really a community affair!

i'm kinda getting excited already!

wow SL! sounds really cool - like the idea of many helpers but kind of worried that they may not know each other well as they are from diff places, so i decided to create discrete roles for them. 8 siong dees is good, so there are more ppl for the jie mes to sabo instead of FH!

Thankful and feel blessed by the sharing, advice and help that u girls have given. Really nice that we can support each other, rant, complain, rejoice, comfort each other ;)

i had a lot of helpers too... they were all busy helping with the deco the night before. they turned the whole place into such a lovely sight!

they also self created roles with minimal duplication.

Hi c1980,

Your AD is already over?
Paiseh, cos couldn't find your name in the list...

Hee.. knowing you gals are having so many helpers tells me things are normal cos I'm really overwhelmed with the help/enthusiasm my friends and cousins are showering me with that I'm afraid I will get congestion in my house on the actual day...haha..

But then again, it's indeed a great blessing to have them around with me..... most importantly, knowing that they are equally excited about the big day as I am really touches me.. hope there will be enough roles for them from the morning to church to the banquet dinner.... will see how...not doing helpers' listing yet leh...

my AD is over... it was held over two days, 16 and 17 April because we did not want to rush things and wanted to have a better time to mingle with our friends after the reception.

we had more than expected "crowding" at the house on the AD because unofficial helpers came. but it was good as it added to the whole gaiety of it.

my friends were more excited about the actual day asking me when we were going to meet up and have briefing and all. they were the ones calling me to make sure i was ok... in the end, i did a very detailed list and emailed out, calling my key helpers to clarify and they took everything on wonderfully.

praise God for such dear friends!

I see.... hee... ya, actually I was actually expecting other friends who are not the jiemeis to turn up too... and they will sure join in the sabotaging session... won't it be very confusing esp when it comes to sharing of the "open door" ang pow.. haha... paiseh, this just popped out of my mind... how do you share then?

Yup, actually I'm intending to do the same.. will email them once the list is done up and compiled neatly.. still finalising some details/programme items.... will probably meet them in october/november... for a get-to-know session and briefing..

my parents are very particular about not wanting the chuang men scene so we did not have that problem to deal with. for them, they strongly felt that marriage is sacred and that all of the playing takes away from the seriousness of it all. also they said it was not part of our culture / dialect group... so we didnt have to have that done.

we gave our helpers ang pows instead to thank them for their help that day.

i see i see.. guess different pple have different thinking/reasons for wanting or not wanting it.... I had no objections/comments from the adults on this part.. and perhaps it has become sort of a norm to have it.. guess it's to let the guys know it isn't so easy to get the bride on that day haha... and believe it's also for the fun of it all.. for the jiemeis etc bah..

c1980, cookies gal & mehmeh
thanks for your comments! i have decided to have reception at church grounds now, but will need to trim my guest list, cos there is only capacity for 350 in the sanctuary.

angelala
my AD is most likely 2 Sept '06. I haven't signed yet though. When's yours?

Hi ~e~

Don't need to trim your guest list all the way to 350 guests exactly. It's quite likely that not everyone you invite will be able to turn up. Do consider over-inviting by 10% of the seating capacity.

Suppose you have 385 names, you need not invite everyone at the same time. Invite the more important guests to you first and see their response. If a significant number tell you they can't turn up, you can consider inviting the additional 10%...

350 for the church reception is a lot!
most of the weddings i have attended do not have so many. glad that you are able to make a decision.

Hi YY,

Yupz, PLMC = Paya Lebar Methodist Church..

Hi Teng, thanks for the well-wishes! Def will share the pix with you gers..

Hi c1980,
I agree tt splitting the wedding over 2 days really allows us to soak in the atmosphere & savour every moment God has blessed us with. Esp when everything we've planned passes by us in a blur..

Hi ~e~,

How many guests did u initially plan to have? Like what's cookie's mentioned, there wld be some guests who no-show or some who RSVPed & informed earlier tt they have prior commitments. Tt shd be a 10 - 20% of such cases..

My AD's next sat, and i have still so many things left undone... very stressed now! SL, glad to hear that your things are all done! yay! happy for you! so just sit back, relax, and be a beautiful bride ok? heheee

I've got a question to ask, can someone pls help advise me? For all the helpers helping out in church, whether a major or minor role, do we give them each an ang-pow? what about the makeup artist, photographer and videographer? they are already paid to do their job, but would it be nice to give them an angpow as well? hehee... very blur about whether to give everyone an angpow!

we gave each of them an angpow. for those who are "paid" to do their roles, was just a token amount as a gesture. for our helpers we gave more liberally. but not that much.

we not rich. :D

mehmeh: i am sure your wedding will look lovely. the stained glass makes an awesome backdrop.
enjoy mingling during your reception too...

hi rokko!

i dotn have any intentions to give an ang pao leh to the paid ones. maybe my mom will i dunno.

can someone give me an idea of what to give to a friend who's my guitarist for the special item? i thot of giving ang pao but a little not very appropriate. is there anything i can get for a music crazy guy?

if not worse come to worse i will give an ang pao ba...

oh one thing not doen yet is preparing ang paos. hee.

other than that i think everything is done ba.

mehmeh, rokko, tambourina, all the best! esp mehmeh! in 2 days! i'm excited for you! =)

10months of preps is really crazy! cant wait to get it over and done with! =P

Hi Rokko,

Don't panic! I'm sure we can help you in some way here.

Ang pao wise - for paid helpers, it's up to you and your own budget. For us, we did give ang paos to our paid helpers. Even gave my MUA a present coz it was her birthday.

For our friends who helped us, we gave an ang pao and a gift package that I assembled myself. For relatives, we only gave the gift packages and ang paos if they are still kids/teenagers.

You may wish to consider getting a Thank You card and a token gift in place of ang paos for those playing a minor role in your church servive. It's really up to you, no hard and fast rule. You can even consider getting them together for a thank you meal after your wedding!

BTW, saw your invitation cards - nice! Liked the concept you used esp for the church ones. Did you come up with the design yourself? And in case you don't log in here next week, congrats and have a blessed day and marriage!

Hi Count,

We have spoken about it and he feels best that I still handle all the wedding clients as most of the couples are very comfortable with me. Yes I truly believe the change in office will give me more space to recover and expand my horizons. Yesterday was my last day and walking out that main door was really hard for me...

He walked me down the stairs and I hugged him before I left and while hugging him, there were so many so many memories that flashed back. That space had been such a big part of our love life and we spent so many intimate moments there. It was so hard for me to hold back my tears and let go of him coz I know when I walk out that door I really dont know when I would go back in again and when he hugged me I could still feel so much love, which made it so much more painful for me. I really still dont quite understand why all these happened but I trust God that in years to come when I look back at this whole event I would be able to better comprehend the reason behind all these heartache and pain...

Thank you for your blessing.

Dear TinTin,

Walking out of that door must have been a very significant thing for u, with memories and flashbacks. On the other hand, remember that when God closes a door, another one opens. May He bring u to that "door" soon, & u'll emerge a stronger and more faithful lady!

Rokko, SL, Tambourina & Mehmeh,
Congrats in advance - in case u girls don't log in before ur ADs! May God bless ur r/s bountifully!

Btw, any of u know which MUA to pick? Jasmine Tiong is retiring in the middle of next yr and is only willing to help me out at a fee of $1000. But that is so ex! Don't know if I shd go with the MUAs provided by Sil - Gin/Freddy... Any opinions? Cos i know that Jasmine is good and i want the natural look for make-up. But need to save money cos we've exceeded the budget with our banquet, BS and PS! =)

Rokko, who is ur MUA since u're using Sil too?

Hi dear all! Thanks so much for all your advice! Really thank God for frens like you people who are so generous with helping one another!
FH and I will hafta sit down to sort out the angpow thingy... hehee.... SL, you havent done this too? hehee... we bought the angpows from church liao, just need to pao them! ;)

cookies gal, thanks dear for your advice! saw my church invite... it was my design *ahem*... hehee... then got our designer to do it up nicely and to print it
will you be coming for our wedding? it would be so great to see you there! if you are, do make sure you come up to me and say hi yah? would love to meet you

tintin, awwwww sweetheart so sorry to hear that, was on half-day leave today so didnt see your post till now... *BIG HUGS* you've been so amazingly strong so far and do let the Lord minister to you and wipe all your tears away.... you'll always have my support *BIG HUGS AGAIN*

count, ooooh jasmine is retiring? i didn't know! she's my MUA
she's definitely good for natural look and she's extremely nice and friendly so im quite assured of being in safe hands with her
but the other person i would have gone for is freddy cos i heard he's good, but i've also heard that he tends towards the more dramatic look.....

SL, tambourina and mehmeh, all the best for the wedding!!!! mehmeh especially.... so soon! so excited for you!!!!

Rokko dear,
U're blessed to get Jasmine! Now I don't know who to get. Was told that Freddy can be a little difficult to work with so considering Gin, but don't know if she's good. Argh... Must show me photos of u on the AD and feedback on the catering services. Realise that we have a lot in common - preferred MUA, BS etc. Hee

Hi rokko,

Wah, you're quite the creative type eh?
Erm, we won't be attending your wedding.
We're having our housewarming (finally!) that day. My PILs will be turning up for your wedding though.

Hi Rokko!

Thanks dear!
kao_kiss.gif

Care to share the design of ur invite? Would love to share your joy after count & cookie's gal raving about ur card.. heehee

Hi Count,

I know a couple of The Wedding Present brides, & they loved how creative & fast Freddy is. Reviews are tt the MU are absolutely natural, & highly ascertain tt u're in safe hands..

Hi TinTin,

May the Lord watch over your every step & that one day, one day, you would know that His plans are to prosper you & not to harm you yah?

hi cookie's gal..

thank you for an informative website... i love that.. i think you mentioned that you have others which you have not put up in your website.. can you share them with me? my email is [email protected]

FH and i are thinking of using our holy matrimony to reach out to our some family members who have not come to the Lord... and those information you have may be helpful.. thank you in advance..

mehmeh, SL and tambourina

god bless your marriage.. and i prayed that your marriage will grow in accordance to His word and in His name. Amen!

enjoy your BIG day and do share your pics with us hor.. =)

Rokko,
Do share the design of ur card k? My email addie is [email protected]

Mehmeh,
For MUA, i'm torn btw Kenneth Lee and Jasmine Tiong. Prefer the natural look which they are known for. But so ex... Have to pray, look at budget and so how. Cos we're spending a bomb on the banquet already and I've only been working for a couple of months so far. Money no enough! Hee =)

Just have to pray and trust that He will provide...

Hi mehmeh..
Feeling so excited for you... tomorrow's the BIG DAY!! Congrats and enjoy yourself thoroughly yah.. cos it's the results of the hard work put in for so many months...

Hi Rokko,
Can share your card with me too?
My email : [email protected]

Hi TinTin,
Don't worry.. the pain will go off very soon.. we will continue to pray for you...

Wow... now looking at my guest list.. and sorting them out neatly so that I can start writing when the invites are ready by mid Sep... the numbers are really alarming esp for my FH's friends... *FAINT*..but can't blame cos inviting most friends to church.. leaving the dinner to closer friends and relatives/parents' friends...

Any of you gals also doing the same?

Hi Teng

Am doing the same as you... so now am looking for a place that can hold more than 300 for the day ceremony.

haha... think I will be doing the same as you are next sept....

hi count,

Just to tell you you're really the object of my envy! I've always loved Jasmine Tiong and Kenneth Lee (their makeup style la), and to think you can have either of them! Kenneth is not tied up with my boutique and Jasmine isn't available on my AD.

Ashley dear,
I love their makeup styles but haven't decided whether to pay an extra $1000 to hire them. Very ex and we're almost broke already... The money could go toward an extra gown lah... Which BS and MUA are u using? When's ur AD? =)

hmm wonder how meh meh's wedding went?
i havent been here some time. hows everyone?

i will be visiting my bridal studio soon. third time already. hopefully can decide what gowns i want by then.
i just thot of sth: for church weddings like ours, how do we handle muslim or hindi colleagues who are of diff faith? do we invite them or not? if dun invite, i fear will seem rude.

Hi bsProffy,

I don't mind sharing the rest of the article but I don't have them in softcopy. Do you think you can PM me a fax number that I can send the article to?

hi cookie's gal, understand that your buffet is Lavish....how's the food & service cos i thinking of that caterer too.

if convient can email your comment & the package you sign up...thanks

Hi bsProffy

Got your PM. Will post it to you.
I think should be FOC lah... it's not that thick a stack of material!

Hi verie & Wong YY

Lavish's food is yummy! Very interesting menu too - a good mix of western and Asian dishes! We took their $12/pax tea reception package. Service wise, they were a little slow in setting up on our AD. I think it's coz we had to split our reception into 2 halls (as each hall can only hold about 150 guests) and one of the halls was on level 2. But other than this, no other comments. Oh yah, and I <font color="ff0000">love</font> their fresh floral arrangements for the guest sign-in table, VIP table and buffet table! Beautiful!

hi cookie gal,

I am thinking of getting them...eh more or less cos the prices is more suitable...but I'll be going for rasel workshop to try the food.

So does Lavish got any food tasting? And how long they need to set up the tables so I can write my AD timetable....

hi cookie gal,

I am thinking of getting them...eh more or less cos the prices is more suitable...but I'll be going for rasel workshop to try the food.

So does Lavish got any food tasting? And how long they need to set up the tables so I can write my AD timetable....

hi cookiegirl,
can provide me the contacts and website for this Lavish as well? It sounds like a good caterer the way u girls describe it:P

hello wa eh peng yous (my friends!)

so mehmeh's wedding is over? think she's off for her honeymoon already right?!? so fun! =)

Rokko, Tambourina... how's the final week coming along?

i had a splitting headache for the last 2 days... had my hair coloured too. hee. looking forward to more spas and mani-pedicure! woohoo!

harlow girls!

I'm back! Haven't gone for the HM yet.. Only at the end of this week! heehee...

Well, let's just say I had ups &amp; downs at the wedding for both church &amp; banquet. Nearly tripped &amp; fell becoz of my WG as I walked down the aisle with my dad, but managed to still look composed hahah.. But by the time I got to the altar, the plastic edging of my crinoline was somewhat in between my ankles.

Gosh, either Elsie Kitchen's food is gd or I have very kiasu S'poreans amongst my guests. Apparently while not all guests had their 1st serving, ppl were already da bao-ing!!! What am I to say as a host rite? Moreover I didn't know tt till the next day..

Thank God tt i had staggered the church &amp; banquet into 2 days. By the time i got to the hotel, i was dead tired. And with my WG rather dirty coz of all the mingling, I cld still rescue it before the banquet.. So I spent 1hr+ scrubbing off the dirt stains at the hems of the WG on Sunday, thankfully only those dirt stains &amp; no food stains. heehee

Hubby was really tekan in the morn, girls got one of the bros to apply lipstick on his lips. And guys being guys, so amateurish with make-up, smeared lipstick around his lips! Got stained so bad tt when he finally got to my room, he looked like he had sausage mouth! hiaks..

Was very touched by hubby's composed song (lyrics + tune) for my church march-in. Very meaningful coz he incoporated lyrics of songs I loved &amp; made it OUR song. My friends have even asked for a recorded version of it, we might just do a professional version &amp; give to our helpers as "Thank You" gifts.

For the banquet, reviews for food &amp; service were both great. I had my requests all met, fr deco to wedding favours, service &amp; food too.. Phews! No complaints!! Praise God.

Hmm, we had 2 special items at the banquet, both done by ourselves. For the 1st march-in we had intended to end it off with a waltz. But with the experience in church of the possibility of tripping over my WG, we decided to postpone this item. Instead we did an accapella "So much in Love" by All-4-One &amp; then we waltzed to "I Love you for sentimental reasons" by Nat King Cole. Our guests were very much surprised at the extent we went into making the dinner so unique, beautiful &amp; romantic. We wanted to impress upon them tt banquets are not as boring/ typical as commonly perceived.

Gotta commend hubby for being highly sporting. He did all the sabotage items by our guests w/o any bargaining! Got to give myself a pat too for having gulped down 3/4 glass of red wine at a go.. No mean feat eh

As we counted our APs, we realised tt majority of the guests under-gave. But gotta Thank God tt my uncle &amp; aunt gave such huge amounts to help us break-even.

Not sure if i left out anything, hubby &amp; i do feel a little "lost" after such a hectic period. So we're now going to plan for a nice &amp; cozy "thank You" party...

wow...mehmeh sound terrfic....

Everything sounds wonderful and go as planned.

It is wonderful and amazing how God work esp in your APs....Praise God.

I am very interested in the waltz thing....have thought fh that but dun think my FH is as sporting. any ad photo to share?

Mehmeh.. ah! thanks for sharing the events of your big day.. sounds like great fun &amp; romantic at the same time.. hehe..

Remember to share with us your AD photo when it's ready okie.. hehe..

Mehmeh,
Glad to hear that ur wedding went well! Was in church on Fri night for CG and saw ur wedding car (i knew it was urs cos Christine told me). Sure u had a beautiful wedding as I remember seeing lovely red and white flowers on Sunday morning in front which were probably ur flowers?

Sounds like a wonderful experience and a great start to a new life together *gush* happy for u =)

Do share photos k?

Harlow YY,

I think everything had been almost perfect! Inspite the APs, we felt very blessd with all the well-wishes &amp; positive reviews for many things to do with the church wedding &amp; dinner.

U also interested to do a waltz?? I can't help very much, coz hubby &amp; i were only seriously practising on Sunday itself.. Oops! I thot it was really romantic for couples to take their 1st dance, but if it's too much for the bride/groom who had 2 left feet, then better not stress urselves out. Hubby acceded to my request on doing the waltz, coz i really wanted it, otherwise we wld have just done a slow dance

YY &amp; n/c: So sorry, no pix yet..U gers must think my frens &amp; Big Day Studio are very efficient ah? Patience my dears.. Def will share!! heehee

harlow count,

Oh u know Christine? She's my best friend's sis!! Yupz, the flowers at the altar were mine. I actually wanted an all-red arrangement, coz my florist mentioned tt if i had mixed with white roses, it wld cost me more. So in tt sense, he advised me it wasn't necessary to incurr the extra costs. Was also quite surprised tt he threw in white daisies in the arrangement! I loved the arrangement tt were on the fabric stands as well as the reception table deco he threw in FOC. Was really beautiful to have pebbles in a big glass bowl &amp; floating tea light candles

When we returned the florist the glass bowl yest, he requested for us to give him pix of us with his set-up, he says tt the church setting is very beautiful &amp; he's going to use the pix to advertise in some home &amp; deco mag

Hope u're looking fwd to walking down the aisle in PLMC

hi mehmeh,

yeah, I thought of my first march in using Amore...more to waltz but dun think my FH is sporty to follow cos he is scare that things turn up to be an embrassment....but i will talk to him again to do something special....else if nothing means my wedding will be the tradition "classic" wedding....*boring* what to do when FH is so much older than me....

for the ps, i can wait, take time i know. So now u in office or at home R&amp;R

Dear mehmeh and SL,

Congrats to you gals!! May you have a blessed happy, fulfilling life after marriage.
Sorry I'm a little late cos very busy in trying to buy all the things required for PS.

Hi YY,

I'm a teacher rem? heehee, so now at home R&amp;R, no ILs with me too.. All at work, think later i shall go count the APs properly, coz some guests gave at Church instead of at dinner

U mean to say u want to waltz in? I think tt's a beautiful idea!!! Our intention was def not to waltz in, coz hubby def cannot make it with tt. So waltzing as our 1st dance was gd enough for me. I think u shd highlight tt the waltzing is part of ur dream wedding to ur FH?

Do give further thots of the banquet? I'm sure u can be creative enough to churn out more ideas. Maybe short testaments of you &amp; ur FH by your closest friends? I sang for my sis at hers, with my FH strumming the guitar. Or u cld sing/dance for ur FH too? It wld be lovely if u cld dance with ur dad too...

Harlow Carelinwen

Thanks ger! So when's the PS going to be? I rem running ard to many places to pick up stuff for the PS too, esp since I DIY-ed so much...

Where r u intending to do ur outdoor PS?

Mehmeh,
Christine is my CG mate! Small world right? Ur church deco sounds great! Looking fwd to walking down the aisle at PLMC too, and the photos of ur church setup. We will wait patiently for them to be out...

Btw, how much was the rental for the church - was it $700? Did u give an AP to Pastor Wee and book PLMC way in advance? Hmmm... Still waiting for Nov to come when we can book our date. Really hope tt we can get the church... =)

Hi Count

Oic, i think ur CG had cell till quite late tt night huh? I rem Christine calling me ard 10+

Rental for church is $700, $200 goes to the cleaners &amp; remaining $500 goes to church for the utilities, AV technician, fellowship hall &amp; dunno what else.. Oops! Actually mine went down to $620, coz i didn't require an organist. I gave an AP to Rev Wee only on tt day coz i thot it's a gd thank you for officiating &amp; blessing us with the Word of God

Dun worry, u wld def be able to get k? Pray yah?